Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Had to stop the tears coming down my face when Keegan got the goal. Thought we were there. No tears at the end though, normal order was resumed. I'm awful proud of the team, man they're heroes to me and any Mayo supporter. There's no solace and sometimes there's no justice to be found. Well done to Dublin and the lads on here. Mayo, whatever happens I'll be there by your side all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

km79 wrote: »
    That's the toughest of all to take
    It was there for us today

Yep...found that really tough going.

With about 6 mins to go we were briefly 2 points up and for the first time ever I actually thought we could do it....was on the verge of tears at that stage tbh...have never been that emotional watching a game before.

But no, it wasn't to be yet again. Dublin just had that extra 1% to get over the line. It was like they were running down the clock for the last five mins just waiting for the optimum time to go ahead and then pen us in with black cards and all that shyte.

Dreading tomorrow at work (based in Limerick)...will be people queuing up to sympathize at my desk :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

pimpmyhat wrote: »
    Cillian was very poor today.
    The big day seems to un settle him for some reason

Poor in the first half but I thought he was excellent in the second half, just couldn't get that free when he needed to not really a miss you could blame him for as it would have been a great score had he got it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Nail on head. Not the first final he's cocked up when its counted. In contrast to Rock who kicked two poor shots initially at the start of the game but nailed it when required. There are two types of goal kickers here and i'd be more confident when Rock is kicking when the chips are down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Yep...found that really tough going.

With about 6 mins to go we were briefly 2 points up and for the first time ever I actually thought we could do it....was on the verge of tears at that stage tbh...have never been that emotional watching a game before.

But no, it wasn't to be yet again. Dublin just had that extra 1% to get over the line. It was like they were running down the clock for the last five mins just waiting for the optimum time to go ahead and then pen us in with black cards and all that shyte.

Dreading tomorrow at work (based in Limerick)...will be people queuing up to sympathize at my desk :-(

Yeah man, I never cry - even at funerals but I could have cried at will there when we were leading towards the end. Had to force myself to keep it together. What would it mean to us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Just speechless. So much right on the day but Dublin kept close. Then when it mattered Rock had the stones and nailed the free. Sick.

Donal Vaughan will be very disappointed. Referee had the second yellow for Small coming out of his pocket before Vaughan came in. Moment of madness which was very costly. Didn't see if it was a strike, but you can't give the referee the option. Gutted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Donal55 wrote: »
    Nail on head. Not the first final he's cocked up when its counted. In contrast to Rock who kicked two poor shots initially at the start of the game but nailed it when required. There are two types of goal kickers here and i'd be more confident when Rock is kicking when the chips are down.

All the lazy begrudgers have been silenced by AOS in the last few months so now the attention turns to Cillian O'Connor :rolleyes:

23pts in 3 all Irelands for the record and two of those were the ultimate clutch scores from play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Cartman78 wrote: »

Cartman, Don't think of it as people sympathizing with you but that they are expressing their respect. Respect is by far more due to this Mayo team and their fans than sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Just speechless. So much right on the day but Dublin kept close. Then when it mattered Rock had the stones and nailed the free. Sick.

Donal Vaughan will be very disappointed. Referee had the second yellow for Small coming out of his pocket before Vaughan came in. Moment of madness which was very costly. Didn't see if it was a strike, but you can't give the referee the option. Gutted.

Complete stupidity. It wasn't a strike imo, looked like he went in with the shoulder. If Small wasn't getting the red, I think Vaughan gets away with yellow. But understandable from the ref... there looked like there was a little debate over it being red or yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

18-mo-sam.

Let's have some positivity.
    Credit to the players they died with their boots on

Oh Christ here we go again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

danganabu wrote: »
    All the lazy begrudgers have been silenced by AOS in the last few months so now the attention turns to Cillian O'Connor :rolleyes:

23pts in 3 all Irelands for the record and two of those were the ultimate clutch scores from play.

Not begrudgery at all. And in fact I like O'Shea, however, when it comes to point taking when the chips are down, Rock , has done it twice, as has Cluxton and I would prefer either when it comes to the crunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

C__MC wrote: »
    Mayo were heroic today.

No cups for 2nd place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Those last 2 kickouts from Clarke were why Hennelly got the nod last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Not shoes fault, but a combination of things.

