Do relationships with big age gaps last?

....... wrote: »

Me too. TIL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

It illustrates no such thing.

It is certainly not just women of certain age who have criticised big age gaps, but you have chosen to only call out those women and in doing so have done the very thing you are accusing them of.

However you dress it up, your posts are very much pushing the line which you are asking others not to cross.

Candie wrote: »
    This is one of those glorious threads that didn't go the way it was expected to!

Once you get past the suspension of disbelief on this thread, you're left cringing, laughing, and full of pity all at the same time.

If you don't want people offering opinions on your relationship, then for Gods sake stop talking about it in exquisite detail if you don't expect it to be treated like a poorly written soap opera. The transparently pettifogging accusation that women are jealous over this creepy situation isn't resulting in any more respect for it.

I'm just off to swim in the sea, moderately happily.

End scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

he's not in Utah. He's from North Carolina.

Oh so she is from utah and.they live in North carolina. I cant keep up.
    Ok. 4am his time. Its 10 there now.

Just for the record. Im a bitter mid twenties male who is bitter because no one brings me swimming and i dont have daddys lil gloopbucket to talk about for days on the internet.

Indeed, agree 100%
    B0jangles wrote: »
    Why the repeated need to bring up the age and gender of people - specifically and only women in their '30s, who comment less than positively on what you've told the thread about your relationship? ..............

Agree with this too.

I'm 36 and not too old but even on POF/Tinder etc I'd have the minimum age setting to like 28/30.

Suggesting it's 30 odd year old spinsters who reckon a 40 year old falling for an 18 year old is weird is LOL material tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,066 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

I need more popcorn ........ :)
    Badly written soap opera , in my opinion.

And back to the O.P - sometimes they do, sometimes they dont.
    depends on the people involved, and it shouldnt be anyone elses business (unless either one is below age of consent)
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

Delusion is a universal component in every relationship. Everyone has it, in some shape or form, and it allows for successful relationships. Some, however, are more deluded than others.

That's just my experience.

So let me get this straight. You and your ex used to mind a 17year old's baby together as a couple but now that same baby is pretty much your baby cos you got with the aforementioned teenager? That's not weird at all.

Don't mistake this for bitterness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,924 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well.... yeah there is more than the sniff of the old "trophy wife" going on alright. Though this kinda thing can be an American "look how well we're living the American dream" vibe. I've noted it before with Americans and emigres to there, particularly with the ambitious.

There's an eye-wateringly paternalistic "I'm in America and America knows best" tone off pretty much all of that poster's threads. It's incredibly tiresome and utterly tone-deaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

Just for the record. Im a bitter mid twenties male who is bitter because no one brings me swimming and i dont have daddys lil gloopbucket to talk about for days on the internet.

I would take you swimming, but you aren't young enough. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Permabear do you ever worry you've become a de facto father to her given the issues with her parents?

Dial Hard wrote: »
    There's an eye-wateringly paternalistic "I'm in America and America knows best" tone off pretty much all of that poster's threads. It's incredibly tiresome and utterly tone-deaf.

You need to have a particularly narrow kind of tunnel vision to overlook all that's wrong in the USA today. Much as I love Americans, it's becoming an even more repugnantly divided society at breakneck speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Augeo wrote: »
    Lots of Irish men dress terribly too, there's lots of lads wearing bootcut jeans with cheap plastic leathery pointy shoes or AV8 types yokes about ........ popped collars..........Jaysus :pac:

What's wrong with boot cut jeans m8?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Huh...Wibbs is saying pretty much exactly the same as myself and others. I guess that's ok though since he's not a "30-something year old woman"

So if she isnt even hot enough to be a trophy wife?
    This is a let down.

Rewrite that part of the novel and make her hot at least.

Huh...Wibbs is saying pretty much exactly the same as myself and others. I guess that's ok though since he's not a "30-something year old woman"

Probably because no one reads that much text?
    I dont anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,962 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I just can't see this thread ending well. At all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,924 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

JupiterKid wrote: »

Some people are the architects of their own downfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

the start and middle weren't so great either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Omackeral wrote: »
    Can't get over how cool Pbears OH is. Swims in the ocean, goes to hackathons cos she's a nerdy gamergirl and plays live music at the coffee shop. So cool!

What's this about?
    The guy likes and talks positively of his partner and mother of his kids. It's a good thing. The cynicism is mad ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭seenitall

I think this thread gets more hilarious every time I click into it :D even your comment is making me lol for some reason!! Good stuff.

Jesus Wept wrote: »
    What's this about?
    The guy likes and talks positively of his partner and mother of his kids. It's a good thing. The cynicism is mad ted.

Because its not real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

It is a lot more entertaining than it seemed a couple of days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,066 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Because its not real.

I would agree .
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

I actually do want to go for a swim (with my old dad, not splashing happily in the waves like a carefree siren while my Mr Darcy waves from the porch), but I just can't tear myself away.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Because its not real.

Can you dial it back a bit, stop attacking fellow posters please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

At this stage I'm sensing an element of narcissism.