Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act One Scene III - Red Moon over Thurmunton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Canyon:
    sKeith wrote: »
    Ekbard address the Orc who spoke, "Do you know how to enter the tomb?"
    "I do, fer a price. Well the price iz our lives, em....m'lord"

Necrominus wrote: »
    OOC: I presume my distraction by examining the temple means I missed all the commotion
    OOC: Yes, you went "Deep Dwarf" mode. :)

Banjo wrote: »
    "Dun dun deh dun
    Dedededun dun duuuuun!
    Diddle diddle Dee dun Dee dun!
    Dee Dee deh dun Dee dun!"
    Her voice rises steadily from a loud hum to a low grade scream. The volume covers up her uncertainty - for a fearsome warband they're doing a lot of standing up and not a lot of sabre rattling. Perhaps this was a chance to show her new band her charming side?

"Kiss steel, bastards!" She calls cheerily as she approaches.
    An Orc at the back nudges another, half laughing:

"Say isn't that the tune they had in that play back in the last village, the one about the towns guard. Bloomin' great it waz, one of 'em could do anythin' wi' his voice..."

The head Orc interrupts shouting:

"Oi, we're being peaceful like, hold on, hold on..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Ekbard says in a raised voice in the direction of the dwarf, "Hey Bandylegs, get over here, did you hear that proposal? is it acceptable to us?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I wander down back into the mouth of tge canyou and enter all the tine keeping an eye out for danger, as i approach the group ahead I collect arrows from the fallen orcs.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

sKeith wrote:
    Ekbard says in a raised voice in the direction of the dwarf, "Hey Bandylegs, get over here, did you hear that proposal? is it acceptable to us?"

Bandylegs hears Ekbard calling but cant quite make out what he's saying. He does spy the orcs beside Ekbard however.

'Oy, Betty! There's trouble over yonder. Stay your hammer for now, but be on alert!'

Bandylegs begins to close the distance between himself and the others.

'What are ye sayin' Ekbard? This place is dangerous!'

He draws his sword.

'I swear by Vergadain if ye have harmed any of me comrades I'll cut yer head off and shove it up his arse (motioning to the other orc in view)'

Bandylegs turns to regard Betty.

'Betty, if there are any of this lot hidin anywhere, rustle 'em. If they wont come out nicely, introduce em to yer hammer.'

"Hail bandylegs, This orc here tells me he can get us into the tomb if we spare their lives"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Bandylegs reaches the main group now. He regards the orc with disdain.

'Aye, spare yer life. I'm sure thats what ye would have done to me and the rest had ye got the jump on us. If ye want to live, lad, ye'll tell me everything yer priest knows about this tomb. I know this is no saint. And dont think any of yer left over friends will get the jump on us, lad. Oh no. Ye see that mountain of a lady? She'll be introducing any of em that resist to her hammer.'

Bandylegs proceeds to explain to Ekbard and the rest of the surrounding group what his dwarven eyes have seen at the plaza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

"What are the orcs doing here? Have you captured them Devilrider?

"hail moy, theses orcs are here to show us the way into the tombs of the saint thumberlan. They were sent here by their orc preist to see find an old castle and to find some fellor called portus who is either working or not working in the castle."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

"sooooo... B McG... This Carros... What kind of immensely powerful evil ****e might he have left in this tomb? Hey hey HEY! Keep those claws skywards, greenie - unless you want a Soetrard Mahoney for you and your buddies!"

pew pew

Bandylegs regards Othegre specifically.

'Alas, I know not. I can be sure that nothing saintly awaits us in that resting place though.

Whatever this blessing is we should find out if it safeguards us warrior types against the dangers within.

This death lord is not to be trifled with lightly. Treasure and selfishness aside, we will need every able bodied person if we are to journey within.

I will leave that type of convincing to ye of better etiquette though, Bandylegs has rubbed certain characters (gesturing towards the elf and the thief) the wrong way.'

Othegre spies some woad on the ground. Hopefully it's woad, not nervous orc ****e. She daubs some on her face and marches up and down the rank of surrendering orcs.

"Aye!" She shouts, "Run and you’ll live — at least a while. The 10 or so minutes it'll take that yodelling psycho to run you down and open yer gullets. I digress... Dying in your hay bales many years from now, would you be willing to trade all the days from this day to that for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies" she nods at Xanthea and Ekbard, "that Thurmonton's (and the surrounding wasteland's) sons and daughters are hers nae more!"

Ooc : waddya say, Four? Roll against my charisma to see if I've inspired them? I might not even be facing the right way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Fourier wrote: »
    Saeros's elven eyes easily follows the trail of the others, coming upon Xanthea and Ekbard shortly after they had slaughtered the group of orcs.

