Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Agree mastitics need milking tad.
    Are you doing an experiment with oad v tad?

We're not, it's quiete clear to me that tad is more profitable while OAD really helps any cow that may be struggling be foot trouble, calving difficulty.

I've never heard of anyone doing OAD for profit reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

No as a cow with mastitis needs milking tad imv. It's no big deal as we've a good way of moving cows in and out in groups even during milking. It's just a matter of well placed gates and pens.

If they were with OAD cows then OADs would be in and out Tad, not really what we'd want.

Also at milking there's always someone to bring them in and out.

Always thought the same myself re milking cow with mastitis TAD, but farm I'm working on at the moment leave them with the OAD group and milk them OAD too.. only been working here a few months but haven't seen any problem with it. They've been doing it this way with a few years and have no issues with it.. would milk bad cases of mastitis TAD though alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Zero change. I always smile when lads say cows perform better with Zgraze, IMO it's an indication of under feeding pre zgraze.

Very interesting as that seems to be the spiel the whole time with yield (possibly as too high sr may have decrease yields pre z grazer), any problems with laminitis through wet z grazed grass? Contractor is doing upto 15 loads a day atm. I've never done it yet as have bales and I have enough slurry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Very interesting as that seems to be the spiel the whole time with yield (possibly as too high sr may have decrease yields pre z grazer), any problems with laminitis through wet z grazed grass? Contractor is doing upto 15 loads a day atm. I've never done it yet as have bales and I have enough slurry

Two different ZG contractors around here. Both doing 14 hour days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

kevthegaff wrote: »

No only do for 5-6 days at a twice or at most 3 times a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Always thought the same myself re milking cow with mastitis TAD, but farm I'm working on at the moment leave them with the OAD group and milk them OAD too.. only been working here a few months but haven't seen any problem with it. They've been doing it this way with a few years and have no issues with it.. would milk bad cases of mastitis TAD though alright.

Antibiotic withdrawal is very much affected by frequency of milking .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

For Kerry suppliers, Kerry have an offer atm of 5 recordings, one this year and 4 next year for 12.50/cow, to help suppliers get a handle on SCC issues.

Might be interesting to some.

Edit: you won't have to pay till June 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭farisfat

Antibiotic withdrawal is very much affected by frequency of milking .

Milk here oad in the spring......cows are always ready for tank within withdrawal time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Cows are milking well here on grass this year. Currently giving 25.3 litres on 4kgs meal.

If Carlsberg did weather (and grass).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,812 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Floki wrote: »
    Cows are milking well here on grass this year. Currently giving 25.3 litres on 4kgs meal.

Whats your solids like? last text here was 3.99 pr and bf 4.7, never had pr like that before, pity it wasnt over 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Welcome back ;)

whelan2 wrote: »
    Whats your solids like? last text here was 3.99 pr and bf 4.7, never had pr like that before, pity it wasnt over 4

I'm behind yous on the %'s
    Hopefully ahead on the litres?
    (Or else I'm truely fecked).
    Last tests were bf 3.78 and pr 3.67.
    The bf did go over 4 on the field that got no lime but the litres dropped back as well.
    Bf is letting me down big time even though dungs look fine. I think if I went to bottom fill on milk tank and a different milk pump it would help.

Cal lime is going out this week on the odd one out field.

My theory is the parasite/worm burden is higher on the field that got no lime and vice versa lower on the fields that got lime like a fresh reseed on a ploughed field.
    Another interesting fact worm burdens are lower too on mixed clover ryegrass swards.

Why would bottom fill and the difference milk pump help bf?

Timmaay wrote: »

Easier on milk and fat and possible on farm homogenization?
    Or layman's terms, crushing fat globules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

A big drop of any kind, especially at pressure, any extreme agitation basically, will tend to [denature - not the right term, fractionate?] the fats.

If you really want to preserve milk quality a low line parlour is the right job, preferably with a tank room or a cheese vat set a bit lower and filled almost by gravity. We're cursed here by needing very high jars so there is a limit to what we can do.

