Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The poor farmer hypocrisy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭orchard farm

Organic suckler here in bad north west land,went organic as only viable way to make a living here,the future looks good for organic produce.it was either organic or forestry and would never plant,although i did the sums and if i planted my income would work out at average 100k per year for the rest of my life tax free and im 34,so maybe im a fool?but i love my life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,452 ✭✭✭Grueller

*Any tillage farm growing any feed grade crops subsididsing livestock farmers are going broke you mean.

Much the same as
    *any suckler farm selling weanlings at €6-700 per head and subsidising Larry Goodman is going broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

tanko wrote: »
    On a serious note, Simon Coveney was asked what he was going to do for suckler farmers at a meeting in Cavan a few years ago, he replied that sucklers were an inefficent use of land.

They are only inefficient in terms of converting land to money.

They're the f***king bees knees at turning it into fantastic beef.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭mf240

It's all those wilderbeast and zebra in the Serengeti that are the problem. We should shoot them and plant Christmas tree's.

How much jetfuel is Burnt taking politicians around the world to meetings to discuss the fallout of a few whiteheads belching in mayo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

kowtow wrote: »

Ah go way out of that shur they're rolling in money otherwise they wouldn't be doing it.;)
    Problem is farmers start listening to their own propaganda afraid to clean themselves up before going to the Mart in case someone else thinks they have money.;)
    Miserable odd bunch.

Madness though the whole world is looking for grass fed beef over corn fed (due to carbon saving and taste as well) and in one of the few countries where it comes easy to do this, the greenies want to ban it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

kowtow wrote: »
    tanko wrote: »
    On a serious note, Simon Coveney was asked what he was going to do for suckler farmers at a meeting in Cavan a few years ago, he replied that sucklers were an inefficent use of land.

I have to take issue with this bovine racism and discrimination!!! Talking to my very friendly procurement manager in slaney meats some time ago about what actually makes good eating tasty tender beef and a panel of blind tasters found an Angus Holstein heifer swept the board..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    So where will they keep the dairy beef calves if the land is planted?

The only place I can think of is where the monkey put the nut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

kerry cow wrote: »
    Suckler and tillage are unprofitable in a no bfp system .
    The suckler herd is contributing to the green house gases and by removing them and planting the land it has a double balancing effect .
    And yes suckler farming is not a necessity as there are plenty of dairy beef calves .

Another incite full comment. It's Sunday and I am trying to take the positives out of your comment .....................................................

Enough said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Mac Taylor wrote:
    Another incite full comment. It's Sunday and I am trying to take the positives out of your comment .....................................................

Mac Taylor wrote:
    Enough said

I am not trying to be negative but was just trying to open the view points of the interview on agri land with a retiring adviser .read it yer selves .
    But the problem is people don't look at the big picture when it comes to net profit and hours worked v's the new cow carbon tax that's coming also keeping in mind the bfp and forestry options .
    Time will tell and it should be left un interfered with , letting nature Take its course and stop the propping.

Willfarman wrote: »
    I have to take issue with this bovine racism and discrimination!!! Talking to my very friendly procurement manager in slaney meats some time ago about what actually makes good eating tasty tender beef and a panel of blind tasters found an Angus Holstein heifer swept the board..

Wasn't there another taste teat that brought blonde acquitaine out tops? Details escape me. If you ask me there is very little differ if the carcasses are hung long enough and the meat cooked appropriately.

Bit more to it than that. Age and rearing and docility reflect in the eating of steak apparently. For example If an animal dies on fright flight or fight it fecks up the tenderness.. which is one mark down straight away for the continental suckler bred animal generally..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Cavanjack wrote: »
    When lads quit paying over the odds for bad friesian bulls the whole thing will sort itself out. Dairy farmers will all start using Sexed semen and it will mean no more narrow friesian bull calves
    . Every dairy farmer will use an aa or hr bull to mop up. The lads in the west that are losing money at suckling will give up and rear these calves and they'll be sold as stores to the lads in the east to finish. The only lads that'll remain at suckling will be those producing u/e grade calves for export.

This year the live export trade was driving the calf prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Bit more to it than that. Age and rearing and docility reflect in the eating of steak apparently. For example If an animal dies on fright flight or fight it fecks up the tenderness.. which is one mark down straight away for the continental suckler bred animal generally..

All I know from cooking is the more marbling (fat lines through the meat) the easier it is to cook and have tender.
    Lidl and aldi are selling some good beef atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭oneten

I find that hard to swallow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Grueller wrote: »
    Wasn't there another taste teat that brought blonde acquitaine out tops? Details escape me. If you ask me there is very little differ if the carcasses are hung long enough and the meat cooked appropriately.

