The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Colser wrote: »
    Does anyone know if The Turners Cross Tavern is doing food?It looks nice from the outside and I thought it said restaurant on the sign but can't find anything definitive online.

Thought we'd pop in for food a few weeks ago, and they said they weren't doing it yet - they would be starting "in August", so I'd say ring and check maybe. It's August, but that's a bit vague!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Malari wrote: »
    Thought we'd pop in for food a few weeks ago, and they said they weren't doing it yet - they would be starting "in August", so I'd say ring and check maybe. It's August, but that's a bit vague!

Thanks..someone told me that it's connected to Barry's in Douglas ( not sure if that's food or bar wise)..don't think they were definite about it so could be totally wrong,I'd say they'd be advertising if they were serving food tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Went To sago today Used to be a very big fan of the place when it 1st opened but now It has gone down quite a lot since it opened.

I had the Honey Chili Chicken today and it just tasted strange like I could not put my finger on it but the sauce was so strange and nowhere like other places in town who do the same dish. I left 1/2 of it as it was so poor.

That's twice in a row I had had bad food there once was my red curry that also tasted strange and I ended up leaving it there as well.

So to me it prob was the chicken when you think about it.

Being honest now i prob wont be back in a long long time.

But its nowhere as bad as any of the food I had on MSC cruises where some how everything tasted the same !!!!!. If you got the Buffet for lunch !!!. Chicken, Beaf, Pork you name it tasted the same haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,200 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Had breakfast at 12 Tables this morning and it was distinctly average. I had poached eggs on sourdough which is my favourite breakfast. I have had this in most restaurants around the city and 12 Tables just didn't rate. 1 slice of bread cut in two, 3 tiny cherry tomatoes and two very small eggs. I was still hungry when I left. My companion had a breakfast bap and enjoyed it. The coffee was good and the staff pleasant. This was my second visit and both times I've been underwhelmed so won't be rushing back anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Cork Lass wrote: »
    Had breakfast at 12 Tables this morning and it was distinctly average. I had poached eggs on sourdough which is my favourite breakfast. I have had this in most restaurants around the city and 12 Tables just didn't rate. 1 slice of bread cut in two, 3 tiny cherry tomatoes and two very small eggs. I was still hungry when I left. My companion had a breakfast bap and enjoyed it. The coffee was good and the staff pleasant. This was my second visit and both times I've been underwhelmed so won't be rushing back anytime soon.

Where's your favourite spot for the poached eggs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Liberty grill is pretty good for poached eggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,200 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

It's a close tie between Perry Street and The Parlour :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

sporina wrote: »
    I see Sago have changed their menu - meals are cheaper and they have "Chinese take away" style dishes now...

I assume they are using cheaper ingredients..? Anyone eaten from there recently?

I have not done so in ages but was going to this weekend but now I am dubious..

so on the back of this, decided to give them benefit of doubt and ordered this eve - called to order for a delivery and was told it would be 45-60 mins delivery but I could have it in 10 mins if collected... so we collected.. but when I got there, they seemed to be dead quiet - only 1 in restaurant - and staff hanging around counter.. and out meals were ready.. so whats with the almost hour wait?? Do they wait until they have a number of orders to deliver? I always thought that when a delivery took long to deliver that it was because they were busy??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

so on the back of this, decided to give them benefit of doubt and ordered this eve - called to order for a delivery and was told it would be 45-60 mins delivery but I could have it in 10 mins if collected... so we collected.. but when I got there, they seemed to be dead quiet - only 1 in restaurant - and staff hanging around counter.. and out meals were ready.. so whats with the almost hour wait?? Do they wait until they have a number of orders to deliver? I always thought that when a delivery took long to deliver that it was because they were busy??

Are you going to tell us what the food was like?

twas good - chicken was grand - and fresh veg,, don't know how they are doing it for €8.50 though.?

And the prawn crackers are now the cheapo one's like you get from the chinese as oppose to the lovely wholemeal one's they use to serve.. though that is a small gripe..

curious about the delivery situation though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

I think I would have asked them why. Maybe they don't have enough delivery people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Grabbed some sushi from Dashi Deli yesterday, really good. Had some mixed futomaki rolls with crab salad, salmon, svocado, prawn, spicy. Got gyoza as well. Noms.

I ate in there, and wouldn't be recommending that. Tables were slightly sticky, and there was massive deliveroo traffic through the place, felt like a bus station in there.

happyday wrote: »
    I think I would have asked them why. Maybe they don't have enough delivery people?

no i didn't ask.. when they told me on the phone i assumed it was busy.. then when i was leaving it dawned on me that they were not.
    anyway i thought i'd come on here to find out what the general rule of thumb is with regards to delivery etc..

food was great though - surprised the dishes we order have been reduced from €13 to €8.50

Went to Tequila Jack's to try the breakfast menu I so liked the look of.
    "are you still serving breakfast?"
    "yes"
    I sat at the bar to choose from the breakfast menu on the counter, gave my order to another server and was brought cutlery and a glass of water.
    Some minutes later, he had to come back to tell me that the kitchen was now only serving the main menu.

