Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Am I the only person here that thinks 2pm in Croke Park on Monday was a decision made with total disregard for fans? That replay does not need to be early on a Monday in Dublin, fans travelling from Connacht like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Come on, by beating New York, Sligo and Leitrim, any half decent manager would have done that. Im not slagging off Mc Stay but i hardly think the above is worthy of any particular praise

He won an AI with St. Brigids, a Connacht title with Roscommon beating a much fancied Galway team who everyone including on here said would beat them, brought Mayo u21s to an AI final, brought Roscommon to a Division 1 League semi final, their first in I don't know how long, almost beat the "great" Mayo team everyone lauds and should have beaten them. This with a squad that's lost key players in recent years, a very young side, and against a backdrop of significant criticism within Roscommon.

He's shown how to integrate and build a young team and that will be crucial in Mayo over the next few years. We are still relying on forwards who are either past it or can't kick a point to save their lives. We could also do with a few new defenders in the full back line.

I would rate McStay above any previous mayo manager we've had in recent years including Horan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,306 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

keane2097 wrote: »
    I think it was the bit about there being some bad blood because he had criticised a few of the players that I had heard before.

I recall way back in 2006 he was on Off The Ball the week after the All Ireland being very critical of players and management.

Which is all good and well except for he was part of the management team in 2004 which fared just as poorly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

i would prefer it early to be honest. Tickets on sale now. Should have reduced them to 20 euro, a 5 euro reduction isn't great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

I'm not going through the thread to try and filter out what you have said.

He has been a coach on a team that has won a club All Ireland that's about all I can think of of any significance.

That is not worth much when the current Mayo manager was the manager of a team that won an club All Ireland.

We can give out all we want about Rochford, Horan, McStay and every possible Mayo manager. But the honest truth is there are no good candidates within the county to manage Mayo so we should just get on with it. I've yet to see anyone on this thread offer a reasonable alternative to Rochford? (McStay isn't one btw that won't happen after how he was shafted). Not one name has been mentioned.

I'm not going through the thread to try and filter out what you have said.

He has been a coach on a team that has won a club All Ireland that's about all I can think of of any significance.

That is not worth much when the current Mayo manager was the manager of a team that won an club All Ireland.

So you think Rochford is a better manager than McStay? On paper, Mayo should have a far better team than Roscommon. We've been told all week that Mayo should have enough for Roscommon with all their experience of Croke Park. And yet Mayo were lucky to come away with a draw against a team of youngsters. I think that answers the question. Your posts are becoming a bit farcical especially the one about McStay holding Roscommon back. Pure nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

He won an AI with St. Brigids, a Connacht title with Roscommon beating a much fancied Galway team who everyone including on here said would beat them, brought Mayo u21s to an AI final, brought Roscommon to a Division 1 League semi final, their first in I don't know how long, almost beat the "great" Mayo team everyone lauds and should have beaten them. This with a squad that's lost key players in recent years, a very young side, and against a backdrop of significant criticism within Roscommon.

He's shown how to integrate and build a young team and that will be crucial in Mayo over the next few years. We are still relying on forwards who are either past it or can't kick a point to save their lives. We could also do with a few new defenders in the full back line.

I would rate McStay above any previous mayo manager we've had in recent years including Horan.

Im not slagging McStayoff at all, just pointing out that highlighting 'getting to 2 connacht finals isnt exactly a great achievement, thats all. Anyway we all know why he didnt get the Mayo job, nothing to do with his managerial ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ethical wrote: »
    That comment on that Irwin lad is very unfair.He is an accomplished soccer player as well as a very skilfull gaelic player and would do a very good job for Mayo if he was treated fairly.He is a quiet lad that does what he is told and perhaps if he was a loud mouth he would be more thought of.He is still of the right age and should be encouraged to come back into the fold again.He has terrific natural talent,something you cannot coach into a player.

I'm sure you'll get over the comment if you can dish things out like insinuating that you need to be a loud mouth to make the panel. It must be something if the mafia can't get him on the panel, let alone the team.

Extremely nice lad and a real talent.

Mayo have had other managers and coaches that have won All Ireland u21 titles.

Roscommon got 8 points in the 2016 league, the exact same as Mayo this year.

As for winning Connacht this year, just look at Galway yesterday, then win one game and then cannot follow it up.

You are grasping at straws.

I recall way back in 2006 he was on Off The Ball the week after the All Ireland being very critical of players and management.

