Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread VIII - ** MOD NOTE POST #4781 **

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Buer wrote: »
    Jesus. Was that a smug rhetorical question to nobody or was somebody available to actually correct his ignorance?

Worrying that he's actually hosted rugby coverage.

Nah it was just thrown onto the end of the sports news bulletins.

I really dislike Cooper as a rugby host, but I presume he's doing the TV3 Six Nations coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭typhoony

connachta wrote: »
    For those who said he's no-where near the Irish squad
    TADGH’S TURNOVERS
    Tadgh Beirne was at it again this weekend for the Scarlets as they were made to work hard before eventually downing Benetton Rugby.
    Beirne – who is returning to Ireland next season – has now made 17 turnovers for the defending champions, no other player in the league has more than eight.

Using the same principle from Zebo's omission but in reverse surely Tadgh Beirne now qualifies to be selected this season having signed with Munster for next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,660 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

typhoony wrote: »
    Using the same principle from Zebo's omission but in reverse surely Tadgh Beirne now qualifies to be selected this season having signed with Munster for next
    It doesn't work like that.

Availability isn't built in to Beirne's current contract, so he'd be missing at vital times.

England did it with Teo didn't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

England did it with Teo didn't they?

He didn't play for England until he had left Leinster, it was that summer tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭connachta

For those who said he's no-where near the Irish squad
    TADGH’S TURNOVERS
    Tadgh Beirne was at it again this weekend for the Scarlets as they were made to work hard before eventually downing Benetton Rugby.
    Beirne – who is returning to Ireland next season – has now made 17 turnovers for the defending champions, no other player in the league has more than eight.

That was the point I've made. At least for summer tour

You weren't talking about the suumer tour initially. That's a bit more likely but would depend on what his commitments to Scarlets are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Is there really a huge demand for Beirne with the national squad at the moment though? Henderson, Treadwell, Toner, Ryan and Dillane is probably the strongest depth we've ever had at the position so I don't think they'll be too quick to catapult him into the setup.

_Tyrrell_ wrote: »
    Is there really a huge demand for Beirne with the national squad at the moment though? Henderson, Treadwell, Toner, Ryan and Dillane is probably the strongest depth we've ever had at the position so I don't think they'll be too quick to catapult him into the setup.
    There's always room for another lock. We've had injuries in the back row which, even with the riches at our disposal have had us down to the bare minimum.

You'd think Beirne has some divine right to be in the squad. Combined with availability issues, it's just another immaterial point to whinge about really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I really dislike Cooper as a rugby host, but I presume he's doing the TV3 Six Nations coverage.

If he could wait 1 second for the guest to speak would be a start....

"Well joe why was our scrum so poor in the 1st half"

"If you look at the angle of our tight head matt"

Interrupts

"Why is his angle wrong tony"

"I think when he sets himself for the hit that..."

Interrupts

"Why is he setting himself like that joe"

Give them a fcuking chance to speak cooper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭connachta

prawnsambo wrote: »
    You weren't talking about the suumer tour initially. That's a bit more likely but would depend on what his commitments to Scarlets are.
    I've said at least.

prawnsambo wrote: »

Well not really because WR rules mean he has to be available for the tour.

But with summer tours what its more likely going to be dependent on is his fitness. So many guys end up hurt by that stage of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Summer tour is different to now tho. He would be fully available from when the season ends. So there would be a chance to integrate at the same pace as everyone else there.

I wonder how Beirne will fare next season and how much the way scarlets play suits him and if the change to a different style at munster will give him a chance to shine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Matt Cooper wades into the Neil Francis/Bundee Aki debate.

"And where was Rhys Ruddock born, hmmmm?"

That would be Dublin, Matt.

In Cooper's eyes that would probably disqualify you more from playing for Ireland, than if you were born in Auckland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

Cooper is up there with the best munster conspiracy theroists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

bilston wrote: »
    So BS flanker, one wing spot and maybe a centre spot up for grabs. The rest seems nailed on.

O'Mahony v Ruddock
    McCloskey v Aki
    D.Kearney v Stockdale v Conway

Will Joe throw in a surprise?

Ryan to bench?
    I'd have much more issue with Dave Kearney starting than Aki anyway.

As per usual nearly the entire team picks itself.
    I wouldn't rule McCloskey out of the 23 jersey. Between him, Conway and DK I'd guess.

Dave Kearney and Sweetman were released back to their provinces today.

Conway and Stockdale in the 23 then I reckon. I'm happy with that either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

stephen_n wrote: »

Hah? Really?

Is that what passes for outrage now? I'm outraged! :mad:

Conway and Stockdale in the 23 then I reckon. I'm happy with that either way.

Tight 5
    McGrath, Best, Furlong, Toner, Henderson

Backline
    Murray, sexton, stockdale, henshaw, aki, Earls, Kearney

Backrow is likely to be POM, SoB, Stander but its not something I would be sure of. Its possible we see either Ruddock or Conan start.

Bench
    Healy, Tracy, Ryan, Dillane, Ruddock/Conan
    Marmion, Carbery, Conway

Wait a minute... released back to the provinces for what...?

And aren't Leinster/Munster lads on holiday this week? Some of them are for sure

If that's the team:

Bit nervous of Carbery playing 10 and having to kick if the unthinkable happens, because he's done neither this season. There'll be some complaints about Kearney but with Payne out and Zebo omitted it's probably the right call.

Really happy Stockdale is starting, Dave Kearney would have been unjustifiable. Having experience doesn't make up for barely having put in a performance for about 2 seasons (injury a lot to blame but doesn't matter, he hasn't been playing).

The backrow is a pure reputation pick. None have played especially well this season, or have played much at all in SOB's case. All need big games to justify their spots.

Wait a minute... released back to the provinces for what...?

And aren't Leinster/Munster lads on holiday this week? Some of them are for sure

Yeah sure Dave is having a mad night with Rob, few scoops and then repaint the attic #lads_on_the_lash

Rob%201%20Dave%20Kearney%20.jpg

If that's the team:

Bit nervous of Carbery playing 10 and having to kick if the unthinkable happens, because he's done neither this season. There'll be some complaints about Kearney but with Payne out and Zebo omitted it's probably the right call.

Really happy Stockdale is starting, Dave Kearney would have been unjustifiable. Having experience doesn't make up for barely having put in a performance for about 2 seasons (injury a lot to blame but doesn't matter, he hasn't been playing).

The backrow is a pure reputation pick. None have played especially well this season, or have played much at all in SOB's case. All need big games to justify their spots.

That team is guesswork but if DK and Sweetnam are back at provinces then coupled with last weekends releases its narrowed down a bit.

SOB has come straight back in before after only 1 or 2 appearances and delivered. POM and Stander have been fairly quiet this season so far. Ruddock has been very good so far this season and would be unlucky to miss out on a start. Its the one area that there is a big call to be made really

Yeah sure Dave is having a mad night with Rob, few scoops and then repaint the attic #lads_on_the_lash

Don't forget

https://twitter.com/boringkearney/status/927851711309451264

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Rob%201%20Dave%20Kearney%20.jpg

Dave is always the wild one on those kind of nights - you can see he went for a slice of lime in his water. Rob is a bit of a wet blanket and doesnt go for any of that kind of thing - straight water only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

stephen_n wrote: »

Just those two yeh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

If that's the team:

2 weeks in camp with Richie Murphy will help a lot I reckon. By all accounts he's an unbelievable kicking coach

Just those two yeh ?
    I believe the guards found the tunnel entrance and blocked it before any more could escape.