what's the weirdest thing you have brought home from a night out

13»

My wife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Why on earth would anyone bring home a traffic cone, or any of the other junk in this thread??

So you have never been a student living away from home I take it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

A family photo, not of my family. It's literally still in my drawer.

Free gafs as a 15-year-old >>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Why on earth would anyone bring home a traffic cone, or any of the other junk in this thread??

It usually starts off being worn as a hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

A friend of mine grabbed a huge sandwich board from outside a nightclub. He had made it about 500 metres when he was nabbed by the feds. They made him lug it all the way back and took his name. He was hoping the enforced exertion and the return of the loot would be the end of it but the bastards summonsed him. He had his day in court and, again, thought he got off lightly when the Judge made a joke of it and fined him £10. He hadn't told any of his friends or his family hoping nobody would find out.

Unfortunately somebody in the Irish Independent thought the Judge's little joke was hilarious and a report appeared in the Indo with the eye-catching headline: "Judge tells man: Next time take a girl home".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

So you have never been a student living away from home I take it?
    It usually starts off being worn as a hat

I've a friend who is a plumber, and he told me a while ago he was called out to fix a boiler in a rented property. The house was rented by students and he said there were traffic cones everywhere, with dozens in the bedrooms. He reckoned there must have been hundreds of them in total. Apparently the students had a competition going to see who would have the most at the end of each year.

The traffic cone and students thing has been going on for years - when I was a student 25 years ago, taking a traffic cone home from a night out was a long-held ritual. Not quite to the extent above though.

I remember when wheelie bins appeared on the streets of Cork first (where I went to college) there was a brief fashion for bringing the drunkest of the group home in one. After a while the bins got too commonplace and too smelly though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A bus stop.

Just one of those pole bus stops. We brought it back early the next morning after we realised we will probably need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Out one night, myself and a buddy were the last two standing. He disappears for 5 mins and comes back on a bike, I presumed it was his. Off we went on the bike home to a friends house.

Said friend gets a panicked call from a friend of his saying his bike was stolen from outside a bar, said he'd left it there and gone home after pulling, never locked it as he was "only in the bar for one". Friend living in the house walks into the room after the call where myself and the other fella was staying and sees the bike, itself. Lolz were had, batings were averted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

A cats eye - from the centre of the road, not from a cats head....thankfully. It really could just as easily have been the latter:D

Oh and just remembered - a pair of skis - absolutely no idea where I got them from:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

A tree. Myself and a few friends went onto a green near one of my friends gaffs, who wasn't with us, and uprooted a small tree.

Brought it back to him as a Thank You gift for having us over to the party he was throwing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Aside from the usual traffic cones, road signs, garden gnomes and gates.......in college we once brought home a duck (from Stephens Green) to let go in our roommates' bedroom as "punishment" for blowing us off for some sexy time with his then gf while we were out......

.......then there was the mirrored clock we borrowed from a certain establishment on Baggot Street......got back to the house and removed our trophy from the carrier bag we smuggled it out in for all to see, whereupon I dropped it and in smashed :D

Still a bit trepidatious about going into that pub in case they ask for their clock back :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Your ma'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Some acquaintances of mine brought back a Christmas tree one December night,
    A challenge was then thrown down for a Christmas tree to be brought to the house each night.

Twenty one Christmas trees later , two Gardai turned up at the house after following them across a green dragging a tree.

The gardai saw the funny side and just told them not to take anymore trees from anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Again drunken "I'm just just the funniest person ever" student behavior.

Going into a chipper and there was a bicycle parked up so I nicked the seat off (just flicked the lever). I thought it would be hilarious to imagine the guy cycling home unable to sit down- simple but effective.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

My friend ran home with a deep fat fryer from a house party. I was outside on the kerb a little worse for wear and he sllips out with a deep fat frier under his jacket...the glint of crazy in his eys before he began to sprint was priceless.... What was going through his head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

A mug from starbucks, can't sleep at night, keep expecting the Guards to knock on my door :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭danoriordan1402

A hedgehog - found it walking across the road going home so in my drunkeness decided to save it. Destroyed my arms wobbling up the 10min walk home. Remember making it toast when I got home and locking the dog in the other room in case it ate it.

