Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Floyd via DQ
    You'll be back Sunday to either tell me I'm a clueless fool OR....

I'm going to go out on a limb and say right here right now that you're clueless if you believe that Conor is going to outbox Floyd Mayweather on the outside. I dont have to wait until Sunday to say that after the fact.

I don't think you're a fool though, you desperately want Conor to win and i've no problem with that. But it can lead to delusional thinking, and saying that Conor will outbox Floyd on the outside is honestly the most delusional thing i've heard from you or anyone else yet. (overtaking the "he KO's Canelo" comment)

Oh and btw, should the shock of the century happen and Conor KO's Floyd i will be here Sunday morning to congratulate him and all of his fans. I will also be buying the Secret and asking to join the Church of Conor to kneel at his altar. No doubt about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    gilmour wrote: »
    I'm going to go out on a limb and say right here right now that you're clueless if you believe that Conor is going to outbox Floyd Mayweather on the outside. I dont have to wait until Sunday to say that after the fact.

I don't think you're a fool though, you desperately want Conor to win and i've no problem with that. But it can lead to delusional thinking, and saying that Conor will outbox Floyd on the outside is honestly the most delusional thing i've heard from you or anyone else yet. (overtaking the "he KO's Canelo" comment)

Oh and btw, should the shock of the century happen and Conor KO's Floyd i will be here Sunday morning to congratulate him and all of his fans. I will also be buying the Secret and asking to join the Church of Conor to kneel at his altar. No doubt about it.

Just to clarify further...

Look at the distance Conor landed his left hand on Paulie. The one that snapped his head back. That came from his normal kicking range. That's an extremely rare punch to even try throw in boxing from so far back because *generally* elite boxers will see it coming, slip and counter.

But I do think we'll see him both a) fight at that distance and b) land.

You'll be welcomed with open arms into being a believer. I hope I'll be welcomed as a repentant sinner if I'm badly wrong too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,449 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    You'll be back Sunday to either tell me I'm a clueless fool OR....

I don't think 'or' is an option for you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Ninap

Floyd via DQ
    First time posting in this forum, but just to add my two cents. I'm a casual boxing fan, and have never really seen the appeal of MMA. On all rational assessments McGregor should have no chance. But the reason the fight is intriguing is just that - the mismatch, combined with McGregor's bravado, and all those who sincerely believe he can spring a massive surprise. Dan Rafael (ESPN) on talksport last night said if McGregor won it wouldn't just be the biggest ever upset in boxing, but the biggest upset in sporting history full stop. While almost the entire boxing community gives McGregor no chance, some, such as Andre Ward, seem to suggest his unpredictability could provide him some openings:
    https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2017/aug/23/conor-mcgregor-boxing-experience-floyd-mayweather-las-vegas

Mayweather is a brilliant boxer, but doesn't have the big punch that's likely to dispose of McGregor very early. So perhaps the chances of McGregor being completely embarrassed are lower that one might expect.

My own guess is that Mayweather will give him a boxing lesson, and eventually overpower him in rounds 7-9. But before that, McGregor will obviously go for the knockout punch, but find it very hard to land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Floyd via DQ
    Ninap wrote: »
    Dan Rafael (ESPN) on talksport last night said if McGregor won it wouldn't just be the biggest ever upset in boxing, but the biggest upset in sporting history full stop

well Buster Douglas was 42/1 to beat Tyson, McGregor is 3/1 (which is ridiculous)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭Trimm Trabb

Still 7,000 of 20,000 tickets unsold - have they completely got pricing structure wrong or will people buy them up closer to the day?

Will they sell them on the 'cheap' on Friday/Saturday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Floyd via DQ
    Floyd reckons Conor is 10lbs off the weight.

Floyd is probably right. I firmly believe He has a rat in the McGregor camp feeding back information.

Amazed at bookies paying out, McGregors confidence alone tells me he will win this fight.

Such a stupid thing to say. He's confident, so he'll win? That makes no sense. I could have all the confidence in the world that I could beat Serena Williams in a tennis match. It's not going to stop her from destroying me in straight sets.

Pheonix10 wrote:
    If Conor happens to get the cleanest left hook on Mayweather, similar to the Also fight, do you think the 8oz gloves will negate much of this power? So that Mayweather may pull back a bit but not actually get floored/KOed

"If". McGregor won't be able to land a single clean punch on Mayweather.

Jose also is not a boxer. Mayweather is a difference animal all together.

