Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

It's ****e journalism yeah and also a ****e generalisation on the Irish print media

Ah come off it.

The Irish print media that is full of spoofers and connected eejits, much like out TV media outlets.
    The Sunday Independent, one of our leading weekend papers, full of muppets like Brendan O'Connor, Eoghan Harris, etc.

The Irish Times has become a joke.

Granted there are some good journos, but the slant adopted by major papers has become very poor.

Anyway back to topic I think some people are pushing this story and are just waiting for Mayo to fail so that they can put the boot in.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Pushing up on kick outs is the wonder drug of the modern game.

Apparently it's the answer to everything.

It's not, it takes a hell of a lot of effort and leaves space further out that can be exploited.

It can work for periods in a game and good teams use it for periods in games.

I thought Mayo did ok in this regard.

At one stage Brian Kelly was waving his arms around like a mad man waiting to take a kickout because Mayo had everyone covered.

If I recall in the second half of the drawn game in 2014 Mayo had him under pressure also, forcing him long when he did not want to.

Kerry have a slight goalkeeper problem. Breandan Keily would was sharing the starting role with Kelly over the last few years left the squad abruptly mid summer.

They have no experienced backup to Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Squatman wrote: »
    having rewatched the match last night, i think mayo made a big mistake by not pushing up hard on Kerrys kickouts - they werent put under pressure at all, and if they were, i think we could have capitalised on them - he often kicked short uncontested kickouts, where had we pushed forwards, we could have intercepted

I think our press vs Kerry was a semi one. We never got close enough to really cut off the option but instead we seemed happy to apply pressure straight away once they got possession in the corners. I can see the merit in that even though I would like to see us pressing with real intent like Kerry did in the first half.

But it's a tough thing to keep going and can leave you open at the back.

My main concern around kickouts is that we didn't cope with them in the first half. Donaghy followed O'Shea the odd occasion he drifted, I'm sure he will do the same again. For our kickouts, I would like to see Aidan go out to HB line or midfield. If Donaghy follows him then we still have the long option but it also creates a lot of space for a quick short one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Pushing up on kick outs is the wonder drug of the modern game.

Apparently it's the answer to everything.

It's not, it takes a hell of a lot of effort and leaves space further out that can be exploited.

It can work for periods in a game and good teams use it for periods in games.

I thought Mayo did ok in this regard.

At one stage Brian Kelly was waving his arms around like a mad man waiting to take a kickout because Mayo had everyone covered.

If I recall in the second half of the drawn game in 2014 Mayo had him under pressure also, forcing him long when he did not want to.

Kerry have a slight goalkeeper problem. Breandan Keily would was sharing the starting role with Kelly over the last few years left the squad abruptly mid summer.

They have no experienced backup to Kelly.

Kelly was very steady on kickouts, as he has been since the start of the summer. 1 bad option where he kicked long to Murphy is all I can recall. There were a few longer kickouts lost but that was down to Moran and especially Maher being stuck to the bloody ground.

By the way, as you probably know Fr T, the sub-keeper Shane Ryan is very good, possibly better than Kelly given a bit of time. Having won a Minor All Ireland, he's well used to big occasions already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Im not one for picking at refs, but after Reilly, I'd have genuinely taken anyone before Deegan. With my first preference being Gough.

He is forever giving harsh frees\cards against keegan, he is slow to give us fouls - with O'Connor and O'Shea in particular, seemingly needing to be fouled twice to get a free - while opponents tend to get the benefit of the doubt a bit quicker. I get the impression he doesn't seem to buy what mayo are selling in general, and tends to ref our games against top teams with that in the back of his head.

I'll predict that we will get nothing off him, particularly any big call, and Kerry will get a couple of soft ones at important times.

Not one for patting myself on the back, but that was proven fairly accurate last weekend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I don't suppose anyone knows how many steps Colm Boyle took before he scored his goal do they?

Oh hi MayoAreMagic :pac:

Not one for patting myself on the back, but that was proven fairly accurate last weekend...

I'm not one to tell someone that they shouldn't be patting themselves on the back but I don't think you should be patting yourself on the back.

He doesn't really buy Cillian's antics but I thought he was decent. If anything, we got off lightly. We should be going into this game without Vaughan. He was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

keane2097 wrote: »
    I don't suppose anyone knows how many steps Colm Boyle took before he scored his goal do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

A Gooch-esque amount I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Ok, so that's less than a Jack McCaffrey and more than a Ryan McHugh

I just want to see him admit it.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Ok, so that's less than a Jack McCaffrey and more than a Ryan McHugh

And slightly less than a Joe McMahon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭cute geoge

mayo.mick wrote: »
    DIAQYx1W0AEtRvY.jpg

Having watched mayo in all the rte live games i am surprised c.oc. has such massive scores this year .I know he is a superb forward but he looked jaded in a good few games ,wondering what amount of his scores have come from play ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

cute geoge wrote: »
    Having watched mayo in all the rte live games i am surprised c.oc. has such massive scores this year .I know he is a superb forward but he looked jaded in a good few games ,wondering what amount of his scores have come from play ?

He has 3-14 from play. Gets fouled himself for a lot of the frees too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭joe35

O shea worked alright on Sunday but he should push forward more when in possession. Make donaghy track him back similar to the way Philly mc played Cooper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭Panrich

cute geoge wrote: »

3-15 from play and 0-38 from placed balls

Mayo News Podcast out

This week's extra show sets the scene for Mayo's ninth game of the summer, as they take on Kerry on Saturday in the All Ireland Semi Final replay at Croke Park at 3pm.

Joining host Rob Murphy are John Gunnigan and Billy Joe Padden as we look ahead to Mayo's fifth Championship replay in Croke Park in four seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

keane2097 wrote:

A nice tidy little sum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PARlance wrote: »
    Mayo News Podcast out

This week's extra show sets the scene for Mayo's ninth game of the summer, as they take on Kerry on Saturday in the All Ireland Semi Final replay at Croke Park at 3pm.

Joining host Rob Murphy are John Gunnigan and Billy Joe Padden as we look ahead to Mayo's fifth Championship replay in Croke Park in four seasons.

Mayo News Football Podcast Extra - Kerry, Take Two. http://themayonews.podomatic.com/enclosure/2017-08-24T06_40_07-07_00.mp3

James Horan & Michael Quirke on Saturday's replay on OTB.

https://cdn.radiocms.net/media/001/audio/000032/202112_media_player_audio_file.mp3

He caught him clean with that strike too. The evidence was there on Monday. Great to see a player like Geaney stooping to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭statto25

mayo.mick wrote: »

I hope to fook we clatter them on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

Stoner wrote: »
    A nice tidy little sum

Originally Posted by keane2097
    A nice tidy little sum

I counted 8, albeit some small step.

I counted 10 in the lead up to a kerry point -albeit some small steps too.

PARlance wrote: »
    He caught him clean with that strike too. The evidence was there on Monday. Great to see a player like Geaney stooping to that.

What did they say on the Sunday Game?

HA HA!

Updated Met Eireann forecast for tomorrow in the Dublin region.

Tomorrow Saturday will be a mainly dry,bright day with sunny spells at times with just a few well scattered light showers.Top tempatures 18-20 Celsius.

The wrong Geaney is out for tomorrow.:pac:
    Michael,Paul's cousin.It appears pretty certain Walsh will take no part either.

giphy.gif

Somehow I knew this was going to happen.
    Well at least you didn't use that stupid.gif Keane.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

giphy.gif

Somehow I knew this was going to happen.
    Well at least you didn't use that stupid.gif Keane.

:o

gxuM60O.gif

I hate Gifs esp stupid ones :D