Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    It's expensive though, €15 per cow I think? Supposed to be a better cure rate for high scc than cepravin so thinking of just treating the worst offenders with it here
    Cost of 15 euro versus 3 extra days of milk in the tank so maybe not all that expensive either?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

Cost of 15 euro versus 3 extra days of milk in the tank so maybe not all that expensive either?

And peace of mind....it really rules out being caught out.. Running a separate group until fit for tank is not feasible on some farms, and this is the answer. Pity we can't get a milking cow tube with the same level of risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

whelan2 wrote: »
    Using cefimam which I assume is the same.

Ya I was quoted for Cefimam @6.40/cow. Must be a huge difference between cefimam and cephaguard if lads here are paying €15/cow.
    Is Cefimam doing the job for you with a few years Whelan?
    Are most using Cephaguard rather than the generic so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,807 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

C4d78 wrote: »
    Ya I was quoted for Cefimam @6.40/cow. Must be a huge difference between cefimam and cephaguard if lads here are paying €15/cow.
    Is Cefimam doing the job for you with a few years Whelan?
    Are most using Cephaguard rather than the generic so.

I only started using it this year. Got it a bit cheaper cash price from vet. I did sensitivity tests a while ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Cephaguard was 8 euro last year I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,728 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Mooooo wrote: »
    Cephaguard was 8 euro last year I think

I’ll check later but think for cephaguard and sealer is 12/13 euro per cow

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I’ll check later but think for cephaguard and sealer is 12/13 euro per cow

Had sealers already so it was just the tube I paid for. Got off vets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

If every paddock was cleaned out this well I'd be utterly sorted for the spring! Cows extremely lazy these days though, slow to come up, slow to go outa the parlour, and have to be driven back down to the paddock afterwards.

Timmaay wrote: »
    If every paddock was cleaned out this well I'd be utterly sorted for the spring! Cows extremely lazy these days though, slow to come up, slow to go outa the parlour, and have to be driven back down to the paddock afterwards.

To have ground like That! Or maybe just less rain. Driest ground here all been grazed so have decent covers but on wet ground. Drizzle all day today. Finishing bales 2day and opening pit 2moro. Maize yet to come in as well.Hoping to get them out for a few hours at the weekend if we get a few dry days this side. Will be putting calves into wettest paddocks 2moro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Ewes here are doing more damage

To have ground like That! Or maybe just less rain. Driest ground here all been grazed so have decent covers but on wet ground. Drizzle all day today. Finishing bales 2day and opening pit 2moro. Maize yet to come in as well.Hoping to get them out for a few hours at the weekend if we get a few dry days this side. Will be putting calves into wettest paddocks 2moro

Less rain simple as is, that's most certainly not a dry paddock, usually not grazed till end of round 1. Paddocks that are meant to be my early Feb, which were grazed last week are in shyte and wayyy too much left on them. If late Nov is kind ill have to go back.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

No grazing hoing on here other than beet and i would have dry land too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭visatorro

Using it here ,super product because of short withdrawl ,35 days and 24 hours after calving ,all cows in tank on third milking after calving no issues ,scc averaging 88 for year ,vet tells me it’s a better product than cepravin

Same as that. Using on vets advice. Not sure on price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Whats the story with not having the blue cards on the farm for the Bord Bia inspection? I'm testing on the Wed, reading Sat & Bord Bia at 10am on the Monday morning so no way cards will be back in time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,807 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Signpost wrote: »
    Whats the story with not having the blue cards on the farm for the Bord Bia inspection? I'm testing on the Wed, reading Sat & Bord Bia at 10am on the Monday morning so no way cards will be back in time?
    Do you still have to hand in the cards at test? Dont think the inspector needs the cards anyway

whelan2 wrote: »
    Do you still have to hand in the cards at test? Dont think the inspector needs the cards anyway

Yeh they have never asked for them here. Even if they do pull you up on it just tell them where they are, worst case it will be a minor item on the list of actions that you have to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Anyone replace scrapers recently? Have old ones here and sick and tired of bits falling off them so was gonna price around. Tracks and that are fine it's just the scraper body I want to replace in 4 passages

We're at it at the moment. Replacing/ upgrading 4 passages. We're fitting new control box, ram boxes, larger piping and ploughs. Most of the tracking is remaining. Fitting Alfco

Feeding autumn calves outside in mucky conditions getting dangerous the feckers are big enough to proper poleaxe ya

We're at it at the moment. Replacing/ upgrading 4 passages. We're fitting new control box, ram boxes, larger piping and ploughs. Most of the tracking is remaining. Fitting Alfco

