Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Mooooo wrote: »
    Circa 750/ha with 19 acres maize bought in this year. Was at 975 last year. What do lads thinks a realistic target whole farm?

Hit 1000 in 16. Estimating 1050 plus this year but bought 50 bales of dry cow silage in that. Aiming for 1400 next year but will be buying some forage to achieve this. Hoping to strike a deal with a neighbour who is already importing slurry from us. How to measure output in this scenario is down to the honesty of the farmer in question. If he says his Sr is X and his output is Y while neglecting to mention imported feed then it's hard to measure your own output against his. Timmays comparison with 305 day yield is very apt. The figures I quoted are for every kg sold divided by every ha farmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Hit 1000 in 16. Estimating 1050 plus this year but bought 50 bales of dry cow silage in that. Aiming for 1400 next year but will be buying some forage to achieve this. Hoping to strike a deal with a neighbour who is already importing slurry from us. How to measure output in this scenario is down to the honesty of the farmer in question. If he says his Sr is X and his output is Y while neglecting to mention imported feed then it's hard to measure your own output against his. Timmays comparison with 305 day yield is very apt. The figures I quoted are for every kg sold divided by every ha farmed.

Delivered to coop would have to be the basis output

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Circa 750/ha with 19 acres maize bought in this year. Was at 975 last year. What do lads thinks a realistic target whole farm?

When I was in college we were given a block of ground and a herd of cows. The objective was to sell 1250kg of ms/ha
    1250 kgs sold for every ha farmed is the target here but it would be hard hit if you're expanding or carrying surplus stock. We're over 1000 this year but it will drop next year if we take on more land

Delivered to co-op/sold. Same thing surely?

Yeah sorry, was agreeing with you, recording only good for comparing individuals really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

Not really, if someone was buying powder milk for calves versus milk from their own cows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

You guys backslapping in an obtuse kinda way....?

Or, are ye really trying to push the dairy industry into the 22nd century?

Sillycave wrote: »
    Not really, if someone was buying powder milk for calves versus milk from their own cows!

That would be included on the other side in costs etc anyway

You guys backslapping in an obtuse kinda way....?

Or, are ye really trying to push the dairy industry into the 22nd century?

Trying to figure out where to aim for really, altho with the feed of pints the aim will likely be in a different direction, possibly with the same limited chance of success...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Trying to figure out where to aim for really, altho with the feed of pints the aim will likely be in a different direction, possibly with the same limited chance of success...

Really can’t understand all this benchmarking we want to do against one another when the way we benchmark is so flawed.said it earlier but the only figure relevant is what’s left after tax and ALL bills paid.thats the true figure .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

That would be included on the other side in costs etc anyway

True but you mentioned coop report for measuring output (I presume you meant volume sent)
    Buying milk powder for calves would increase this (Might have taken u up wrong)
    Agree with mj profit after tax is the only one that matters really

‘Tis grand to be in a position to be splitting hairs about how much profit was made this last year, and fair dues. There’s plenty farming families from other sectors that won’t be in the same boat this Xmas...

Aside from that,
    how much per ton are ye paying for milk replacer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

‘Tis grand to be in a position to be splitting hairs about how much profit was made this last year, and fair dues. There’s plenty farming families from other sectors that won’t be in the same boat this Xmas...

Aside from that,
    how much per ton are ye paying for milk replacer?
    Skim or whey based ???,do u use a French skim based replacer ,elivor (spelling ???)hearing good reports on it here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Aside from that, how much per ton are ye paying for milk replacer?

Using elvor precision 30% skim 24% protein getting it off a wholesaler for 2100 a tonne. Was on vitalac blue 15% skim 24% protein before that was 2400 and then you have shine once a day think its up about 50% skim and 20% protein and it ranges from 2500-2750 a tonne. Volac heiferlac which is whey only and 25% protein is 2400 a tonne too.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Really can’t understand all this benchmarking we want to do against one another when the way we benchmark is so flawed.said it earlier but the only figure relevant is what’s left after tax and ALL bills paid.thats the true figure .

What you have left in the account for yourself is of course what matters but that is different for everyone, comparing the common ones between us to see where to improve is no harm. Between farmers is the main point, I'm not talking of sticking pm on the front page of paper saying 20c to produce milk,

Sillycave wrote: »
    True but you mentioned coop report for measuring output (I presume you meant volume sent)
    Buying milk powder for calves would increase this (Might have taken u up wrong)
    Agree with mj profit after tax is the only one that matters really

What I use is the cumulative figure on the Dec milk statement basically the milk you get paid for. Shir if you feed milk replacer you can say it same as saying x amount of feed bought in. I assume with your groups ye all know each other's systems anyway, i guess there the main people ye would be comparing with anyway. I had 25 heifers on milk replacer as were in a different yard, everything else got whole milk was locked up so prob fed more milk to calves this year than others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Hence my earlier comment only true figure is profit after tax and all bills etc accounted for ,that’s why I have little interest in cop or profit per he /liter etc cause none are true figures .so much other things going on with those figures and so many ways to skew them

The bank account is the one figure that matters

Fellas coding themselves sometimes with some of the numbers they’re spouting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭einn32

How does CMP milk work? Do dairygold still supply the milk to glanbia or has this all changed? Where is it processed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

einn32 wrote: »
    How does CMP milk work? Do dairygold still supply the milk to glanbia or has this all changed? Where is it processed?

