Not The Annoyingly Trivial Things-Bitches be cray cray week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

New Home wrote: »
    Ditto, but Frankfurt Airport (again!) for a hair elastic band with NO metallic parts at all in my back pocket. :rolleyes:

I was travelling back from Liverpool airport & they stopped by bag in security.

They took out my toiletries, and took a sample of my toothpaste and rubbed it onto a piece of card.

Never seen it done anywhere before, I reckon they were bored & wanted to do something.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Pac1Man wrote: »
    I'm worried; that's a lot of angry faces used in your last few posts.

shark-silhouette-image-3.png

If you're not one of those Hollywood geniuses who wreck perfectly good films, and if you're not in any way connected to airports or rotten mob-like airlines, you're grand. :D

Anyway, I hope you have a bigger boat, you're gonna need it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You've never experienced airport madness until you've been in a few airports in Africa.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    I was travelling back from Liverpool airport & they stopped by bag in security.

They took out my toiletries, and took a sample of my toothpaste and rubbed it onto a piece of card.

Never seen it done anywhere before, I reckon they were bored & wanted to do something.

I bet they have bets on who gets the most creative when testing for drugs. :D It's like playing "bullshit bingo" during boring, useless work meetings or conference calls. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Falling asleep on the couch and I haven't even had dinner yet. Wanting someone to tuck me into bed and read me a story. Autocorrect kept trying to change that sentence to "fcuk me into bed" :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Falling asleep on the couch and I haven't even had dinner yet. Wanting someone to tuck me into bed and read me a story. Autocorrect kept trying to change that sentence to "fcuk me into bed" :D

That's not autocorrect, that's Artificial Intelligence.

Autocorrect knows you too well. :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

"fcuk me into bed" :D

200.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭wally79

being felt up by a six foot tall blonde Dutch woman with an MP5 is not fun!!

We’ll have to agree to disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The robot in the Eir Christmas ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    That's not autocorrect, that's Artificial Intelligence.

Wishful thinking I'd say...a common occurrence after shark week.ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I made the mistake of leaving a biro in my pocket going through Schipol.

I know it was for security reasons but being felt up by a six foot tall blonde Dutch woman with an MP5 is not fun!!

I'd bet there's people who'd pay good money for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

bonzodog2 wrote: »

That's why they're in Amsterdam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

Anna you're up!!!!!!

bonzodog2 wrote: »

I know it was for security reasons but being felt up by a six foot tall blonde Dutch woman with an MP5 is not fun!!

She was a fine looking girl I'll give you but wasted on me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Fun fact: I was at school with a lad that is now part owner of Heckler & Koch, who make MP5s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

TA'd at other people's parenting. Going to collect my son today from after school. Two parents chatting away oblivious to the fact their children are literally standing in front of the door blocking the way into the building. The kids just stared blankly when I said excuse me. The parents eventually noticed. My fella has autism and so the spatial awareness is not the best. I am constantly reminding him to be mindful of his surroundings. He would probably stand in front of a door without thinking twice, but I would be like no don't block the door for other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

We are putting on a musical at the minute and tonight 2 women sat at the back of the hall and had a full on conversation during the show. Why would anyone bother going to a show if they were going to talk and disturb everyone. It's so bloody rude.

Also, because it's a teenager show, people never give it a chance and won't come to see them perform. Now that word is spreading about it, people are getting angry with us because there are no tickets left for tomorrow night. We've been on all week and the tickets have been on sale for 2 weeks. Drives me mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

^ on the topic of this there is a musical thing where I live and they put on a concert thing a few weeks ago. Warned to buy tickets early as once they're gone they're gone. Bought mine over a week in advance, the tickets were still being sold on the door (20 euro a pop) not a seat to be got. Too many people standing (for 4 hours) that you couldn't see and the organisers solution was to hook up a small (40 odd inch) tv and a speaker in another area to the concert so people could pay 20 euro to watch mediocre kareoke on a TV. I am a huge fan of musicals but will never ever support another musical run by that organisation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,717 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

^ on the topic of this there is a musical thing where I live and they put on a concert thing a few weeks ago. Warned to buy tickets early as once they're gone they're gone. Bought mine over a week in advance, the tickets were still being sold on the door (20 euro a pop) not a seat to be got. Too many people standing (for 4 hours) that you couldn't see and the organisers solution was to hook up a small (40 odd inch) tv and a speaker in another area to the concert so people could pay 20 euro to watch mediocre kareoke on a TV. I am a huge fan of musicals but will never ever support another musical run by that organisation

that's terrible.
    bad enough watching it in person but having to watch it on a crappy tv with worse sound. no thank you. that's just taking advantage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,443 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

KatW4 wrote:
    We are putting on a musical at the minute and tonight 2 women sat at the back of the hall and had a full on conversation during the show. Why would anyone bother going to a show if they were going to talk and disturb everyone. It's so bloody rude.

