Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bloggers and #ad #spon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

The more I see the admin of that group argue against anyone who has an opinion negatively about grace the more I laugh at her what was the point of setting up the group to have an opinion when your going to argue with someone who disagrees with you.
    She's coming across very bad she's literally all over grace's sister who commented in the group..
    I'm embarrassed for the admin she's looking very desperate ,, and making a joke out of the group, it's a group about people who snap and it's very existence is for stating opinions,, the fact she's trying to be a blogger is making her look worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

Cria wrote: »
    The more I see the admin of that group argue against anyone who has an opinion negatively about grace the more I laugh at her what was the point of setting up the group to have an opinion when your going to argue with someone who disagrees with you.
    She's coming across very bad she's literally all over grace's sister who commented in the group..
    I'm embarrassed for the admin she's looking very desperate ,, and making a joke out of the group, it's a group about people who snap and it's very existence is for stating opinions,, the fact she's trying to be a blogger is making her look worse

Yeah I've just seen Graces sister write stuff up and the admin is fawning all over her. This is the very admin who would have approved the post and wrote up she was turning on and then off the comments. Seriously !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Ray37

That group is becoming a place where only praise is welcome. There was a post shared on it last week by a member, re the ASAI number of complaints. A blogger responded to this that 'nobody cared enough to comment'. The tone was incredibly bitchy, and said blogger tried to backtrack saying she meant that ASAI don't care, when in fact her comment was aimed at the poster. She has been on the tear all night, and decided to get nasty. Another small time blogger jumped in (dying for a row, and some new followers) and got very involved in something that was between the OP and the first blogger. If she's trying to get followers, she certainly isnt going about it the right way. 
    It's a shame because the group was quite interesting in the beginning, now it seems a to be a place for only glowing, ass licking comments, and self promotion. Admin turn comments off at the drop of a hat, and lots of the members are only dying for a row. Many people in there seem to think that because they are a fan of someone, they can do NO wrong. They will attack anyone who doesnt post an adoring, worshiping comment, and calling out of shady behavior is just a no no it seems. Another poster commented that it looks like the admins are trying to keep some big blogging names onside by giving out to anyone who dares question their motives/lack of disclosure, and I agree 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

What is Grace's sister saying? Cringe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Ray37

She's calling people 'haters'... You know the word that people use when they don't have enough cop to actually make a valid rebuttal? That word. Scarlet for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭RoisinClare6

Just home from work which is outside the realms of 3G! I had commented on the thread stating its her job and she should follow the rules but seeing so much crap from people I left. That was at lunch time. Came home and was checking Snapchat, I follow one of the admin, she screen shotted posts from this thread and posted it up an her Snapchat. Just letting you know that its on there. Its funny because someone who runs a group for conversations opinions like this, is making fun of a thread on boards.

Why are people being such drama llamas? Honestly.

Jaysus I could only imagine if I broke or was being shady about the guidelines or rules in my job? I just don't get it.

The ASAI have guidelines for a reason and I don't understand why people feel like its ok to ignore them like bloggers are superior beings that can ignore the rules.

It takes two fecking seconds to #ad #spon in a proper manner. Its not going to kill them.

I guess a majority of followers are just blind and don't mind being used for a quick buck but that's on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

Is this the same admin who goes mental when people screenshot from her private groups?

Oh the irony lol

People saying who cares if shes paid missed the point entirely. The post was about her making the sp tiny and trying to hide it. Grace has majory history for this kind of stuff (making out stuff isnt a freebie or a paid collab) so its not a once off. No one gives a stuff if she pays for nothing but just be open and honest about it

Lol well that was the quickest follow and unfollow on Snapchat I've ever done. The worst was when she said "come off boards and take in some of the world around you". I mean, does irony even exist for this woman?
    She seems to think she's famous too or something- "you only see a tiny portion of our lives"- sorry, what? Who even are you? She hashtagged it #boardsgate too! LOL
    She was so rude about some posters on here. What a dose. Good luck to her in the blogging industry, she said "who cares if they don't hashtag ad",with an attitude like that she'll fit right in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

anna080 wrote: »
    Lol well that was the quickest follow and unfollow on Snapchat I've ever done. The worst was when she said "come off boards and take in some of the world around you". I mean, does irony even exist for this woman?
    She seems to think she's famous too or something- "you only see a tiny portion of out lives"- sorry, what? Who even are you? She hashtagged it #boardsgate too! LOL
    She was so rude about some posters on here. What a dose. Good luck to her in the blogging industry, with an attitude like that she'll fit right in.

Dying to know who this is! Can we name here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Lead

She seems to think she's famous too or something- "you only see a tiny portion of out lives"- sorry, what? Who even are you? She hashtagged it #boardsgate too! LOL
    She was so rude about some posters on here. What a dose. Good luck to her in the blogging industry, with an attitude like that she'll fit right in.
    Is this the sister?