Equally his Elven eyes, attuned to flow of magic in the world, make out an entrance in the rock ahead near the plaza, one that is sealed by an incantation.
    Err, hi guys. Sorry I'ma tad late, I was foraging for some food along the trail. Anyone like some cranberry?
    "Hail Saeros, How is your tourney planning going. I'm joint 2nd place at the moment, but if we can keep betty away from the tourney I believe I have a fair chance."
    "The way I see it we have two ways of making coin here. Either you win by beating Betty in the tourney, or, if she is not taking part then you throw the match after I put the money on your opponent.
    I suggest you watch Betty for signs of weakness that you can exploit just in case we have to go with option 1.
    Do you think any ot the others might be interested in a piece of the action?"

The other Orcs jump from their hiding spots and get ready to leap to the ground below, suddenly however they look around and see there are only twelve of them and the leader and his boys are slaughtered out at the canyon neck.

One of them speaks up in a polite tone:

"Greetins humies, ye interested in the tomb, we'd be plezed to help."
    While all the sabre rattling and searching for hidden orcs carries on I talk with the new leader of the band of orcs, in orcish, trying to be the good cop to the others bad cop and intimidation strategy.

"Negotiating for terms? A rare display of intelligence there Warboss, usually only seen in the higher ranks. If you survive this day I think you'll be one to watch. A company leader perhaps, unless your ambitions run even higher that that. I'm Saeros."

I lapse back into common so that my companions can understand what we are saying.

"What do your priests say of this place and who or what is Portos. I can see the entrance carved in the rock face but there is something...wrong. There is magic here, sealing the door. Have your priests told you how to get through or told you of a different way in?".

I side-glance to Bandylegs, raising a quizzical eyebrow, wondering if he knows anything of the magical seal on the door, if it's dwarven or if it's been laid there by someone else.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OldGoat wrote: »
    I side-glance to Bandylegs, raising a quizzical eyebrow, wondering if he knows anything of the magical seal on the door, if it's dwarven or if it's been laid there by someone else.

Bandylegs nods at the elf and regales him and the other surrounding group members of what he has seen at the plaza.

Ooc : waddya say, Four? Roll against my charisma to see if I've inspired them? I might not even be facing the right way.
    OOC: Yeah go on. Just as I'm being a bit dense, this is to get them to join you right?

"So, what you are saying is, we are no longer going to bother with that Saint tomthumbs tomb any more, great. Elin can go to that tomb on her own if she so wishes. Instead we are going to be entering the crypt of an evil dark lord, a much different mission. I'll do it for an equal share in the bounty"

The head Orc listens to Saeros and BandyLegs, he seems to relax when Saeros speaks in Orcish to him. He sighs.

"Aright, we'll tell ya. It's pretty easy all told. The doors only open at night. Just read them runes..."

He leads BandyLegs and Saeros to a set of runes carved into a small stone next to a large boulder sitting against the canyon wall.

Saeros's elven mind can decode the runes, though not in any dialect he knows, it is close enough and the engines of language are trivial for an elf "Tumuz Lord of Battle rests here, Mother Night is his lover".

BandyLegs doesn't need to read them, the stones sing the words.

OOC: Yeah go on. Just as I'm being a bit dense, this is to get them to join you right?

OOC - yeah! I rolled an 18 vs my charisma of 6. I think it's safe to say I should let someone else negotiate and it was definitely orc ****e I just smeared on my face. Why did I ever let my jammy-rolled 18-Charisma-having clinically depressed fighter go home?

"So, what you are saying is, we are no longer going to bother with that Saint tomthumbs tomb any more, great. Elin can go to that tomb on her own if she so wishes. Instead we are going to be entering the crypt of an evil dark lord, a much different mission. I'll do it for an equal share in the bounty"

'Aye lad, they are one in the same. This was about treasure, and it still is fer I expect great riches within. But at the time I though' it were only a case of gettin past a few guards, maybe dodgin a few traps and a little bit of fightin'. This be a very different proposition now that I see what is ahead.'

Bandylegs stops for a minute, and raises his voice enough so Elin can hear.

'All that go within will have equal share, ye have no idea of the dangers we could face within. I will not be askin' anyone to have a lesser or larger share, regardless of earlier agreements. This is no saintly tomb we are dealin' with!'

The head Orc listens to Saeros and BandyLegs, he seems to relax when Saeros speaks in Orcish to him. He sighs.

"Aright, we'll tell ya. It's pretty easy all told. The doors only open at night. Just read them runes..."