For sure, I remember that one, was over in England. He announced the beef as being 'from a blonde lady' if I recall correctly :D

Bovine equality is what willfarman is all about! Black white red and blue, not the colour of the skin that the says how much the chew..

Actually willfarman, the cynic in me says that some time ago they wanted all dairy beef stock.....
    Just recently they are lamenting the loss of processing efficiency due to smaller carcasses.....
    Next taste test says 500kg charolais carcass tastes best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,918 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Floki wrote: »

All I know from cooking is the more marbling (fat lines through the meat) the easier it is to cook and have tender.
    Lidl and aldi are selling some good beef atm.

We do our weekly shopping in Aldo and go to Dunnes Stores for a few things you cannot get in Aldi....have bought same meat cuts,steaks,stewing beef,etc etc in Aldi and Dunnes Stores and 9 times out of 10 Aldi meat is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

10 year old retired milkers properly fattened for a year on grass fetching 40 pounds a kilo and more to some uk restaurants.

There's more than one way to skin a cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,737 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We do our weekly shopping in Aldo and go to Dunnes Stores for a few things you cannot get in Aldi....have bought same meat cuts,steaks,stewing beef,etc etc in Aldi and Dunnes Stores and 9 times out of 10 Aldi meat is better.
    Dunnes is better for pork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Would Ye not support yer local butchers??

As farmers we complain about Larry taking us for a ride, about the big supermarkets taking us for a ride, Glanbia taking us for a ride etc etc

But yet when we have the small chance to exercise the small bit of power we have with our cash we do the same as every other Tom, Dick and Harry in this country and buy our food at the supermarkets, especially meat and veg

Shame on Ye

That’s the real hypocrisy right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

The average net income for dairy farmers was still over €50000 according to teagasc....
    It was not as bad for many as taught. As quota's were gone it allowed farmers to supply as much milk as they could produce off grass. Grass growing conditions were excellent and the autumn was fairy dry except for September. Because of this incomes held up fairly well.

Milk price was at the cost of production until July when over half the yearly supplies were sent, calves were a good price. Teagasc must be basing their figures on 200+ cow herds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Wessel3

mikefoxo wrote: »
    Brother was working down in west Cork last year for a bit. Lot of dairy lads all playing 'keeping up with the Joneses'. In a way it was good, they were all trying to be super efficent (reseeding, lime, profit monitor etc.), but they were also going around in brand new machines. Except for one lad. He had a two wheel drive tractor, a fertiliser spreader and not much else and he was making the most out of the lot of them :D
    Heres the golden question though. Making the most for what exactly. There has to be some outlet for income otherwise its slightly pointless, there are a massive amount of people over doing it but also people as mentioned already hoarding it for the next generation to piss against the wall. if the tractor makes your job easier and more enjoyable health to ya, same goes for jeep. if a man can afford it he shouldn't be begrudged a bit of comfort no matter the size of his setup

Panch18 wrote: »
    Would Ye not support yer local butchers??

As farmers we complain about Larry taking us for a ride, about the big supermarkets taking us for a ride, Glanbia taking us for a ride etc etc

But yet when we have the small chance to exercise the small bit of power we have with our cash we do the same as every other Tom, Dick and Harry in this country and buy our food at the supermarkets, especially meat and veg

Shame on Ye

That’s the real hypocrisy right there
    I go to the butchers often. But in reality the prices they charge it is not sustainable to do all your family meat shopping there.

Grueller wrote: »

Actually willfarman, the cynic in me says that some time ago they wanted all dairy beef stock.....
    Just recently they are lamenting the loss of processing efficiency due to smaller carcasses.....
    Next taste test says 500kg charolais carcass tastes best?
    That is a unsubstantiated claim from the journal a few weeks back. The cynic in me says it was simply a populist story to keep the minions happy..

but the elephant in the room won't be addressed. Justin McCarthy, the ifa, and teagasc in there infinite wisdom, stupidly loaded larries guns to cheapen the greater tonnage of beef by far. Because massaging the ego of the "good" farmers with the "good cattle" who produce "quality beef" keeps their revenues coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

This thread is gone off the boil a bit!!

I will add my genius to it all.

In relation to poor mouthing....its a national trait.

In relation to sucklers....the man rearing a 8mt old calf export quality to 360kg plus is the only winner. Unless he sets himself up to double suck a dairy heifer on milky cows and sell the cont calf as weanling and finish the dairy lady at 22mts.

