Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Scanned this morning 9% empty aftr 12 weeks breeding.
    59% conception rate to frist service
    all heifers incalf all bar 3 of 34 calving in feburary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

yewtree wrote: »
    Scanned this morning 9% empty aftr 12 weeks breeding.
    59% conception rate to frist service
    all heifers incalf all bar 3 of 34 calving in feburary

Fair going. Will be scanning heifers next week along with the last 3 weeks of breeding on cows and what ever we've seen bulling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,814 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Do many people do the pregnancy testing through the milk? We scanned 135 here the other day and I was charged €360. How does that compare with the milk testing? How much is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

whelan2 wrote: »
    Do many people do the pregnancy testing through the milk? We scanned 135 here the other day and I was charged €360. How does that compare with the milk testing? How much is it?

Think it costs circa 4.50 per cow (open to correction )it will only tell u in calf or not and can throw up inconclusive .wont tell u twins ,cysts etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Think it costs circa 4.50 per cow (open to correction )it will only tell u in calf or not and can throw up inconclusive .wont tell u twins ,cysts etc

True - we use it, pretty reliable most of the time and we scan as well.

The only inconclusive I have this year is a cow I haven't served yet. A couple of negatives who were doubtful when scanned, will serve them again if they come bulling and then scan again with the heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

What's the best bet for accurate scanning dates? In winter milk here with only 3wks ai, and last year we lost a decent few litres drying cows off too early, who were scanned to calf down in say March but didn't calf down till a month later? It's the cows who are say 6months incalf who our scanning chap says are the hardest to pickup. I was planning on scanning in late Sept, should I try rescan all the cows who are say 5 and 6months incalf again 6wks afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Timmaay wrote: »
    What's the best bet for accurate scanning dates? In winter milk here with only 3wks ai, and last year we lost a decent few litres drying cows off too early, who were scanned to calf down in say March but didn't calf down till a month later? It's the cows who are say 6months incalf who our scanning chap says are the hardest to pickup. I was planning on scanning in late Sept, should I try rescan all the cows who are say 5 and 6months incalf again 6wks afterwards?

I find that the most accurate results I get here are when cows are 40 to 80 days in calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

I use to find the same thing when scanning in october, the lad scanning could be out by 2 months.
    Very accurate now when scanning 30-35 days after last serve. We have a different lad now, his times matched spot on with ai serve dates

yewtree wrote: »
    I use to find the same thing when scanning in october, the lad scanning could be out by 2 months.
    Very accurate now when scanning 30-35 days after last serve. We have a different lad now, his times matched spot on with ai serve dates

Ye used to scan October. Now scan 4weeks after bull is gone out . If I have time I will get some of the earlier served ones scanned in June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Sadly decided to say good bye to one of our young Hereford Bulls. He got pneumonia 1 month ago. He picked up after treatment each time but relapsed after 2-3 days.

He's blowing again and I've just given him a pain killer to keep him comfortable till knacker collects him Monday.

I should've listened to my 12 yo when he said send him to the factory instead of treating. I didn't want to do that as we only bought him this spring. Phuck it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Sadly decided to say good bye to one of our young Hereford Bulls. He got pneumonia 1 month ago. He picked up after treatment each time but relapsed after 2-3 days.

He's blowing again and I've just given him a pain killer to keep him comfortable till knacker collects him Monday.

I should've listened to my 12 yo when he said send him to the factory instead of treating. I didn't want to do that as we only bought him this spring. Phuck it anyway

Would you normally keep for s few seasons?

Bad idea milk recording a couple of days after scanning. Most freeze brands covered in crap

Mooooo wrote: »
    Would you normally keep for s few seasons?

Ah yea, get 3 seasons out of most of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

mahoney_j wrote: »

€3.95 I was told when I asked at stand at farm walk in cork-Munster ai, Enfer land are €3.60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I'm presuming he was treated with Draxxin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Have a few lame cows here .unrepairables. the land is hilly and peaty .forest on 2 sides and 3rd side been planted soon .the weather in Cork kerry hills has made soup of some paddocks .
    Was thinking of selling on now or would I be best to milk on till housing .
    They are a pain in the asz but the start up account needs the money .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

2 large store cow buyers in our area have put in a greatly reduced amount of silage for the winter, reason being feed and labour costs now too high for the enterprise,

However grains are very cheap, and their vocation is not always known to be the one to divulge the whole truth.

But if there is some truth to it, cull cows could be a little more difficult to get away than previously. Anyone with their ear to the ground on this one?

alps wrote:
    2 large store cow buyers in our area have put in a greatly reduced amount of silage for the winter, reason being feed and labour costs now too high for the enterprise,

Do they just overwinter them on silage and sell to grass or finish off grass ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

If the market weakens and they are lame, their price will go from bad to worse.

kerry cow wrote: »
    Have a few lame cows here .unrepairables. the land is hilly and peaty .forest on 2 sides and 3rd side been planted soon .the weather in Cork kerry hills has made soup of some paddocks .
    Was thinking of selling on now or would I be best to milk on till housing .
    They are a pain in the asz but the start up account needs the money .

Milk em away once a day and up the ration a bit and send em straight to factory then. If you have somewhere close to the parlour twud be ideal as cutting out the walking would allow em to put on a bit of condition. The once a day milk will pay for the ration and you d get as much in the factory as anyone would give ya for lame cows

Ya .an ould lad told me to factory lame cows because once you hit the mart the jobber would take the pis and wouldn't bid and eventually you'd be embarrassed into selling them of 150 quid and run out the side door home .

I'm presuming he was treated with Draxxin.

The full Monty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

kerry cow wrote: »
    Ya .an ould lad told me to factory lame cows because once you hit the mart the jobber would take the pis and wouldn't bid and eventually you'd be embarrassed into selling them of 150 quid and run out the side door home .

Isn't there a mart buyer keeping a floor under the price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Any easy way to flush a 6 month old calf outa a 10ac field of maize?? Sunday afternoon also of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Any easy way to flush a 6 month old calf outa a 10ac field of maize?? Sunday afternoon also of course!

Try get the rest of the calves up to entrance to the field can she can you attract her out to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Try get the rest of the calves up to entrance to the field can she can you attract her out to them

Just don't let them in also. :D

Or get an old quiet cow and hopefully the calf will be attracted to the cow and run both out together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

Harvester!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I know this dosent apply to your lame cows but isnt this the year to milk on until new years eve , dry and sell first week in feb to grass

Bucket with a few nuts in it give it a shake? My feckers knocked me into the trough the other day

All the rain that fell yday and cows still not enough water, turned off trough last round and never got back to fixing it.