He leads BandyLegs and Saeros to a set of runes carved into a small stone next to a large boulder sitting against the canyon wall.

Saeros's elven mind can decode the runes, though not in any dialect he knows, it is close enough and the engines of language are trivial for an elf "Tumuz Lord of Battle rests here, Mother Night is his lover".

BandyLegs doesn't need to read them, the stones sing the words.

Bandylegs regards the stones and listens to their words. He turns around and looks at Saeros.

'What do ye think laddie? Can that keen mind of yers work this out? It seems to me that we need to wait for nightfall. Somethin' to do with the Mother Night...? What say ye, elf?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

"Aye!" She shouts, "Run and you’ll live — at least a while. The 10 or so minutes it'll take that yodelling psycho to run you down and open yer gullets. I digress... Dying in your hay bales many years from now, would you be willing to trade all the days from this day to that for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies" she nods at Xanthea and Ekbard, "that Thurmonton's (and the surrounding wasteland's) sons and daughters are hers nae more!"

Xanthea sees Othegre looking at her and nodding weirdly, and feels oddly ill at ease, remembering a sudden flashback to the incident with the demon stick and on the way to Thurmunton.

"There is something really odd about that Othegre one" she thinks to herself.

OldGoat wrote: »
    "What do your priests say of this place and who or what is Portos. I can see the entrance carved in the rock face but there is something...wrong. There is magic here, sealing the door. Have your priests told you how to get through or told you of a different way in?".
    The head orc returns to Saeros's question and answers in Orcish, eyeing Betty, in the Orcish tongue he is quite elegant, probably a noble:

"My ancestors used to work for the Dark Lord Tumuz and his brother Carax. The humans in this village think they were enemies. Not so. Carax made an artefact, called the Portus. I believe it's a doorway to Carax's own private realm, probably still got all his treasure.

The humans here though think Tumuz was some kind of divinity or saint, so I'd prefer not to air these 'blasphemous' ideas in front of the large one"

"Aye!" She shouts, "Run and you’ll live — at least a while. The 10 or so minutes it'll take that yodelling psycho to run you down and open yer gullets. I digress... Dying in your hay bales many years from now, would you be willing to trade all the days from this day to that for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies" she nods at Xanthea and Ekbard, "that Thurmonton's (and the surrounding wasteland's) sons and daughters are hers nae more"
    The Orcs just laugh.

"Alright 'umie, take it easy. No need to tire yerself out"

'Aye lad, they are one in the same. This was about treasure, and it still is fer I expect great riches within. But at the time I though' it were only a case of gettin past a few guards, maybe dodgin a few traps and a little bit of fightin'. This be a very different proposition now that I see what is ahead.'

'All that go within will have equal share, ye have no idea of the dangers we could face within. I will not be askin' anyone to have a lesser or larger share, regardless of earlier agreements. This is no saintly tomb we are dealin' with!'

If your retainer is getting a share I think i'll head back down for the tourney, the greed among this company is something I have never seen before. Frst the theif wants a full third and now the Dwarf thinks his she giant should double his share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Elin approaches Bandylegs. "And who made you the leader of our group Mr Dwarf? You can keep your stinking treasure. It's tainted by your lack of honour and I have little need of it. I'll go with the group but only because I am in sore need of amusement and I agreed to complete this quest for Askit and Xestes. The sooner you oafs get your shiny gold the sooner we can get moving."

Tigger wrote:
    If your retainer is getting a share I think i'll head back down for the tourney, the greed among this company is something I have never seen before. Frst the theif wants a full third and now the Dwarf thinks his she giant should double his share.

OOC: I don't know how retainers work, presumably I just pay them from my portion but it means we can carry more out if we make it

ooc

you said everybody who goes in should get n equal share

Mollyb60 wrote:
    Elin approaches Bandylegs. "And who made you the leader of our group Mr Dwarf? You can keep your stinking treasure. It's tainted by your lack of honour and I have little need of it. I'll go with the group but only because I am in sore need of amusement and I agreed to complete this quest for Askit and Xestes. The sooner you oafs get your shiny gold the sooner we can get moving."

Bandylegs laughs at Elin.

'No one made me the leader lass, ye all have free will. But ye followed me to the tomb, am I right? I intend to go in and travail the dangers. I'll take me own share if I live to tell the tale and no more. Betty be coming with me though, so if no one else wants to venture within all the treasure we can carry will be ours. She'll be richly paid and I'll be able to build me monument to Vergadain and forget about that blasted devil, his larva ye keep strokin and the key round yet neck. I have no interest in God's blood, or lettin Askit get his hands on it, even fer all the coin he promised us.'