Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

km79 wrote: »
    One less thing for people to complain about so

Fk sake, why isn't it on RTE 1 :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Is the upper tier likely to be opened? I'm debating whether to get poorish lower tier seats on tickets.ie or to wait and see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

Is the upper tier likely to be opened? I'm debating whether to get poorish lower tier seats on tickets.ie or to wait and see...

Would very much doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

buck65 wrote: »
    He was Mayo's best midfielder, forward and didn't do bad in defence either. Jaysus Mayo were brutal. Those O Shea lads are really over the hill.

O'Shea puts in one average performance after 3 colossal displays including two extra times in the space of a month, and we have moronic posts saying he's over the hill. Christ I don't know what to say here sometimes.

buck65 wrote: »
    Kerry would play with them for 50 minutes , Mayo huffing and puffing to stay within touching distance and then they would ease away much like they did against Galway.

They eased away against Galway largely due to the fact that this is one of the mentally weakest Galway teams of the last 2 decades.

3 times in two years Galway have fallen 5-6 behind in championship games, and on each occasion clearly gave up after 55-60 mins, they do not have the mental capacity to fight back, and die at the first sign of distress. I have never seen this Mayo team do the same and they won't. Kerry would most likely beat Mayo but they won't be pulling away at a canter as they did against Galway. Mayo might not be a fantastic team but they have character and will run any team close, something Galway lack in abundance. They have no passion and actually playing for Galway appears to not mean too much to a lot of them. You'd feel sorry for proper men like Michael Meehan having to watch Galway throw in the towel twice in 3 games.

Actually is Buck65 casscass in disguise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

O'Shea puts in one average performance after 3 colossal displays including two extra times in the space of a month, and we have moronic posts saying he's over the hill. Christ I don't know what to say here sometimes.

Aidan is a colossus against minnows alright. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

I will be waiting, I had a great seat yesterday but just picked it up about 3 days beforehand, the first few days they try and pawn off all the crap seats.

Bambi wrote: »
    Aidan is a colossus against minnows alright. :D

Cork 2011, Dublin 2012, Donegal 2013, Tyrone 2013, Cork 2014, Kerry 2014, Donegal 2015, Tyrone 2016. All colossal displays against top teams by Aidan. And actually Aidan had quite a good final replay last year but won't get credit for it because Mayo lost. The unfair criticism he gets is insane. I suppose when your that good you have to take the sh*t talk from the arm chair pundits who obviously don't really follow the team that closely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Blud

Replay will be a funny one - shouldn't be in Croker with this late notice ahead of a bank holiday weekend, even having it on a bank holiday weekend when people already have plans is a bit mad. Add in the pricing structure, could be a low enough attendance on Monday.

Would be surprised if it had any more than 20k, 25k at a push?

Should be in the Hyde really, give Roscommon home advantage as provincial winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

After seeing Mayo yesterday I am convinced that there is not much left in the tank.

Right now it looks like a stay of execution more than anything else.

Whether it's Roscommon that knock them out next week or Kerry in a few weeks time.

I don't think they will win the All Ireland, it they do I'll be the first to say I was wrong and I'll be delighted.

Is that ok with you now ?

Are you happy now ?.

Doesn't matter a jot if i'm happy or not. I don't believe its ok to give little or no credit to improving Roscommon side. The key feature of this Mayo group of players since they "arrived" in 2011 is they are extremely hard to beat in championship football and they have the ability to hold even the best of forwards to low scores as the September AI final proved.

Winning any game narrowly can be worth its weight in gold, it can bring a team on more than hammering the opposition where little is learnt. If Mayo win this replay by a one or two points some pundits will write them off some already have and the last time Mayo were written off they beat Tyrone and went on to reach the AI final.

Kerry didn't overly impress me yesterday against a wasteful Galway though i did say the best time to play them was yesterday, who knows one of the Ulster sides might catch Dublin on hop?

Blud wrote: »
    Replay will be a funny one - shouldn't be in Croker with this late notice ahead of a bank holiday weekend, even having it on a bank holiday weekend when people already have plans is a bit mad. Add in the pricing structure, could be a low enough attendance on Monday.

