Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Mooooo wrote: »
    Got word from vet about cows that went down in blood. One had visible lesions, a 10 yr old cow. Must not have been very bad as from docket I got paid for entire carcass. So that's 1 from 22 to kill out with anything visible. Same cow had no change in skin readings in last 2 tests either

Hopefully she's your patient zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

ted_182 wrote: »
    Fans of 36/48 hour breaks, would ye be inclined to go back in with the strip wire after about 3 days heavy day to aid cleanouts ??

Also going mowing is the holiday for some of us ������

put them back on this morning got a lot of rain the last week or so, ground conditions still ok but was struggling to get cleanouts, things just getting a bit messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Pitted 40ha in 12hrs (-2hrs for lunch)..
    Happy enough.
    Forecast is for 25mm tonight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Happy enough.

Is that a swallow that photobombed the picture ? Do ye have many over there ?
    They are getting less common here the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Happy enough.

What's the fendt like?
    Crops are supposedly way ahead this year and could be getting pitted in 4 weeks

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Scanned a bunch of 98 this morning. 72 in calf, 12 are too early to say for sure (<35 days in calf), 14 definitely not in calf. Happy out.

Tested maize just now and it's ~34%dm.
    Pitting maize for the next few days. Early start tomorrow. I fecking hate making silage.

Out of interest, I was reading the holiday thread whilst waiting for the dm results, and I noticed that people cancel holidays because they've silage to make. Why? Don't contractors do your work?
    If you can't trust a professional outfit to make it, how're ye going to trust the newly trained unemployed to milk the cows? Just asking...

Yeah mow and buckrake myself,wagon supplied by contractor.no contractor mower can get into some of the ground.also might have to be decisions made about baling some of it as pits are going to get very high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭alps

Price of grains and proteins very low. Soya can be got for 300 till end of the year and maize meal for 165.....thats damn cheap, and better value a lot than a pitted crop..

alps wrote: »
    Mowed, raked and loaded 25 acres, here yesterday...1litre burned per bale

How many bales/acre?

Bullocks wrote: »
    Is that a swallow that photobombed the picture ? Do ye have many over there ?
    They are getting less common here the last few years

Yes swallows are plentiful, but maybe they're more visible due to warm weather...small puddles would draw them from all over in high temps.

What's the fendt like?
    Crops are supposedly way ahead this year and could be getting pitted in 4 weeks

Fendts are a sac du merde in comparison to the Claas 900s.

The Fendts are also as big and awkward as a ship.

alps wrote: »
    Price of grains and proteins very low. Soya can be got for 300 till end of the year and maize meal for 165.....thats damn cheap, and better value a lot than a pitted crop..

Absolutely!

Tillage farmers taking yet another shytekicking...

With the amount of worthless barley and maize etc that I have, I'd need over 1k cows to use it up...€106.66 is all dried barley is worth here now.

I'm not holding my breath waiting for big Phil to open intervention stores for grains...

Absolutely spilling lovely warm rain here now. 23mm and rising. Will stop around lunchtime so harvesting after lunch.

How many bales/acre?

4...burned ground for reseeding...

Enjoying the view this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Oh, Maids of Duhallow.

Just back from a local wedding...3 herds along the same road being relief milked. 6 cows on the road at 6pm...neighbours son put them on a farm roadway....they were ours...absolute mystery as the only exit from our farm is a grassy road that we keep fairly well in trim and not a hoof Mark in sight. Walked the cows back home just now ,look milked...all wires and gates perfect...

Full investigation in the morning

A Duhallow Muskerry wedding John

Water John wrote: »
    Oh, Maids of Duhallow.

Covered Duhallow from Churchtown/Liscarrol to Milstreet on a horse back in the day. Massive country....banks and drains. Great memories indeed.

Two pits to cover now, then chopping again for the day. No silage then tomorrow but back at it Monday.

I hate silage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Just out of curiosty what is the smallest number of cows being milked in your area.fella near here has about 20 which i think is the smallest .i love to see people carrying on doing their own thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

A few round here milking around the 20 mark. One lad after starting milking this year with 17 cows don't think he plans to get much bigger either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Lad beside us milking 10 in a 4 unit parlour. Keeps all the calves and has sheep aswell. Place is very well kept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Cow numbers in my area... 12, 25, 70, 70, 110, 130, 130, 140, 150, 180, 250... All farms within a 5 mile radius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I wouldn't have a clue of what cows people have. Wouldn't be many under 100 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭degetme

Smallest around here is 18 in a six unit. Next smallest is fifty. Largest is 160.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

RedPeppers wrote: »
    A few round here milking around the 20 mark. One lad after starting milking this year with 17 cows don't think he plans to get much bigger either!

Good man himself. It's quality that counts.

Although after shocking the district with my plans to expand to two dozen I might have to eat my words again soon with the boy heading for college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

If the price of milk is 30c, what figure would you think you would get as profit per litre? Also, would the annual yield from a cow be 5000litres or is that a bit excessive? Just having a debate here and we can't answer these question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

If the price of milk is 30c, what figure would you think you would get as profit per litre? Also, would the annual yield from a cow be 5000litres or is that a bit excessive? Just having a debate here and we can't answer these question!

Profit would have to be worked out on your own costs. 5000L would be easily achievable think the average in the country delivered is 5500? Could be wrong. Solids would want to be good with that yield tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Mooooo wrote: »
    Profit would have to be worked out on your own costs. 5000L would be easily achievable think the average in the country delivered is 5500? Could be wrong. Solids would want to be good with that yield tho.

I know what you mean about costs, and it is s very broad question. But would the top lads make 12-15cents profit? Would 5-8 be average?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Costs are somewhere in the mid twenties, before you pay yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I know what you mean about costs, and it is s very broad question. But would the top lads make 12-15cents profit? Would 5-8 be average?
    Are you trying to figure out what the dairy farmer next door to ya is making??:D