Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

A Pb!!! Great going B look forward to hearing the gory details!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Well done B, solid run. Slight wobble at end??
    Rest up and have a celebratory beer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Nice going B. Hope you enjoyed it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Well done B, delighted for you!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Nice work dude. Sounds like it was a tough day out there for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Well done.congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Nice one B :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

What did I miss... a marathon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Steroo wrote: »
    What did I miss... a marathon?

Limerick Marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Congrats on the PB B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Bravo B.

So where do we get the race report ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    So where do we get the race report ????

Her Majesty's Secret Service has to give it the ok first!!!

OOnegative wrote: »
    Her Majesty's Secret Service has to give it the ok first!!!

I'm sorry but who are you ???? And what have you done with Tang. Or the artist formally known as .... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Jeez I'm off line for a few days and it's all gone cryptic on my return . Not my strong point but If I'm deciphering that correctly delighted to see you back and congratulations on the marathon pb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

I have considered, even started a race report on a few occasions since Sunday's marathon but if truth be told, i neither have the desire nor want to put into word the race i ran on Sunday. That is selfish of me i know but its a race i would rather forget about and just move on. I do not want to regurgitate my failings anymore than i have since Sunday. The one thing i am proud of is i finished the race because there were many many occasions over the closing 4.2 miles i considered just stepping off the route and not raising my ugly head on Boards ever again.

Well the ungrateful so and so you may say, he ran a 4min 15sec PB and hes not happy, well sorry no i'm not, not one little bit happy. You get what you put into this running lark, i put 3-4 hard months of training in over the Irish winter and a 4min 15sec PB is scant reward for that in my opinion. Like Barcelona my body failed me when i needed it most, like Rotterdam last April i came a cropper at 22 miles, but unlike Rotterdam, i stopped 4-5 occasions last Sunday and leaked at least 5 mins in time as a result.

Wallowing in self pity will get me nowhere i know that and the last thing i'm looking for here is your sympathy, i have made my mind up on how i feel about my race in Limerick and thats not for changing. I lack speed endurance on a grand scale and that is something i have to improve on in a large scale before i ever race another marathon. Two runners i normally wipe the floor with on distances up to 10 miles finished 3 and 14 minutes ahead of me on Sunday and thats something that galls me, not to sound like a cocky twat, but i'm a better runner than both of them and this is another thing that disappoints me hugely about my performance.

I am lucky to have a coach to who takes time out of his day to set out a plan for me in regards what distance i am targeting, once again this cycle my training was spot on only missing 4-5 runs over the 3-4 months of training. i owe L a huge depth of gratitude which i can't put into words. His time and dedication to me deserved so much more than i could give.

Body wise i am in bits, much more so than Rotterdam. My hips feel like and articulated truck has been driven through them and my left hamstring is very tender from the impact of nearly seizing up on a number of occasions on Sunday. I will not run again for at least ten days to help aid recovery.

Where to from here? This time i honestly don't know, my wife has her interview for the overseas position in 2 weeks time and until we know the result of that i won't be committing to any races. Be it overseas or in Ireland though i plan on targeting a 1.25 Half marathon next, not having broke 90mins yet for a Half is obviously holding me back marathon wise also. But this i guarantee i will not race another marathon again till i have improved significantly over 10k/Half marathon. I am off to France in 3 weeks also so that should help in some part to getting my running mojo back.

No more updates from here for the next while i would say until family life and future living destinations are set in stone.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

FFS write the race report. It will do you good to get it down and move on from it and it will be something you can refer back to in the lead up to future races. Look at Peters race report from London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

I think concentrating on half and shorter will definitely do you good, If you feel there are more gains in near term, best luck to you and your family where ever you settle, recover well and enjoy bit of easy running for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I can't believe you ran another marathon so soon after the last, a marathon ! I'm amazed at what people do round here. To keep hacking away at a smaller distance is one thing but to get yourself to a marathon again, so soon! Though maybe that's what you're supposed to do, I wouldn't know.