Control box rams and tracking are fine here well tracking probably should be replaced but its alright for now. Got a quote of 1250 per scraper for just the scraper off dairymaster, didn't have time to talk to them so would hope to knock a bit of it, thought it was steep enough. Have one new passage done with them, well its in nine years at this stage haven't touched it once. The other 5 are in as long as I can remember and it's tongues wings etc I'm replacing at this stage but they are rotten in the bodies too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Control box rams and tracking are fine here well tracking probably should be replaced but its alright for now. Got a quote of 1250 per scraper for just the scraper off dairymaster, didn't have time to talk to them so would hope to knock a bit of it, thought it was steep enough. Have one new passage done with them, well its in nine years at this stage haven't touched it once. The other 5 are in as long as I can remember and it's tongues wings etc I'm replacing at this stage but they are rotten in the bodies too

You could try this guy. Makes a lot of scrapers for the smaller independent milking machine fitters who want a full offering for their customers.

https://www.goldenpages.ie/sheehan-tom-manufacturing-ltd-carrignavar/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I must go and get some more proximity switches and stop levers for the dairymaster scrapers.

We have the newish box - the digital keypad one - and a lot of service guys tell me to get rid of as many of the micro-switches as possible. Does anyone else do this?

The ones inside the boxes which record the ram going back and forth are fairly destroyed - are these just there for the cow down function does anybody know? or are they needed to record the scraper position?

As for the stainless steel stop switch boxes - have yet to find a position for those in which they don't get run over and mangled a couple of times a season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

You could try this guy. Makes a lot of scrapers for the smaller independent milking machine fitters who want a full offering for their customers.

https://www.goldenpages.ie/sheehan-tom-manufacturing-ltd-carrignavar/

Ya, got a few scrapers off him 8 yrs ago. Couldn't fault his stuff. His ram boxes are ( we're anyway) very like and use the same bits as Dairypower. Very good value
    Keltec used to make hydraulic scraper gear aswell. Supposed to be very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Scanned today cows only 9% empty rate and pulled the bull 4 weeks early, was worried as heard high empty rates this year. Happy with that

Grazing?,are ye out-day-night.covers, %closed.no grazing here at the minute as the fields with covers all have some issue with them and alot of the feild cover has disappeared with opehlia so could close fo r winter with no bother

Cows and heifers in only calves out, they could clear covers for me. Anywhere I have grass would just be ploughed by cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

K.G. wrote: »
    Grazing?,are ye out-day-night.covers, %closed.no grazing here at the minute as the fields with covers all have some issue with them and alot of the feild cover has disappeared with opehlia so could close fo r winter with no bother

Took a definitive decision this year not to build covers to the advised targets, but to keep optimum covers ahead of cows. Average covers ranges from 826 at start of September through to 936 in mid October. PGY never exceeded 2000 with most maximising at 1800.

Regrowth was exceptional from this second last round of grazing where we were able to clean all awards down to 50/100...no yellow but, ferfect recovery.

We have 37 percent planned closed and have 37 grazing of 1800 down to 1200 left to graze. We will try to stay night and day and once we reach the 60 percent will go to once a day grazing to keep 7it grass in the diet...this should get us to around the 20th of Nov..

The lighter covers in this rotation are a blessing, partly I know because the weather is as difficult as it is, and while there was a point in September when I was nervous that we would run out of grass because of what we did, we should have been more confident in the regrowth and recovery of awards grazed at less than 2000 as opposed to those over 2000....

Its worked nicely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,728 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cows out full time in at 3 every afternoon for bales and z grazed grass .74% area grazed cows will be housed at night next Monday and remain out at day till afc hits 650
    In calf heifers in today
    Bull weanlings in yesterday
    Heifer weanlings our on grass been strip grazed and will be for most of winter

Cows out full time in at 3 every afternoon for bales and z grazed grass .74% area grazed cows will be housed at night next Monday and remain out at day till afc hits 650
    In calf heifers in today
    Bull weanlings in yesterday
    Heifer weanlings our on grass been strip grazed and will be for most of winter
    Weanlings Strip grazed with how much ration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

No cows out round here, its been raining most days since july. Cows in here fulltime since last weekend , ground conditions made it an easy decision, plenty of grass just not worth damaging the ground. There on good quality bales doing just under 16l. In calf heifers in the last week along with stores. Calves out on mp and will be for another 3-4 weeks so long as weather doesn't go to pot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Choice here of letting cows out or getting FYM spread.

Either will cause a lot of damage:(