Which is all good and well except for he was part of the management team in 2004 which fared just as poorly.

So what McHale said in 2006 should prevent him from being the coach in 2017?

Would seriously have to question some of your opinions on the game.

So you think Rochford is a better manager than McStay? On paper, Mayo should have a far better team than Roscommon. We've been told all week that Mayo should have enough for Roscommon with all their experience of Croke Park. And yet Mayo were lucky to come away with a draw against a team of youngsters. I think that answers the question. Your posts are becoming a bit farcical especially the one about McStay holding Roscommon back. Pure nonsense.

Ya most pundits were predicting a Mayo win but all called it very close, no one that knows anything was underestimating Roscommon. And im not sure we were actually 'lucky' we missed a number of chances late one, draw was probably a fair result imo

Come back to me when McStay gets within a point of winning an All Ireland final.

As I have said for weeks now I think this Mayo team may be at the end of the line, I'm not sure Rochford can do all that much more about it.

Mayo have had other managers and coaches that have won All Ireland u21 titles.

Roscommon got 8 points in the 2016 league, the exact same as Mayo this year.

As for winning Connacht this year, just look at Galway yesterday, then win one game and then cannot follow it up.

You are grasping at straws.

Right, I have zero respect for your opinion on gaelic football as its been clear from the last number of posts you haven't a clue what you are talking about.
    I'm just going to stick you on ignore and save me from reading any more of it.
    All I will say in parting is McStay has proved himself an outstanding manager, and with limited resources in Roscommon has produced a team of youngsters capable of beating the likes of Galway and Mayo who can call on vastly more resources.
    Imagine what he could do if given one of the powerhouses of gaelic football.
    So long my friend.

So what McHale said in 2006 should prevent him from being the coach in 2017?

Would seriously have to question some of your opinions on the game.

The guy is a spoofer and a fraud and has been since at least 2006.

Sure just listen to the "best coach in the country" statement from last week.

Right, I have zero respect for your opinion on gaelic football as its been clear from the last number of posts you haven't a clue what you are talking about.
    I'm just going to stick you on ignore and save me from reading any more of it.
    All I will say in parting is McStay has proved himself an outstanding manager, and with limited resources in Roscommon has produced a team of youngsters capable of beating the likes of Galway and Mayo who can call on vastly more resources.
    Imagine what he could do if given one of the powerhouses of gaelic football.
    So long my friend.

I'm talking about McHale not McStay.

You said he has been a pretty good coach, I asked you to prove it.

As I said hours ago, I don't mind McStay, but his sidekick is the problem.

Ya most pundits were predicting a Mayo win but all called it very close, no one that knows anything was underestimating Roscommon. And im not sure we were actually 'lucky' we missed a number of chances late one, draw was probably a fair result imo

I said in my posts we'd be lucky to get past Roscommon and there was a good chance they would beat us based on several factors including our dodgy full back line. Most of what I said turned out to be true.

Rochford hasn't brought the team on. Before he took over we won Connacht with ease, but the last two years we can't get past a semi final. We were lucky through the back door last year and this year its been an absolute shambles. But for great players like Lee Keegan we'd be out. I give little credit to the management.

His shocking decisions mount up. Leaving Loftus on the bench until Derry had almost beaten us, taking off the centre of our defence against Cork, dropping Clarke last year, leaving our full back line untouched and on and on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

The Sundays Games graphic last night was pretty revealing Imo. 4 games in July & 2 periods of extra-time have taken its toll. We were completely legless for the whole of the second half yesterday. When Roscommon were one point up for an eternity we were on the ropes & hanging on, really hanging on. But they didn't have the experience (which was discussed in depth here last week) to go for the kill & close the game out.

We are still alive. I think it is pretty revealing that near the death Higgins was talking to the ref telling him time was up & Keegan's comments afterwards about feeling relieved to get away with a draw. We were really poor & flat but should still have won.

Vaughan Coen Regan/Loftus & possibly Boland have to start the replay. It needs freshening up & along with Parsons hopefully being back in fit. Thought Doherty had another great game, working himself to a standstill & a great mark and ball for Keegan's goal. Another poor outing form DOC which has to be a worry. Clarke-s kick-out remain a major disaster for us in Croker, be interesting to see the stats on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

I said in my posts we'd be lucky to get past Roscommon and there was a good chance they would beat us based on several factors including our dodgy full back line. Most of what I said turned out to be true.

