Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D Act One Scene III - Red Moon over Thurmunton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

ooc are orcs bigger then humans
    if soni get -1 to my ac
    im gonna shoot again

goodie shoots again but misses he hopes the smelly orcs haventvseen him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

There is a dim thud as Goodie's arrow hits the canyon wall above another orc, but the Orc beneath, even if he heard it, doesn't really react.

OOC: Ironically, it's good you missed by a wide margin, left a big gap between the Orc and the arrow.

sKeith wrote: »
    Ekbard searches the two recently deceased orcs
    Similar to the warboss he finds several stolen items on their corpses, coming to 6GP.

OOC: Technically on these roles I'm getting stuff like 5GP and 6SP, but I really don't want to get too much into micro-coin management on the treasure side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Ekbard pockets the GP and scans the area.

Banjo wrote: »
    Ooc: 20? Christ! Well, crack on so!
    @Four, let us know if we heard Xanthea and can react / join the fray
    Betty continues to look at BandyLegs, who seems concerned about something. She turns to Othegre, "What do you make of this place priestess?"

Othegre hears a pair of screams in the distance.

goodie shoots again ( hits for 4)

OldGoat wrote: »
    I set out and try to pick up their trail.
    Saeros's elven eyes easily follows the trail of the others, coming upon Xanthea and Ekbard shortly after they had slaughtered the group of orcs.

Equally his Elven eyes, attuned to flow of magic in the world, make out an entrance in the rock ahead near the plaza, one that is sealed by an incantation.

Another Orc takes an arrow from Goodie, his body slumps forward, for a minute Goodie swallows hard as the body is on the verge of falling from the outcrop, but instead tumbles sideways into the single bush growing on the outcrop.

One other Orc looks up and checks the canyon wall. "Toughts I heard somefin'" he muses and then goes back to watching the party below.

sKeith wrote: »
    Ekbard pockets the GP and scans the area.
    Ekbard looks hard, but cannot see much else aside from the party and the plaza and Saeros's horse on approach.

"Hail Saeros, How is your tourney planning going. I'm joint 2nd place at the moment, but if we can keep betty away from the tourney I believe I have a fair chance."

ooc
    rolled a 21 natural 20+1
    hitbfor 2

An arrow wallops into another Orc's head. The kill is so efficient it floors him and staples the Orc's head to the canyon wall. No sound is made.

OOC: Tigger give me 8 d20 rolls on rolz.org

Goody fires a flurry of arrows across the canyon, dropping the orcs like flies. Six more fall to his lethal bow, before one hits the foot of an Orc on one of the lower ledges.

He goes to roar in pain, but holds in the shout and looks around. He cannot see his assailant clearly, somewhere on the canyon wall perhaps? He panics and finally shouts:

"Boys we're under attack by an bloody archer, those louts below aint as simple as dey look!!"

The other Orcs jump from their hiding spots and get ready to leap to the ground below, suddenly however they look around and see there are only twelve of them and the leader and his boys are slaughtered out at the canyon neck.

One of them speaks up in a polite tone:

"Greetins humies, ye interested in the tomb, we'd be plezed to help."

Fourier wrote: »
    Goody fires a flurry of arrows across the canyon, dropping the orcs like flies. Six more fall to his lethal bow, before one hits the foot of an Orc on one of the lower ledges.

He goes to roar in pain, but holds in the shout and looks around. He cannot see his assailant clearly, somewhere on the canyon wall perhaps? He panics and finally shouts:

"Boys we're under attack by an bloody archer, those louts below aint as simple as dey look!!"

The other Orcs jump from their hiding spots and get ready to leap to the ground below, suddenly however they look around and see there are only twelve of them and the leader and his boys are slaughtered out at the canyon neck.

Goodie is infuriated by their rracisim but glad he has contributed to breaking their moral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Betty continues to look at BandyLegs, who seems concerned about something. She turns to Othegre, "What do you make of this place priestess?"

Othegre hears a pair of screams in the distance.
    " I don't.... I..." Her charm is returning rune after rune. Its saying everything and nothing. Something is very wrong. Is it this place? Is it her? Had she broken faith when she attacked the undead she'd been given to ignore? She looks around her frantically. Is she beyond Jammai's reach here? Is this it - is the time of her Adjunct at hand? No - something else. She can see from the expressions around her that she's not the only one feeling it.

Screams in the distance. Unclear if they're human or not, but screams mean trouble. Conventional trouble, the kind that can be solved by hitting it in the face hard. No guidance needed for that. She readies her flail.

"Sis - I hope those bulging arms of yours are good for more than picking up rocks. I don't think that was a happy scream."

She turns Clipclop in the direction of the noise and spurs him gently forward trying to figure out what's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Xanthea returns the hail.