Fell asleep on the kitchen table and the fcuker burrowed into the couch, took 2 days to get him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,057 ✭✭✭✭josip

A John Player glass ashtray from Kevin St Garda Station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

My housemate dragged home a couch one night, a few years back. We've no idea where he got it from.

Also woke up one morning to discover an electric photo frame plugged into a socket in our living room. It was of Pope John Paul with an illuminated halo. The laughter from seeing that alone cured the hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

I robbed 3 sparkly cushion covers from the local nightclub, leaving behind the tatty white cushions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Bazzy

I was at a friends wedding I wont name the county (not my home county) it might give the hotel away

The hotel with the reception was full so we we're staying in a different hotel

Mrs Bazzy and I we're getting a taxi back to our hotel at some ungodly hour and I seen a trophy award for an award the hotel had won in 2007 or something under the jacket it went,

The next morning herself seen it and wasnt best pleased , My car was down at the other hotel so i wandered down to reception and booked a taxi with the trophy and was bringing it back to say sorry

On the way down my phone rang landline number of the county I was in claiming to be the manager of the hotel missing a trophy he was proper angry i've never heard anyone as angry in my life

The guy who got married is an awful messer so I assumed it was him and was giving the wind up

Anyway I got to the hotel and your man was proper furious the two girls behind reception were crying laughing. I put the award back and your man called me into his office shouting and showing me CCTV of the footage he was proper angry

I calmed him down after a while all with a sore head and shook his hand and off I went.

I met the guy who had got married outside and he said did you get your missus's handbag back.

Turns out the manager had got my photo off the CCTV and asked the groom did he know who I was my beloved had left her handbag behind so he said "thats bazzy he's staying in the ***** hotel"

The manager rang our hotel and got put through to our room but I wasn't there.
    Me and herself are only engaged so he said is that Mrs Bazzy and she thought it was the groom messing also and proceeded to give the manager an awful time she can be proper sarcastic when it suits

He said he was going calling the police and she replied "She would keep an eye out for me on banged up abroad" and gave him my mobile number

It explained your mans anger when I got the first call

In the end I shook the mans hand and i'm sure it made the day a bit easier for the receptionists.

I was in the hotel about a year later and the manager remembered me and sent over a drink which I thought was a nice touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Not me but a fellow catering college student, he was trying to sneek into the halls of residence with a girl but got kicked out, he then got one of those "flour bins" from the back of the college kitchens, like a wheelie bin but made for food. He wheeled the bin back to the flat and when ever he passed someone on the street, he'd say "want some cocaine" and then fire a fist full of flour in their face.
    The PSNI did not see the funny side of it, the trail of flour led the whole way from the college to his flat. He was kicked off the course and charged with theft in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

kylith wrote: »
    Found a load of them in my housemate's room after he moved out, so we pulled a reverse heist and drove up to a roadworks, jumped out, set up all these cones, jumped into the car and drove off. The workers just looked on, bemused.
    In 1990 the big cones cost £110 each.
    Many times I've seen cones goals on school soccer pitches. Did they pay for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I never had the urge to bring bizarre things home. It sounds like some people lost the plot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,057 ✭✭✭✭josip

I never had the urge to bring bizarre things home. It sounds like some people lost the plot.

In olden times before it was so easy to take photos on a night out, you had to take other things as a memento of the occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

In college we managed to get one of those massive two sided trolleys the staff use in tesco up four flights of stairs and into one of the lads apartments. Nobody remembers getting it up but it took about 3 weeks to figure out how to get rid out it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭redbel05

A former housemate returned home after a night out with a billy goat. Got it off an older guy in the pub, and thought it would be a great idea to save us cutting the grass.
    One journey later in their Nissan Micra, he then thought that it might be too cold out for the poor wee goat, and decided the kitchen might be a better place to leave it for the night. I still haven't a notion how he got the goat into/out of the Micra + into the house, or how I slept through the devastation that followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Virgil°

I remember years ago getting a taxi home very drunk and asking the driver to stop outside a tesco express for me. I wanted to quickly buy ingredients for a fry up in the morning.

I awoke the next day lying beside a bloody bonsai tree! My right arm scraped to bits. My guess is I'd wandered into tesco and been transfixed by some clearance sale they were doing in their little plant section. On getting home I must've just passed out on top of my bed (tree beside me).

Its still alive on my patio today.

Never did get that fry up though. :(