The switch between 8s and 10s make fck all different to Floyd. He wins regardless. The only thing the 8s will do is give McGregor more blind confidence to attack early, which just plays into Mayweather's game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    Conor will outbox him from the outside imo and there'll be a lot of people scratching their heads Sunday wondering what in the hell just happened.

I was looking at the results of the poll, when someone mentioned that it was not a private poll... then I noticed you had picked Conor to win on points!

I was thinking you perhaps clicked the wrong option in error or something... because nobody could seriously be foolish enough, to actually believe that Conor could go the distance, and take Floyd to a decision...

But I stand corrected... you really are that foolish!! :pac:

Impressive... I thought we hit the bedrock of delusion quite a while ago in this thread... but you just keep breaking new ground!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,604 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Floyd via DQ
    I still find it hard to believe there are people who genuinely think Conor can win. I doubt even his coach, despite his public utterances, really believes it. Michael Jordan or Le Bron James could have all the confident in the world they'd beat Phelps over 100 meters in the swimming pool, it won't stop them being soundly beaten. These posters must be on a wind up.

At least this farce will be over soon. We can then look forward to a real competitive bout in a few weeks time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Floyd via DQ
    100% disagree.

The game plan will be to keep the fight at distance. Conor will fight nearer his normal kicking range, launch darting attacks and land counters when Floyd tries to cover distance.

Sure, there'll be some clinching as in every boxing match but there's no way the gameplan is to smother him.

Conor will outbox him from the outside imo and there'll be a lot of people scratching their heads Sunday wondering what in the hell just happened.

Sunday? Theres a lot of people scratching their heads now :confused:

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

People still think McGregor, an MMA fighter, beats the best boxer of his generation in a boxing match?

'But Floyd's 41...' - I can guarantee Floyd has been training for this fight since the whispers first started a year ago. He does all his work behind the scenes, whereas Conor has been more focused on making a fool out of Paulie Malignaggi than on the task at hand.

'8oz gloves suits Conor...' - it suits Floyd a hell of a lot more, because he has fought with 8oz gloves his entire career.

'He's never faced anyone like Conor...' - so Conor fights the best boxers in the world on a regular basis?

The complete delusion from people who listen to what Conor McGregor says rather than looking at it from a sporting sense is astonishing. It's all complete bollocks and I can't believe people fall for it.

It's simple, the boxer wins. He'll decide when to end it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 pirlo80

Floyd via DQ
    100% disagree.

The game plan will be to keep the fight at distance. Conor will fight nearer his normal kicking range, launch darting attacks and land counters when Floyd tries to cover distance.

Sure, there'll be some clinching as in every boxing match but there's no way the gameplan is to smother him.

No disrespect man but Conor will 100% not try to outbox him from the outside thats mental talk.

I have it on good authority that he is going to try and get inside, close the distance and try make him as uncomfortable as possible. Thats what he has been training to do for the whole camp, that is the game plan.

I can guarantee you he will not try to box him from range, which is where all his success in MMA has come from and his inside game is simply not good enough - which is why I was asking how the hell does he expect to win - these were genuine questions, I cant see how its possible for him to win, his most powerful shots are when his opponents are at the end of his punches.

Floyd via DQ
    Floyd is probably right. I firmly believe He has a rat in the McGregor camp feeding back information.

10 lbs is nothing tbh, in fact Its prob less than a standard weight cut for conor, the usual cut is 14-16lbs on fight week.

Makes you wonder the type of hell he went through to make 145 - seriously bad for him, he really is blessed MW called this fight at 154

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Floyd via DQ

I was looking at the results of the poll, when someone mentioned that it was not a private poll... then I noticed you had picked Conor to win on points!

I was thinking you perhaps clicked the wrong option in error or something... because nobody could seriously be foolish enough, to actually believe that Conor could go the distance, and take Floyd to a decision...

But I stand corrected... you really are that foolish!! :pac:

Impressive... I thought we hit the bedrock of delusion quite a while ago in this thread... but you just keep breaking new ground!! :p

Wonder has been saying Conor via pts for a long time tbf. Conor is gonna school him.

Pete thinks Mayweather wins by KO/TKO but I would like to see his betslip

Floyd via DQ
    pirlo80 wrote: »

Makes you wonder the type of hell he went through to make 145 - seriously bad for him, he really is blessed MW called this fight at 154

Ah come on! He was afraid of the 8oz gloves, that's why he agreed to 154 not 147 :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    Still 7,000 of 20,000 tickets unsold - have they completely got pricing structure wrong or will people buy them up closer to the day?

Will they sell them on the 'cheap' on Friday/Saturday?

I've no idea where you are getting your facts. There are currently less than 1,000 tickets left.

