Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Agree mastitics need milking tad. Are you doing an experiment with oad v tad?
Keepgrowing wrote: » No as a cow with mastitis needs milking tad imv. It's no big deal as we've a good way of moving cows in and out in groups even during milking. It's just a matter of well placed gates and pens. If they were with OAD cows then OADs would be in and out Tad, not really what we'd want. Also at milking there's always someone to bring them in and out.
Keepgrowing wrote: Zero change. I always smile when lads say cows perform better with Zgraze, IMO it's an indication of under feeding pre zgraze.
kevthegaff wrote: » Very interesting as that seems to be the spiel the whole time with yield (possibly as too high sr may have decrease yields pre z grazer), any problems with laminitis through wet z grazed grass? Contractor is doing upto 15 loads a day atm. I've never done it yet as have bales and I have enough slurry
the_blue_oval wrote: » Always thought the same myself re milking cow with mastitis TAD, but farm I'm working on at the moment leave them with the OAD group and milk them OAD too.. only been working here a few months but haven't seen any problem with it. They've been doing it this way with a few years and have no issues with it.. would milk bad cases of mastitis TAD though alright.
stretch film wrote: » Antibiotic withdrawal is very much affected by frequency of milking .
Floki wrote: » Cows are milking well here on grass this year. Currently giving 25.3 litres on 4kgs meal. If Carlsberg did weather (and grass).
whelan2 wrote: » Whats your solids like? last text here was 3.99 pr and bf 4.7, never had pr like that before, pity it wasnt over 4
Timmaay wrote: » Why would bottom fill and the difference milk pump help bf?
Floki wrote: » Easier on milk and fat and possible on farm homogenization? Or layman's terms, crushing fat globules?
Timmaay wrote: » If anyone has any proof to this and how much of an effect then let me know! Milk gets dumped from 8ft high in a top fill here still, I was told the bottom fill stainless steel fitting would cost the best part of 500e however I can surely get something made made up cheaper than that.
whelan2 wrote: » Afair the non return valve for my tank was €300. Have you the flush out air valve on your milk pipe line?
farisfat wrote: » Milk here oad in the spring......cows are always ready for tank within withdrawal time.
Floki wrote: » I'm behind yous on the %'s Hopefully ahead on the litres? (Or else I'm truely fecked). Last tests were bf 3.78 and pr 3.67. The bf did go over 4 on the field that got no lime but the litres dropped back as well.Bf is letting me down big time even though dungs look fine. I think if I went to bottom fill on milk tank and a different milk pump it would help. Cal lime is going out this week on the odd one out field. My theory is the parasite/worm burden is higher on the field that got no lime and vice versa lower on the fields that got lime like a fresh reseed on a ploughed field. Another interesting fact worm burdens are lower too on mixed clover ryegrass swards.
wats the craic wrote: » last test here was prot 3.88 and bf 5.09
kowtow wrote: » Our yield has crashed here in the last week (all on OAD) - girls that were doing 21 and 22 litres down to low teens, girls normally in the teens down a litre or two - all looking healthy enough and still getting 4kg or so in the parlour ... at this rate they'll dry themselves off and force me to get on with the parlour renovation.