Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championships 2017 - Read Mod Note Post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

keane2097 wrote: »

Well at least you didn't use that stupid.gif Keane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,763 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

4 of the most 1 sided Quarter Finals you will see on any sport.

Dreadful stuff by the 4 beaten teams

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Patww79 wrote: »

Don't think they will.

If Dublin get any more than 3 points in front of them I think the game is over Tyrone look good at the moment but their play is extremely one paced and predictable in my opinion and they don't look capable of producing a burst of brilliance and destroying teams like Dublin can.They won't be able to keep up with Dublins scoring and also the fact that to beat Dublin they have to win 2 matches the first 45-50 minutes against the first 15 and then the last 20-25 against Dublin's subs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

But this super 8 should address that lopsidedness. I think it will kick a few counties into gear and there will be some upsets.
    We have 4 great teams at the moment. Each one capable of beating the other.
    Then we have Donegal, galway kildare, armagh, cork, fermanagh, tipp, meath, if they ever get their ass in gear, even the rossies, despite their hammering today.

I think it will bring on those other teams with match practice and experience instead of just one QF and thats it for the year.

I'm looking forward to it.

Might make it a bit harder for mayo to win sam but hey we gotta roll with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

seems like part of their issue is their preparation between April and August as theres nothing between these teams in the league, but the gap becomes incredible come later in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

seems like part of their issue is their preparation between April and August as theres nothing between these teams in the league, but the gap becomes incredible come later in the year.

You could also make the argument that the top teams know that they have the better players to get through the earlier rounds with relative ease, and tailor their training towards August/ September. The rest of the pack cant afford this luxury and need to go full tilt for the first round. As a result, they're in better shape for the league

That still probably doesn't explain the extent of the hidings given out in all the quarter finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

You could also make the argument that the top teams know that they have the better players to get through the earlier rounds with relative ease, and tailor their training towards August/ September. The rest of the pack cant afford this luxury and need to go full tilt for the first round. As a result, they're in better shape for the league

That still probably doesn't explain the extent of the hidings given out in all the quarter finals

I don't think there's much of an argument. The better teams gear themselves for later in the year.

They also build their teams around Croke Park imo, a completely different surface to a boggy County ground in Winter. Certain players will be more effective running up and down the wide spaces of Croker.

Familiarity is a big thing too. Galway, Roscommon, Armagh just don't have the same experience of playing there. All 4 Semi finalists are completely at home in it.

Then there's the fact that there's just a big gulf between the top teams and the rest. I thought Monaghan would give a much better account of themselves but the remaining Quarter finalists were a badly relegated Div 1 side, a newly promoted Div 2 side and a Div 3 side. To be any way competitive on a consistent basis, a few solid years in Div 1 is needed imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

kupus wrote: »
    But this super 8 should address that lopsidedness. I think it will kick a few counties into gear and there will be some upsets.
    We have 4 great teams at the moment. Each one capable of beating the other.
    Then we have Donegal, galway kildare, armagh, cork, fermanagh, tipp, meath, if they ever get their ass in gear, even the rossies, despite their hammering today.

I think it will bring on those other teams with match practice and experience instead of just one QF and thats it for the year.

I'm looking forward to it.

Might make it a bit harder for mayo to win sam but hey we gotta roll with it.

Nah. I think it will just delay the inevitable. Dublin will still be Dublin and Roscommon or Armagh will.......

One thing we can all agree on is that the semis will be absolute crackers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

One thing we can all agree on is that the semis will be absolute crackers

Can we? I'm not convinced Tyrone will put it up to Dublin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

One of them was a draw

Can we? I'm not convinced Tyrone will put it up to Dublin...

From the competition and the performances either have shown I see no reason why we can't. I still expect Dublin to win but not easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Depends on the definition of "cracker" I guess

It still wouldn't amaze me if dublin and Kerry were both comfortable enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

From the competition and the performances either have shown I see no reason why we can't. I still expect Dublin to win but not easily.

You said we're guaranteed two crackers. Obviously Tyrone won't be as abject as Monaghan, but I can see the game following a similar pattern; Dublin go 3 or 4 points up early on and never look like losing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

think Tyrone V Dublin will be a poor, cynical dour game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,011 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The worst thing about these hammerings is that those of us who always thought the "Super 8's" were a farce of an idea will look like we're just reacting to a few bad games, when the very idea of the thing is and already was a load of bull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

As a Roscommon supporters who has done more than his fair share of Mayo bashing on this forum. All I can say today is that Mayo are the better team, And we are just not on their level. We weren't just beaten today, we were destroyed. In every area of the pitch, in every aspect of the game. After 20min the match was over as a contest and it was only a question of how much Mayo were going to win by? Well Done to Mayo, and best of luck in the Semi Final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

think Tyrone V Dublin will be a poor, cynical dour game!

