Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is it normal/OK to be obese in Ireland?.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭TotalReality

uch wrote: »
    Ah go way out of that, I gave an opinion, it's like an arsé you know, we all have one

You could have simply said "skinny women".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,021 ✭✭✭uch

Hold on a minute, were in an obese thread and I say there's nothing wrong with a large/curvy girl and say not everyone likes a skinny girl and I get ate, jaysus tonight you can't win,

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Yeah, that's true. I notice a lot of women on Facebook groups who insist a size 16 isnt overweight cause its the national average. It's sad, because it being average just means the average woman is overweight, but these women are so desperate to believe theyre healthy and normal that they cling to the word "average."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,021 ✭✭✭uch

You could have simply said "skinny women".

I agree, poor choice of words, but I meant the same thing

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

_Brian wrote: »
    Seriously overweight and obese people will be clogging up hospitals in a few years as their bodies collapse under the stress of their self inflicted conditions.

Agreed. What if me and my friends go swimming in Lahinch, and one of them is in serious danger, and what if there's no helicopter available because it's airlifting some 18-stone man to St Vincents, but what if that helicopter can't support his weight, so they'll need to get a bigger helicopter from the army to airlift that helicopter, which is airlifting your man. If my friend drowns, his blood is on the hands of that obese person.

Also, what happens if I bring myself to A&E with a serious complaint, but can't get inside the building because of all the fatties who have collapsed under the stress of their weight (because that's a thing) are blocking the entrance with their fatness?

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Agreed. What if me and my friends go swimming in Lahinch, and one of them is in serious danger, and what if there's no helicopter available because it's airlifting some 18-stone man to St Vincents, but what if that helicopter can't support his weight, so they'll need to get a bigger helicopter from the army to airlift that helicopter, which is airlifting your man. If my friend drowns, his blood is on the hands of that obese person.

Also, what happens if I bring myself to A&E with a serious complaint, but can't get inside the building because of all the fatties who have collapsed under the stress of their weight (because that's a thing) are blocking the entrance with their fatness?

Genuine concerns here folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Genuine concerns here folks.

Here was me thinking he was just being sarcastic, oddly though there is a modicum of sense in his sarcastic wit.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Here was me thinking he was just being sarcastic, oddly though there is a modicum of sense in his sarcastic wit.

Thumbs up.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

What if me and my ugly wife want to go to the opera, but can't because the fat singer fell on one of the sopranos and caused the entire show to be cancelled? Is that fat man going to refund my ticket price? No because he's probably already spent it on a Mizzonis. I'm sick of them being an inconvenience to tax payers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

I was thin up until my mid 30s, exercised decently with not a great diet but it was 'enough'.
    Here's the thing.
    It's EASY to be thin when you're relatively young. Yes, just as easy as to create posts like this on the interwebz.

What changed for me was priorities and career choices. I studied like crazy, easily doing 70-80 hours a week between work and study time, zip for exercise. I climbed the career ladder and quadrupled my salary within a few years. I gained respect in my field and within myself. I also got older and as my diet improved my baseline mbr decreased. Simple outcome is weight gain, but mea culpa it was my own life choices.

Now. For all of you espousing how this costs you, or it should be looked down on. The simple fact is I am probably a hell of a lot smarter than you, I worked harder than you to get where I am, I most likely pay a hell of a lot more into the tax system and I have high end private health insurance.
    For everything there is a price, you could measure mine in waist size versus success and self-fulfilment. But if you really want to start adding up the cost to society of preference/predisposition try ineptitude, laziness and inflated sense of self worth over an age defined metabolic rate.

You think you have to 'tolerate' the overweight? Well, I tolerate people stupid enough to have this attitude every day, and finance it since what i have achieved puts me well ahead of the curve, but I'm not an idiotic immature dick who thinks anyone who doesn't value the things I do is dead weight.

(there aren't enough 'rolleyes' in the universe to express my disappointment with the folks I apparently do 'tolerate')

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

uch wrote:
    Hold on a minute, were in an obese thread and I say there's nothing wrong with a large/curvy girl and say not everyone likes a skinny girl and I get ate, jaysus tonight you can't win,

It's only okay to insult fat women apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Yeah, that's true. I notice a lot of women on Facebook groups who insist a size 16 isnt overweight cause its the national average. It's sad, because it being average just means the average woman is overweight, but these women are so desperate to believe theyre healthy and normal that they cling to the word "average."