Asleep for the 1st minute for the goal.
    Ogara off? maybe maybe not?
    two dubs shoulder each other and get a free.
    whatever that was at the end of the 1st half I don't know. Maybe Dublin joe can explain better.
    Vauhgan getting involved when he should have just left alone. (debateable whether dublin joe would have sent small off anyway, it just made the decision for him easier,)
    coc missing a free and hitting the post when he could have just recycled it.
    clarke last two kicks, 1 out the sideline and other he was probably confident that our middle would get it, but wrong middle got it.

but it is what it is. We can only look to next year and stopping the unbeatable 4 in a row team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Donal55 wrote: »
    Not begrudgery at all. And in fact I like O'Shea, however, when it comes to point taking when the chips are down, Rock , has done it twice, as has Cluxton and I would prefer either when it comes to the crunch.

And so has Cillian O'Connor :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭TrueGael

Amprodude wrote: »
    No cups for 2nd place.

Would you ever fck off you fcking troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,935 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Not in an All-Ireland final.

Dublin had players in the past - Mark Vaughan, Charlie Redmond, Paul Bealin - who missed crucial frees and penalties. All of them very good players, but like Cillian O'Connor not good enough in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

I know but if cillian had scored the free that hit the post we would of been in the ascendancy.
    A one point lead at that stage would of been huge.
    Sorry don't mean to sound too harsh just gutted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

blanch152 wrote: »
    Not in an All-Ireland final.

Dublin had players in the past - Mark Vaughan, Charlie Redmond, Paul Bealin - who missed crucial frees and penalties. All of them very good players, but like Cillian O'Connor not good enough in the end.

O'Connor kicked the leveller last year.

Cluxton and Rock have both missed pressure opportunities in the past, along with the list above.

Cluxton nailed a free to win an All-Ireland. Rock nailed a free to win an All-Ireland.

O'Connor hasn't, and there is a difference between a free to level it up and a free to make history.

Yes but it's from dead ball the issue is,
    Not from play

blanch152 wrote: »
    Cluxton nailed a free to win an All-Ireland. Rock nailed a free to win an All-Ireland.

O'Connor hasn't, and there is a difference between a free to level it up and a free to make history.

Head out and celebrate the win fanboy. Let us lick our wounds in peace. If you don't fancy heading out, hop onto facebook where your type of talk is more at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

km79 wrote: »
    Those last 2 kickouts from Clarke were why Hennelly got the nod last year

2 very poor kickouts and as good a shot stopper as he is his kickouts are a real liability.

Yes but it's from dead ball the issue is,
    Not from play

PARlance wrote: »
    Head out and celebrate the win fanboy. Let us lick our wounds in peace. If you don't fancy heading out, hop onto facebook where your type of talk is more at home.

Will be heading out later thanks, just watching a recording of the game now.

It is tough for Mayo fans, but we had years and years of it between 1995 and 2011 where we had many fan favourites who just weren't good enough to close out the deal. Keep the faith and maybe next year or the year after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

2 very poor kickouts and as good a shot stopper as he is his kickouts are a real liability.

Are hennellys kickouts really that superior? His kickouts were probably the reason that Mayo lost the Galway and Dublin matches last year. When a team loses, people always point to the kickouts - it's such an easy target. Cluxtons kickouts weren't good today either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Amprodude wrote: »
    No cups for 2nd place.

No but they did beat us this year.;) Hard luck Mayo.I thought ye were very unlucky today.I thought Dublin got more than their fare share of the breaks off the reff and it got them over the line in a 1 point game.I have serious respect for the amount of times this Mayo team keeps going to the well after suffering setbacks.Hopefully the current team still have enough in them to have another serious crack at it next year.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Are hennellys kickouts really that superior? His kickouts were probably the reason that Mayo lost the Galway and Dublin matches last year. When a team loses, people always point to the kickouts - it's such an easy target. Cluxtons kickouts weren't good today either.

Better flight maybe, that doesn't count for a lot under pressure. We can't really fault Clarke this year at all. He improved immensely imo in terms of speed and accuracy.

It's probably the most pressurised position in the game now. Cluxton really struggled first half under Mayo pressure. Clarke too at the end. Hennelly struggled last year. Flight doesn't overcome pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,939 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I overheard a young fella asking his Dad at full time in a Pub in Erris "Why does God hate Mayo??" - I'm beginning to wonder myself!!:(. On a more positive note I have to say local boy Chris Barret was outstanding again today and most surely be in line for an All-Star

Clarke's kickouts weren't a liability when we won 21/22 against Kerry.