Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Mooooo wrote: »
    Do ye have to do that to as part of grant is it?

To claim down the grant payment yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Lovely weather for the cows on topless cubicles these days..😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,258 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Personally think they should be banned on, animal welfare grounds. Now, I'm in for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,674 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Water John wrote: »
    Personally think they should be banned on, animal welfare grounds. Now, I'm in for it.
    Me too although I would add slatted units as well - I'm doubly in for it :(

Have slats. Should put mats on them. But you are right, wouldn't build one now.
    Would really look at bedding or cubicles and slurry separation.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,511 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Snowfire wrote: »
    Lovely weather for the cows on topless cubicles these days..��

do you have them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

K.G. wrote: »
    do you have them

I think we all know the answer to that question.
    we built an outdoor feeding passage a couple of years ago, cubicles are still roofed. Cows would still spend a lot of their time outside even in the last week with snow and freezing rain, cows very content.

The cow has an option, Yewtree and that's fine. I have outwintered cattle. She can find some shelter. would be my point. Then the SW would have much higher rainfall and windy conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

The cow has an option, Yewtree and that's fine. I have outwintered cattle. She can find some shelter. would be my point.

I cant see the any animal welfare issue though, once cows have plenty of feed and are lnot ying in wet muck. I have seen outdoor cubicles on a few bad days, i though it was perfectly acceptable way to winter cows.

yewtree wrote: »
    I cant see the any animal welfare issue though, once cows have plenty of feed and are lnot ying in wet muck. I have seen outdoor cubicles on a few bad days, i though it was perfectly acceptable way to winter cows.

I’ve yet to see cows, that will stand out in blizzard like conditions, sleet snow and driving rain, when they had the option to get shelter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

We have both here.

In 5 years since first OCs were installed, I've yet to take a sick or underperforming animal off them. I cannot say the same for indoor ones.

We have one shed of cubicles, really lovely dry clean shed where cows eat outside in an open yard and self feed. I thought I'd find them all inside Tis afternoon with the sleet and rain falling. Not a bother in them with 70% outside and all grand

Have slats. Should put mats on them. But you are right, wouldn't build one now.
    Would really look at bedding or cubicles and slurry separation.
    Have a 5 bay slatted unit with lay backs that is redundant of purpose since 2012 along with a stand off pad. We use both as a collecting area for the annual herd test.
    We now use the slatted shed (bedded) as an extra shed for rearing/weaning calves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,792 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We have both here.

In 5 years since first OCs were installed, I've yet to take a sick or underperforming animal off them. I cannot say the same for indoor ones.

We have one shed of cubicles, really lovely dry clean shed where cows eat outside in an open yard and self feed. I thought I'd find them all inside Tis afternoon with the sleet and rain falling. Not a bother in them with 70% outside and all grand

Are they milkers on the outdoor cubicles? Is dealing with the run off a problem?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,511 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

We have both here.

I would have been in the other camp but i built on extra cubicles last year and to stage investment i didnt roof them even though ill will probaly have to for nitrates storage.but it will be put off as long as possible.the cows are happy out and usage of indoor cubicles is no higher than outdoor but i will say there is a 8 ft wall around them.on the dry days the outdoor ones fill first.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Are they milkers on the outdoor cubicles? Is dealing with the run off a problem?

Early calving portion of spring herd milked off them till last Monday when they were dried off. About 3-4 weeks. We also use to milk off if conditions get tricky in the spring during calving.

75 March/April calves milking off them at the moment. These will be dried off Christmas week. All autumn calves are in conventional indoor cubicles and the only mastitis cases so far this year has been among these cows.

Regarding runoff, yes there's more dirty water to collect but a €1000 with an umbilical will take care of all that runoff. That's a small price as opposed to the capital cost of a roof for 3 weeks of wet weather.

Just wondering if the people saying they're an animal welfare risk have any?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Early calving portion of spring herd milked off them till last Monday when they were dried off. About 3-4 weeks. We also use to milk off if conditions get tricky in the spring during calving.

75 March/April calves milking off them at the moment. These will be dried off Christmas week. All autumn calves are in conventional indoor cubicles and the only mastitis cases so far this year has been among these cows.

Regarding runoff, yes there's more dirty water to collect but a €1000 with an umbilical will take care of all that runoff. That's a small price as opposed to the capital cost of a roof for 3 weeks of wet weather.

Absolute zero ainmal welfare issues as long as feed is available and passages and beds are scraped regular .i have some and been milking off them for last 3 weeks beds ,scraped twice daily limed twice and scrapers going every 2 hours .no mastitis and cows milking very well
    Slurry storage for me is the big negative as u need a lot more ,forcing me to roof what I have next summer ,either that or dig another big tank and my personal preference would be the roof .a lagoon is probably a must have if u have a lot of oc

No don’t have and don’t have any intention of going down that road either. especially when building grant spec roof only adds extra 25% to overall build of slatted shed.Just because cows are not getting pneumonia on OC doesn’t mean they are content with no shelter and sleet and snow on their back.
    Sure 90% of the time they are fine, but think lads forget about the other 10%. Cows are animals not machinery, they have feelings and nerves. If cows didn’t need shelter they wouldn’t gather under hedges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Absolute zero ainmal welfare issues as long as feed is available and passages and beds are scraped regular .i have some and been milking off them for last 3 weeks beds ,scraped twice daily limed twice and scrapers going every 2 hours .no mastitis and cows milking very well
    Slurry storage for me is the big negative as u need a lot more ,forcing me to roof what I have next summer ,either that or dig another big tank and my personal preference would be the roof .a lagoon is probably a must have if u have a lot of oc

Lagoons won't be so easy to get any more, neighbour was told couldn't use lagoon any more, currently digging out for a concrete tank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

No don’t have and don’t have any intention of going down that road either. especially when building grant spec roof only adds extra 25% to overall build of slatted shed.Just because cows are not getting pneumonia on OC doesn’t mean they are content with no shelter and sleet and snow on their back.
    Sure 90% of the time they are fine, but think lads forget about the other 10%. Cows are animals not machinery, they have feelings and nerves. If cows didn’t need shelter they wouldn’t gather under hedges.

Clueless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Got this letter this morning, fair dues to progressive rep asked him to get us this bull for 2018 breeding and he went to fair rounds to do it

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Clueless

Which part? Cows have feelings bit..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Got this letter this morning, fair dues to progressive rep asked him to get us this bull for 2018 breeding and he went to fair rounds to do it

Pardon my ignorance but what's "special breeding purposes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Pardon my ignorance but what's "special breeding purposes"

I haven't a clue, they must have brought in more red-tape re importing forigen bulls, not on the system already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Is the rain water diverted off or still collected in the lagoon when cows aren't on it?

Lagoons won't be so easy to get any more, neighbour was told couldn't use lagoon any more, currently digging out for a concrete tank
    Oh, did they give a reason why he couldn't use it anymore. The reason I'm asking is that we have a lagoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

Couple of hundred cows here on OC and all are happy out lying off on the cubicles while chewing the cud in this weather, not a bother on them..

But I was miserable scraping down cubicles outside in that skinning wind and rain...

Only reasons I can see for roofing them is because of extra slurry and for my own comfort..

MF290 wrote: »
    Is the rain water diverted off or still collected in the lagoon when cows aren't on it?

Rain diverted when no cows in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Getting there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Getting there