Mooooo wrote: » Circa 750/ha with 19 acres maize bought in this year. Was at 975 last year. What do lads thinks a realistic target whole farm?
freedominacup wrote: » Hit 1000 in 16. Estimating 1050 plus this year but bought 50 bales of dry cow silage in that. Aiming for 1400 next year but will be buying some forage to achieve this. Hoping to strike a deal with a neighbour who is already importing slurry from us. How to measure output in this scenario is down to the honesty of the farmer in question. If he says his Sr is X and his output is Y while neglecting to mention imported feed then it's hard to measure your own output against his. Timmays comparison with 305 day yield is very apt. The figures I quoted are for every kg sold divided by every ha farmed.
Mooooo wrote: » Delivered to coop would have to be the basis output
freedominacup wrote: » Delivered to co-op/sold. Same thing surely?
Sillycave wrote: » Not really, if someone was buying powder milk for calves versus milk from their own cows!
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » You guys backslapping in an obtuse kinda way....? Or, are ye really trying to push the dairy industry into the 22nd century?
Mooooo wrote: » Trying to figure out where to aim for really, altho with the feed of pints the aim will likely be in a different direction, possibly with the same limited chance of success...
Mooooo wrote: » That would be included on the other side in costs etc anyway
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » ‘Tis grand to be in a position to be splitting hairs about how much profit was made this last year, and fair dues. There’s plenty farming families from other sectors that won’t be in the same boat this Xmas... Aside from that, how much per ton are ye paying for milk replacer?
Gawddawggonnit wrote: Aside from that, how much per ton are ye paying for milk replacer?
mahoney_j wrote: » Really can’t understand all this benchmarking we want to do against one another when the way we benchmark is so flawed.said it earlier but the only figure relevant is what’s left after tax and ALL bills paid.thats the true figure .
Sillycave wrote: » True but you mentioned coop report for measuring output (I presume you meant volume sent) Buying milk powder for calves would increase this (Might have taken u up wrong) Agree with mj profit after tax is the only one that matters really
mahoney_j wrote: » Hence my earlier comment only true figure is profit after tax and all bills etc accounted for ,that’s why I have little interest in cop or profit per he /liter etc cause none are true figures .so much other things going on with those figures and so many ways to skew them
einn32 wrote: » How does CMP milk work? Do dairygold still supply the milk to glanbia or has this all changed? Where is it processed?
jaymla627 wrote: » Nice of glanbia to go making public knowledge the findings of suppliers surveys they really are on a different level
whelan2 wrote: » Where is that?if so it will be a long time before any farmers fill in another one[/QUOTE In the indo. average are farmed is 200 ac, other figures such as half of suppliers employing labour and many looking to employ more. Zero grazing on the increace etc etc. Sometimes less info is better, I certainly thought that the info i gave would not be published and certainly not looked at by teagasc. Thats the last survey i fill in.
Coolfresian wrote: » whelan2 wrote: » Where is that?if so it will be a long time before any farmers fill in another one[/QUOTE Sometimes less info is better, I certainly thought that the info i gave would not be published and certainly not looked at by teagasc. Thats the last survey i fill in. Why did you think this? It stated clearly that by filling in the form and returning it you gave glanbia permission to do what they liked with the info. The relevant note read like a term from a dodgy social media site.
whelan2 wrote: » Where is that?if so it will be a long time before any farmers fill in another one[/QUOTE Sometimes less info is better, I certainly thought that the info i gave would not be published and certainly not looked at by teagasc. Thats the last survey i fill in.
blackdog1 wrote: » Using elvor precision 30% skim 24% protein getting it off a wholesaler for 2100 a tonne. Was on vitalac blue 15% skim 24% protein before that was 2400 and then you have shine once a day think its up about 50% skim and 20% protein and it ranges from 2500-2750 a tonne. Volac heiferlac which is whey only and 25% protein is 2400 a tonne too.
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » How do you find the Elvor? I used it before and had no complaints with it really... I’m thinking of going back to it now again. It’s €1687/t. I presume your price is vat inc...or your friendly wholesaler is taking a fine margin. First time that the autofeeder broke down since I came here. Broke on Xmas eve and the electronic card must be sent to Holland for repairs....Good Lord but I’d forgotten the hassle/hardship without one. Calves coming fast enough also...8 today.
whelan2 wrote: » Are you calving all year round? Had 3 December calves born here, first time in years having them in December. Wasnt planned, but extra milk welcome in the tank
Gawddawggonnit wrote: How do you find the Elvor? I used it before and had no complaints with it really...
Gawddawggonnit wrote: I’m thinking of going back to it now again. It’s €1687/t. I presume your price is vat inc...or your friendly wholesaler is taking a fine margin.
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Yep, never ending. We do find it easier than doing it over a couple of months. Therefore, same regime every day, never stops, never goes away...
stretch film wrote: » Big dose of the pre calving "fear" here this morning ...gates , milk replacer and disinfectant all on the agenda. Took a delivery of straw before Christmas, reckon that triggered it