Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,684 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Sometimes its difficult to understand their accent. I reckon that most people don't know their eircode thingie. I have mine saved to my phone otherwise I wouldn't remember them.[/quote]

I didn't know eircode works on Google maps never tried it.

Would Google satellite not let you look at the yard layout be it from a distance.[/QUOTE]
    I just had a look at our place (on Google maps) as if I was doing a collection/delivery. Both yards have shadows cast from the building but the smaller yard looks like it wouldn't be suitable for the lorry and drag yet it has enough space to do a 3 or 4 point turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

A lot of the problem is the curtain siders are way too long, designed for the road. Tippers, tankers have no problem. I see a few cuter guys with shorter trailers stacked a little higher.

Certain drivers I just say it won't turn in the yard as they must've got their licence in a raffle. We unload them at the gate most others drive in swing round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,807 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Its not just the yard though, the road/ laneway up to it mightnt be great either. A friend of oh had the 3mirrors on the passenger side of his new lorry ripped off. Cost of replacing them was €720 from main dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Only the double axle milk lorry comes here. It's a bridge on the road up to ours is the biggest issue. Fert lorries have to back in and out. Talking to the council is pointless. They actually put up a wall for some reason on that corner and it serves no purpose only to make it harder for lorries to swing in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Milk lorry comes down our road and turns up the lane and jacknifes it at the top and then reverses up, he used to reverse up from the road before as it's a very short lane but since Glanbia own the tank now he does this as the Tyre's aren't his prob, going to make sh&( of the concrete after a while is all my prob with it, suppose if that's all my problems do be I'm lucky enough ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

K.G. wrote: »
    a sugestion,rather than turning the lorry outside the front of dairy could the lorry go around the buildings in a sort of a loop

That might be possible although I'd prefer to avoid it.. the curse is the fairly steep slope here. The access lane is already in very poor condition as everytime the council come and tarmac it the tarmac washes off down the valley in the next storm.

As it is I'm going to have to put a fair bit of good concrete in to the access lane for my own sanity and that of the milk lorry - if I built a loop it would realistically have to be in concrete all the way up and that's quite a chunk of concrete which might be better put to use improving the yard and making - if we can - sufficient space to swing.

I'd have a good bit more space in exactly the right position if I replaced my old open slurry tank on the corner of the yard with a slatted tank in a different spot.. badly needs doing but not sure it is realistic to do it before the spring.

Will think of something once I find out the turning circle... lots of helpful suggestions though so thanks for those!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

kowtow wrote: »
    Any idea what the length of a big milk truck would be?

I agree on the reversing, on the other hand this yard is a nightmare anyway so we are going to have to do something.

Unfortunately as the yard is a perched on a fairly steep slope it's difficult to create decent space without going overboard on earthworks. I'll try and make just enough space and I reckon he'll end up reversing once anyway - happy to do anything we can to accommodate them since they'll only be taking a relatively small amount of milk.
    Longest tanks around 10.5 meters...measured the turning imprint on the yard here at 12.5m.

Rattling up and down to the dung heap not good for the hangover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭moneyheer

Mooooo wrote:
    Rattling up and down to the dung heap not good for the hangover

I know the feeling😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Have to drop the boy up at Gurteen tomorrow morning and want to go hunting down a load of dairymaster / general parlour / delaval spares while I'm out on the road.

Would E C Pratt have a selection of stuff? Is there anyone else in that neck of the woods who would have a lot in stock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

See a report on CNN, on the butter shortage in France. They eat 8kg/person every year. Is this the Mediterranian healthy diet? Doesn't seem to have done them any harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Water John wrote: »
    See a report on CNN, on the butter shortage in France. They eat 8kg/person every year. Is this the Mediterranian healthy diet? Doesn't seem to have done them any harm.

Fat good.
    Sugar bad.

This is the new thinking on the old diet of our ancestors and longevity.
    Nobody ate sugar before sugar beet and sugar cane only using honey as a sweetener which is a different type of sugar and also a natural antioxidant and antibiotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

kowtow wrote: »
    Have to drop the boy up at Gurteen tomorrow morning and want to go hunting down a load of dairymaster / general parlour / delaval spares while I'm out on the road.

