So this Hurricane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

And then you have plonkers like this ignoring all the warnings.

http://www.thejournal.ie/happy-pear-storm-ophelia-swim-3648832-Oct2017/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

gandalf wrote: »
    Picking up again here in South Dublin!
    Not where I am(Terenure neck of the woods). The odd blustery gust, but nothing even close to storm levels. Actually it's been much like that all day, with maybe an hour of heavy enough gusts around 2-3. The only inconvenience so far was the power was out for an hour. I feel for those in other parts of the country that are getting much more badly hit.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭matrim

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/919953276027723776

Luas, Dublin Bus, Irish Rail - Not running
    Flights - Ah sure it'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,046 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

scamalert wrote: »
    The hurricane that hit Puerto Rico was the real deal putting whole country in loss and damages not fecking few slates flying off the roof and someone living on the coast where that crap is annual occurrence, seems some treat it as def con 4 event.

That hurricane could easily have drifted north and missed Puerto Rico. Had it missed Puerto Rico would it be right to then say the government of that country where wrong to take the action they did?

Likewise the ex-hurricane that hit Ireland could have drifted more eastwards and had stronger winds, It's a weather FORECAST, which means there is no guarantee what's going to come, but is it not better to be safe than sorry?

Let's suppose the schools weren't closed today - and there was an accident with a school bus and some kids died - posters like yourself would be the first to say that the schools should have closed as this huge storm was forecasted.

The reason why there have been less fatalities is because that the majority of the country are in doors and are not travelling to/from work. Given the number of trees that have fallen - imagine how many people would normally be on those footpaths....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

dbagman wrote: »
    careful now, you could be labelled a pathetic gob****e for even daring to suggest its not too bad in your area.

Saying Dublin got off lightly is different than saying the whole story was overblown because it wasn't too bad in your immediate vicinity, or that you were underwhelmed by it. This was a national story and Dublin was never identified as an area that would particularly dangerous so long as you stayed indoors. The red warning for Dublin was only given yesterday and I suspect was for precautionary reasons.

Had the roads in Dublin been as busy as normal you could practically guarantee there would have been deaths today (and for the sake of pedants, more deaths than would be considered normal for an average working day, certainly enough to justify most businesses from closing). You're talking about roughly a million people at a time when most are trying to get home from work.

At no point was it sold to us that we could expect all day carnage in Dublin from flying dogs and cats for example.

The warnings given were broad, and particularly pronounced in certain parts of the country, which as expected seems to be the case in the west of the country.

There is almost the unknown variable in play here that it couldn't be stated for certain which direction the weather system would go in (to an exact degree). They can only warn based on a degree of probability. It looks like the damage is less than expected. Had it not done so then we'd be looking at a situation that is much worse, as it is we've still had multiple fatalities from the storm, as well as significant damage done to a multitude of buildings and other structures as well as a huge number of power outages.

The extent of the build up to this were a few extra news and weather bulletins, and precautionary measures and guidelines to citizens. We weren't advised to go into our underground bunkers and expect Armageddon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Yeah in Rathgar/Rathmines area I haven't really noticed it being all that bad at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I see plenty of people giving out about people who were swimming before any winds or storm arrived.

Why is no one questioning a man out in the middle of a storm operating a chainsaw and cutting down trees? What was he doing? God awful for that family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Pwindedd wrote: »
    I really really want this to be true !! he can be our slip-on-the-ice guy, he can be our new paul cunninghams hat. Please please be true :p

Who is planning on suing? He hasn't thought this through. Better sticking with a fender bender and some whiplash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,950 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod:

There are some seriously tactless people posting crap in here and I can't believe I have to post it.

People have died. Ireland is a small country and the chances of their loved ones reading this thread are higher than you realise. Have some fcukin cop on you insensitive twerps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

And you have plonkers like these then not heeding the warnings.

6 am in south county Dublin

Context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Swimming during the storm is stupid, but giving out to people for swimming when its calm, hours before the storm comes, feels like giving out for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

It was a gorgeous morning in Dublin and they go in there every day. I wandered up to work earlier and it was gorgeous out until around 11ish. They were in the water 5 hours previous to that, I don't see the problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭dbagman

Ace2007 wrote: »
    There are a lot of different threads on boards, so I'm not sure which one but there are plenty of people and they are getting shot down for it.

