Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Worst sledging you have received or heard on a gaa pitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

Powerhouse wrote: »
    Good man. If it's "probably" true then it should be spread and as many unnamed players as possible maligned. And in fairness, if you've heard it "several times" it must be true 'cos these things are always well tested for truth before being spread.
    Go to another thread if you're this easily upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭jinkybhoy

My brother was playing a minor match with the local club. Was marking a lad that was a dirty fecker. A lot of mouthing off was going on.

Anyway my brother made a remark about shagging his mother...He didn't know the guy from Adam but he had recently lost his mother to cancer.

Game finished soon after and as my brother was leaving the dressing rooms (they were below ground level and you had to go up a ramp to get to ground level) - The guy was there and drew a few kicks at head level - Gave my brother a serious doing as he caught him right on the head full blast and when he fell he landed on his head. Was pretty serious but he was ok in the end. Guy did a runner but he was seen and got some kind of suspension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,624 ✭✭✭dobman88

You sound like a dirtbag tbh

I've never had anything said to me in any sport thank god, playing against scumbags who stoop to that would really take the good out of it for me.

On the pitch, yes. I'm a complete nacker. Would always try and give as good as I got. Playing most of my soccer in division 2 of the Kerry league against hardy bucks from North Kerry who are more used to belting lads with hurls will make you toughen up fairly fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

jinkybhoy wrote: »
    My brother was playing a minor match with the local club. Was marking a lad that was a dirty fecker. A lot of mouthing off was going on.

Anyway my brother made a remark about shagging his mother...He didn't know the guy from Adam but he had recently lost his mother to cancer.

Game finished soon after and as my brother was leaving the dressing rooms (they were below ground level and you had to go up a ramp to get to ground level) - The guy was there and drew a few kicks at head level - Gave my brother a serious doing as he caught him right on the head full blast and when he fell he landed on his head. Was pretty serious but he was ok in the end. Guy did a runner but he was seen and got some kind of suspension.

He should have been charged with assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

I'd usually agree with you but, in this case, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Redo91 wrote: »
    Go to another thread if you're this easily upset.

Not sure where you got the idea I'm upset. I'm just taking a stance for behaving with decency and not propagating half baked stories. No apologies for that.

Oh, he speaks for EVERYONE alright. I was casually throwing an eye over the Boards forums. Came across this new thread, and with 4 pages. Thought to myself, that's my lunchbreak taken care off. Had I known half of the posts were what you posted, I wouldn't have bothered. I'd take a good sledging any day ahead of that drivel.

Surely the post where some guy was counting them should have given you a hint on my involvement in the thread. No excuse for upsetting yourself over a squandered lunch break really. Not only did you read to the end but then replied to me. No room for complaint there I'd say.

jinkybhoy wrote: »

Anyway my brother made a remark about shagging his mother...He didn't know the guy from Adam but he had recently lost his mother to cancer

I never was one for sledging. Never understood it at all. Would far more have preferred a physical confrontation. And was never at the other end of sledging either.

However irrespective if the context I never understood why anyone would get upset about some third party who obviously has no idea who their mother even is claiming they shagged her. I do remember a teenage boy (not on a GAA field) claiming he shagged my mother even though she was dead before he was born. It a cringey moment more than anything. But I suppose I am more philosophical about these things now than I might have been when much younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Remember we have only heard one side of the story.

danganabu wrote: »

That would be part of a court process though wouldn't it - hearing any mitigating circumstances? Would have helped with the young lad's anger too.

Mitigating circumstances to what?

I'd usually agree with you but, in this case, no.

Why not? If a Garda had witnessed the assault as described, would he not have been arrested?

Of course. But that's all we can offer an opinion on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

It wasnt on the pitch but Ive heard a story of a conflict between two people involved with the club in the next town over. One is a rather rotund man,the other is a priest who likes a drink. Legend goes the priest was talking on the microphone at the annual dinner dance, and the other guy made a smart remark.

Priest says to fat man over the mike: "Ive met two cnuts in this town, and youre the both of them."