Toastytoes wrote: »
    Dying to know who this is! Can we name here?

The admin of that Facebook group. Her snapchat name is gossandgiggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Also dying to see, can someone post her snapchat username please? Or else PM me? Thank you!

Guys.. can i suggest we get back on topic of the whole #ad thing in general. If someone wants to come on here and screenshot whats said and post on their snapchat without taking part in the discussion then thats their right, its a public forum but we're going off topic and I'm including myself in that.

This place is a great place to chat respectfully like adults

She seems to think she's famous too or something- "you only see a tiny portion of our lives"- sorry, what? Who even are you? She hashtagged it #boardsgate too! LOL

Agreed. She's a dose!!

To bring it back on topic, she's says who cares if they use hashtags. Well the ASAI does. That's the whole point of this thread!

Its her job.. but she shouldnt have to adhere to regulations and policies like the rest of us do in our jobs. If you disagree youre a jealous begrudger.
    im gonna try that excuse in my job if i ever break company regulations.
    Im gonna cry in my bosses face, call her a bully, tell her I'm just a normal woman sharing my life with her and then just lie my ass off and blame everyone around me

Lindy97 wrote: »
    Its her job.. but she shouldnt have to adhere to regulations and policies like the rest of us do in our jobs. If you disagree youre a jealous begrudger.
    Im gonna cry in my bosses face, call her a bully, tell her I'm just a normal woman sharing my life with her and then just lie my ass off and blame everyone around me

And don't forget to tell her she's a hater :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

I just listened back on Sinead's segment with Pat Kenny this morning and Orla Twomey from the ASAI was on it too.

I didn't learn anything new from it so I'm curious as to what the point of it was, did anyone else hear it? Am I alone in what I think?

Orla basically confirmed (in my opinion) that the ASAI can't do a whole lot however what they do is send out info to media about those they bring adjudications against in the hope that responsible companies won't then want their name associated with bad press.

That's all well and good, but companies clearly don't care cos well.....they are still sending out the products and paying for reviews, social media coverage etc.

Until something actually comes into place that can take some action against those who break the rules, nothing will change, why would it?

Someone mentioned earlier that bloggers/influencers feel untouchable, well, they kinda are when it comes to taking action because unless their followers start unfollowing and it hits them in the pocket, they aren't going to change, why would they? Bad press doesn't seem to make any difference given its still continuing.

I had a look at Grace's snaps today (has she been quiet today? I thought so, maybe I'm wrong) and couldn't see the sp behind her name, is it still there? I can't find it in any of her snaps, if its there, she has it seriously well hidden.

I just listened back on Sinead's segment with Pat Kenny this morning and Orla Twomey from the ASAI was on it too.

I didn't learn anything new from it so I'm curious as to what the point of it was, did anyone else hear it? Am I alone in what I think?

Orla basically confirmed (in my opinion) that the ASAI can't do a whole lot however what they do is send out info to media about those they bring adjudications against in the hope that responsible companies won't then want their name associated with bad press.

That's all well and good, but companies clearly don't care cos well.....they are still sending out the products and paying for reviews, social media coverage etc.

Until something actually comes into place that can take some action against those who break the rules, nothing will change, why would it?

Someone mentioned earlier that bloggers/influencers feel untouchable, well, they kinda are when it comes to taking action because unless their followers start unfollowing and it hits them in the pocket, they aren't going to change, why would they? Bad press doesn't seem to make any difference given its still continuing.

I had a look at Grace's snaps today (has she been quiet today? I thought so, maybe I'm wrong) and couldn't see the sp behind her name, is it still there? I can't find it in any of her snaps, if its there, she has it seriously well hidden.

I took Orla's comment re. Grace to mean that they didn't make a judgement against her ( if that's the correct word, can't remember exactly) in this case as it was the first adjudication and they were letting this be a warning/learning exercise for other bloggers but in future there will be action taken. And that they are investigating a number of complaints and expecting further adjudications later in the year. So maybe we will see some action from them down the line. Hopefully.

She also said they were taking a name and shame approach, which seems pointless when a lot of these bloggers appear to have no shame.

I took Orla's comment re. Grace to mean that they didn't make a judgement against her ( if that's the correct word, can't remember exactly) in this case as it was the first adjudication and they were letting this be a warning/learning exercise for other bloggers but in future there will be action taken. And that they are investigating a number of complaints and expecting further adjudications later in the year. So maybe we will see some action from them down the line. Hopefully.

She also said they were taking a name and shame approach, which seems pointless when a lot of these bloggers appear to have no shame.

Yeah that is another angle too, but what action can they take though? AFAIK they have no legal powers, or am I wrong?