Rochford hasn't brought the team on. Before he took over we won Connacht with ease, but the last two years we can't get past a semi final. We were lucky through the back door last year and this year its been an absolute shambles. But for great players like Lee Keegan we'd be out. I give little credit to the management.

His shocking decisions mount up. Leaving Loftus on the bench until Derry had almost beaten us, taking off the centre of our defence against Cork, dropping Clarke last year, leaving our full back line untouched and on and on.

Can ye take it to PMs now lads. really taking away from the thread! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭squiredanaher

In fairness he was a great player and has been a pretty good coach too, so he's probably entitled to like himself. Not hiring a guy because he loves himself seems a bit bizarre and probably would only happen with Mayo.

Haha, just saw your username.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    2pm throw in for the replay.

Has it been confirmed if it will be on TV yet ?

Why wouldnt it? :confused:

Well I'd expect it to be but I have not read anything definite.

TV companies usually shout these things from the roof tops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Well I'd expect it to be but I have not read anything definite.

You know nothing Tod Snow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Let me get this right, according to Fr Tod on Friday Mayo were labeled as one of the best conditioned teams in the land and right now they are frigged, out of gas... and all because after drawing a match with Roscommon which he clearly thought they would win comfortably.

Talk of that Croke Park experience didn't seem to hold up much yesterday either but at the end of the day its just another pitch and the same objective which is to kick points or goals. The "stronger and more experienced" Mayo bench didn't overly deliver yesterday either the sub that made the most impact IMO was Donie Smith a Roscommon man.

On McHale his recent "i'm the best coach" comment was to rise up any highly strung supporter i feel however i think everything McStay has won in his career as manager he had McHale as his right hand man beside him. John Evans led his team from div 3 to Div 1 promotion but never got opportunity to manage Roscommon in Division one his championship results after 3 seasons put an end to that and i believe the two years of experience in Div one for Roscommon under its current management is reaping its benefits now.

As for the rematch its been said the underdog never win a replay not sure how true that is but if the Roscommon are as well prepared and get their tactics spot on again that game will go down to the wire once again.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 144 ✭✭blazermel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I see keegan made the team of the week.
    At midfield

http://www.gaa.ie/football/news/gaa-football-team-the-week-143205/

Let me get this right, according to Fr Tod on Friday Mayo were labeled as one of the best conditioned teams in the land and right now they are frigged, out of gas... and all because after drawing a match with Roscommon which he clearly thought they would win comfortably.

Talk of that Croke Park experience didn't seem to hold up much yesterday either but at the end of the day its just another pitch and the same objective which is to kick points or goals. The "stronger and more experienced" Mayo bench didn't overly deliver yesterday either the sub that made the most impact IMO was Donie Smith a Roscommon man.

On McHale his recent "i'm the best coach" comment was to rise up any highly strung supporter i feel however i think everything McStay has won in his career as manager he had McHale as his right hand man beside him. John Evans led his team from div 3 to Div 1 promotion but never got opportunity to manage Roscommon in Division one his championship results after 3 seasons put an end to that and i believe the two years of experience in Div one for Roscommon under its current management is reaping its benefits now.

As for the rematch its been said the underdog never win a replay not sure how true that is but if the Roscommon are as well prepared and get their tactics spot on again that game will go down to the wire once again.

After seeing Mayo yesterday I am convinced that there is not much left in the tank.

Right now it looks like a stay of execution more than anything else.

Whether it's Roscommon that knock them out next week or Kerry in a few weeks time.

I don't think they will win the All Ireland, it they do I'll be the first to say I was wrong and I'll be delighted.

Is that ok with you now ?

Are you happy now ?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

He was Mayo's best midfielder, forward and didn't do bad in defence either. Jaysus Mayo were brutal. Those O Shea lads are really over the hill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

After seeing Mayo yesterday I am convinced that there is not much left in the tank.

Right now it looks like a stay of execution more than anything else.

Whether it's Roscommon that knock them out next week or Kerry in a few weeks time.

I don't think they will win the All Ireland, it they do I'll be the first to say I was wrong and I'll be delighted.

Is that ok with you now ?

Are you happy now ?.

Kerry would play with them for 50 minutes , Mayo huffing and puffing to stay within touching distance and then they would ease away much like they did against Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

blazermel wrote: »

One less thing for people to complain about so