In relation to dry stock...there is a few pound to be made by the lads that pay for value and dont over pay just to have nice stock.

In relation to Dairy.... ye have the best of it lads and good luck to ye. Ye spent money through the hard times and ye will make money and be comfortable...one thing...GET THE **** DOWN OFF YER HIGH HORSES AND SUPPORT YER NEIGHBOURS THAT REAR YER OFFSPRING AND THAT HARVEST YER GRAIN AND SUPPLY YER STRAW....we all know ye will make the best living from all the different enterprises and more power to ye, but don't forget ye will be tarred with the same big sticky brush as the rest of us will by these climate change taypots

On relation to tillage....no comment as no nothing about it.

In relation to planting....anywhere you see a beast up to thier bellies between the months of May 1st to October first is not a suitable place to run cattle.

In relation to Farmers....if we dont get our act together and get the right people fighting our case, in our corner we are fcuked. We are the weakest link.
    We hold onto our caps in both hands twisting it with anger and out of the corner of our mouths mutter "yes sir". The rest of the industries that probably cause more harm to the environment will blame farming as we, as we do for Larry and whoever else dictates the price, will pull down our own trousers, fetch the barrell and apply our own vaseline as has been done for years. So instead of bickering over who has the fatter wallet or who.is poor mouthing, or what tractor/jeep they have, should we not all be getting together and defending ourselves against these greenies and lets do the backing into the corner for a change.

whelan2 wrote: »
    I go to the butchers often. But in reality the prices they charge it is not sustainable to do all your family meat shopping there.

Sorry whelan but I’m calling rubbish on this, absolute rubbish I’m afraid

For starters our local butcher is doing deals which are top class value, most butchers are

Secondly, you are milking how many cows is it again, and you can’t afford to pay a bit extra for a bit of extra quality and to support a local business?? But yet you expect joe public to pay top dollar for your milk

Thirdly you know that 1 particular supermarket is better than the other for particular kinds of meat which tells me that you are buying most of not all of your meat at a supermarket

You’re not alone amongst the farming community however, there are plenty more

I repeat, shame on Ye

Sorry whelan but I’m calling rubbish on this, absolute rubbish I’m afraid

For starters our local butcher is doing deals which are top class value, most butchers are

Secondly, you are milking how many cows is it again, and you can’t afford to pay a bit extra for a bit of extra quality and to support a local business?? But yet you expect joe public to pay top dollar for your milk

Thirdly you know that 1 particular supermarket is better than the other for particular kinds of meat which tells me that you are buying most of not all of your meat at a supermarket

You’re not alone amongst the farming community however, there are plenty more

I repeat, shame on Ye

Yes they do deals. We stock up here on these offers. Supermarkets do deals too. Local supervalu have a top class butchers are we to avoid there too? Perhaps low milk price and no money have thought me to shop were the value is. Each to their own.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Yes they do deals. We stock up here on these offers. Supermarkets do deals too. Local supervalu have a top class butchers are we to avoid there too? Perhaps low milk price and no money have thought me to shop were the value is. Each to their own.

You do know that SuperValu is part of Musgraves which is the biggest food retailer in Ireland? Bigger than dunne’s and Tesco. It’s not your local paddy Mcpaddy that is really calling the shots, even though his name may be over the door

Everybody has th right to choose where to shop, but you forsake the right to complain about the prices you receive when the cheap place you buy your food from won’t properly pay for the food you produce. And from what I see on the milk price thread you are up there with the best of them complaining about Glanbia

Yet you will probably shop in dunne’s again this week, despite the fact that dunne’s has a trade war going on with glanbia at the moment, because guess what, they are trying to get a better price for your produce

You do know that SuperValu is part of Musgraves which is the biggest food retailer in Ireland? Bigger than dunne’s and Tesco. It’s not your local paddy Mcpaddy that is really calling the shots, even though his name may be over the door

Everybody has th right to choose where to shop, but you forsake the right to complain about the prices you receive when the cheap place you buy your food from won’t properly pay for the food you produce. And from what I see on the milk price thread you are up there with the best of them complaining about Glanbia

Yet you will probably shop in dunne’s again this week, despite the fact that dunne’s has a trade war going on with glanbia at the moment, because guess what, they are trying to get a better price for your produce
    Where anyone shops is their own business, no dont normally shop in Dunnes.About once every 6 months. Eldest lad is on a special diet for training so I shop about 4 times a week to make sure he has fresh stuff. No point doing a big shop and throwing it away.