Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread VIII - ** MOD NOTE POST #4781 **

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,217 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Big opportunity for Porter.

Delighted for Ruddock as captain again. Very unlucky to only have 17 caps to his name so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

If you look at this team in terms of who can have the biggest short-term impact on their fortunes... I'd say the 5

Ruddock can possibly cement his place in the 23 for Argentina/6Ns.
    Murphy can possibly oust him.
    Porter can possibly make himself a genuine bench option due to his quality around the field
    Dillane can make some lost ground up on Ryan.
    Conway can make himself a real option at 15 in the not entirely unlikely scenario that RK and JP are missing.

And I suppose a bad performance from Marmion/Carberry could set them back as our seemingly 2nd choice half backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,834 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Just noticed that James Ryan isn't in the side. Thought he was sure to get a start. Another injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭timaru89

Ireland's heaviest ever midfield?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

Jaysus can you imagine being a poor battered auld Fijian thinking youve done well so far and the scoreline is looking respectable then looking up at the 50-60 minute mark and seeing healy, furlong, stander and henshaw, four b&i lions no less, coming onto the pitch got rest their souls.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

Porter's move to tighthead really worked out for him.

Clegg wrote: »
    Just noticed that James Ryan isn't in the side. Thought he was sure to get a start. Another injury?

Yep. Seems to get a knock after just about every match.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

Yep. Seems to get a knock after just about every match.

he isn't any different to most 21 year olds that size.. body not fully matured, so is prone to injury.

can't think of any irish 2nd rows that age who didn't struggle with injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

irishfan9 wrote: »
    Porter's move to tighthead really worked out for him.

Was surprised it took so long. I was saying when I saw him at U20's he should consider a move over.

It's fairly possible they wanted a proper look at him at LH just in case he turned out to be a proper monster who was undroppable.

He's certainly grabbed this chance at TH with both his monstrous hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

timaru89 wrote: »
    Ireland's heaviest ever midfield?

Henshaw, McCloskey v England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Adam Byrne the only one of the original squad not to see a jersey then? Can't say I'm surprised at that but I'd rather not be risking Henshaw in this game. Ditto Furlong and Stander; Bent and Reidy aren't long term options but they'd plug a gap against Fiji.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

errlloyd wrote: »
    timaru89 wrote: »
    Ireland's heaviest ever midbfield?

Farrell is 6'5" and 110 kg, has about 10 kilos on henshaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

AdamD wrote: »
    I've only seen Chris Farrell play poorly for Munster. I know he's been good, but I am just wondering where he sits on the centre pecking order come Japan.

Henshaw
    Aki
    Ringrose
    Marshall
    McCloskey
    Scannell
    Payne

Doubt Aki is ahead of Ringrose already

That wasn't a ranked list. Just as they came to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Adam Byrne the only one of the original squad not to see a jersey then? Can't say I'm surprised at that but I'd rather not be risking Henshaw in this game. Ditto Furlong and Stander; Bent and Reidy aren't long term options but they'd plug a gap against Fiji.

They might stick him on the bench against Argentina for that reason.

Maybe best not to stick him on the wing against Fiji, he might get flashbacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,734 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

If you look at this team in terms of who can have the biggest short-term impact on their fortunes... I'd say the 5

Ruddock can possibly cement his place in the 23 for Argentina/6Ns.
    Murphy can possibly oust him.
    Porter can possibly make himself a genuine bench option due to his quality around the field
    Dillane can make some lost ground up on Ryan.
    Conway can make himself a real option at 15 in the not entirely unlikely scenario that RK and JP are missing.

And I suppose a bad performance from Marmion/Carberry could set them back as our seemingly 2nd choice half backs.

I think Carberry is probably safe enough as 2nd choice for the foreseeable, maybe Marmion too.

There's also the flip side of this - eg. another weak McCloskey performance and I think it'll be a long, long time before we see him named in an Irish squad again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

They might stick him on the bench against Argentina for that reason.

Maybe best not to stick him on the wing against Fiji, he might get flashbacks

Lol. Maybe he got a note from his mam excusing him.

If the Argies are as bad as they were against England, I'd have no concerns about playing anyone against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

DGRulz wrote: »
    Was looking forward to Bryne v Nadolo II

So was Nadolo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭FrannoFan

pretty sure mccloskey played wing that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

FrannoFan wrote: »
    pretty sure mccloskey played wing that day

Pretty sure he started at 12...

https://twitter.com/IrishRugby/status/702847486747140096/photo/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

case885 wrote: »
    Farrell is 6'5" and 110 kg, has about 10 kilos on henshaw.

Just under 6'4'' according to google.

So two centres around 6'3'' and 6'4'', both 109-110 kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭FrannoFan

Quintis wrote: »

for some reason i have images in my head of him on the right wing.

i stand corrected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

That's a fantastic bench if things go awry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

MJohnston wrote: »
    I think Carberry is probably safe enough as 2nd choice for the foreseeable, maybe Marmion too.

There's also the flip side of this - eg. another weak McCloskey performance and I think it'll be a long, long time before we see him named in an Irish squad again.

I find this strange, I didn't think he was weak against England.
    The only fault I could imagine was that he didn't follow Joe's instructions, whatever those instructions were.
    Thought he carried well into traffic a few times.

He seems to be in good form this season though, a good run of games too, so I'd be hopeful he could break into the starting 15 against Argentina.
    If he is on fire after 50 mins Henshaw could slot in to keep him a bit fresher for the following match.
    Nothing against Aki, who was very good against SA, but I just have a little hope that McCloskey is primed to have a stormer.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,266 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

its not often an irish centre pairing will have 10 kgs and 8 cm over a Fijian partnership !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,734 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

I find this strange, I didn't think he was weak against England.

I don't personally think he was weak either, but I guess I'm talking about Joe's perspective there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

sydthebeat wrote: »
    its not often an irish centre pairing will have 10 kgs and 8 cm over a Fijian partnership !!

Pics just in of the Irish midfield preparing for the Fiji game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Sephiral

As someone who appreciates a bit of bosh in a midfield, I'm sorta looking forward to them squaring off against some Pacific Islanders.

It is a very kick chase orientated back three too. Pack would struggle against a lot of teams, but should be too good for the Fijians.

What's goin on lads?

3 pages after Dave Kearney has been announced in an Ireland team and no outrage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

What's goin on lads?

3 pages after Dave Kearney has been announced in an Ireland team and no outrage?

giphy.webp

• Subscribers Posts: 43,266 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

the eternal offended are all kearney'ed out !