Would be surprised if it had any more than 20k, 25k at a push?

Should be in the Hyde really, give Roscommon home advantage as provincial winners.

You can't host anything in the Hyde of that nature tbf it's a dump. But bringing the game to Dublin on a bank holiday Monday makes no logical sense to me either.

Yeah the Hyde is a dump alright, but still preferable to Croker again, especially at those prices.

Galway have to be kicking themselves that they didn't put a decent stadium in Tuam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

In fairness Sean Mullooly was AOS marker yesterday a big physical player that didn't hold back. McStay tried to shake Keegan off Enda Smith well i think Rochford have have to try to get Mullooly off AOS for the replay.

Yesterday was a very enjoyable and highly competitive contest and yes it had plenty of errors and the overall quality of play in difficult conditions wasn't the best but don't think either side deserve to lose but whats up with no extra time? the quarter final in 2011 Kildare v Donegal went to extra time when did this change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

keane2097 wrote: »
    I think it was the bit about there being some bad blood because he had criticised a few of the players that I had heard before.

Ah I know that thanks but I do not believe there is any good reason why such a great servant of the green and red should have such hostility aimed his way.Lots of ex players offer opinions on current players,no problem with same as long as it does not cross the line and get personal.

Fantastic player,by all accounts a very nice lad who has never lacked in confidence.Always a tad laid back.

Irrespective of his merits as a coach old school or otherwise and the financial costs I believe both himself and Kevin McStay were treated very poorly when they applied for the Mayo managerial team.They deserved far better.There was absolutely no transparency in the process,it was shambolic and because of the lack of proper procedures and transparency may have unfairly indicated that the county chairman's brother and co manager had the job in the bag.

Am I the only person here that thinks 2pm in Croke Park on Monday was a decision made with total disregard for fans? That replay does not need to be early on a Monday in Dublin, fans travelling from Connacht like.

TBH I'm of the opposite opinion,delighted it's at 2,I could have done without another unexpected day on the road.Much like the players!But I'd prefer to get home earlier on the Bank Holiday Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

The Hyde can host 25k if thats the expected crowd for the replay then it would have made more sense to play the game in Connacht. Hyde park in fairness doesn't look like a dump in its recent pictures

DFw7GehXoAACij8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

seligehgit wrote: »
    TBH I'm of the opposite opinion,delighted it's at 2,I could have done without another unexpected day on the road.Much like the players!But I'd prefer to get home earlier on the Bank Holiday Monday.

I don't know what the big issue with the bank holiday is
    Won't traffic etc be lighter on a bank holiday Monday !
    And it HAD to be in Croker for lots of reasons
    That's also where both mangers and teams wanted it without a doubt

I don't know what the big issue with the bank holiday is
    Won't traffic etc be lighter on a bank holiday Monday !
    And it HAD to be in Croker for lots of reasons
    That's also where both mangers and teams wanted it without a doubt

It's great for folks who don't already have plans on a bank holiday weekend, but in the real word a lot of us do.

I'm hoping to be in the car to hear it on the radio, no hope of getting to it.

It's great for folks who don't already have plans on a bank holiday weekend, but in the real word a lot of us do.

But sure that's life ! If it was on the Saturday or the Sunday it would effect the same amount or probably more
    Unless you are suggesting it be put on the following week one week before the semi ?

I just don't know what the issue is but I am cranky today :D

But sure that's life ! If it was on the Saturday or the Sunday it would effect the same amount or probably more
    Unless you are suggesting it be put on the following week one week before the semi ?

I just don't know what the issue is but I am cranky today :D

Should have been extra time.

And you're not cranky, I'm being cranky.

Should have been extra time.

And you're not cranky, I'm being cranky.

We are all cranky today !
    I hope Rochford and a few of the players are too
    And use it Monday

It's very unfortunate that you have plans for the bank holiday weekend,enjoy.I am sure none of us planned for this extra fixture in the calendar,it just happens I am free like some others to travel.