I was at a play Sunday evening which was sold out. 15 of us watched it from standing position at the back of the hall. 12 guys and 3 ladies. The 3 ladies were physically incapable of not whispering loudly between themselves for more than 20 seconds or so. It was so persistent it was nearly impressive. At one point about 5 of the guys turned to them whispering FFS, 10 seconds later... "whish whish whish whish whish".
    As I said, nearly impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Vela

My FB feed is full of people moaning about this country.

Well, I fcuking love Ireland. I love the people, I love the culture, and having traveled a fair bit I don't think I'd live anywhere else.

Every country has its problems. But, jeez, they don't moan about them half as much as we do.

So, WHISHT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

mohawk wrote: »
    TA'd at other people's parenting. Going to collect my son today from after school. Two parents chatting away oblivious to the fact their children are literally standing in front of the door blocking the way into the building. The kids just stared blankly when I said excuse me. The parents eventually noticed. My fella has autism and so the spatial awareness is not the best. I am constantly reminding him to be mindful of his surroundings. He would probably stand in front of a door without thinking twice, but I would be like no don't block the door for other people.

In work about 2 weeks ago there was a child lying on the tiles pushing himself around because it's slidey and fun. Now that's fine at home but I work in a hospital and there's people rushing around trying to save lives and provide urgent medical care, then you had people with physical disabilities that were being impeded by the little brat and people with vision problems that were also being impeded by him.
    I use the door directly behind the brat all day everyday so, the first time he didn't move, the second time he didn't move, on the third go, I said to his mother (who was busy scrolling through Facebook) "you'll have to be careful with your son on the floor here as there's lots of people moving around here so just keep an eye on him", her response "well they can watch where they're going!" Lovely.
    There's a part of the hospital where a lot of blind and partially sighted people would be, unfortunately a lot of them are elderly so they're having problems seeing and getting around. We're constantly telling parents not to let their children run up and down that corridor because it's dangerous. When I say it to parents their response is "why not?" in other, why can't I let my child run free like a wild animal around people having medical treatment?

Also, can I just add that, in my experience of dealing with many many parents and their children everyday, the parents of the children with the actual conditions that may effect their behaviour in public are the parents who can't apologise enough and take steps to keep any disruption to a minimum.

erica74 wrote: »
    mohawk wrote: »

In work about 2 weeks ago there was a child lying on the tiles pushing himself around because it's slidey and fun. Now that's fine at home but I work in a hospital and there's people rushing around trying to save lives and provide urgent medical care then you have people with physical disabilities that were being impeded by the little brat and people with vision problems that were also being impeded by him.
    I use the door directly behind the brat all day everyday so, the first time he didn't move, the second time he didn't move, on the third go, I said to his mother (who was busy scrolling through Facebook) "you'll have to be careful with your son on the floor here as there's lots of people moving around here so just keep an eye on him", her response "well they can watch where they're going!" Lovely.
    There's a part of the hospital where a lot of blind and partially sighted people would be, unfortunately a lot of them are elderly so they're having problems seeing and getting around. We're constantly telling parents not to let their children run up and down that corridor because it's dangerous. When I say it to parents their response is "why not?" in other, why can't I let my child run free like a wild animal around people having medical treatment?

I hear you!

Couple of days ago kid runs smack into me at Heuston. Now I'm not a small svelte person so to a 7-8 year old it was akin to a mini hitting a wall.

Skank of a mother starts giving out about it. Told that her kid ran into me while stationary she goes "he's a kid". "Yes and you're the parent who is meant to ensure he doesn't run wild".

No talking to some people !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Corporate year end reviews.

Write a paragraph about I did for global risk

?? I started in September, sure I dunno, didn’t lose any money I suppose :confused:

Next sections : ethics

Ah heyor, it goes on and on

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Corporate year end reviews.

Write a paragraph about I did for global risk

?? I started in September, sure I dunno, didn’t lose any money I suppose :confused:

Next sections : ethics

Ah heyor, it goes on and on

I hate those self evaluation things, the terror of having to think of things I did a good job on and compliment myself on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

It feels like someone is wringing out my uterus like a wet tea towel.

If one more person asks me "are you going home for Christmas?" or "are you spending Christmas with your family?" I'm going to explode.
    First of all, I am home, where I live is my home, I've never had another home, nowhere else ever felt like a home.
    Secondly, yes, I am spending Christmas with my family - my husband and my dogs - and our friends, my sister and her girlfriend will all be visiting.
    But if you don't give the standard answer of yes, I'm going to sing carols around the fire after midnight mass on Christmas Eve with my parents, people get all awkward and think there's something serious wrong with you.

Anyway, rant over, I love love love Christmas but this time of year also brings up a lot of crap for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭cefh17

People driving at a steady 50-60kmph, no matter in a 100 zone or through a town.. but worse yet is the idiots who don't overtake when they can, so you're stuck 3 cars back and waiting for that holy Grail of a straight stetch with no cars coming for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Facebook has recently started to inundate me with posts about people's birthdays, specifically if I haven't wished them well.
    I like the feature of advising me if it is someone's birthday, usually I'll choose to wish them well if they're a close friend or someone I've not hidden or accepted their invite out of awkwardness. But then for a day or two after their birthdays FB will show me a dozen posts of folks wishing them a Happy Birthday in my news feed.