Part of the problem is that everything which is good for the milk - gentle handling etc. - is bad for the wash!... I know some people have combined diaphragm pumps for milking with electric for washing.

Easier on milk and fat and possible on farm homogenization?
    Or layman's terms, crushing fat globules?

If anyone has any proof to this and how much of an effect then let me know! Milk gets dumped from 8ft high in a top fill here still, I was told the bottom fill stainless steel fitting would cost the best part of 500e however I can surely get something made made up cheaper than that.

Afair the non return valve for my tank was €300. Have you the flush out air valve on your milk pipe line?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Afair the non return valve for my tank was €300. Have you the flush out air valve on your milk pipe line?

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

farisfat wrote: »
    Milk here oad in the spring......cows are always ready for tank within withdrawal time.

Was testing a cow lately until she cleared 7 days after last tube .
    96 hr tube.

I was giving her 2 tubes at a time as I only had her in for the one milking and the mastitis was severe enough.

I'll put it this way I'll be wary of the next time. Might be antibiotic specific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Actually thought this 'damage', Kowtow mentions, to fat was going to be a big issues in the 1980s.
    High line was supposed to give rise to FFA (Free Fatty Acids). Some experts, at the time thought all milking parlour would be forced to go lo line.

I'm behind yous on the %'s
    Hopefully ahead on the litres?
    (Or else I'm truely fecked).
    Last tests were bf 3.78 and pr 3.67.
    The bf did go over 4 on the field that got no lime but the litres dropped back as well.
    Bf is letting me down big time even though dungs look fine. I think if I went to bottom fill on milk tank and a different milk pump it would help.

Cal lime is going out this week on the odd one out field.

My theory is the parasite/worm burden is higher on the field that got no lime and vice versa lower on the fields that got lime like a fresh reseed on a ploughed field.
    Another interesting fact worm burdens are lower too on mixed clover ryegrass swards.
    The Milk fairy must have heard me complaining.

Today's test (well from the 16th) but received text there now.
    Bf 4.27
    Pr 3.70

Big jump in butterfat from 3.7 before.

Two cows were milked into the jar in the evening milking and the tank would have been fuller with 5 milkings. So all in all not as big a drop for the milk as other milkings (if it is a thing?, which it seems it is.):confused:

Edit: no silage. No change in diet apart from different paddock and grass looked the same as before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Feeding a pick of silage . Butter fat gone up to 4.44 last test . Protein unaffected still a miserable 3.63

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

At 18.5L here at 3.92p and 4.32bf. Cows unsettled enough. Just changed to a 16 nut at 4kgs with wet weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

last test here was prot 3.88 and bf 5.09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

Last test BF 4.49 Pr 3.55, 3.5kg 16% nut, getting silage after both milkings. last 85 bales in lasnight, game over for the year tank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Our yield has crashed here in the last week (all on OAD) - girls that were doing 21 and 22 litres down to low teens, girls normally in the teens down a litre or two - all looking healthy enough and still getting 4kg or so in the parlour ... at this rate they'll dry themselves off and force me to get on with the parlour renovation.

last test here was prot 3.88 and bf 5.09
    Any word on Strathroy price for August?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭stanflt

kowtow wrote: »
    Our yield has crashed here in the last week (all on OAD) - girls that were doing 21 and 22 litres down to low teens, girls normally in the teens down a litre or two - all looking healthy enough and still getting 4kg or so in the parlour ... at this rate they'll dry themselves off and force me to get on with the parlour renovation.

Any signs of ibr- shouldn't get a hit like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Moocall have a bulling sensor here for €1500 for a teaser bull with 50 tags for cows to help heat detection. Annual fee of €350 as well so not out of the way at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Cows here doing 22 litres at 3.72 p and 4.2 bf cows dropped 2 litres last week due to weather and they are in strong covers for the next week. 3-4 kg of 16% nut. Can boys post there yields when posting protein and fat? 12 cows calved still drying off a few cows too.