The LA Times ran an article last night saying Conor v Floyd has BROKEN the all-time-gate-record of $72.1 million. ALREADY. When the remaining tickets are sold, it'll be $80 million.

They priced it perfectly. It's a runaway success.

http://www.latimes.com/sports/la-sp-mayweather-mcgregor-1503424003-htmlstory.html
    I have it on good authority that he is going to try and get inside, close the distance and try make him as uncomfortable as possible. Thats what he has been training to do for the whole camp, that is the game plan.

I have some pretty good sources myself who tell me he'll fight at a range Floyd is not used to. The bulk of the camp was focused on combinations CLOSING the distance with darting attacks and countering Floyd closing the distance.

Bear in mind, he'll do everything. It's a boxing match, there will be plenty of times where either man is on the ropes, or in the clinch or in close proximity but generally Conor will be launching long-range attacks and stance-switching at range.

We'll see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Floyd via DQ
    Lads can I ask where did ye see the 5am start time? I've been staying up for boxing and MMA events for a decade and main event start times have always been fairly unpredictable. Or is the 5 am just an educated guess?

Floyd via KO-TKO
    well Buster Douglas was 42/1 to beat Tyson, McGregor is 3/1 (which is ridiculous)

Tyson was 42-1 on...

Douglas wasn't 42-1..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    I always wondered how people were gullible enough for a religion to start thousands of years ago . Now we are in 2017 and a bunch of adults are proving people can be brainwashed

Anyway Cleverly is coming across well, I think he wins on points . Hopefully Gervonta performs and gets the ko in front of a great platform

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Wonder has been saying Conor via pts for a long time tbf. Conor is gonna school him.

Pete thinks Mayweather wins by KO/TKO but I would like to see his betslip

The poll is ridiculously "close" when you consider the event...

wonder is not alone in his ludicrous pick..I wonder what wonder will be wondering should the bell for rd 12 ring and even his scorecard has Conor down by circa 11 points, and possibly more?

Pete is going the very logical and sensible route yet is passionately arguing against it here...and almost takes offence at the logical points being made to come to the KO conclusion..

The thread of craziness this.

Floyd via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    The poll is ridiculously "close" when you consider the event...

wonder is not alone in his ludicrous pick..I wonder what wonder will be thinking should the bell for rd 12 ring and even his scorecard has Conor down by circa 11 points?

Pete is going the very logical and sensible route yet is passionately arguing against it here...and almost takes offence at the logical points being made to cone to the KO conclusion..

The Poll reflects the betting odds perfectly.
    In Fact there is more money on McG than Maywether. PP only paid out 250k on Mayweather despite taking 8m in total bets. We can assume the Paddy has taken around 1m on Floyd and 7m on Conor.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    dulux99 wrote: »
    Lads can I ask where did ye see the 5am start time? I've been staying up for boxing and MMA events for a decade and main event start times have always been fairly unpredictable. Or is the 5 am just an educated guess?

0500 would be early for main events in Las Vegas..

It's actually listed as 0400 start going by the fight card...

I will guess 0530 the lads will be in the ring..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

Floyd via DQ
    5am is about right for a boxing main event should the card lack a ko or two and this is different again. It's UFC that starts even later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Conor via DQ

Such a stupid thing to say. He's confident, so he'll win? That makes no sense. I could have all the confidence in the world that I could beat Serena Williams in a tennis match. It's not going to stop her from destroying me in straight sets.

"If". McGregor won't be able to land a single clean punch on Mayweather.

Jose also is not a boxer. Mayweather is a difference animal all together.

The switch between 8s and 10s make fck all different to Floyd. He wins regardless. The only thing the 8s will do is give McGregor more blind confidence to attack early, which just plays into Mayweather's game.

I didn't say he would jaysus!!! Wondering on the influence of the gloves. Did I say he was going to go in and hit him with the first punch and head off to a pool party.

Floyd via DQ
    walshb wrote: »

Pete is going the very logical and sensible route yet is passionately arguing against it here...and almost takes offence at the logical points being made to come to the KO conclusion..

Pete is also arguing against a Mayweather (t)KO on the AH thread.
    None of those 8oz glove fights were at 154lbs, this'll be his first and Mayweather hasn't knocked anyone out since the 90's (apart from a few women that is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Press conference is live now

Floyd via DQ
    Watching this presser - Brendan Schuab is such a tool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    I haven't been watching but I got a text from someone saying that guy said Conor is a better boxer than Ricky hatton

Not sure if it was genuinely said

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Watching this presser - Brendan Schuab is such a tool

Most dont even know its on.