Afaik, the glanbia/dairygold agreement ended years ago, under very unusual circumstances. A "side agreement" unknown to farmer suppliers was attached to the original agreement, which meant that glanbia were able to walk away from any commitments after a short timeframe. Glanbia had only purchased the CMP brand while the assets renpmained with dairygold/Reox....reckon the CMP milk now comes from the Ballitor factory supplied by glanbia farmers.

Dairygold liquid milk suppliers were naturally up in arms over the side agreement, and dairygold made some sort of fudge agreement with its old CMP suppliers, mimicking some sort of liquid/winter scheme that they subsequently offered to buy out from these suppliers.

Lump sums were paid but not all accepted.....little is known in the wider shareholding/suppliers of what arrangements were made with liquid suppliers to quell their natural unhappiness at the perceived "double cross" of that "side letter"

Would love to hear the real story...maybe someone would oblige...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

gfc5iB1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Nice of glanbia to go making public knowledge the findings of suppliers surveys they really are on a different level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Nice of glanbia to go making public knowledge the findings of suppliers surveys they really are on a different level
    Where is that?if so it will be a long time before any farmers fill in another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Coolfresian

whelan2 wrote: »
    Where is that?if so it will be a long time before any farmers fill in another one[/QUOTE

In the indo. average are farmed is 200 ac, other figures such as half of suppliers employing labour and many looking to employ more. Zero grazing on the increace etc etc.

Sometimes less info is better, I certainly thought that the info i gave would not be published and certainly not looked at by teagasc. Thats the last survey i fill in.

Where is that?if so it will be a long time before any farmers fill in another one[/QUOTE

Sometimes less info is better, I certainly thought that the info i gave would not be published and certainly not looked at by teagasc. Thats the last survey i fill in.

Why did you think this? It stated clearly that by filling in the form and returning it you gave glanbia permission to do what they liked with the info. The relevant note read like a term from a dodgy social media site.

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Using elvor precision 30% skim 24% protein getting it off a wholesaler for 2100 a tonne. Was on vitalac blue 15% skim 24% protein before that was 2400 and then you have shine once a day think its up about 50% skim and 20% protein and it ranges from 2500-2750 a tonne. Volac heiferlac which is whey only and 25% protein is 2400 a tonne too.

How do you find the Elvor?
    I used it before and had no complaints with it really...

I’m thinking of going back to it now again. It’s €1687/t. I presume your price is vat inc...or your friendly wholesaler is taking a fine margin.

First time that the autofeeder broke down since I came here. Broke on Xmas eve and the electronic card must be sent to Holland for repairs....Good Lord but I’d forgotten the hassle/hardship without one. Calves coming fast enough also...8 today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

How do you find the Elvor?
    I used it before and had no complaints with it really...

I’m thinking of going back to it now again. It’s €1687/t. I presume your price is vat inc...or your friendly wholesaler is taking a fine margin.

First time that the autofeeder broke down since I came here. Broke on Xmas eve and the electronic card must be sent to Holland for repairs....Good Lord but I’d forgotten the hassle/hardship without one. Calves coming fast enough also...8 today.
    Are you calving all year round? Had 3 December calves born here, first time in years having them in December. Wasnt planned, but extra milk welcome in the tank

Yep, never ending. We do find it easier than doing it over a couple of months. Therefore, same regime every day, never stops, never goes away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

How do you find the Elvor? I used it before and had no complaints with it really...

I find it really good compared to the products I was using before. That price per tonne what are the ingredients of it? And is that price a cash price for so much tonne? And finally what product are you using at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Yep, never ending. We do find it easier than doing it over a couple of months. Therefore, same regime every day, never stops, never goes away...

Big dose of the pre calving "fear" here this morning ...gates , milk replacer and disinfectant all on the agenda.
    Took a delivery of straw before Christmas, reckon that triggered it :)

Big dose of the pre calving "fear" here this morning ...gates , milk replacer and disinfectant all on the agenda.
    Took a delivery of straw before Christmas, reckon that triggered it :)

Testing Tues week, only wondering how many will come early after going thru crush, first due Feb 3