That's exactly what I mean, the name and shame is useless, what has it done so far? Grace has gotten worse, yet companies still work with her, so why would she change?
    Mekekka wrote: »
    Just saw an article on ASAI complaints and they say that adjudications on current cases will be done by August if anyone is interested.
    http://www.shemazing.net/a-number-of-complaints-filed-against-irish-social-media-influencencers/

According to that post there will be more in August, so not long to go. It will be interesting to see who they name and shame and what action, if any, will be taken.

Frankly I don't think any action will be taken, but I hope I am proven wrong on that and hopefully they can/will do something.

Yeah that is another angle too, but what action can they take though? AFAIK they have no legal powers, or am I wrong?

That's exactly what I mean, the name and shame is useless, what has it done so far? Grace has gotten worse, yet companies still work with her, so why would she change?

According to that post there will be more in August, so not long to go. It will be interesting to see who they name and shame and what action, if any, will be taken.

Frankly I don't think any action will be taken, but I hope I am proven wrong on that and hopefully they can/will do something.

Unless they're planning to go after the brands/companies who are paying these individuals as it's the company's responsibility to ensure proper disclosure, as I understand it.

They'd seriously want to go after Andrea Roache's agency who is representing the worst of them, how can she be allowing them to flout the rules while associated with business?!

Unless they're planning to go after the brands/companies who are paying these individuals as it's the company's responsibility to ensure proper disclosure, as I understand it.

They'd seriously want to go after Andrea Roache's agency who is representing the worst of them, how can she be allowing them to flout the rules while associated with business?!
    Maybe they are, but what action can they take though? I could be wrong on this, but what can the ASAI do to ensure companies are fully compliant with the rules? That's what I'm not understanding, would really appreciate if someone could point it out to me cos I am interested in knowing. :o

I really dislike the #iworkwithpenneys hashtag influencers are using on Instagram now instead of using #ad or #sp.
    Louise Cooney has a blog post up today and it's sponsored by Penneys (she states this at the end) but on her Instagram page she uses #iworkwithpenneys and on snapchat she used nothing.
    What is wrong with them? You literally have to hashtag two letters for a living, and most can't even manage that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Wellyd

Do they mention being part of this anymore? I remember when 'influencers' (I hate that word!) came on the scene first and they were all bragging non stop about it but I can't remember the last time it was mentioned by anyone I'm following.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

There's absolutely no shame in accepting paid sponsored work at all. If I trusted the bloggers recommendation it wouldn't bother me they're collaborating with a brand but when they're being sneaky it's another story

Lindy97 wrote: »

Don't forget to get your sister in to fight your battles for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

heyjude88 wrote: »
    Yeah I've just seen Graces sister write stuff up and the admin is fawning all over her. This is the very admin who would have approved the post and wrote up she was turning on and then off the comments. Seriously !

Graces sister is making her look foolish by calling people jealous haters while grace is acting like she hasn't a clue what's going on ,, the admin needs to read what she wrote and realise she should not get involved either way I've seen posts by her before she loves a bit of drama ..
    She's pure fawning over graces sister it's so embarrassing..

Is Grace on that group as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭RoisinClare6

This is the part that I can't get my head around. They all are their own 'brand' so basically a business right and they plug this quite a lot, yet the harsh reality is they come across as the most unprofessional business people! I get they are human yes, but at the end of the day you need to uphold some professionalism and business ethic.

If you receive critique of a bad review, feckin learn from it and take it on board? You don't see top business people crying on snap chat or have ranting boyfriends or sarcastic remarks to their customer base. I know I wouldn't want to work with that sort of mess, I wouldn't want my name anywhere near it quite frankly.

Its simple three taps on your phone and you get #ad or #sp its not difficult or hard. Its like they are avoiding it so that their followers can not see the fact that basically everything they show has been paid for etc. They would lose their following. I find it unethical, lying to people for your own monetary gain. I hope the ASAI figure out some way to stop it.

I follow a lady YouTube , she had haul week and there was a certain brand that she was going to do a sponsored post with, she said they were going to pay peanuts and give her a coupon code so she basically said **** it, spent nearly 300 dollars of her own money so she could say whatever she wanted. As far as I know she does very little sponsored posts which I really like, Irish bloggers/vloggers could learn from her. Plus she's very honest about her affiliates etc.

I hope someone sees this for what it is , genuine feedback and not some nasty/negative/ cheeto fingered post.

As their followers we are basically the band that feeds them, and to be treated like we're air headed lemmings is rotten. Listen to your listener's, without them your brand is nothing.

Wellyd wrote: »
    Do they mention being part of this anymore? I remember when 'influencers' (I hate that word!) came on the scene first and they were all bragging non stop about it but I can't remember the last time it was mentioned by anyone I'm following.

The main offender is still listed on the website anyway
    http://armodelagency.com/influencers/

Dying at "cheeto fingered post" haha!