Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SJW campaign leads to porn star suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

Why should someone actually put the risk to their health above anyone else's opinion? If there's any good will come of this particular case, it will draw attention to the fact that people don't have to accept that they should have sex with someone they don't want to, and nobody should be ashamed of that.

Again, we have established the actor was tested like any actor working straight porn. So the only reasoning left, is an inherent prejudice. Are you all a bit hard of reading, or just willfully obtuse?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Short memory.... let me get the unrelated and snidy posts up from earlier this week and the Mod post saying "enough" k ?

This thread isn't about you. Cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

GarIT wrote: »
    I can actually see sjw morons soon saying stuff like don’t be homophobic If a gay lad wants a shag with ya even if your straight

It's already common in some LGBT communities and kink community mainly only with trans people though. I have witnessed, in person, someone being told that they were homophobic because they refused to have sex with someone who was born a man, dressed like a stereotypical drug-addicted hooker outside a motel that you'd see in American movies, hadn't had any surgery but said she was a woman on a girls night out. The guy sort of walked himself into it after saying something along the lines of he was desperate and would ride anything but he didn't deserve the abuse he got when he said no to the transperson.

I'm a great supported of anyone who comes out as trans but if you a still anatomically one gender and a straight person of the same physical gender isn't attracted to you- how's that an issue ???

I've spoken to a gorgeous couple in the UK one of whom was born a man but has full gender confirmation surgery. They're so in love it's adorable. Both know they'd not be together if she was in her original body and both are cool with that.

anna080 wrote: »
    Short memory.... let me get the unrelated and snidy posts up from earlier this week and the Mod post saying "enough" k ?

This thread isn't about you. Cop on.

Never thought it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Don't bother pursuing it, it's boards some posters are more equal than others, one poster will catch a ban for stuff, a "good" poster will get a mod warning on thread saying to both posters to drop the topic.

It's the way it goes and allows mods to say that they apply the rules equally as they do technically intervene in both cases.

On the SJW vs Social Justice, social justice was a big deal for Latin American Catholic clergy of a certain view, it's safe to say SJW =/= SJ

It's already common in some LGBT communities and kink community mainly only with trans people though. I have witnessed, in person, someone being told that they were homophobic because they refused to have sex with someone who was born a man, dressed like a stereotypical drug-addicted hooker outside a motel that you'd see in American movies, hadn't had any surgery but said she was a woman on a girls night out. The guy sort of walked himself into it after saying something along the lines of he was desperate and would ride anything but he didn't deserve the abuse he got when he said no to the transperson.

Well, it's a good thing you underlined that some part, because everything else spouted after was a gross stereotype of what a transwoman is, coupled with the logic of some ****wits in society.

Speaking as a transwoman, of course.

And I have never accused a man of transphobia simply for not wanting to have sex with me - then again, I don't work in the sex industry and neither do the men that I have these conversations with.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I'm a great supported of anyone who comes out as trans but if you a still anatomically one gender and a straight person of the same physical gender isn't attracted to you- how's that an issue ???

From my perspective no idea. From the perspective I've seen, it's "not accepting them as their chosen gender" if you don't give them an equal chance when you are deciding who to date. By not being willing to even consider her for a second he was "denying she was a woman", claiming that "people can't change their gender" and being transphobic etc. and "if he wasn't transphobic he wouldn't see her as any different to someone who was born a woman"

professore wrote: »
    Oh please. So if Kevin Spacey drops the hand on me I'm supposed to let him as anything else is homophobic? There is so much frighteningly wrong with your reasoning. I think not wanting to have sex with a gay man is valid for health and safety reasons, for the same reasons you might consider not having sex with a heroin addict ... the risk of HIV is higher.

Editing almost an hour later... and it's still crap.

For most of us, it's really, really not. Guy you are replying to is working from a base of gross stereotypes.

From my perspective no idea. From the perspective I've seen, it's "not accepting them as their chosen gender" if you don't give them an equal chance when you are deciding who to date. By not being willing to even consider her for a second he was "denying she was a woman", claiming that "people can't change their gender" and being transphobic etc. and "if he wasn't transphobic he wouldn't see her as any different to someone who was born a woman"

That's actually a really good point. I think it's that he never knew her even living as a woman and so probably wouldn't have thought of forming a romantic attachment with a person he perceived as a "man" given he's straight.