I imagine the attendance will be well down on yesterdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

The Hyde can host 25k if thats the expected crowd for the replay then it would have made more sense to play the game in Connacht. Hyde park in fairness doesn't look like a dump in its recent pictures

DFw7GehXoAACij8.jpg

I don't think it should be held there though. It wouldn't be fair on Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Im sure if both counties wanted it in the west it would have been, and there could have been a toss for venue, but bth obviously wanted it in Croker

I don't think it should be held there though. It wouldn't be fair on Mayo

There will be more than 25k at it anyway
    Imagine the MOANING if it was in the Hyde and the ticket scramble

100% correct to have it Croker
    It's not even a debate for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

Where to from here the players must be fuc1ked at this stage with two extra time games and now a replay.
    The reason boyler is being taking off in the 50 55 minute is that he's getting pain killing injections before the game into his hip is what iam being told.

How bad is parsons injury he was badly missed yesterday sos was shocking I'd
    but Vaughan in there with parsons if he's fit.
    Will Andy start the replay I'd have him come in with 20/25 mins to go but that wouldn't happen

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Taken from Rossie thread. Great idea;

The Roscommon Football Legends Facebook page have come up with a good idea for next Monday:

***JUST AN IDEA WE COULD ALL RUN WITH NEXT MONDAY IN CROKE PARK...IT JUST TAKES A MINUTE TO READ...LIKE AND SHARE IF YOU AGREE...

In the 7th minute of next Monday's game, we're asking Roscommon and Mayo supporters to give our players a round of applause - a gesture which will also serve to condemn the booing and the verbal abuse of all players.

In this photo, Mayo players Willie Joe Padden and Gabriel Irwin lift Dermot Earley shoulder high after the final whistle in the 1985 Connacht SFC final. Mayo won with a bit to spare but that moment of mutual respect and appreciation doesn't get much better. We want to send out this same message to all supporters when it comes to watching games involving their team and opposing teams.

The legendary Dermot Earley passed away in 2010, seven years ago, and we're suggesting that the collective round of applause for Mayo and Roscommon players should take place in the 7th minute of next Monday's game in Croke Park.

What better way to send out the message far and wide that we all condemn the booing and verbal abuse of our amateur players who fill us with such pride and provide so much excitement for all of us.

Like and share if you are with us.

yop wrote: »
    Taken from Rossie thread. Great idea;

The Roscommon Football Legends Facebook page have come up with a good idea for next Monday:

***JUST AN IDEA WE COULD ALL RUN WITH NEXT MONDAY IN CROKE PARK...IT JUST TAKES A MINUTE TO READ...LIKE AND SHARE IF YOU AGREE...

In the 7th minute of next Monday's game, we're asking Roscommon and Mayo supporters to give our players a round of applause - a gesture which will also serve to condemn the booing and the verbal abuse of all players.

In this photo, Mayo players Willie Joe Padden and Gabriel Irwin lift Dermot Earley shoulder high after the final whistle in the 1985 Connacht SFC final. Mayo won with a bit to spare but that moment of mutual respect and appreciation doesn't get much better. We want to send out this same message to all supporters when it comes to watching games involving their team and opposing teams.

The legendary Dermot Earley passed away in 2010, seven years ago, and we're suggesting that the collective round of applause for Mayo and Roscommon players should take place in the 7th minute of next Monday's game in Croke Park.

What better way to send out the message far and wide that we all condemn the booing and verbal abuse of our amateur players who fill us with such pride and provide so much excitement for all of us.

Like and share if you are with us.
    Normally I would not be on board with something unofficial Like this as not enough people will be aware of it so it will be sporadic
    However if it was publicized enough I would

Aside from the andy Moran thing I'm sick of our own supporters constantly booing the ref after one bad decision . It stems from that awful evening in limerick which was outrageuous but now it's every game and starts early in the game . It does us no favors imo
    Same thing with booing free takers .

It's something that has crept in a small more supporters have coke on board and deem it the norm i guess but I hate it

Of course I let off the odd roar at the ref but the booing is just stupid and childish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

No offense yop but there's enough of this type of sh1te done over the yrs.
    Let's just get on with the game and win it