Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Horror show really. Glad we're not playing them in the final. Reckon you'd still get a game on that team :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

OOnegative wrote: »
    Come on Westmeath, good second half and ye have them!!!!

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Sorry (not sorry).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Come on Westmeath, good second half and ye have them!!!!

Oh well. Good luck in the playoffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Sorry (not sorry).

Ah yeah typical Dublin response, kick the little man when he's down(just like Diarmuid Connolly!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Way behind on the news here. Welcome back dude! Hope everything works out well for you all in Dutchland! :)

Week 19th-25th June '17

18 miles running over 3 runs plus 30k cycle

Week started well but went down hill big style, done 10x30sec hills on the Wednesday that should have been 12x30sec hills, let's just say luckily for me I miss read it cause it was nothing short of horrendous torture!!! My legs were in shreds the following day so rather than run I went for a cycle, first time in 2 years I was out on the bike for a spin(in AGYR words a 'ride'). 30k in just under the hour which I was more than happy with, loosened the legs out no end.

The weekend was a total write off as I spent it either sitting or with my face in the toilet, not at the same time and obviously between flushes!!! Not what I want but sometimes stuff like that takes over.

Not much running to talk about really since last update, our move to the Nederlands has been put back a week due to the incompetency of the public service, a simple question we needed to be clarified more than 6 weeks ago now has still to be properly answered hence the delay.

Have been suffering with a very bad pain in the outside of my left foot post run recently, resulting in some limping, so have rested completely this week hoping that will help it heal up a bit. The goal of the Amsterdam Half is off the cards as due to everything going on I just can't commit to training at present.

The CPC Loop Den Haag next March will be the new goal once life settles down a bit and I can get back into some structured training without any interruptions. Will go spectate at the Amsterdam Marathon as it's only 25 mins by train away and it would be silly not to go see it.

Will miss the Boards meet ups a lot, unfair to name names as I may forget someone but thanks to one and all who I have ran, raced or met over the past while. Pleasure has been all mine believe me, thank you.

Train?!! I thought your chosen form of transport was a cargo bike :pac:

That's a pain about the foot, and the move, I was looking forward to your continental updates!

Train?!! I thought your chosen form of transport was a cargo bike :pac:

That's a pain about the foot, and the move, I was looking forward to your continental updates!

I may cycle to Amsterdam alright but I won't be doing it on a cargo bike!!

Strava is the place to get the continental updates first, was shamed into it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Had a similar problem myself and started standing bare feet on foam roller, one of ones with bumps on it and foam rolled after each run, seems to have sorted out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

All the best to you and the fam on your new adventure overseas hope you're back running soon. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Good luck with the move, B... very exciting for all of you, looking forward to hearing about your running adventures in the Netherlands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Best of luck, B. Enjoy the adventure. When you are up and running on Strava let me know and I'll stalk follow you. :)

So TbL is still moaning about a sub 3 since i last posted:):):), Holland is a wonderful country since we arrived a lot going on here that Ireland could seriously learn from. I ran the sum total of 8 miles in the month of August, neither laziness nor ill want of running was the reason just pure and simple real life and moving to another country was the reason.

Have reached 13st 8llbs as a result, my little one has started calliing me Tubsy!!!!!! Full stone heavier than i was when i ran the Limerick Marathon in May and some work to do to shed the extra poundage. So i started back this week into some easy miles to help the gut as well as the head:

Thursday 7.9.17

4miles Easy@9.02 min/miles in 36min 12secs

New country new routes, 4 glorious miles around the trails of Bosjes Van Poot, wonderful sandy and clay trails around the forest, a man could easily get lost here if he was allowed great place to run plus i have found a few place to do hill repeats. Who said Holland was flat......

Friday 8.9.17

5miles Easy@8.40 min/miles in 43min 22secs

Rain of monsoon nature all day, but the country got on with it as they should, Ireland would have been in a state of emergency if it happened there. Got out at a time thinking i had an hours clearance to get a run in :rolleyes:. Ran down to Zuiderpark and done a few laps here, a park that has a tarmac track the whole way around it with 2.2kms marked out on it for Joe Soaps like me to train on. It also holds ADO Den Haags training grounds on it plus a tartan outdoor track belonging to a club i've yet find out. Got drowned on my return journey home but loved every bit of this.

Saturday 9.9.17

5miles Easy@8.50 min/miles in 44min 12secs

A breezy afternoon run out to the pier in Scheveningen and home, really need to have your wits about you with bikes, from what i have seen so far they take right of way on pedestrian crossings over runners/walkers. Another lovely run on mixed terrain of gravel/concrete/asphalt, plenty of walkers, runners and cyclists to share the time with.

