Christian parents 'to sue school' coz boy in son's class was allowed to wear dress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Are you pretending that your major concern is for the well-being of the little boy now?

Thanks, I needed a laugh to start the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

B0jangles wrote: »
    Are you pretending that your major concern is for the well-being of the little boy now?

Why do you assume it isn't. Do you know me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Yeah, shure feck the boy, he's just a means to an end, it's the ideology that's important :rolleyes:

Gravelly wrote: »
    Yeah, shure feck the boy, he's just a means to an end, it's the ideology that's important :rolleyes:

That describes you very well, yes.

Wrong target dude.

Congratulations. You've won the award for most idiotic comment of the day. Have you even read any of the other comments. It's not about the dress. It's about the enormous pressure on children to conform to a mass delusion.

Which delusion is that? That it is a biological requirement that male human beings dress wear two tubes of fabric on their lower limbs. (This is a delusion btw)

Or

The scientifically established fact that transgender people have differences in their brain structures compared to cisgendered people, so dismissing their experiences as delusion tells me that your personal biases are probably stronger than your scientific knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

osarusan wrote: »
    Is there any evidence whatsoever that the boy wearing the dress is doing so at the behest of or persuasion of the parents, rather than them accepting his wishes?

Any advance on this yet? Any evidence, or is it all merely speculation?

How you could write this with a straight face after everything you have said in this thread is absolutely astonishing.

Projection is a hell of a thing.

How you could write this with a straight face after everything you have said in this thread is absolutely astonishing.

Projection is a hell of a thing.

It certainly is. And lies at the root of sending a little boy to school in a dress.

Instead of playing endless argument ping-pong on the internet, why don't you take about 10 minutes to look at yourself in the mirror and really think about why it is so vitally important to you that a little boy you don't know should be prevented from wearing a dress sometimes?

What is it about males in dresses that makes you so angry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭bennyl10

MadDog76 wrote: »
    What if parents don't want their children thinking that boys wearing dresses is "ok"?

Then they need to explain why?..

Children are just that! And should be allowed wear whatever the fack they want to wear!

A child wearing a dress isn't doing any damage to anyone ffs!

Instead of playing endless argument ping-pong on the internet, why don't you take about 10 minutes to look at yourself in the mirror and really think about why it is so vitally important to you that a little boy you don't know should be prevented from wearing a dress sometimes?

:D Angry? What makes you think I'm in any way angry? You seem to be the one projecting emotion, not me. If grown men want to wear dresses, have at it. If little boys want to wear dresses at home, have at it. Sending a little boy to school in a dress is an ideological statement on behalf of the parents, using their child. That doesn't make me angry, it makes me sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭optogirl

The school should not be mainstreaming delusion, and therefore the boy should not be allowed to wear a dress. Fair play to the Christians.

'Mainstreaming delusion'. The boy wants to wear a dress. So what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I love how the guy who believes that there is any difference between a dress and trousers is claiming everyone else is suffering from delusions.

And it's the SJW's who get accused of making up things to be offended about...

My little girl is a bit of a tomboy. Doesn't like dresses and is quite rough and ready. I guess letting her wear trousers to school is a problem.

Can't really comment on a boy wearing a dress without knowing the actual reason why. If my son wanted to wear a dress, then sure grand if it's what he wants to do. A bit unusual but he's not harming anyone.

seamus wrote: »
    I love how the guy who believes that there is any difference between a dress and trousers is claiming everyone else is suffering from delusions.

And it's the SJW's who get accused of making up things to be offended about...

Read back over my comments and reply again. You've clearly missed something.

:D Angry? What makes you think I'm in any way angry? You seem to be the one projecting emotion, not me. If grown men want to wear dresses, have at it. If little boys want to wear dresses at home, have at it. Sending a little boy to school in a dress is an ideological statement on behalf of the parents, using their child. That doesn't make me angry, it makes me sad.

You know nothing at all about this little boy, but you have decided that his parents sent him to school in a dress as an ideological statement. Then you got outraged about the scenario you invented.