Would E C Pratt have a selection of stuff? Is there anyone else in that neck of the woods who would have a lot in stock?

Ah they would alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

kowtow wrote:

Dairy master a mile outside of nenagh pat Carroll he's name is, there's a delaval lad near borrisoleigh as well who services my parlour. Pm me if ye need a number

Maize in today yield well back, seemed to be plenty grain in it. Must measure the pit 2moro properly. What yields per acre did lads here get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Have 2 very heavy 22 ft gates in the yard here and both need wheels put on them. I seen bolt on solid wheels somewhere locally but I cannot remember where.
    Anyone know where I'd get a set. One 22 ft gate is on a 6inch H iron that's down 24inches in the ground and it's springing on it. Other one is replacing and old 20 ft gate that was only half the weight and had a wheel and it has moved the H iron Of the shed a touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,807 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Autumn calving finished. 2immaculate conception heifers due around Christmas though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Have 2 very heavy 22 ft gates in the yard here and both need wheels put on them. I seen bolt on solid wheels somewhere locally but I cannot remember where.
    Anyone know where I'd get a set. One 22 ft gate is on a 6inch H iron that's down 24inches in the ground and it's springing on it. Other one is replacing and old 20 ft gate that was only half the weight and had a wheel and it has moved the H iron Of the shed a touch

Usually if the farm shop, enniscorthy hasn't got it nobody has it.
    It's an Aladdins cave of organized chaos.

Edit: just to say if you're putting a wheel on a gate make sure the top hinge is a sliding one on the gate and it'll have the weight on the wheel not on the pillar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Something like this?

http://www.ie.screwfix.com/industrial-swivel-castors-200mm.html

16469_P
    Not ideal but the site might have more options like that and it is rated 205kgs as well.

Side effect of time without power, a bunch of calves from each group lost all respect for the wire the wagons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Mooooo wrote: »
    Side effect of time without power, a bunch of calves from each group lost all respect for the wire the wagons

There’s only one solution to that
    Run them into a yard on their own divided by one length of electric fence hooked up on its own to a mains fencer

They’ll soon remember what it is

The last week has made some difference to ground. Will have cows out by day for the next week hopefully, gonna leave the calves clean off the rest to have em housed for less of the winter as they will need bedding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Ah shur, mumble, mumble, mumble.... he had it handy... mumble, mumble, mumble.

#fcuk the begruders.

The guts of 10k a cow debt levels are pretty extreme to be fair, wouldn't fancy saddling myself with debt like that at anytime in my lifetime let alone when I'd be the wrong side of 50, your talking 10 plus cent a litre alone to service debt and interest repayment on a 20 year term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Left here last weekend with two ponies and returned with one. Grand job. About 4hrs from home on the way back daughter breaks the news that she's buying an unbroken pony. Lovely.
    The little basterd was completely untouched and is stone cracked...he bit me this morning just above the left nipple and I can't use my left arm. Lovely.

On dairy side while I was away we lost three cows to poisoning from acorns. Anyone hear of this before?
    Common enough to kill horses, but cows??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

jaymla627 wrote: »
    The guts of 10k a cow debt levels are pretty extreme to be fair, wouldn't fancy saddling myself with debt like that at anytime in my lifetime let alone when I'd be the wrong side of 50, your talking 10 plus cent a litre alone to service debt and interest repayment on a 20 year term

"One mans meat is another mans poison".

Wouldn't like to go that deep myself either. Too old for that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

A weanling bull got in with a bunch of my heifers last March. He got a few and we didn't realise till breeding time in may.
    Now these were scanned incalf in early may and we scanned them all again a month ago and scanner says there's 2 of the bunch that the weanling got to that are not incalf.
    Could they have been so far gone incalf that he couldn't tell?
    I haven't seen these animals bull all year and was going to sell them.
    I'm having second thoughts now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

A weanling bull got in with a bunch of my heifers last March. He got a few and we didn't realise till breeding time in may.
    Now these were scanned incalf in early may and we scanned them all again a month ago and scanner says there's 2 of the bunch that the weanling got to that are not incalf.
    Could they have been so far gone incalf that he couldn't tell?
    I haven't seen these animals bull all year and was going to sell them.
    I'm having second thoughts now

Definitely scan again