If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kids on Flights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭little foot

Sweet Jaysus lads. Bunch of moaning fools. Did it ruin ur holiday? Is it eating u up? Kids are hard enough to deal with let alone an autistic child. Wish i had de perfect family but ders no such ting!! One thing is for sure though, moaners will moan and inconsiderate saps will always be inconsiderate saps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

caniask86 wrote: »
    I'm not sure what to say to be honest. I don't think she was demanded tolerance but rather upset people didn't show it. She had told the airline that her child had special needs so I am sure when people complained they were made aware of the situation. Most people this would be enough for them to understand it's unavoidable and the mother was trying.

She brought the child on a holiday Lexie, she didn't leave the child behind because it might make 'people uncomfortable' imagine if we kept people inside or away from combined spaces because they make people uncomfortable.

Honestly you need to have a word with yourself with your attitude.
    My attitude is fine thanks, I wasn't on the flight nor have I been affected by children on a flight. I have had a brat swing his legs sitting in front of me on the train, kicking my legs for most of the journey. Having given the child's mother ample opportunity to remedy the situation, she chose to ignore her child's behaviour so I had a loud phone conversation with my friend about the child and her parenting skills while sitting next to them. As far as I can recall, only then did she tell the child to stop kicking me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭caniask86

My attitude is fine thanks, I wasn't on the flight nor have I been affected by children on a flight. I have had a brat swing his legs sitting in front of me on the train, kicking my legs for most of the journey. Having given the child's mother ample opportunity to remedy the situation, she chose to ignore her child's behaviour so I had a loud phone conversation with my friend about the child and her parenting skills while sitting next to them. As far as I can recall, only then did she tell the child to stop kicking me.

I was in a train one time and the lady was complaining and talking loudly on her phone. Annoying all the passengers over something pretty petty. Being an adult is hard... Poor poor you.

Well isn't it a good life lesson for the kids at least :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

Being kicked in the leg isn't petty. I have juvenile onset arthritis and if I was kicked in the knee repeatedly I could literally be crippled for days.

Never mind being anemic and being easily bruised, as long as the child wants to swing his legs and kick whoevers in front of him. I DGAF about kids as long as they don't impact on me, your kid puts a mark on my body, then we have a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

Was on a flight recently and a child couldn't handle the air pressure,screaming crying from the pain of its ears popping,load of the older people on the plane started giving out,tutting and one shouted "shut that child up,its ruining my holiday"..what an absolute prick thing to do,the child was obviously distressed,the parents apologized,even though they didnt have to,everyone around stuck up for the kid and made the old fu ckers complaining feel like ****e,good enough for them

We going by the logic of this thread maybe you shouldn't go on public transport then in order no to inconvenience people with your special needs as regards to your arthritis. Shocking isn't it and unfair.

Never mind being anemic and being easily bruised, as long as the child wants to swing his legs and kick whoevers in front of him. I DGAF about kids as long as they don't impact on me, your kid puts a mark on my body, then we have a problem.

Your anemia is not my problem not so IGAF. You should stay indoors where it is safe. This is how you'd reason anyway.

We going by the logic of this thread maybe you shouldn't go on public transport then in order no to inconvenience people with your special needs as regards to your arthritis. Shocking isn't it and unfair.

I'm obeying social standards. The child kicking is not. Maybe kids kicking should not be allowed in public.

You are an adult and so you should. Children are well.. children.

Children can learn right from wrong. Should be locked away for public violence IMO.

Tapping someone's chair.. hmm ok. I think anyone who shouts or curse's at a child should be given a gardai warning.

Indeed children can and do learn from others what's right and wrong. It's up to all adults to set a good example parents or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,308 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I once had the misfortune of sitting one row down from the baby rows on a flight from Los Angeles to Dublin. That sucked but it wasn't anybody's fault. It was just luck of the draw...

I travelled with my 14 month old son to Ireland from Arizona. On the final leg back, some f*cking prick was walking by us when getting on the plane and started talking to my son "you're going to be a good boy, aren't you? You're definitely not going to cry the whole way to Phoenix"

Unfortunately\fortunately our son was perfect. Didn't cry once. We were a bit stressed going and coming back that he may cry and find it difficult, he didn't. He slept most of the trip but for that final leg back I was hoping he would cry the whole way so that f*ckin' guy had a miserable flight.

Anyway, I get more annoyed with the loud drunken' yobs on flights. I have encountered that much more often than loud non-stop crying babies.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    He slept most of the trip but for that final leg back I was hoping he would cry the whole way so that f*ckin' guy had a miserable flight...

You were hoping your child would be distressed for hours, to make some point to someone else?

Did you think of pinching the baby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Children stressed out in a situation like this, as uncomfortable as it may be for me, is not the worst thing to endure on a flight. Well OK, it probably is but I understand that it is something that cannot be controlled. As a parent you don't know it will happen until it does. You may have an idea it might but you shouldn't sacrifice your life so that I don't get stressed for an hour.

