Dash cam thread (car videos only)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭josip

Isambard wrote: »
    my remark quoted the post I was referring too...misse doff the smilie though....:cool:

Apologies, my bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,276 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Seve OB wrote: »

in second clip, "as the driver" you have a responsibility to look all around you and not just "at the junction ahead". mind you, that car was on the junction and was very obvious.

Sorry, what??! He had a green light, the other bint broke a red and he had to slam on the brakes to avoid a collision, which he did. What exactly is your point here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,437 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

fullstop wrote: »
    Sorry, what??! He had a green light, the other bint broke a red and he had to slam on the brakes to avoid a collision, which he did. What exactly is your point here?

my point is that if he had of been more aware and looking around him rather than with tunnel vision, the near miss would not have been so near.

I totally respect he avoided the colision and the other muppet clearly broke a red light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

fullstop wrote: »

my point is that if he had of been more aware and looking around him rather than with tunnel vision, the near miss would not have been so near.

I totally respect he avoided the colision and the other muppet clearly broke  a red light.
    My point in the original post was that as a driver approaching that junction you will be looking in your own lane, the traffic islands, lights etc and not looking 70 degress out from center as the dashcam does Maybe is we were born with our eyes on the sides of our heads we'd have fewer accidents! . I think the dashcam has better peripheral vision than I do :-) 
    Many times I've watched dashcam video in the past and thought, how do they not see that coming... now I understand why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

BuzzFish wrote: »
    One from a while ago. Guy in front hand been on and off the brake pedal for a while without actually slowing for the previous km (merging traffic on left lane if I recall). When he dropped the anchors I was lucky to miss him and happy I had a gap.

In Naas this time, Drivers to the right on the junction got the left arrow only as I went green but the driver heading straight on decided it applied to her too! Interesting thing is how obvious it was on dashcam with wide angle but as the driver I was looking at the junction in front of me. Was another close one.

looks like you are trying to lay any blame on the guy in front of you in the first clip.  it was obviously busy traffic so you should have been prepared.

in second clip, "as the driver" you have a responsibility to look all around you and not just "at the junction ahead".  mind you, that car was on the junction and was very obvious.
    Not blaming anyone, I explained the situation. I had a gap and didn't hit anything. Thanks for your analysis though. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,276 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I totally respect he avoided the colision and the other muppet clearly broke a red light.

Oh FFS :rolleyes: Tunnel vision because he only saw some idiot breaking the lights in time to stop. Maybe he should have just not bothered going through the lights at all, just incase his tunnel vision got him in an accident.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Tractor, young deer, old dear

John Deere, young deer, old dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,470 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Silverfish wrote: »
    John Deere, young deer, old dear.
    Pity it was a Massey Ferguson :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Pity it was a Massey Ferguson :pac:

I was hoping all these city lads wouldn't know :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Isambard wrote: »
    Bad brakes or poor reactions?

Neither...."Um i expected you to yield to your right".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

josip wrote: »
    Close one this morning, apologies for peasant-cam quality.

That place looks familiar..

My clip from Jan 2015

Its like they made it a roundabout and nobody noticed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Carpentry

My clip from Jan 2015

Glenageary Rd lower. Been there yesterday. Mad driving on this one from some drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Chippy01

Silly overtake by BMW 10CN6507, from herselfs dashcam this morning.

Barely out of a bend, over a solid line, and approaching a junction on the right at a garden centre which regularly has artics pulling out of it.

Road has a posted speed limit of 80k, and herself was on cruise showing 83k on the speedo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

My clip from Jan 2015

They should install some signage for non locals.
    120px-W043_-_Roundabout_Ahead_-_Warning_Sign_Ireland.png

Edit: just had a quick look on GM, and it does have them, but they don't stand out very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭KK4SAM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Dartz

How'd he manage that?

Triangle 'Bakelite' long-life specials, or what?

Land sails...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Patww79 wrote: »

I was going to say perhaps bald michelins.

Or maybe they spilled hot coffee on their lap, or had a fit etc... Loads of possibilities.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Hal1 wrote: »
    They should install some signage for non locals.
    120px-W043_-_Roundabout_Ahead_-_Warning_Sign_Ireland.png

Edit: just had a quick look on GM, and it does have them, but they don't stand out very well.

The thing about that round about is that one of the three entrances to it very very very rarely has anyone using it.

Literally 1 out of every 80 or 100 uses will you get someone entering it from Silchester Rd. This is not an excuse but just to give people an idea of what it that road is like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭georgefalls

KK4SAM wrote: »

That's what happens when you use cruise control in the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,210 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

That's what happens when you use cruise control in the rain, on Irish motorways which become swimming pools in the rain

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

FYP

Drive to the conditions etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

How do you know if they were using cruise control?
    You can still use cruise control on a motorway in poor conditions, but set to a lower speed, and pay attention to whats happening in front of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,520 ✭✭✭Damien360

K.Flyer wrote: »

How do you know if they were using cruise control?
    You can still use cruise control on a motorway in poor conditions, but set to a lower speed, and pay attention to whats happening in front of you.

Not so sure. If you ever hit a large amount of water at speed your instant reaction is to come off the accelerator and let the car slow. Don’t hit the brakes. But with cruise control the car will try to keep the speed on and you now have less traction. The possibility of loosing control is higher.

Before anyone says but motorways shouldn’t have lots of surface water, your right but plenty of them do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

Damien360 wrote: »
    ... with cruise control the car will try to keep the speed on and you now have less traction. The possibility of loosing control is higher..

In one of my cars the cruise control automatically switches off immediately if ye hit a patch of water or whatever might cause a disturbance to the drive axle. Happened on the N4 just west of Coralstown where there's always a gathering of surface water with heavy rain. Took me a second to figure out what was happening but remember thinking that was a good safety feature!
    Not sure if it happens in my other car but it's 3yrs newer so I'd image it would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,210 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I had heard before that on certain Lexus/Toyotas, cruise control could not be engaged is the windscreen wipers were in use!

Probably a load of baloney, anyone any experience of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭inna981

Skoda pulls out on me at a bend. Was closer in real life.

First upload. Excuse the s**t dashcam quality :D