Size 16 is the average in Ireland now?. Holy Jaysus is that the case?. Funny seen Vogue Williams was on Late Late the other night talking of anxiety and the line up was mentioned on Facebook. In the comments few women were posting skinny this scrawny that what would that vain bag of bones know of anxiety etc. Ok shes a self indulgent narcisssist but her body is truly phenomenal its easy to see she posts pics of herself in a bikini every 5 minutes online for the world to see. Hardly scrawny or gaunt.
    Anyways point is when a woman has a smashing body often the knifes come out. Id love to have a body like Michael Phelps but its not to be, certainly wouldnt be scornful of him online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Loon E. Tick

I'm a size 8 and have a small body frame. I don't know if I would be able to have sex with somebody whose weight is two to three times heavier than me or more as I'd be afraid I might get crushed or smothered in their fat folds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Bishopsback

I'm a size 8 and have a small body frame. I don't know if I would be able to have sex with somebody whose weight is two to three times heavier than me or more as I'd be afraid I might get crushed or smothered in their fat folds.

Jump on top, you'll be grand.

I shall keep that in mind if I ever find myself in that position and need to improvise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

I would wonder should there be a mod warning on this page, somebody who is often down in their mind and struggling with their weight is going to have a bad few hours after reading this. Words similar to what a lot of poster are entering here have been barriers to people attending gyms, going to swimming pools and generally taking part in sport.

They there hoisting the barriers on others. Eating has been outlines as a defense mechanism in psychology, bullying and judgement are some of the most repeated reasons for people not taking part in exercise.

voz es wrote: »
    I would wonder should there be a mod warning on this page, somebody who is often down in their mind and struggling with their weight is going to have a bad few hours after reading this. Words similar to what a lot of poster are entering here have been barriers to people attending gyms, going to swimming pools and generally taking part in sport.

They there hoisting the barriers on others. Eating has been outlines as a defense mechanism in psychology, bullying and judgement are some of the most repeated reasons for people not taking part in exercise.
    Or maybe it should come with a health warning as in being overweight can significantly put your life at risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

Anyone who thinks it's viewed as normal in this country hasn't experienced it.

Often when I hear this argument it's from the type of gob****e that wants it to be ok to abuse people in public.....which isn't socially acceptable in general so on your bike.

I've been up and down in weight since a child, got to the ideal weight in 2011, but due to a combination of illness first that restricted my mobility and then bereavement, I gradually began to creep back up. Got to the point where I genuinely felt like I was going to drop dead during the summer so that's what motivated me to try again. Glad to say I'm well on the way in my weight loss.

But it has taken effort in multiple aspects of my life. Letting my job know how much I was struggling which is a massive admission of weakness and not easy in any way. Not seeing friends as much because their weekends are still revolved around a prolonged session. Paying for advice in regards to exercising due to the illness that restricts my mobility. Getting my head together in the face of the triple whammy of bereavement, illness and the fact I had left myself go and subsequent shame of same.

But I can proudly say that in all those obstacles, there was no place for pleasing some wanker who feels it's his right to abuse someone or likes to cry about where his tax is going. I judge people myself, harshly at times as well, but at least I accept I'm a wanker for doing so. ;)

voz es wrote: »

Well I for one have tried to be sensitive. I have been flippant but not delibarately hurtful like some have tried to be to me and others on this. I have the gumption and maturity to know its all just opinions, they dont really mean anything. Laughably there are ego maniacs on this who see their opinion as "gospel truth or "brutal truth" LOL when again its all just opinion!.
    I lost weight myself so Im the last person to talk on perfect bodies but who knows this thread might inspire people but anyone who might be overtly sensitive can avoid this or realize its a bunch of people mouthing off their opinion. Dont take it too serious. What the hell does strangers opinions on a internet forum matter!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭McCrack

_CreeD_ wrote: »
    I was thin up until my mid 30s, exercised decently with not a great diet but it was 'enough'.
    Here's the thing.
    It's EASY to be thin when you're relatively young. Yes, just as easy as to create posts like this on the interwebz.

What changed for me was priorities and career choices. I studied like crazy, easily doing 70-80 hours a week between work and study time, zip for exercise. I climbed the career ladder and quadrupled my salary within a few years. I gained respect in my field and within myself. I also got older and as my diet improved my baseline mbr decreased. Simple outcome is weight gain, but mea culpa it was my own life choices.