Possibly had they met pre-op but where she lived as a women who knows?? Just glad to see two people happy!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Again, we have established the actor was tested like any actor working straight porn. So the only reasoning left, is an inherent prejudice. Are you all a bit hard of reading, or just willfully obtuse?

Whatever about any difficulties I may have with reading, I don't think that's the issue here. I'm certainly not being wilfully obtuse, and I'm sure you understand that testing is no guarantee that a person isn't putting themselves at risk of being infected with something which would not only have a negative effect on their health, but also the health of anyone with whom they were sexually active.

Her comments had nothing to do with a fear of gay men, and everything to do with a fear of exposing herself to an increased risk of becoming infected with a disease which was a risk not just to her health, but also to the health of anyone she was sexually active with in the future.

You still have yet to answer one question for me and that is - why you believe that just because you choose to grin and bear it when you are subjected to ill treatment, that somehow bestows upon you the right to condemn other people who choose not to grin and bear it when they are expected to subject themselves to ill treatment?

You do complain about it when you feel you are being ill treated, and yet somehow you think that other people shouldn't have the same provilege as you do to voice their concerns about the treatment of women in the adult entertainment industry, lest they be accused of being homophobic.

If you aren't prepared to take them seriously, then you really can't expect that you should be treated any differently, because that would be double standards - one standard for you, and another standard for anyone else who... isn't you.

Well, it's a good thing you underlined that some part, because everything else spouted after was a gross stereotype of what a transwoman is, coupled with the logic of some ****wits in society.

Speaking as a transwoman, of course.

And I have never accused a man of transphobia simply for not wanting to have sex with me - then again, I don't work in the sex industry and neither do the men that I have these conversations with.

I fully support transpeople and think they should have completely equal rights and should be allowed change their gender on documentation if they want and shouldn't face discrimination.

I have to say most of the LGBT community and Kink community are great, but there are toxic subsections, especially around places like Tumblr.

I have met one or two transpeople and the thing they want most is to be able to blend in and that's great. This person was the personification of a satirical transperson, I think it was their first night out after coming out as a woman and being rejected was very upsetting for her, which is somewhat understandable, it was her friends that gave my friend abuse not the transwoman.

To clarify as well, the transwoman never approached my friend. It was sort of a "will you shift my mate" situation with some girls we talked to and they didn't like his response.

You still have yet to answer one question for me and that is - why you believe that just because you choose to grin and bear it when you are subjected to ill treatment, that somehow bestows upon you the right to condemn other people who choose not to grin and bear it when they are expected to subject themselves to ill treatment?

You do complain about it when you feel you are being ill treated, and yet somehow you think that other people shouldn't have the same provilege as you do to voice their concerns about the treatment of women in the adult entertainment industry, lest they be accused of being homophobic.

If you aren't prepared to take them seriously, then you really can't expect that you should be treated any differently, because that would be double standards - one standard for you, and another standard for anyone else who... isn't you.

But she wasn't being ill-treated. She was behaving in a manner that was prejudiced. Again, she was entitled to ull-out (if you'll excuse the terminology considering the subject), but she was not entitled to claim her reason was because the guy didn't get tested - just like everyone else on straight shoots. Fact is: he was subject to testing, just like her.

And again, you are working on assumption that he might be infected, well, there is no basis for that. In the industry they both chose to work in, everyone is high risk - including her. Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I wanted to share it with you guys, down here in the dregs of after hours
    Mod Note: Seeing as this thread isn't to your liking then don't post here any more.

Thanking you in advance,

Buford T. Justice

I wanted to share it with you guys, down here in the dregs of after hours
    Mod Note: Seeing as this thread isn't to your liking then don't post here any more.

Thanking you in advance,

Buford T. Justice

I know this is OT but that's a sound Mod name btw !!

I fully support transpeople and think they should have completely equal rights and should be allowed change their gender on documentation if they want and shouldn't face discrimination.

I have to say most of the LGBT community and Kink community are great, but there are toxic subsections, especially around places like Tumblr.

I have met one or two transpeople and the thing they want most is to be able to blend in and that's great. This person was the personification of a satirical transperson, I think it was their first night out after coming out as a woman and being rejected was very upsetting for her, which is somewhat understandable, it was her friends that gave my friend abuse not the transwoman.

