Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Conor via DQ
    Burial. wrote: »
    Another nomination for most mind bending post in this thread.

Ill take it as a compliment :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

Conor via DQ
    Great value in the prices available.

No bank is going to give you 25% return and some bookies even giving 30%.

Minimal risk.

I guess I just don't see the risk being that minimal. One of us is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭CiarraiAbu2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,449 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Amazed at bookies paying out, McGregors confidence alone tells me he will win this fight.

If only it was that simple....

Some post this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ
    Gintonious wrote: »
    He just needs a few Russian hackers in his corner.

Maybe Artem has a use afterall??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ
    GerryDerpy wrote: »
    I guess I just don't see the risk being that minimal. One of us is wrong.

Right now the odds are all wrong.

Great value on Mayweather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭Guffy

Right now the odds are all wrong.

Great value on Mayweather.

Agreed. Whatever about the actual fight the odds are way wrong. Bookies have so much exposure on conor its not funny. I imagin the odds will shorten on mayweather again before the fight as the sharps and syndicates make their move.

If your backing mayweather do so in the next day or two imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Floyd via DQ
    So Paddy Power have paid out on a Floyd win

It really was free money for those that bet on it

That's insane.

Floyd via DQ
    They also payed out over 1 million on Hilary winning the presidential election, just saying.

Indeed... LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭CiarraiAbu2

Was this moved in here or did I post it here in error?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,193 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Floyd via DQ
    They also payed out over 1 million on Hilary winning the presidential election, just saying.

Yeah but they were not expecting to have to pay out another 4m after that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Conor via DQ
    If Conor happens to get the cleanest left hook on Mayweather, similar to the Also fight, do you think the 8oz gloves will negate much of this power? So that Mayweather may pull back a bit but not actually get floored/KOed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    Pheonix10 wrote: »
    If Conor happens to get the cleanest left hook on Mayweather, similar to the Also fight, do you think the 8oz gloves will negate much of this power? So that Mayweather may pull back a bit but not actually get floored/KOed

That lunge in from Aldo was horrific

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Floyd via DQ
    Pheonix10 wrote: »

Aldo isn't a boxer😂. The greatest boxer of our generation would read that from miles away, and probably embarrass Conor with a few counter punches to boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    Apparently Floyd has put 5million on himself winning . That'll keep lads on this thread happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Conor via DQ
    Rekop dog wrote: »
    Aldo isn't a boxer😂. The greatest boxer of our generation would read that from miles away, and probably embarrass Conor with a few counter punches to boot.

Yeah I'm not saying it will happen. Just wanted to see from anyone who has a good knowledge of boxing, what difference the gloves may make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 pirlo80

Floyd via DQ
    So McGregors game plan will be to smother Mayweather, close the gap, lean on him in the clinch to tire him out and fight dirty on the inside.

Here are my questions Id love to hear your opinions:

1) Have most if not all of McGregors success not come from putting his opponents on the end of his long shots to stop them - How is he going to manage to hurt floyd on the inside ? Surely not with arm punches with no power behind them ?

2) Floyd is one of the best infighters in the game - short shots and body shots will hurt Conor - Why would Conors plan to be to smother Floyd in close where Floyd is so good (and in doing so neutralising his own slim chance of a KO ?)

3) This is probably going to be horrible to watch, lots of clinching, lots of sloppy punches from McG and lots of referee involvement - Can McG last the 12 ? The one thing this tactic does is give him a good chance of doing that - Can you see how MW can get the stoppage if this is how Conor approaches it ?

Any opinions on this would be interesting, I dont see how this gameplan can work whatsoever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    Yeah, Nate could take his best shots! LMAO :pac:

But Nate did take his best shots... just because he got knocked to the ground, doesn't mean he was in danger of being TKO'd.