“A polite orc? Wonders never cease! If ye desire to help, tell your friends to come out where they can be seen. You and one other should come down to discuss with us!”

OOC: If we can get them clear in the open we can deal with them easier one way or another.

The Orcs glance at each other. They await the answer of the one who spoke up, effectively the new boss.

"Aye, we'll come down, all peaceful like"

They carefully descend from the outcrops, arms up in the air.

"Wait till the tribe leader hears o' this" one of them says.

goodie goes back to Humility
    refills his quiver
    25 arrows on humility 20 on him
    he carrys on his recon looking for any more nasties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Xanthea drives her sword into the ground in front of her, a sign of peace, but rests a hand behind her back, on the handle of the dagger.

She says to her companions “This could be interesting. Let’s hear them out, but be ready. And someone keep an eye on the ridge. If one of them moves out of line, they all must die. Agreed?”

Ekbard positions himself near Warior Princess and says "Agreed!"

"We wuz sent ere by our priest" says the leading Orc "hez had visions of the old Castle and the, the thing.... 'Portus'.... he called it, sent us to see if it were workin' again."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Elin looks around for someone or something to hide behind.

Othegre canters along towards the group of Orcs, flail spinning and loudly humming what would sound a lot like the theme from Police Academy in another world that had both films and police academies. She has neglected to confirm whether Betty or the others have followed.

"Dun dun deh dun
    Dedededun dun duuuuun!
    Diddle diddle Dee dun Dee dun!
    Dee Dee deh dun Dee dun!"
    Her voice rises steadily from a loud hum to a low grade scream. The volume covers up her uncertainty - for a fearsome warband they're doing a lot of standing up and not a lot of sabre rattling. Perhaps this was a chance to show her new band her charming side?

"Kiss steel, bastards!" She calls cheerily as she approaches.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

As the group converge, BandyLegs notices that subtly carved on the plaza's surface are dwarven runes. No human could spot these runes, they've been worn away by time. You'd need a dwarf's native understanding of the subtle song stones weave, to hear their very contours.

The plaza was constructed during the reign of Anak Redhammer IV, a dwarven mountain king who reigned over 500 years ago. In fact the stone itself was magical from the Blight mountains. Thurmun was an ally to dwarfs, or so Othonos had told him.

However something seemed wrong. Why undertake using magic stone, requiring runecraft, for some random human, even if he was your ally?

Then he realised. Anak Redhammer had ruled during the time of a dark lord to the west and had been subjugated by him. This Thurmun was just a corruption of Tumudz, the name of an ancient evil lord. And Carax wasn't his enemy he was Carros, his brother, Red Priest of Wastes. This Thurmun was evil through and through. This was the crypt of a dark lord.

Plaza:
    Betty approaches BandyLegs "You seem concerned my love".

Elin feels a wriggling in her sleeve, as the larva emerges and the voice of Xestes whispers to her "I'd keep my wits about me girl, make sure my body lives"

Moy gets the feeling of something foul. Othegre's eight-ball begins to spin rapidly.

Bandylegs shakes his head.

'Dumathoin's beard! Betty, who told ye the story of Thurmun yonder? There is evil in this foul place, I told ye. We must root it out, and take the spoils for ourselves. Ye see, Betty, I have to come clean....'

Bandylegs is distracted by the mad cleric arriving, muttering to herself and suddenly wheeling back around and charging towards... something.

'Ne'er mind that fer now. What did she say to ye? Might we need to put this (unsheathes his new sword) to use?'

OOC: I presume my distraction by examining the temple means I missed all the commotion

"We wuz sent ere by our priest" says the leading Orc "hez had visions of the old Castle and the, the thing.... 'Portus'.... he called it, sent us to see if it were workin' again."
    Ekbard address the Orc who spoke, "Do you know how to enter the tomb?"

Back in Thurmunton:
    The only problem is I cannot find a way in. What do you say we work together on this point? I need another to help move the rocks and I could provide the spell required. A rare one, from beyond Zassan. I had to strangle a Golem to get it and I offer you it for free."
    The wizard senses a surge of magical energy from the direction of the canyon.

"Well looks like I won't need you after all!!" he shouts smiling. A complex series of gestures and poetic phrases follow quicker than Alexander can comprehend. The Wizard extends his hand, palm outward:

"If they ask in the land I'm sending you to, tell them Sallem sent you"

Alexander is blasted backward into the cart behind him and a strange white glow rushes over his body and onto Arry whom he seems to have landed on.

A blinding flash follows. When it clears Arry and Alexander are gone. To what strange and Eldritch land, none save Sallem can say.

OOC: Haven't heard from The Soup King in a while and Lord TSC is busy in RL currently, so characters are paused and ready to pick up later.