Sunday 10.9.17

10km cycle with the family to get the confidence into the eldest lad around the cycling tracks down to Zuiderpark and back.

So the finger has at last been taken out, i will do an 8 week warm up before i start into the 18 week Hanson Half Marathon plan for the CPC Loop Den Haag, have unfortunately let the dream of pacing in DCM this year go cause to be honest i couldn't pace and ass to to a bucket of water at the minute. Feet have cleared up and have phased the need for insoles out which i'm delighted about, no more pains in my feet thank god.

I'll be running a lot more than 8 miles in September believe me!!!!!

Rain? I thought it was all sunshine & lollipops!!! Glad to hear the feet are sorted, those trails sound fab. What's taking so long with strava though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Glad to hear you're enjoying Holland. I have a lot of affection for the place.

If you're not pacing will you still be making an appearance at dcm this year?

snailsong wrote: »
    Glad to hear you're enjoying Holland. I have a lot of affection for the place.

If you're not pacing will you still be making an appearance at dcm this year?

Doubtful P, at the minute herself is on call that weekend & that's highly unlikely to change I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Good to see you getting back into it you fat Jaap Stam :)

TbL

Good to see you getting back into it you fat Jaap Stam :)

TbL

Says the lad with an ar$e on him like a bag of cement but thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Thanks for the update, B. Sounds great. I agree the Europeans put us to shame with their running and cycling facilities, which seem to be everywhere. Jaysus, even the bankrupt Greeks have municipal stadia available for all and sundry (possibly helping to prevent the revolution!)

Keep up the comeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Welcome back B. great to see you have settled in and are getting the finger out!!:D keep the updates coming!!

Nice going B. Glad to hear that you seem to be settling in nicely. Look forward to seeing how you get on with Hanson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

good to hear from you - glad its going well for you.

Tempted to use Hansons myself for my next Marathon, so interested to see how you get on.

Monday 11.9.17

Rest

Tuesday 12.9.17

4 miles Easy@8.54min/mile in 35min 34secs

Again down to Bosjes Van Poot for this, had a bit more time to do a bit of exploring on this and found a loop in the middle of the park that had 4-5 fallen trees that acted as steeplechase hurdles in a small circle of 400m. Ran this 5 times and man did I feel it, the ground shuddered every time I landed after jumping a hurdle!!!! Fantastic run though.

Wednesday 13.9.17

Rest

Thursday 14.9.17

6 miles Easy@8.29min/mile in 50min 59secs

I got out again like last week when I thought I had a clear hour to run. Man was I wrong, even more so than last week. I got completely soaked through even with my trusty waterproof Kalenji jacket on, was standing at pedestrian crossroads on my way back & seen a lady in a car pointing at me. Now she appeared rather attractive from what I could gather so she obviously wasn't interested in my chunky butt!!! Looked down at my legs and they were covered in white foam, what happens to me when I run in bad rain, sweat & rain makes my legs look like a bubble bath!!!

Friday 15.9.17

Rest, day spent on roller coasters and bumper cars in around the Malieveld.

Saturday 16.9.17

7 miles Easy@8.41min/mile in 60min 51secs

A typical Irish day for running in Holland!!! Wet misty rain and a strong wind was the order of the day so the only place for me to head was Westduinpark for my first adventure!!! Had done some research on this place and knew it was a great place to run from what I read.

First mile was among trees and tar path which shifted to gravel path then into asphalt path through the rolling dunes of Westduinpark. Buried in the dunes was remnants of WWII, bunkers were visible to the naked eye standing imposing as I ran past. Got out to Kijkduin which is a mini South Beach(Miami) and turned for home.

The paths here are unreal as they roll through the dunes, cyclists and runners each have there path of choice which are not encroached on by either party from what I could gather. Neared home and seen the herd of Scottish Highland Cows that roam free in the park, lucky TbL wasn't with me, Jack Russell spooks him. Will be back here most definitely.

Sunday 17.9.17

3 miles Recovery@9.02min/mile in 27min 07secs

Urban recovery miles around Den Haag, man I won't be doing this to often, stop start running at junctions ain't my thing. Usual thing that stops me from running was a herd of cows!!!

Improvement on last week, every run I done this week was enjoyable, while since I said that. Plus I entered a 10k race here in early November which is a mixture of road, dunes & beach and strong wind normally . Short term goal which I'm hugely looking forward to, €12.50 for a race can't be bad

I thought we were gonna get a pic of your foamy legs :D

Nobody wants to see that!!!!

Obviously someone does :eek:

Monday 18.9.17

Rest

Tuesday 19.9.17

More enforced Rest!!