He was clearly hoping that Conor would be dumb enough to engage him in a ground battle... he never looked messed up when he hit the ground, he was always ready to defend himself from that position.
    Man you don't half talk some shite. Had it been a boxing bout, no bjj, Nate would have been TKO'd in a heartbeart. He clearly could not take Conor's shots ffs, and had to go to ground to recoup on his fcuking arse, multiple times.

lol... firstly, you can't say if it was a boxing match... because you don't know whether Nate was intentionally hitting the deck in order to suck Conor into a ground fight! (seems fairly obvious that would be part of his MMA strategy, since he's far better than Conor in that department)

Secondly, getting knocked down in a boxing match, does not mean you are necessarily in danger of being TKO'd... plenty of fighters have suffered multiple knockdowns before coming back strong later in the fight.

Nate ended up finishing stronger than Conor in that fight... so again, this does not suggest that he was overly effected by those knockdowns!!
    Pay attention please: We were talking about punch power and while it's true than on average, boxers punch harder than mma fighters, that still doesn't mean that for certain we know that McGregor therefore can't possibly punch harder than some of the boxers Floyd has faced. We simply do not have a sufficient barometer thus far to make such a claim, nobody does and for anyone to claim they know he doesn't, and base their reasoning on the mere fact that boxing is a different sport and McGregor's an mma fighter......very much is sneering.

It's not really "sneering" to suggest that boxers are better at throwing punches... or taking punches... just a logical common sense conclusion.

Just because that logical conclusion irks you, as an MMA fan, does not make it any less of an intelligent conclusion!
    Absolutely, which is why I think McGregor only has a very slim chance of winning this fight. The penny will drop with you eventually... or perhaps not.

Or you might even say, "next to no chance!"... :D

Nate would have been TKO'd had that second fight been a boxing bout. Only a naive fool would think differently.

But he took everything Conor could muster up, and was in better shape during the 2nd half of that fight...

If those shots were messing him up, to the extent that you believe, there is no way he would be finishing so strongly...

The only person in danger of being KO'd or TKO'd across both those fights, was Conor... if he had not turned into a panic wrestler in that first fight, then he could possibly have been finished on the feet. (a more talented stand-up fighter than Nate, would almost certainly have finished him in that 1st fight)

Who the fcuk is getting knocked out with 16 oz gloves ffs?

Well, definitely not Paulie Malignaggi anyway... :p

You are calling other people naive... but I think some of you guys really are guilty of extreme naivety when it comes to boxing. Boxers (even many journeymen) are very well conditioned at taking punches!

I think you are vastly underestimating, just how much better boxers are in general, at taking hard punches and not going down!

If Conor wants any hope of finishing Mayweather, I would argue he should probably be finishing Paulie! (yes, even with 16's on). We all seen that huge left, that Conor landed on Paulie... very impressive shot... but remember, it didn't even knock Paulie off his feet.

And big shots, like those ones, take a lot of energy to throw... so Conor won't be able to throw that sort of power all night long. He will burn himself out very quickly!

I actually hope Conor lands something accurate on Floyd... but I think many of you guys, will be very surprised just how well a top boxer can cope with such a shot.

Conor is not facing some bulky lead-footed wrestler, like Mendes or Alvarez here... Those guys are not well conditioned for stand-up fights. Floyd is a very different animal in this respect.

Okay, well, if you truly believe you "know" then I'll look forward to seeing you post up your hefty bet receipts and if I don't see some from you, then that'll just be proof positive for me that you're all mouth and no trousers, as I expect.

You and your buddy wonder... think you can shut down an opposing opinion, just by goading someone into a big bet!! :rolleyes:

It's just a sign to me, that my points are too much for you. Just like Wonder, you have run out of ideas and patience...

And all it really takes, from a few of us around here, is simple straight-forward logical retorts to your points... and you guys just lose your sh!t...