You literally invented a problem to get upset about - that's a totally normal thing that normal people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I for one am tired of being lectured on what I should/shouldn't believe on any given "controversial" issue. That's not to say I'm necessarily right, but that I'll make my own mind up without this new tactic of being bullied into it by "progressive" elements.

Yeah, don't let people with "facts" get in the way of your beliefs. It's a well known "fact" that the truth has an agenda.

Trans people exist. Trans children exist.

One child, for whatever reason, wore a dress to school. We don't know why. He could have been seen by 50 doctors who all said it was for the best. He could be transvestite or transsexual. We don't know.

What we do know is that two religious nutjobs removed their child from the school in protest against a boy in a dress.

Yet for some reason the people getting the flack are the boy and his parents. They've been called idealogues. They've been called bad parents. When people here know nothing more than the fact that the boy wore a dress.

You know nothing at all about this little boy, but you have decided that his parents sent him to school in a dress as an ideological statement. Then you got outraged about the scenario you invented.

You literally invented a problem to get upset about - that's a totally normal thing that normal people do.

You've a vivid imagination, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I'm not sure who's worse the christian parents for taking their kids out of school because of the boy wearing a dress or the boys parents for allowing him to wear a dress.Both sets of parents seem like nut jobs.

Exactly.

What moronic parents would let their boy go to school in a dress?
    Congratulations for making your kid the no.1 focus of bullying, of ridicule, of attention.
    All the other kids that are normally first in line to be bullied and the butt of jokes must be thanking their lucky stars.
    It's a great day for the fat, the gingers, the slow and unsporty, the stammers, the tourettes sufferers as there is a new kid in town to assume no.1 spot.

That poor kid is going to have his school going life made into a misery.
    And no matter what some eejits think about him being able to express his inner self and live his true existence, kids hone in on differences.
    And it is even worse today because of 24 hour social media.

Also how can a 6 year old kid really know what they are ?
    Queue the physcobabble....

And as for the other fooking eejit parents they need to stop living in the past.
    Oh and stop believing in fooking sky fairies and if you do believe in them then it is better and more christian like to live and let live.

BTW one thing that I wonder is how differently this thread would play out if the title was....

Muslim parents 'to sue school' coz boy in son's class was allowed to wear cross

I am not allowed discuss …

You've a vivid imagination, in fairness.

Holy sh*t, the projection train is OFF. THE. RAILS!

You'll have me in a dress shortly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

You're male yes? How many dresses do you own?

anna080 wrote: »

The boy wanted to wear a dress. His parents said OK. None of anybody elses business

• Subscribers Posts: 171 ✭✭Night Falls

In a way I guess it probably is, just not the statement you're implying.

I am female actually.

To flip the question on its head, while I have quite a lot of dresses and a lot of skirts, I do like to really question the fundamental biological rules that make it necessary for me (as a female) to wear skirts and dresses by sometimes wearing TROUSERS.

Of course, it causes a mini-riot every time I leave the house in clothes which are clearly only acceptable for men to wear, but I like to live dangerously.

optogirl wrote: »
    The boy wanted to wear a dress. His parents said OK. None of anybody elses business

Just wondering since they are just two pieces of fabric- if that poster is male how many he ownes. Or if he has bought any for the males in his life as gifts.

I am female actually.

To flip the question on its head, while I have quite a lot of dresses and a lot of skirts, I do like to really question the fundamental biological rules that make it necessary for me (as a female) to wear skirts and dresses by sometimes wearing TROUSERS.

Of course, it causes a mini-riot every time I leave the house in clothes which are clearly only acceptable for men to wear, but I like to live dangerously.

Ever buy a dress for your dad at Christmas? Or brother? Just a piece of fabric after all.

Just wondering since they are just two pieces of fabric- if that poster is male how many he ownes. Or if he has bought any for the males in his life as gifts.

that depends on whether they WANT a dress

optogirl wrote: »
    that depends on whether they WANT a dress

But it's just a piece of fabric?