Wednesday 20.9.17

4 miles Easy@8.50min/mile in 35min 20secs

Down to Bosjes Van Poot for this and I discover something new since I started running in this little park, was dawdling along and seen a trail I had not been up yet so had to be nosy, steep, sharp climb up 200m or so and I was like a begging ass ready to be put down!!! The sensible thing would have been to leave it at that, nope up it another 2 times for luck just to make sure I had to be put down once I got home. Great run.

Thursday 21.9.17

6 miles Easy@8.42min/mile in 52min 16secs

Run that went from urban street running, to beach front, to sandy trails finishing on mucky trails underneath trees. Warm out and I sweated a bucketful doing this, flat country my a$$, if it is I've yet to sample it on my run.

Friday 22.9.17

Rest

Saturday 23.9.17

7.25 miles Easy@8.42min/mile in 63min 02secs

Up early to get this done as had stuff to do later in the afternoon plus it was promised warm as the day progressed. Down to Zuiderpark to get this in, it's somewhat similar to St Anne's Pk but slightly smaller. It has two big lakes situated in it which were beautiful in the morning sun.

Continued my exploration and found a tree carving as with St Anne's, this one is a butterfly but photo does not do it justice. On the east side of the park is Ado Den Haag's centre of sport, it stands where Zuiderparkstand once stood the old home of Ado Den Haag. Fine facilities with an underage match on everyone of the 20 pitches or so that are found at the centre of sport.

Took a detour home to snap some street art for Murph's album and came across a pub I've no doubt TbL would feel right at home in!!!

Sunday 24.9.17

5 miles Easy@8.35min/mile in 42min 59secs

Early morning we went to cheer on our 6 year old in his first ever race, The 1.5k kids Peace Run, he covered the distance in a shade over 7 mins by my watch and was going to fast for his Mum who ran along side him to keep him company. Has the bug now and wants to do another one, ran the whole thing without stopping to the cheers of a SUPER proud Dad and baby sister.

Bog standard 5 miles in the heat along the run paths at Westduinpark, sweated up a storm on this one to. Good week, down 4.5 pounds and every run was thoroughly enjoyable. Step it up to 5 runs a week next week and towards 30 miles for the week.

Bravo to all pacing/racing in Dublin & Berlin this weekend, super stuff by everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

Early morning we went to cheer on our 6 year old in his first ever race, The 1.5k kids Peace Run, he covered the distance in a shade over 7 mins by my watch and was going to fast for his Mum who ran along side him to keep him company.

At that pace, reckon he would have gave his dad problems;)

Monday 25.9.17

Rest Day

Tuesday 26.9.17

Rest Day

Wednesday 27.9.17

5.10 miles Easy@8.41min/mile in 44min 18secs

Usual first run of the week around Bosjes Van Poot, few trips up my favourite hill to boot. Place is a hive of activity with dog walkers, kids on way to playground, walkers but have yet to meet another runner on my travels.

Thursday 28.9.17

6 miles Easy@8.28min/mile in 50min 47secs

Man the humidity killed me on this one, I started out in the lashings of rain so had the rain jacket on over a singlet, rain abated half mile in and I sweated my way around the rest of the run. Foamy leg syndrome again at the end of this one!!!

Friday 29.9.17

5.10 miles Easy@8.47min/mile in 44min 46secs

Urban run on this one but headed out of the city for the suburbs this time with very little stop starting on this compared to the last time I attempted an city run. Passed another park on this called 'Meer En Bos' that looked like a lovely location for a few miles.

Saturday 30.9.17

8 miles Easy@8.43min/mile in 69min 45secs

Hangover central on this!!! Got out at 11am and don't know how I managed that having only finished drinking at 3.15am. First few miles were torture and anyone I passed must have thought the stink of hooch off yer man. Headed to the previously mentioned Meer En Bos which is roughly translated as lake and forest. Once I got to the park the torture abated as my mind was occupied with new surroundings and things to see. Great little park to run in which I'll return to no doubt, by time I got home and finished this I was a new man. Tshirt smelt like beer though taking it off after!!!

Sunday 1.10.17

4.15 miles Easy@8.39min/mile in 35min 53secs

Back to Bosjes Van Poot to finish the week off, legs in good nick after yesterday's run as it was longest I had run in a while. Bit of a chill in the air and golden leaves on the ground show Autumn is coming. Few photos of the park, last is my hill, photo doesn't do justice to the steepness of this.

Shade over 28 miles for week but more importantly 5 days in a row running, while since I done that. Might throw tempo intervals in next week to see what it feels like!!!

Edit: Forget photos, won't let me upload them.