Well, way to go supporting transpeople by citing that "satirical" trope of a tranny "dressed like a stereotypical drug-addicted hooker outside a motel that you'd see in American movies" - it's not like you are perpetuating the myth or nothing, I guess.. :rolleyes:

And, furthermore, I don't see the logic of you bringing up transpeople at all in the thread - it has sweet f-all to do with it.

Thanking you in advance,

Buford T. Justice

Sorry, but this thread has very much become of interest to me. See above comments.

Regards

Well, way to go supporting transpeople by citing that "satirical" trope of a tranny "dressed like a stereotypical drug-addicted hooker outside a motel that you'd see in American movies" - it's not like you are perpetuating the myth or nothing, I guess.. :rolleyes:

And, furthermore, I don't see the logic of you bringing up transpeople at all in the thread - it has sweet f-all to do with it.

I'll just pretend it didn't happen so.

If you look at who I responded to someone said something along the lines of "soon people will be called homophobic for rejecting a gay person of the same gender even though they are straight. So I gave an example, and it's not the first time I've seen it, but it's usually only confined to abuse on Tumblr which is relevant to the topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Sorry, but this thread has very much become of interest to me. See above comments.

Not sure but I don't think a request not to post means what you think it means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

, but it's usually only confined to abuse on Tumblr which is relevant to the topic.

Do many adults use Tumblr? I honestly don't get it as a network, it seems to be all crazy people, Porn, Dr Who and Supernatural with a weird comment interface

I obviously don't have an account but am I massively missing some aspect of the sites appeal?

Do many adults use Tumblr? I honestly don't get it as a network, it seems to be all crazy people, Porn, Dr Who and Supernatural with a weird comment interface

I obviously don't have an account but am I massively missing some aspect of the sites appeal?

I've no idea, it's decent for porn if you want to find stuff with a certain theme. I know one person that uses it for weight loss/fitness stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

even after she is dead there are campaigners dancing on her grave

https://twitter.com/snowflakespride/status/938656521914810368

really shocking stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

It's a bit of a stretch to blame people who tweeted her as being somehow responsible for her death. If one is really so sensitive, the web is not the place to be.

290 porno's by 23?!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

arayess wrote: »

really shocking stuff.

This person is not a campaigner. This is scum under the guise of a campaigner.

I've spent near 20 years of my life actively campaigning for things like gay marriage in Ireland, my mother has spent nearly 40 years doing the same.

We campaigned by speaking to people, not attacking people. That is someone who cares more about their own self-gratification and smug self-satisfaction than actual equal rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

arayess wrote: »

really shocking stuff.

That's actually pretty tame. I read a lot worse this morning.

Do yourself a favour and stop reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Sonics2k wrote: »
    This person is not a campaigner. This is scum under the guise of a campaigner.

I've spent near 20 years of my life actively campaigning for things like gay marriage in Ireland, my mother has spent nearly 40 years doing the same.

We campaigned by speaking to people, not attacking people. That is someone who cares more about their own self-gratification and smug self-satisfaction than actual equal rights.

I think that might be a fake account - would a person who was sincerely interested in gay rights call themselves a snowflake in their twitter account name?

'snowflakespride'

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It's a bit of a stretch to blame people who tweeted her as being somehow responsible for her death. If one is really so sensitive, the web is not the place to be.

290 porno's by 23?!

The turnaround on a porno can be a matter of days so if she was working from aged 19 the numbers soon stack up

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Why do you need to be personally insulting to someone who simply disagreed with you?

If she doesn't want to have sex with men who have sex with men, that's fine. She is entitled to her preferences and personal tastes.

I'm not sure Candie ever said otherwise?
    I really don't understand why people are pouncing on Candie's posts as if there is any malice behind them. Anyone with half a brain can see that simply isn't the case.

Edit.. you seem to have deleted your post.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

anna080 wrote: »
    I'm not sure Candie ever said otherwise?
    I really don't understand why people are pouncing on Candie's posts as if there is any malice behind them. Anyone with half a brain can see that simply isn't the case.

Edit.. you seem to have deleted your post.

I'd say people are pouncing on Candies posts because she is always going about people victim blaming and how wrong it is, but it's perfectly fine for her to do it herself in this thread by trying to blame it on this young girls depression.