Not impressed!

Now, I know it could be down to teething problems and it was busy with the match crowd but surely taking away obsolete menus and informing the staff at what time you stop serving breakfast is pretty basic stuff.
    Update on Tequila Jack's:
    After 3 tweets and 24 hours I got a response of

"Hey, appreciate the feedback from your experience. Disappointed to hear you had a poor first impression. Hopefully we'll see you again."

Pretty poor imo
    No apology, no explanation and no incentive to return.
    Remedial customer service.
    Despite the appalling customer service last week, I thought I'd try Tequila Jack's for brunch again.

I tweeted them yesterday morning asking what time they served this menu until on Sundays.

I got no reply.

Seriously, if you have a business twitter account, then check in on it occasionally.

They really seem clueless.
    Still haven't eaten there.
    I can now confirm that they open @12 on a Sunday and serve "breakfast" until 3.

I got a reply!

Another Update!!

I phoned them this morning to enquire about breakfast times . I was told, open at 12, breakfast menu until 2. (not sure if Sunday is still 3 as I was told last week) Anyway, headed in shortly after 12 and the server confirmed that breakfast was served 12 - 2 and full menu from 1.

Ordered a breakfast tostado and a Mexican omelette. Service was quick (it was very quiet at the time) and the food was very, very tasty. For me, my breakfast tostado was a perfect brunch portion and well cooked. Nice runny poached eggs and a tasty tomato sauce with black beans and avocado. Mrs Beer enjoyed her omelette too. Coffee was pretty good.

Service was friendly and good (we were almost finished our dishes when we were asked if everything was alright), if not spectacular.

From day one, I liked the look of that breakfast menu and it did not disappoint, despite it taking three weeks for me to manage to get there when they are serving it!;).

So, a good spot for breakfast, at least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭limnam

Another Update!!

I phoned them this morning to enquire about breakfast times . I was told, open at 12, breakfast menu until 2. (not sure if Sunday is still 3 as I was told last week) Anyway, headed in shortly after 12 and the server confirmed that breakfast was served 12 - 2 and full menu from 1.

Ordered a breakfast tostado and a Mexican omelette. Service was quick (it was very quiet at the time) and the food was very, very tasty. For me, my breakfast tostado was a perfect brunch portion and well cooked. Nice runny poached eggs and a tasty tomato sauce with black beans and avocado. Mrs Beer enjoyed her omelette too. Coffee was pretty good.

Service was friendly and good (we were almost finished our dishes when we were asked if everything was alright), if not spectacular.

From day one, I liked the look of that breakfast menu and it did not disappoint, despite it taking three weeks for me to manage to get there when they are serving it!;).

So, a good spot for breakfast, at least!

I was half expecting this today :pac:

Glad it was worth all the hassle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭theglobe

Went to Sakura last night. Very average in my opinion with very disinterested and distant staff. Food arrived out alarmingly fast.

theglobe wrote: »
    Went to Sakura last night. Very average in my opinion with very disinterested and distant staff. Food arrived out alarmingly fast.

Ate there not so long ago and thought that it just wasn't as good as when it first opened. I think I've only ever had the bento there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

Was supposed to go to South County on Sat evening....wife changed her mind, so went to the Woodford instead. She had their fish n ' chips and I had caeser salad with chips...have to say it was a great meal the salad was the best I have had in a long time, and I love salads, her F+'C's was great, best was they were real chips not that "fries" muck..two coffee's and one dessert total €35...great value ! nothing spectacular just nice pub food, few pints and a glass or two of wine i had change from a ton. Will definatly be heading back in there next time I'm in the city. Good staff as well, we bailed out before the music but there was a cracking atmosphere getting started with the Pride crowd out for a party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Not city, but Midleton,
    On a whim went out to ferrit and Lee, where Raymond's used to be...
    . . Impressed.. Not overly flouffy, but nicely presented... I had duck confit with a savoy cabbage/bacon/potatoe side.. Dish was cracking..
    Herself had slow cooked lamb shoulder, realy well done.. Tasty..
    Reasonable pricing too.. Mostly 15/18 a main (steaks a bit more),
    .. Will be going back..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Tried both Spitjack and La Dolce Vita for the first time in the past week.

Spitjack has great decor, the staff are very friendly but found the food a little bit lacking. It was probably my own fault for getting the steak, just found it relatively tasteless and so did my colleague. Probably would have been better to go for the chicken! Will give it another shot but not super impressed so far.

La Dolce Vita, well holy god! How I have never been there before is beyond me! Great vibe, lovely staff, amazing food. Had the ham and mushroom calzone and colleague has the spinach tortelloni and we were both very impressed. Will become a regular spot for sure!

Having lived in Japan the past 6 months, I was spoiled with restaurants so good to see we have some amazing places in our little city too! That said, Miyazaki is due a visit very soon :D

Dbu wrote: »
    We really like Cafe Velo in Georges Quay and now I believe they open at night on weekends as well.
    Only gripe we have is that your clothes stink when you leave there..dont know what it is, but food is terrific
    I've been there several times and never noticed this! Not during the evening though, so maybe something specific they were cooking. How off-putting.

