Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Worst sledging you have received or heard on a gaa pitch?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

GetWithIt wrote: »

The personal things others are repeating here I just can't relate to.

In fairness a lot of the stuff here is recycled stories that are supposed to have happened in various places and matches. There has been very limited direct evidence from anyone. I'd say we hear very little of the proper stuff that goes on at inter-county level. I remember David Brady of Mayo saying what you had to listen to against some northern teams was sickening. I'd say some Donegal-Tyrone matches if they were not subject to omerta would churn up some beauties.

There really, really is.

Tis true for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Well, TBF, it is on topic as the assault took place as a result of sledging. Anyway, I heard an interview with the Gooch a few months ago. He was asked about sledging and he said he only really came across it once which was in an All Ireland semifinal. It was against a team from the North. He was raging and refused to shake his marker's hand afterwards.

Himself and Philly have had some torrid encounters but Philly doesn't go in for the nasty sledging stuff. Just likes roaring his head off at no-one in particular :)

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Himself and Philly have had some torrid encounters but Philly doesn't go in for the nasty sledging stuff. Just likes roaring his head off at no-one in particular :)

Didn't Cooper say that the worst thing about playing against those Dublin players was that they more or less ignored you and got on with the game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Danny Boy

A pal of mine was playing for Letterkenny rugby club and told the story of their first home game against PSNI. There was an obvious edge from before the game, and it was niggly throughout with late tackles and a few off the ball incidents. Anyway the game is tight and with not long left there's a maul just in front of the Letterkenny line. The PSNI push forward and 5 metres out it collapses into a ruck. Boots fly in, there's pulling every which way and some sly digs go in. In the midst of the human carnage someone audibly calls out "take that you orange bastard". Cue uproar from the PSNI team, the ref blows quickly and breaks things up. As the players rise to their feet he calls forward the letterkenny centre he has deemed guilty of the remark. Before the player has even reached the ref the yellow card is taken out and flashed towards him. The bemused player stops, shakes his head, removes his mouthgard and greets the ref's admonishment with the immortal line "For F@@k's sake ref, I'm the only Prod on this team - it's hardly going to be me!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

Some great stories and debates on the thread. Glad I decided to post it. Has anyone here ever been personally verbally attacked on the pitch? Been called useless or terrible. How did you react or would react in a hypothetical situation like that?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

megadodge wrote: »
    The whole "nice day for a hanging" is most likely a pubtalk variation of an actual incident that former Meath All-Ireland winner Liam Hayes experienced.

In his excellent book 'Out of Our Skins', Hayes (whose brother hung himself off the crossbar in the local pitch) wrote about how an unnamed Dublin player used that very phrase as he walked up to him just before a big championship match began.

Was it not a Cork player in one of the finals they played against one another? and incident led to a retaliation that led to Meath player being sent off?

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭17togo

Powerhouse wrote:
    I'd say some Donegal-Tyrone matches if they were not subject to omerta would churn up some beauties.

I'm sure you've got some fact to back up your assumption that Donegal Tyrone matches would be especially bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

On one of the rare occasions we played the PSNI at home ( often both "home" and away matches were played in the North) the Special Branch lad who travelled with the team got so hammered in the bar, that one of our Props managed to get his revolver off him, and had the barman put it under the counter.
    The bus was near Monaghan when he realised he'd lost his gun, and they had to turn back to try and find it :D

17togo wrote: »
    I'm sure you've got some fact to back up your assumption that Donegal Tyrone matches would be especially bad!

Absolutely I have. Several players including Kerry's Cooper and Mayo's David Brady have said that the northern teams are specialists in such matters and there was always plenty of off the ball mouthing in those games. Let me know what your legal advisors think anyway.

Powerhouse wrote:
    Absolutely I have. Several players including Kerry's Cooper and Mayo's David Brady have said that the northern teams are specialists in such matters and there was always plenty of off the ball mouthing in those games. Let me know what your legal advisors think anyway.