Did you ever state in your posts where you are located, or are people just suppose to guess?

There are plenty of posts earlier today saying that it wasn't bad - yet since those posts 2 more people have died... I hate to say it, but if everyone took the advice that was given and stayed at home - they probably would be alive now.

Also you talk about hype - what did you expect to happen?

Well im not on alot of different threads on boards. Im on this one.

I mentioned a couple of times I was in dublin, and mentioned about how it was to hit here at 1pm in dublin.

well ill put it to you this way....the sun is now back out here, it got dull for about 30/40 mins. And it hasnt even rained aside from 5 mins of drizzle that was so light its not worth talking about. I was expecting the worst and thankfully aside from it being a bit windier than usual it didnt happen. I also asked if it is yet to hit dublin further confirming my location. Im still wondering if its to hit here or was the 30 dull mins the worst of it. Given the estimated 1pm timeframe I assume were over the worst of it. Im aware plenty of people have suffered, but here we seemed to have missed it. All I was saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

South Dublin here. Doesn't seem too bad here thankfully, just really gusty.

That said, from what I'm hearing about trees and debris down in the vicinity, it's still better not to go out.

Can't get my head around people saying a national red alert wasn't required. It could have much worse, even in terms of sheer inconvenience, if thousands of people were bringing kids to school, commuting to work and going to appointments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Berserker wrote: »
    Who is planning on suing? He hasn't thought this through. Better sticking with a fender bender and some whiplash.
    I know ! that's why its so damn funny :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    I see plenty of people giving out about people who were swimming before any winds or storm arrived.

Why is no one questioning a man out in the middle of a storm operating a chainsaw and cutting down trees? What was he doing? God awful for that family.

I'm guessing there was a lull and he assumed he would be OK. Poor fella was just trying to help.

I'm holding my tongue with those saying "it's grand here" when it's been repeated that gusts are intermittent.

I still wouldn't chance walking or driving until the thing has completey blown over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

I'm completely unimpressed with this 'hurricane' after all the fuss. I've put worse out me hole after a vegetable curry.

Mod-Banned. Being a complete and utter dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

It was a gorgeous morning in Dublin and they go in there every day...

Do they swim together every day and photograph each other posing and put it up in social media?

The amount of eejits out there who lap up their routine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,248 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Schwiiing wrote: »
    I'm completely unimpressed with this 'hurricane' after all the fuss. I've put worse out me hole after a vegetable curry.

Fúck off

Again.. 3 people died as a result of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,845 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Patww79 wrote: »

Yup. Grand day for it, sure...

2j41phd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Do they swim together every day and photograph each other posing and put it up in social media?

The amount of eejits out there who lap up their routine...

They go there every day and it's on social media a fair bit. I'm a ravenous carnivore so don't follow them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Schwiiing wrote: »
    It's getting a bit tired at this stage. Perhaps think about the three deaths, 360000 premises without power and all those whose homes have been damaged. The gags are wearing thin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

callaway92 wrote: »
    Fúck off

Again.. 3 people died as a result of it

If there's one thing to be said about this thread, it's knowing who to add to my Ignore List!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

feels like giving out for the sake of it.
    There certainly seems to be a competition taking place on Twitter and elsewhere to see who can show the most concern/contempt for other people's perceived lack of civic/social responsibility with regards to safety during the storm. It's quiet nauseating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,046 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

It was a gorgeous morning in Dublin and they go in there every day. I wandered up to work earlier and it was gorgeous out until around 11ish. They were in the water 5 hours previous to that, I don't see the problem.

Why post about it - your asking for trouble and being irresponsible by doing it.

If they really believed that there was nothing wrong doing it - why now delete the post and issue an apology - attention seeking a little?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭dbagman

watching tv3 they'd have you believe dublin is getting the worst of the winds all day??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Why post about it - your asking for trouble and being irresponsible by doing it.

If they really believed that there was nothing wrong doing it - why now delete the post and issue an apology - attention seeking a little?

Because they didn't expect the ridiculous faux outrage when they posted it. People wanting to be offended for the sake of being offended.

What do you want them to do, keep it up and start arguments defending themselves.

Sometimes sorry is the best response for everyone involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83