Fair play anyhow, sorry it didn't work out. I have nothing more constructive to offer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Rockyman7

cud of bern worse...ur new name cud of been Dnf OonegativeMan13..id be gettin rid of that coach,u need a supercaoch.....and 1 more thing Dcm aint payin for ur flights back to dublin in oct :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Well done on the pb B. You're right not to bother with the report if that's the way you feel about it. Best of luck with whatever happens family wise. Recover well & go again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

I did something very similar a couple of years back B - went after a sub 1.30 half, scrapped any thoughts of a marathon for a while and trained hard. After a blow up in Athlone, the half time came down well under 1.30 and everything else followed accordingly ( 5k, 10k, 10 mile....and then the marathon itself)

Good luck with the recovery and the next few months. You can't underestimate the marathon though, so many variables can get in the way of having a good race on the day - anyway, good luck man. Keep the chin up and recover well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I kind of did that a few years back - decided that I wouldn't run any marathons for at least two years. The goal race at the end of year one was a half, and the marathon would be the goal the following year.

Year one up to the half went well, and I did take a chunk off my half time. Then I got injured the following spring, which threw off my timing :rolleyes: But when I did run a marathon again, six months later than planned, I got the time I wanted.

Marathon training can be good for building up miles, but it can get to be a grind, especially if you don't have confidence that there's a big reward at the end of it. A year or more with lots of faster running and racing could get you your appetite back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Can't take your disappointment away from you B, but in my opinion your goal was unrealistic and you did damn well to walk away with a decent PB even if you feel you had worked hard and wanted more.

Recovering from Barcelona, where (whether you like it or not) you ran yourself into the ground in a poorly chosen marathon (unsuitable climate), was always going to be a challenge. A 4-minute PB is a good outcome under the circumstances.

Another thing - those runners who finished ahead of you may not be better runners, but for now they are better marathoners. Results are results.

Most of us know and understand the disappointment of a great training block with no reward. Chasing a result with back-to-back races, as I learned myself last year, is a bit of a mug's game. Fine for tourism but no good for the ego! I ended up with a 40-second PB last October after a year of continuous marathon cycles. Then trained for a 50k where the result was even more decidedly mundane. You are certainly made of tougher stuff than me (hence your decent result) but the same rules apply.

Enjoy the holidays. You deserve the break.

God and I was all delighted for you with a pb sorry to hear you're not happy with the result. A well earned break put the feet up have a San pelegroino and rest the body. Seems to have been s tough day and course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

very honest post B and noone can take away how your feel about your marathon and the result.

Rest up and recover well and things will fall into place for you because you are a dedicated & hardworking runner and have had so many setbacks over the years but keep fighting back. (Best of Luck to L in the interview)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Yep. I can completely relate to that. It's a very strange feeling to get a PB yet still feel you didn't do your best or run a good race. To just not be happy with how you performed. I don't think there's anything wrong with that - it just shows your determination and drive. I know you'll put that determination to good use training for the shorter distances and come back to tackle the marathon with a vengeance. First of all, recover properly, the do what you have to do. Best of luck with whatever the future holds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

A few years ago I ran a 200m PB (albeit a very tiny one) but a couple of hours later ran a poor 400m and was a full 2 seconds down on my PB at the time. The 400m was my main event, so I looked at the negative of a bad 400m, and never enjoyed the 200m PB. I was feeling sorry for myself for about a day, until I was told by somebody to snap out of it and that "any day you run a PB is a good day". I ended up nailing the 400m PB a couple of months later anyway, and now I feel a bit silly the way I was acting after that bad race.

Any day you run a PB is a good day.

Regarding Barcelona, I may be no marathon runner, but I can never understand why people choose it as a target race. The chances of warm weather are far too high, and too much investment is put into ones training to leave something so significant to chance. I read your race report and found it odd you didn't have a B goal to account for such conditions (apologies if I missed that in the report) and that you allowed yourself to get so thirsty before the thing had begun.

You ran a PB a few weeks after a goal race, which is hardly optimal, so you're obviously in good nick. Learn the lessons from the last cycle, stop feeling sorry for yourself, enjoy the PB, and move forward. That would be my advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

I was thinking the same as chivito. On one of my many failed 3:10 attempts a friend told me any day you get a pb is a good day. Took me a good while to realise he was right. You cant control the weather and other random events on the day. That's part of what makes the marathon such a tricky beast to crack but intriguing for it. As said, all indications are that you're in good shape.

Any idea where the 1:25 shot will be. I have a similar plan in mind. Possibly Athenry depending on other plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

First off B, quite simply well done on finishing what was an ordeal, but one you could and did manage. I can only speak for myself but I think that there is more than a race at issue when we push ourselves to our limits. I don't say that lightly.

You have already reflected on your performance, even at this early stage, and there is an ambition and dare I say it a semblance of a plan for the future with regard to running. That is good.

It will be great to hear from you again in course.