So you weren't on the pitch and didn't experience the sledging yourself? No need to get smart with the legal advise comment, you're the one hounding previous posters for giving examples of stories they've heard in the past, but you've just used that exact thing to accuse all Donegal and Tyrone players of sledging, seeing as you didn't name any specific players, we'll just assume any players that David Brady and Gooch came in contact with were sledging!

If you placed any value on the meaning of words as opposed to their capacity to simply take up space we wouldn't need this conversation. The fact that I wrote "I'd say some Donegal-Tyrone matches if they were not subject to omerta........................" make it obvious I am speculating. Unlike the examples you are trying to confuse the issue with I did not attribute any specific comment to any named player as has been done (in the face of all decent judgement and good taste) earlier in this thread.

You can assume anything you like about the players Cooper and David Brady came in contact with - make no difference to me. In fairness by your own strained logic David Brady accused every player from the North - since competition began - of sledging. It's probably best if you contact him directly. Not everyone uses language with the same precision and who knows what he really meant.

But fair play to you for helping to keep the thread on-topic anyway. Just for the record I am more than happy to deal with this sort of stuff on PM as people are worried about the thread going off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Maybe a mod could change the thread title to Powerhouse v The World??

danganabu wrote: »
    Maybe a mod could change the thread title to Powerhouse v The World??

Sometimes I wonder if these one-issue heroes who decide out of the blue that they are finally going to be the ones to sort me out are not in fact the same person.:confused:

You were making assumptions that we would have heard serious sledging in Tyrone Donegal matches based on what David Brady and Gooch said. By saying "I'd say" directly after mentioning them, that's implies an assumption. And again in the above thread "who knows what he really meant", you, apparently?!

But look I don't need to continue this on dm, I was just pointing the hypocrisy with your post after you pulling up other posters.

It's seems to be a touchy subject with you so I'll leave you at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,972 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

This is a mess of a thread.

How's that for sledging.

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

I think every single match I ever played in had some element of "sledging" which crossed the line - very personal insults, family etc.

There is definitely a blind eye turned to it when we are patting ourselves on the back about our great GAA community. But then someone gets a very special gift for his 21st birthday we cant wait to slaughter the poor lad. Personally I know which behaviour I find more detestable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

This is a mess of a thread.

How's that for sledging.

Your a mess :pac:

Am I doing this right?

You were making assumptions that we would have heard serious sledging in Tyrone Donegal matches based on what David Brady and Gooch said. By saying "I'd say" directly after mentioning them, that's implies an assumption. And again in the above thread "who knows what he really meant", you, apparently?!

But look I don't need to continue this on dm, I was just pointing the hypocrisy with your post after you pulling up other posters.

You were making assumptions that we would have heard serious sledging in Tyrone Donegal matches based on what David Brady and Gooch said. By saying "I'd say" directly after mentioning them, that's implies an assumption.

Yeah, that's exactly what I said - you were the one going on about "facts". If you'd accepted the reality that it was a fairly clear assumption instead of trying to be the big man you wouldn't have wasted your time replying.

As you have implicitly conceded in your reply there was no hypocrisy. You I speculated broadly based on what two old players have said as well as seeing many rows in Donegal-Tyrone games which might reasonably be assumed to have their origins in comments made. People are free to agree or disagree but it's a reasonable speculation. I never claimed it to be otherwise. I did and still do object to a player being named as having made a nasty comment on the pitch which cannot be corroborated. Anyone with a shred of decency would see that as fair and reasonable.

Far from it - you are the one trying to leave the stage. I could keep this sh1t up all day as my bona fides are absolutely solid. No player should be named as having made a comment in the manner that has happened here. There is no need to hijack the thread - as I wrote earlier I am happy to do this on PM. But I will forever defend players against being defamed on the internet when I can. It's wrong and unfair that it happens for the entertainment of a few mouth almighties trying to get away from the tedium of their work and I make no apologies for saying it. That's not about touchiness. It's just about decency really.

I think every single match I ever played in had some element of "sledging" which crossed the line - very personal insults, family etc.