It's amusing to read though... so keep it up!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Apparently Floyd has put 5million on himself winning . That'll keep lads on this thread happy

If he's really in trouble financially, he'd put it in Conor and take a dive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    Pretty sure there's a rule where you cannot bet on your own event...but anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Floyd via DQ
    Burial. wrote: »
    Pretty sure there's a rule where you cannot bet on your own event...but anyway

I'm guessing that for organized sports bodies such as Olympics then that would be true.
    For pro boxing it's probably just whether it's legal or not. So for that, you probably want to make sure that you can't be charged with manipulation/corruption. So it might depend on the bet. A general bet on yourself to win is probably fine. A bet to win in round X (apart from round 1) might not be.
    That said, if a bookie knowingly takes your bet, and you are placing it yourself, then it's probably ok too

Floyd via DQ
    You can't bet on yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

He hasn't bet on himself and never has.

This thread is stupid. Like some dump for rubbish that didn't make it onto twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ
    J Mysterio wrote: »
    You can't bet on yourself.

He said on Jimmy Kimmel that it was legal to bet on yourself, but illegal to bet on your opponent, for obvious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,449 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    He said on Jimmy Kimmel that it was legal to bet on yourself, but illegal to bet on your opponent, for obvious reasons.

FFS, look what you've started.

The MMA boys will be looking for Floyd's bet receipts now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Floyd via DQ
    pirlo80 wrote: »
    So McGregors game plan will be to smother Mayweather, close the gap, lean on him in the clinch to tire him out and fight dirty on the inside.

1) Have most if not all of McGregors success not come from putting his opponents on the end of his long shots to stop them - How is he going to manage to hurt floyd on the inside ? Surely not with arm punches with no power behind them ?

2) Floyd is one of the best infighters in the game - short shots and body shots will hurt Conor - Why would Conors plan to be to smother Floyd in close where Floyd is so good (and in doing so neutralising his own slim chance of a KO ?)

3) This is probably going to be horrible to watch, lots of clinching, lots of sloppy punches from McG and lots of referee involvement - Can McG last the 12 ? The one thing this tactic does is give him a good chance of doing that - Can you see how MW can get the stoppage if this is how Conor approaches it ?

Any opinions on this would be interesting, I dont see how this gameplan can work whatsoever

I cant wait to see what happens in the clinch. As you said, Floyd on the inside is the most underrated part of his game, he remains calm, relaxed and sneaks in punches from every angle to head and especially the body that eventually wears world class opponents down big time.

Going by what Paulie has said about Conor in the clinch is that he panics, he instantly tries to grab you usually illegally by holding behind the head and then fires multiple arm punches causing no real effect. If that is true, and we're all tired of the Paulie drama but i do think he is being honest here (Dana talked about Conor getting docked 2 points for that exact thing), there is a really good chance that Conor gets DQ'd, or badly busted up on the inside by Floyd. Its one thing fouling, but not knowing how to be calm and how to defend yourself from punches in the clinch could be the end of him.

Funnily enough though i think if Conor has learned how to break from the clinch and then fire quality shots that could well be the clean opportunity he has to catch Floyd.

I actually think Floyd is going to back his words up this time and walk him down, take Conors reach out of the equation and work the body. If he does that its going to be a hell of an exciting fight. And if he starts cautiously but then starts to walk him down then you know right away that he has no respect for Conors power or skill set. Round 1 is going to tell a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    pirlo80 wrote: »

100% disagree.

The game plan will be to keep the fight at distance. Conor will fight nearer his normal kicking range, launch darting attacks and land counters when Floyd tries to cover distance.

Sure, there'll be some clinching as in every boxing match but there's no way the gameplan is to smother him.

Conor will outbox him from the outside imo and there'll be a lot of people scratching their heads Sunday wondering what in the hell just happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Floyd via DQ
    Conor will outbox him from the outside imo and there'll be a lot of people scratching their heads Sunday wondering what in the hell just happened.

:eek::D

Thats it i'm outta here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    gilmour wrote: »
    :eek::D

Thats it i'm outta here.

You'll be back Sunday to either tell me I'm a clueless fool OR....