Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

sligojoek wrote: »
    Kerry Anne / Jenny Dixon will be on with Ray Darcy today

She is always on Ray, she sure loves the Rays :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

nagdefy wrote: »
    Welcome MsWesterosi :)

Very good posts.

Thanks! :D I love this thread - it never fails to give me a laugh. You're all great craic, I enjoy all of the comments (some of yer keen observations had me nearly choking on my tea - keyboard all tea splattered, but I didn't choke lol). Actually, I only started watching FC again because of this thread, and ye all seem like a sound bunch; I'm glad to be here. :D

I know I'm more of a lurker who enjoys reading the posts and the banter of the regular posters, but for some reason I couldn't sign in on my usual account (I just posted occasionaly on that one), but watching the whole Robbie/Karen/Aoife storyline got me to thinking. What if it was a thing that Dan raped Aoife, resulting in Karen's conception; hence her reluctance to tell Karen the truth about her father? What if a sense of completely misplaced shame caused her to leave Robbie? Remember, if earlier storylines are anything to go by, Dan wasn't always the nice guy he is now...... Just my tuppence worth. ....

Aoife does seem to have a deep hatred for Dan but he was helpful to Yvonne through her date rape so making him a rapist now could be jumping the shark too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Karen does seem to have a deep hatred for Dan but he was helpful to Yvonne through her date rape so making him a rapist now could be jumping the shark too much

Do you think the writers remember that far back? :rolleyes:

EIREDriver wrote: »
    Do you think the writers remember that far back? :rolleyes:

Touche ;)

Aoife does seem to have a deep hatred for Dan but he was helpful to Yvonne through her date rape so making him a rapist now could be jumping the shark too much

The writers have probably forgotten all about that..... The same way that they forgot that Sash used to be straight and that Judith was in Africa (apparently she's in Munich now), as well as Damian being the victim of domestic abuse instead of being the agressive type.... It is Fair City after all :D And what ever hapened to Dearbhla????? Is she still in Canada, I wonder? :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

The writers have probably forgotten all about that..... The same way that they forgot that Sash used to be straight and that Judith was in Africa (apparently she's in Munich now), as well as Damian being the victim of domestic abuse instead of being the agressive type.... It is Fair City after all :D And what ever hapened to Dearbhla????? Is she still in Canada, I wonder? :D

Don't forget the young wan that Dermish was looking after who went to the Galápagos Islands with her sister, not even I can remember her name, never heard from again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Don't forget the young wan that Dermish was looking after who went to the Galgos Islands with her sister, can't remember her name, not even I can remember her name, never heard from again!

I think after months of non reference to her there was a brief mention that she was now in Milan.

What's the story with Dermot's dry cleaners? Saw Damo hanging around in it last night so it's still open. Is Jo managing it by proxy, or does it maybe now belong to Paul in a similar fashion to how Katy somehow got Ciaran's apartment..

Don't forget the young wan that Dermish was looking after who went to the Galápagos Islands with her sister, not even I can remember her name, never heard from again!

She's probably Queen of the Giant Turtles by now, in the same way as Tarzan was King of the Apes, after nearly a year of integretion, I'm sure the turtles have come to look on her as one of their own! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,510 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I would actually love Miriam to be genuine and for Doug's actions to be the reason Hanna dies!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Whats the name of the cancer fella that took dolly and wayne the pain out for lunch yesterday? everyone is constantly trying too take advantage of him and his money, first the pheonix way and now wayne and he's sooo oblivious too it :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Whats the name of the cancer fella that took dolly and wayne the pain out for lunch yesterday? everyone is constantly trying too take advantage of him and his money, first the pheonix way and now wayne and he's sooo oblivious too it :D.

His name is Ronan and i sense Manson is going to be sniffing around him when he shows signs of having only a few weeks left, looking for cash for Phoneix or her new cult name.

I couldn't really hear last nights episode but did the Ronan guy
    invest €50000 in the garage yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Miriam has been wearing the same top for the last three episodes

Also dan must be fairly quick in the ould wheelchair, he left the community centre but yet didnt see aoife who came in less then a minute later

He must have engaged his Turbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

She's probably Queen of the Giant Turtles by now, in the same way as Tarzan was King of the Apes, after nearly a year of integretion, I'm sure the turtles have come to look on her as one of their own! :D

She’s probably an advisor to David Attenborough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Maybe she could take over his job

Looks like Ronan has invested in both Phoenix and Wayne's garage and formed a joint venture.

Spotted one of their cars today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Is Miriam using Eoin just to get access to the house do ye think? Don't think she has any interest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Does Paul or Niamh still own that house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

laylag wrote: »
    Is Miriam using Eoin just to get access to the house do ye think? Don't think she has any interest!

It's looking that way. Does she not have a house of her own though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Strazdas wrote:
    It's looking that way. Does she not have a house of her own though?

Lord knows! She's never in it if she does!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

sligojoek wrote: »
    Does Paul or Niamh still own that house?

I think he's looking after it for Barry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

It seems there will be some rivalry between Dan and Robbie over Karen. One or other is her father and I have a strange feeling it will turn out to be Robbie. Aoife clearly likes Robbie a lot but hates Dan. Why? Dan comes across as a decent person and a nice man. I can't seem him as a rapist somehow.

Miriam's group is becoming more and more like a complete cult. Unsure about Miriam herself. Is she good or sinister? It looks like you now have 2 organisations: The Phoenix Way, a self help group with unorthodox methods who are run by a crook doctor; and Miriam's group which seems to veer more towards the style of a real cult.

Then Niamh is supposed to sneak away to Fiji with this Marcus. This will leave room for her to come back later to be (again) with the only man she ever really loved and hated: Paul.

Sparko wrote: »
    I think after months of non reference to her there was a brief mention that she was now in Milan.

What's the story with Dermot's dry cleaners? Saw Damo hanging around in it last night so it's still open. Is Jo managing it by proxy, or does it maybe now belong to Paul in a similar fashion to how Katy somehow got Ciaran's apartment..

Did Hughie not buy the launderette and also pod hostel?

Damien is playing a priest in Nowhere Fast tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭threetrees

The house Eoghan is in was owned by Paul, he wanted to kick the O'Briens out to extend the Pod/set up the speakeasy. Not sure what happened the house in The Plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Did Hughie not buy the launderette and also pod hostel?

He definitely owns the hostel - not sure about the launderette.

It seems there will be some rivalry between Dan and Robbie over Karen. One or other is her father and I have a strange feeling it will turn out to be Robbie. Aoife clearly likes Robbie a lot but hates Dan. Why? Dan comes across as a decent person and a nice man. I can't seem him as a rapist somehow.

They've already had the paternity test and Robbie has been ruled out! I think Dan will be the father and Robbie will resent him for cheating with/raping his then girlfriend.

... then we'll see Robbie and Dan going at it. Robbie swings a punch, but slips on the grease spilling from his hair. Never a man to pass up an opportunity, Dan wheels in viciously, and bumps into Robbie's head repeatedly with his wheelchair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,182 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

EIREDriver wrote: »
    They've already had the paternity test and Robbie has been ruled out! I think Dan will be the father and Robbie will resent him for cheating with/raping his then girlfriend.

... then we'll see Robbie and Dan going at it. Robbie swings a punch, but slips on the grease spilling from his hair. Never a man to pass up an opportunity, Dan wheels in viciously, and bumps into Robbie's head repeatedly with his wheelchair.

haha - vivid imagination .. but I like it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,182 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

what a whore that wayne is - starts saying about "when is Pete back ma?" in front of Ronan, and then when he hears he could be interested in investing in the garage, is all over him like a rash! ...