Certain people seem to think that every game Tyrone will play will be a dour low scoring cynical poor game. Maybe people need to move with the times the way the game has gone. Most of the games we've played this year have been poor spectacles but that's all down to the lack of the opposition, not any Tyrone cynicism or boring play. The same people will talk endlessly and brainlessly about Tyrone having no scoring power and playing a defensive system, when in reality the system is both defensive and attacking at the same time.

Surely the objective of playing football is to both score as much as you can while restricting the opponent to as few scores as possible. Tyrone have done that marvelously this summer. Racking up big scores in every game while restricting the opposition to nothing.

No team has scored more than 5 points on us in the first half I'm 4 championship games.
    Tyrone have had at least 10 different scorers in every game.
    Almost all our scores are from play.
    Our long range shooting has been exceptional.
    Tyrone are scoring goals.
    Tyrone have 6-77 in four games.

Any other team doing this would be regarded as magnificent. This isn't some rehash of Jim McGuinness's Donegal of 2011. This is a fantastic tactical approach that's stifling opponents whilst allowing your own players to score heavily. There's absolutely nothing to suggest that this will be a dour cynical game unless your were pointing to the cynicism of our all Ireland champions because there's been none from Tyrone this year.

Dublin are amazing and are rightly going to be heavy favorites. I'm sure they'll also have more support from the 30 other counties than they normally would have. That's grand, we're used to it. I truly hope it's a great game, not to prove any point, but because if it's a great game then there's much more chance of us winning because for me the only way this will be boring is if Dublin get a lead early and hold it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Will tickets for the semi finals be on general sale? Probably not for the Dublin game I'd imagine, but for Kerry V Mayo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Same As

Will tickets for the semi finals be on general sale? Probably not for the Dublin game I'd imagine, but for Kerry V Mayo?

Every game with the exception of the two All Ireland Finals go on general sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Patww79 wrote:

Good man yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Jayop wrote: »
    Certain people seem to think that every game Tyrone will play will be a dour low scoring cynical poor game. Maybe people need to move with the times the way the game has gone. Most of the games we've played this year have been poor spectacles but that's all down to the lack of the opposition, not any Tyrone cynicism or boring play. The same people will talk endlessly and brainlessly about Tyrone having no scoring power and playing a defensive system, when in reality the system is both defensive and attacking at the same time.

Surely the objective of playing football is to both score as much as you can while restricting the opponent to as few scores as possible. Tyrone have done that marvelously this summer. Racking up big scores in every game while restricting the opposition to nothing.

No team has scored more than 5 points on us in the first half I'm 4 championship games.
    Tyrone have had at least 10 different scorers in every game.
    Almost all our scores are from play.
    Our long range shooting has been exceptional.
    Tyrone are scoring goals.
    Tyrone have 6-77 in four games.

Any other team doing this would be regarded as magnificent. This isn't some rehash of Jim McGuinness's Donegal of 2011. This is a fantastic tactical approach that's stifling opponents whilst allowing your own players to score heavily. There's absolutely nothing to suggest that this will be a dour cynical game unless your were pointing to the cynicism of our all Ireland champions because there's been none from Tyrone this year.

Dublin are amazing and are rightly going to be heavy favorites. I'm sure they'll also have more support from the 30 other counties than they normally would have. That's grand, we're used to it. I truly hope it's a great game, not to prove any point, but because if it's a great game then there's much more chance of us winning because for me the only way this will be boring is if Dublin get a lead early and hold it.

Ah why on earth would you think that?As significant underdogs and the whole country v city craic I'd imagine most neutrals would be shouting for Tyrone. Most people outside of the dominant team dislike the same team becoming overly dominant in any sport.It is ridiculous to suggest that Dublin are despised,I admire them greatly but would much like the Kingdom wish they wouldn't keep breaking our hearts.

I know you lads like the auld siege mentality but I don't believe you're half as disliked as you seem to believe you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Despite them repeatedly breaking Mayo hearts I do not despise this Dublin team. I admire them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I'll be hoping for a good end to end game, won't be cheering on either team in particular, about 5 red cards a piece would be ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Patww79 wrote:

Almost every GAA fan according to you. Good job speaking for all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,929 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Patww79 wrote: »

This is just 'Dublin as the victim' nonsense. And it is as wrong as the 'siege bunker' stuff.

I will as a neutral always favour the underdog. And I would favour Dublin if they were the underdog. And I think most neutrals would.
    Dublin are not the underdogs by virtue of their abundance in selection, their fantastical resources and near professional (if not wholly professional) status, the fact they get to play in Croke Park etc etc.

That is simply why they will not attract support from the neutral.