There is definitely a blind eye turned to it when we are patting ourselves on the back about our great GAA community. But then someone gets a very special gift for his 21st birthday we cant wait to slaughter the poor lad. Personally I know which behaviour I find more detestable

There's a slight difference though isn't there? The average sledge is not filmed and put up on social media by the guy's friends unlike the incident to which you refer. If it was and people had evidence that their local hero is really a bit of a scumbag on the pitch attitudes might be different. It's not a measure of which behaviour is more detestable. It's just which one is done more publicly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Your a mess :pac:

Am I doing this right?

No, you have to bring the mammy or the sister into it for it to be proper sledging, anything else is just banter.

Powerhouse wrote: »
    . No player should be named as having made a comment in the manner that has happened here.

Hold on a second....yous got in a whah over not naming the player who said X to anthony daly and asked twice to be named?

Yous said this to response to pen Turner...

[Q)Unless you name names you could be just making it up. Big claims require big evidence. Don't be shy now.[/Q]

This in response aswell:
    [Q]But if it's true and has been referenced in a book already (which presumably was not the subject of a libel case) then why not name the player?

It's simple really - name the player or leave it out. It's just unfair on every other player on the team [/Q]

Your trying to draw people out to name players and condemn same thing a few post later???..

If you can't see the hypocrisy in your post then there's no point talking to you, so as I've said, I'll leave you at it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Powerhouse, do not post again on this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

I remember a game from my youth it was a club game I think u16 maybe u14.

It was a Derby game, too teams same parish, all players in same secondary school.

A player on our team, one of our best players had lost his mam to cancer pretty recently, after about ten minutes he left pitch in tears and visibly shaken.

Game went on and at half time word got round that his marker had been constantly sledging him about his mam.

We were pissed beyond belief, and second half started it descended into a brawl Almost immediately.

It got broken up game continues for a few minutes until the sledger (we'll call him scum) gets taken out hard by one of his own team who was a cousin of the fella who lost his mam.

Scum is lying there clearly hurt, and opposite team is now fighting themselves, obviously story comes out and another of there team goes over and boots scum while he was on ground.

Chaos ensues game cancelled.

Long term neither the fella who was sledged or the sledger played GAA again and a nice few more lads lost something towards the game as well.

A lot of friendships in the school fell apart over it as well.

That's the worst one I've ever seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭Mucky_Tackies

One pf the better slags I heard on a pitch was a guy who was pretty overweight was throwing his weight about the place. Guy was fair ****ing big and decided he couldnt compete fair so was going very physical with anyone he could. He was wearing the jersey number 11 which, because of his enormity, was very very stretched. After another broohaha one of the lads says "would you ever ****ing ease up brackets?" "What you mean, who you calling brackets?" "You, ya fat c*nt. Youre so ****ing fat the number on your back looks like brackets"!!!

Exactly. In my innocence I assumed that by drawing someone out to defame a player it would attract the attentions of a moderator and prevent what some other hero actually naming a name he cannot possibly be able to stand over. It didn't work unfortunately.

Oh yes it did! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

jcd5971 wrote: »
    I remember a game from my youth it was a club game I think u16 maybe u14.

It was a Derby game, too teams same parish, all players in same secondary school.

A player on our team, one of our best players had lost his mam to cancer pretty recently, after about ten minutes he left pitch in tears and visibly shaken.

Game went on and at half time word got round that his marker had been constantly sledging him about his mam.

We were pissed beyond belief, and second half started it descended into a brawl Almost immediately.

It got broken up game continues for a few minutes until the sledger (we'll call him scum) gets taken out hard by one of his own team who was a cousin of the fella who lost his mam.

Scum is lying there clearly hurt, and opposite team is now fighting themselves, obviously story comes out and another of there team goes over and boots scum while he was on ground.

Chaos ensues game cancelled.

Long term neither the fella who was sledged or the sledger played GAA again and a nice few more lads lost something towards the game as well.

A lot of friendships in the school fell apart over it as well.

That's the worst one I've ever seen.

Jaysus. Some of the stuff being mentioned on here is downright evil. Worst I ever did was where the opposition goalie had an unusual name so I kept on shouting it out in a mocking way. Felt stupid after the game so I went up and apologised.

