Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

So according to the priest at mass tonight the greatest family to have lived was Joseph, Mary and Jesus.

The best family we can strive for today is Dad, Mum and Kids. Other families do exist but the most stable kind is Dad, Mum and Kids.
    And they wonder why mass numbers are declining.

I'm no history academic but Mary was a "virgin", Joseph wasn't the father and Jesus never held down any kind of a job. Fair play to Joseph though for hanging around and not leaving Mary as a single parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Terrible stuff, dont let it suck you in and break your heart
    Depends who you're supporting :pac:

go
    pats *cough*

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

mfceiling wrote: »
    So according to the priest at mass tonight the greatest family to have lived was Joseph, Mary and Jesus.

The best family we can strive for today is Dad, Mum and Kids. Other families do exist but the most stable kind is Dad, Mum and Kids.

I'm no history academic but Mary was a "virgin", Joseph wasn't the father and Jesus never held down any kind of a job. Fair play to Joseph though for hanging around and not leaving Mary as a single parent.

In fairness it's a bit like going to a Billy Barry show and expecting anything other than obnoxious kids warbling show tunes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Other families in the bible - incest/murder/child abandonment/attempted murder
    Not a lot to choose from :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

During the same sex marriage campaign, I saw a poster God Is Against Surrogacy. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I wasn't there cause I find the priest an obnoxious snob, a bore and not very amicable.

I'll be at a different church tomorrow morning for kids mass...tradition now and a much more welcoming atmosphere.

Happy Christmas to the lot of you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Nollaig Shona lads, without doubt my happiest time of the year and hopefully all of ye have a good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I was at a wedding a few months back and (no word of a lie), the priest preached that marriage was for 'adam and eve, not adam and steve'. The stunned silence in the church summed up the feelings towards that particular line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Happy Christmas all. Have a good one.

Ugh I slept all day and no delivery places are open obviously and the house is empty :pac:

Happy Christmas everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Happy Christmas r’kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Merry Christmas ye filthy animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Happy Christmas to all. I'm looking forward to eating and drinking my own weight today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

Merry Christmas to one and all...may your day be filled with joy and cheer......normal hostilitys will resume tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

The rumours where true, just had a Romanian woman and her two kids at the door singing Christmas carols. Sister opened the door to them and when they finished she asked did the want something and yet wan sticks her hand out. The cheek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

DGRulz wrote: »
    The rumours where true, just had a Romanian woman and her two kids at the door singing Christmas carols. Sister opened the door to them and when they finished she asked did the want something and yet wan sticks her hand out. The cheek.

I presume you gave her your cock,. as always?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Happy Christmas one and all

We did dinner and gifts with the ohs kids last night and they've now gone to their mothers so we are lazing on the sofa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Lovely food. Now out to walk the dogs.

Happy Christmas, even to you anti-liginds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Merry Christmas all.

I got my first non Leinster provincial jersey as a present, I'm now a proud fair weather ulster fan. So boo, stand up for the ulstermen and kiss out. Pls and thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

errlloyd wrote: »
    Merry Christmas all.

I got my first non Leinster provincial jersey as a present, I'm now a proud fair weather ulster fan. So boo, stand up for the ulstermen and kiss out. Pls and thanks.

Secret Santa with someone who doesn't like you? ;)

Haha, maybe. Or when I was a kid David Humphreys was my favourite player, and someone in the fam knows I've a soft spot for Ulster.

errlloyd wrote: »
    Merry Christmas all.

Awec got you a Christmas present and nothing for me???

Our PUBG days are over.

• Administrators Posts: 55,084 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Funnily enough, I got a Munster hat for Christmas from my sisters in law. Also tickets to the match tomorrow. I’m switching allegiances, it’s bound to be less disappointing.

Pashun and standing up and fighting. mmmmmm, turnip....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Fooood....coma.

Happy Christmas all... zzzzzz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Anyone have savings with KBC? I seem to recall them paying interest around the middle of December last year, but this year, thus far, not a dickie!

• Neil3030 wrote: »
    Anyone have savings with KBC? I seem to recall them paying interest around the middle of December last year, but this year, thus far, not a dickie!

I do yeah, nothing either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,493 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Saw this on the subreddit, for those that haven't though:
    British & Irish Lions 2017 shirt - €12 plus a €10 postage. Not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭swiwi_

If any of you have kids aged between say 4 and 54 I urge you to take them to the cinema to see Paddington 2. Just back from it and it was absolutely brilliant. I've never watched a movie that got a round of applause at the end (kids and adults alike).

Seriously if you have kids take them. If you haven't got kids then borrow a relations or friends and take them.

Just doing the deed now, had to head in to Zürich to find English version. Swiss cinemas STILL do intermission. Kids excited cos the family in front “have an Irish accent Daddy”. Cinema is bloody expensive here though: not much shy of 50 franks for an adult and 2 kids. It’s not that dare in Ireland is it??

A good shout anyway, my kids old man is enjoying it too.

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Cinema is bloody expensive here though: not much shy of 50 franks for an adult and 2 kids. It’s not that dare in Ireland is it??

If that is 42 euro than it is a little pricey. Odeon point village is around 35 for adult and two kids. 3d is obviously more expensive.