Mitigating circumstances to what?

Mitigating circumstances to the assault.......possible mitigating circumstances that is.

Alleged assualt, that was kind of my point. The person categorically saying that there should have been a criminal charge made has no idea what it anything took place.

The "alleged" bit is only a function of court reporting. If a person is charged they are charged with assault, not alleged assault, so if it was in court that would have been the charge. The person saying there should have been a criminal charge has an idea of what took place. The other poster described it for them and assuming that account was accurate it was not unreasonable to think it might have been worthy of a criminal charge.

So you have no problem with the authorities pursuing criminal cases based on a third hand claim, without affording the accused the opportunity to put forward his side of the story.

It is perfectly unreasonable to assume it was worthy of a criminal charge.

That was me. Based on the incident as described in the post, he should have been charged. Of course I don't know the full story as I didn't witness it. Maybe the victim had pulled a gun? Who knows?

All we know is what the poster described and based on that, my point remains.

That was me. Based on the incident as described in the post, he should have been charged. Of course I don't know the full story as I didn't witness it. Maybe the victim had pulled a gun? Who knows?

All we know is what the poster described and based on that, my point remains.

And I agree, I merely pointed out we were only hearing one side of ther story. Story certainly didnt add up to me.

So you have no problem with the authorities pursuing criminal cases based on a third hand claim, without affording the accused the opportunity to put forward his side of the story.

It's a discussion board. Poster A tells a story. Poster B offers an opinion based on the story. It's not a court of law where witnesses and barristers debate the veracity of the post.

And I agree, I merely pointed out we were only hearing one side of ther story. Story certainly didnt add up to me.

Dunno. I could imagine a violent person who was in the throes of grief over-reacting as described.

So could I, but not waiting that lenght of time, the reaction would have been immediate not a half an hour later. And who suspended him, it didnt happen in the match, it obviously wasnt in the referees report etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Sneak

Have played club hurling all my life must have played up to around 500 games by now and rarely ever come across it, guess it depends what part of the country you play in.

So could I, but not waiting that lenght of time, the reaction would have been immediate not a half an hour later. And who suspended him, it didnt happen in the match, it obviously wasnt in the referees report etc.

I've encountered people who would wait that long to 'get revenge' and even longer. And even more violent. Fair point about the ref's report but it was on the club's premises so maybe they decided to make an issue of it?

Its possible that I watch too many crime programmes :D anyway think we better let the thread get back on topic!!

Well, TBF, it is on topic as the assault took place as a result of sledging. Anyway, I heard an interview with the Gooch a few months ago. He was asked about sledging and he said he only really came across it once which was in an All Ireland semifinal. It was against a team from the North. He was raging and refused to shake his marker's hand afterwards.

Ah sure in fairness they'll hardly pursue the case based on what is written here. If somebody kicks someone several times in the head it would be unreasonable NOT to assume it was worthy of a criminal charge. It was hardly a case of his foot slipping by the account given. Obviously I am not conflating that with a criminal investigation. And I mentioned mitigating circumstances - how do you think I imagine they would find out about them without hearing the other side of the story? I assumed that was so obvious it didn't need to be said. But for someone on a discussion board talking about unnamed people - and people not capable of being identified indirectly - in a notional case, it is not unreasonable to say that such an event as described would be worthy of a criminal charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭4Ad

VONSHIRACH wrote: »
    A Galway pal alleges that one of the "tough" dudes on the Tipp team of 89-91 greeted a Galway player on the field with the words " nice day for a hanging". Galway player's sibling had passed away. Absolute low life if true and shameful behaviour.

I have heard that one before..shocking. He showed great strength not to react.
    (If it's TRUE )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭megadodge

The whole "nice day for a hanging" is most likely a pubtalk variation of an actual incident that former Meath All-Ireland winner Liam Hayes experienced.

In his excellent book 'Out of Our Skins', Hayes (whose brother hung himself off the crossbar in the local pitch) wrote about how an unnamed Dublin player used that very phrase as he walked up to him just before a big championship match began.