Can't imagine a mindset where you deliberately plan to say deeply offensive and personal stuff.

Exactly. In my innocence I assumed that by drawing someone out to defame a player

Pretty low behaviour tbh

Anywhoos I know a very overweight player was marking a cousin of mine,the cousin slipped and fell over and very tongue in cheek the overweight lad said get up ya fat cúnt :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Exactly. In my innocence I assumed that by drawing someone out to defame a player it would attract the attentions of a moderator t.

Bullsh1t.

Do you see that little button on the left side of every post?
    That's how you draw the attention of a Mod.
    Not by wallpapering nine pages of a thread with your own posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭Redo91

Can Powerhouse not be tread banned? This was a decent thread but he has ruined it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

The second I see on the top of a post ... powerhouse,I scroll away to the next post cause it's not worth reading the pure drivel...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Powerhouse, do not post again on this thread.

Took long enough!:p

Many moons ago we were playing an U21 game. The crowd on the sideline were very close to the field with no barrier between them and the pitch. (Tulla GAA pitch Co Clare if anyone is interested). Tensions were rising and the crowd were getting more vocal. As a sideline was been taken, there was this engagement between a few people.

Player (taking sideline): Ref! Ref!!! he's too close (indicating an opposition player in front of him)
    Ref: What do you want me to do
    Player: Tell him to f*ck Off
    Woman on sideline (screaming): Book him!, book him!! Book him!!!
    Player: And tell him take that b*tch with him
    Rest of crowd: Burst out laughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,976 ✭✭✭doc_17

Reserve match about 10/11 years ago. Young lad on our team was having a great game. He had bad acne and one of their players called him pizza face. Myself and my very good friend heard it and gave each other the nod. I won’t say exactly what happened the next time the sledger got the ball but it would fair to say he left him alone after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Bscan86

Player (taking sideline): Ref! Ref!!! he's too close (indicating an opposition player in front of him) Ref: What do you want me to do Player: Tell him to f*ck Off Woman on sideline (screaming): Book him!, book him!! Book him!!! Player: And tell him take that b*tch with him Rest of crowd: Burst out laughing

Quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

A current IC player came up to Dublin to college and was playing a challenge match against Erins Isle Senior team. The college fresher team were in the final in a weeks time. A balding player from Isles sold him a dummy and he responed with "Try that again grandad".

Now down the country you might get a warning or even a chuckle, but "Grandad" welcomed Mr. Intercounty to Dublin with a box on the nose. We thought he had broken his nose, but he was able to play in the final the week after.

Kept his mouth shut and had a great game.

Hasn't learned his lesson though considering the amounts of punches he has taken since then.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I was a minor in 2006. Had an indie rock haircut and wore white boots on the field.

A friend of mine had the same hairstyle but not the boots.

The two of us were walking from the changing rooms to the bus when an inbred looking creature approched us and said ' Why don't you two queers get out of here before Jim throws you out like a bag of sausages'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

Sticking to thread title, the worst I received was being called a fat c**t in a league game. Which I was! I'm lighter now than I was when I was playing. So, next ball I let yer man go for it and caught him hard and unfair as he landed. He was carted off injured, his two brothers started mouthing at me but when offered the chance to follow up the mouthing didn't take me up on it!
    I wouldn't mind only I'm a quiet lad!
    I actually know the three lads reasonably well and would chat away to any of them when our paths cross.
    The worst I've heard of was that Liam Hayes story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,879 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Edit - this is very innocent, but funny and sort of in keeping with the thread nonetheless - edit over!

I live close to a load of pitches, I was cycling to the beach with my 3 year old and...

Player roared "PASS THE F***ING BALL"

My kid say's "DAD, he said F**king!!!" in a loud whispered awe and amazement voice.

Footballer (with supersonic hearing) heard him and said "I DID NOT, I said PASS THE FOOTING BALL"

Even the ref was roaring laughing.

Young fella's six now and listens intently to matches when we're passing by. We'd never watch on TV, but we'd often stop and watch matches in the park now.