Kids treating a public place like their playground is another story however. They day after a wedding I was in a hotel lobby where my friend allowed their kids and their cousins run amock, chasing each other, screaming and bumping into other guests. I gave hints to them to calm them down but got the whole, they're kids, that's what they do speech. That can be controlled but they don't care as long as they don't need to entertain them themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Well, with fictional phone conversations (don't believe half your posts Lexie and you seem to developed conditions and afflicted relatives to suit the thread), tutting, eye rolling and hushed whispers I have to give the Irish the Golden Spleen for passive aggressiveness.
    One thing I do like about Germany, if people are not happy about something, they come right out and say it to your face. It's preferable to all the eye rolling, tutting and muttering. Because someone who's straight up with you can be reasoned with.
    As for the attitude that the parents don't care and the kids shouldn't fly or be sedated, well you know it's not going to happen so you pour all your impotent pissing and moaning into an internet forum to make anyone with kids feel guilty and ashamed.
    I wish upon you a screaming child for the entire duration in every plane, bus, restaurant, cinema or other public space.

^ believe them, don't believe them, no skin off my nose.

Your anemia is not my problem not so IGAF. You should stay indoors where it is safe. This is how you'd reason anyway.

:D im glad to know you do GAF at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,931 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Calm down.

Ah lads. What is it with these threads that cause some of you to become so annoyed. A crying child on a plane who is clearly distressed and has parents doing their best to soothe them has all my sympathy. It won't be a pleasant flight for me but that's ok because I understand this is just how it is sometimes.

A bold child with uninterested parents is a different matter. That would definitely bother me because I see it as something which can be prevented and which shows a complete lack of disregard for the other passengers. I'd put Lexie's experience in this category.

Tapping someone's chair.. hmm ok. I think anyone who shouts or curse's at a child should be given a gardai warning.

Indeed children can and do learn from others what's right and wrong. It's up to all adults to set a good example parents or not

Not for tapping someone's chair, for repeatedly kicking a person in the leg. That's violence in public and it's illegal. If you cared to properly read my previous post you'd know that.

Ah lads. What is it with these threads that cause some of you to become so annoyed. A crying child on a plane who is clearly distressed and has parents doing their best to soothe them has all my sympathy. It won't be a pleasant flight for me but that's ok because I understand this is just how it is sometimes.

A bold child with uninterested parents is a different matter. That would definitely bother me because I see it as something which can be prevented and which shows a complete lack of disregard for the other passengers. I'd put Lexie's experience in this category.

How do you judge between a bold child and an upset child? My son can appear bold to someone who doesn't understand autism. He doesn't have hand flapping or other signs that might point people to see he has special needs. The point being in either situation eye rolling and tut tuting does not help.

People get upset over this thread because it's been suggested that we drug our children, keep them indoors, stay home and never go on a holiday. If your child is special needs then they should sit far away in a little corner with sound proof walls and out of sight.

How do you judge between a bold child and an upset child? My son can appear bold to someone who doesn't understand autism. He doesn't have hand flapping or other signs that might point people to see he has special needs. The point being in either situation eye rolling and tut tuting does not help.

People get upset over this thread because it's been suggested that we drug our children, keep them indoors, stay home and never go on a holiday. If your child is special needs then they should sit far away in a little corner with sound proof walls and out of sight.

I'm thinking of the child tormenting other passengers and parents who let it happen.

Not for tapping someone's chair, for repeatedly kicking a person in the leg. That's violence in public and it's illegal. If you cared to properly read my previous post you'd know that.

Quick lock all the children up.

I'm thinking of the child tormenting other passengers and parents who let it happen.

Some people's idea of ' tormenting' might be the child being a child.

Think we have derailed the point about children on planes etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,344 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Quick lock all the children up.

Why the sarcasm in your posts .It never actually wins and argument .If you make a point clearly and with a reason people might listen to your side . You make valid points about kids with special needs and if made with reason will be more likely to make someone think .

There is no comparison in my opinion between a child with special needs and a child who quite obviously is just not being supervised . Neither should be allowed to kick someone else without being told to stop . Its common courtesy
    If a child repeatedly kicked me on the shins I would expect some intervention from the parent be he special needs or not . But if a parent explained to me that the child has autism I would be more tolerant and more understanding .But regardless I would expect the kicking to be taken control of .

Some people's idea of ' tormenting' might be the child being a child.

Think we have derailed the point about children on planes etc.

It's a discussion which goes around in circles because some people have their view which won't be changed and others have a different also unmoveable stance.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Why the sarcasm in your posts .It never actually wins and argument .If you make a point clearly and with a reason people might listen to your side . You make valid points about kids with special needs and if made with reason will be more likely to make someone think .

There is no comparison in my opinion between a child with special needs and a child who quite obviously is just not being supervised . Neither should be allowed to kick someone else without being told to stop . Its common courtesy
    If a child repeatedly kicked me on the shins I would expect some intervention from the parent be he special needs or not . But if a parent explained to me that the child has autism I would be more tolerant and more understanding .But regardless I would expect the kicking to be taken control of .

I was sarcastic because certain posters were trying to create every possible situation in which a child has or will a annoyed them. Also the train situation doesn't sound believable in my opinion and more a story so they can rant about children.

Sometimes sarcasm is all there is when everything else fails.

I was sarcastic because certain posters were trying to create every possible situation in which a child has or will a annoyed them. Also the train situation doesn't sound believable in my opinion and more a story so they can rant about children.

Sometimes sarcasm is all there is when everything else fails.
    Search my history, i posted about it at the time, and referenced it numerous times since. Happened summer 2015, knock yourself out