Now. For all of you espousing how this costs you, or it should be looked down on. The simple fact is I am probably a hell of a lot smarter than you, I worked harder than you to get where I am, I most likely pay a hell of a lot more into the tax system and I have high end private health insurance.
    For everything there is a price, you could measure mine in waist size versus success and self-fulfilment. But if you really want to start adding up the cost to society of preference/predisposition try ineptitude, laziness and inflated sense of self worth over an age defined metabolic rate.

You think you have to 'tolerate' the overweight? Well, I tolerate people stupid enough to have this attitude every day, and finance it since what i have achieved puts me well ahead of the curve, but I'm not an idiotic immature dick who thinks anyone who doesn't value the things I do is dead weight.

(there aren't enough 'rolleyes' in the universe to express my disappointment with the folks I apparently do 'tolerate')

I don't think you are as "smart" as you think.

You put your diet and health on the back foot, you couldn't manage your time effectively and suffered as a consequence.

Well done on your achievements through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,047 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

My father was morbidly obese. He got around OK and worked for the government which was cushy... But as a son.. I'd have to say it's a disability and it affected our relationship... I'm not needy or bitter but don't recall ever playing with him or doing anything really.
    There's a fat family in my town and one of the girls is blossoming into a young woman. I think it's very sad that she's always had that obese face that looks like every other obese face and has absolutely no idea what she actually looks like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

How much are obese people costing the health service while we have young kids ill and in pain?

Why do we think this is ok?

It mostly exists with telling young girls be proud of your fat body, you are curvy. Universities are filled with feminist enablers, typically middle aged childless and angry women who are fat themselves, and run off emotion, ideology, and left wing fantasy; not facts and accurate analysis.

You are not 'plus size' ladies, you are dying.

My father was morbidly obese. He got around OK and worked for the government which was cushy
    For some reason I thought of Cyril Smith the former MP when I read that description. What a vile disgusting man he was. It was said that being ostracised and mocked for being overweight as a child was one contributory factor in him becoming a predator. Who knows. Either way he might have turned into a sick, twisted individual with or without childhood obesity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,047 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

For some reason I thought of Cyril Smith the former MP when I read that description. What a vile disgusting man he was. It was said that being ostracised and mocked for being overweight as a child was one contributory factor in him becoming a predator. Who knows. Either way he might have turned into a sick, twisted individual with or without childhood obesity.

Thanks...your ma is the spit of Jimmy Saville

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Jesus F'ing Christ, maybe have a think about what you've just written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

_CreeD_ wrote: »

It's like reading a post by Louise Linton.

__

Ireland and the UK both have an issue with obesity, although I don't think it's quite as widely accepted as some people seem to think it is. Reading this thread I half-expected to look down and realise I'd gone up by six clothing sizes on the hypnotism that every woman in Ireland is huge (it does mostly seem to be focussing on women).

Good news is that Ireland's childhood obesity has actually flatlined and is beginning (I think) to drop, as of last year. Which is about time.

Probably need to borrow some habits in cooking from the southern parts of Europe (or go all out for fish). Our base food products aren't exactly the best for staying slim compared to, say, rice in Asian countries (which are also expanding in the waistlines since the popularity of western food has risen), or olive oil rather than cooking fat. We also eat more meat than most other places - us, various other mid-northern European countries, North America (Canada?) and spreading around the edges to south America.

Part of the issue is cultural, just based on the types of food that typically make up our diets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

While it's an important topic to discuss I think some posters should be careful in what they say on here and mods keep a close eye on the thread. Some people are not as strong as others and anything harsh on here can definitely affect boards users out there.

myshirt wrote: »
    How much are obese people costing the health service while we have young kids ill and in pain?

Why do we think this is ok?

It mostly exists with telling young girls be proud of your fat body, you are curvy. Universities are filled with feminist enablers, typically middle aged childless and angry women who are fat themselves, and run off emotion, ideology, and left wing fantasy; not facts and accurate analysis.

You are not 'plus size' ladies, you are dying.

Don't hold back buddy but I agree with ya. It's truly astonishing the amount of obese people out there who would state it's society's fault they are that way.Colleges are filled with educated moron type lecturers (many many of whom are fat themselves like you said) who dictate be proud of your body regardless of how many rolls of fat it has and the fact it will put you in a early grave.

The World has gone mad.
    Most people don't want truth or anything close to it, just what makes them feel good, or comfortable.