You're right! Was in there over the weekend and it smelled of...kitchen. The smell you get when you open the oven while you're doing roast chicken and spuds! I think maybe it's the stuff they deep-fry? Obviously the extractor doesn't do that great a job.

Having said that, the food was actually lovely, and couldn't fault the service. We had the baked cooleeney, which was unusual and quite filling, but very delicious. Also had salmon fishcakes, which were tasty and served with a salad and sweet potato crisps. And fish and chips, with peas (which were served in a bizarrely large container for the size of the plate! A little on the steep side maybe, but they were giving out free glasses of prosecco. Quiet night though - only a handful of other tables occupied.

Pet peeve...seemed like several other dishes going out were served with greaseproof paper under the food on the plate. Made it seem rather canteen-like. I think it needs something else to transition to a restaurant by night. It still has that cafe feel to it. I would like to try it again, if only to sample the smoked fish sharing platter (which my dining companion did not fancy this time!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Markcheese wrote: »
    Not city, but Midleton,
    On a whim went out to ferrit and Lee, where Raymond's used to be...
    . . Impressed.. Not overly flouffy, but nicely presented... I had duck confit with a savoy cabbage/bacon/potatoe side.. Dish was cracking..
    Herself had slow cooked lamb shoulder, realy well done.. Tasty..
    Reasonable pricing too.. Mostly 15/18 a main (steaks a bit more),
    .. Will be going back..

Is Raymond's gone? That's disappointing. Was there a few months ago and thought it was lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭waxmelts2000

Raymond retired and it was taken over , I think the guys who took it over worked there in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Dbu

You're right! Was in there over the weekend and it smelled of...kitchen. The smell you get when you open the oven while you're doing roast chicken and spuds! I think maybe it's the stuff they deep-fry? Obviously the extractor doesn't do that great a job.

Having said that, the food was actually lovely, and couldn't fault the service. We had the baked cooleeney, which was unusual and quite filling, but very delicious. Also had salmon fishcakes, which were tasty and served with a salad and sweet potato crisps. And fish and chips, with peas (which were served in a bizarrely large container for the size of the plate! A little on the steep side maybe, but they were giving out free glasses of prosecco. Quiet night though - only a handful of other tables occupied.

Pet peeve...seemed like several other dishes going out were served with greaseproof paper under the food on the plate. Made it seem rather canteen-like. I think it needs something else to transition to a restaurant by night. It still has that cafe feel to it. I would like to try it again, if only to sample the smoked fish sharing platter (which my dining companion did not fancy this time!).

Thankfully it wasn't just us then. Yes that deep fried smell off the clothes afterwards would be very accurate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,311 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

I went to tequila jacks after work yesterday about 5ish.
    I had the roast chicken Taquitos(x3) to start and the steak tacos (x2) for main.
    For me...I think they could be amazing.. just needs bit more...oomph!
    Nothing was overly spicy..the black beans served with the tacos had a bit of smokeyness and tang to them
    I asked about spicing it up and bit for those who like spice and they said it could be accomodated.
    I over heard the table next to me say how spicy their wings were

I also got the added bonus of a free cocktail as they were taking professional photos of their cocktail and food menus which was nice of them :)

And on the service, the only thing i had a problem with was getting their attention when i wanted the bill.

I'll go back and try spicing it up or maybe for brekkie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Another tequila jack visitor here.

Had a couple of margueitas, nachos and chicken tacos. The drinks were excellent, well balanced, usually they either way too sweet or too acidic... and I think this is the first place in Ireland to give me a choice of how i wanted it (straight up, frozen or on the rocks).

Food was fresh (actual chopped tomatoes and fresh coriander in the salsa, not out of a bottle!), and very tasty. For us, there wasn't enough salsa on the nachos, but that could my own hangover from cafe mexicana. Their nachos have so much on top they get deliciously soggy, and almost turn into a nacho lasange, which I love... but i know isn't remotely authentic.

Tacos were yum, a big wedge of ripe avocado on top. They came with the tiniest bowl of blackbeans (more please), and a neat bowl-formed pile of rice on a wooden board. Rice promptly fell apart all over the table, because, you know... no rim on a board.

Service was very good. Plenty of staff, same guy seated us, took orders, brought food and bill. Competent, friendly and efficient. (Not like the confusion of rachels).

Seemed to be very busy, we were near the door, people being turned away.

Bill for that was 41 euro. Drinks are pricey enough, 9.50 each, with the option to add more expensive tequilas for another couple of euro. I think it's probably the norm around the city though.

WE WANT PLATES

Dbu wrote: »
    Thankfully it wasn't just us then. Yes that deep fried smell off the clothes afterwards would be very accurate

where is this?

Cafe Velo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Can you go to Tequila Jacks for just drinks? I have a hankering for a good marguerita lately! I think €9.50 pretty reasonable for a cocktail.

ncmc wrote: »
    Can you go to Tequila Jacks for just drinks? I have a hankering for a good marguerita lately! I think €9.50 pretty reasonable for a cocktail.

Yes. It's a bar and restaurant.