The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,914 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

No output and low resistance from stator wires to ground means there's a short in the stator - bit odd if all 3 are like that because usually one winding will go first.

This is a pretty good fault finding guide which was useful for me when my r/r went a while back. http://www.electrosport.com/media/pdf/fault-finding-diagram.pdf

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

No output and low resistance from stator wires to ground means there's a short in the stator - bit odd if all 3 are like that because usually one winding will go first.

This is a pretty good fault finding guide which was useful for me when my r/r went a while back. http://www.electrosport.com/media/pdf/fault-finding-diagram.pdf
    Looks like I found the problem.
    I F*cked up putting the cover back.
    I nipped the wires and I didn't spot it.
    IMG_20170716_103626.jpg

And all sorted
    Take no notice of the rev counter, it's a bit wonky!!

Oil cool mod for Tuono arrived this morning.
    These Tuono's are fitted with a 500w flywheel which apparently fries the stator (which I already have witnessed).
    From 2009 on they fitted a 370w flywheel to sort the issue.
    So instead of buying a new 370w flywheel (€1200ish) this mod along with a Suzuki mosfet regulator,is supposed to sort it.
    IMG_20170721_095234.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,914 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

From what I could see when looking for a replacement r/r, all the "Shindengen" MOSFET r/rs on ebay are Chinese fakes. I ended up buying from electrexworld.co.uk, no problems so far.

Yeah,I'll play it safe.
    I'll be getting one from the U.S. from someone recommended on the Aprilia forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

brakes spongey again and fluids gone a shade darker front and rear

have I bought ****e fluid or are my reservoirs not air tight or something?

by spongey I mean still really good pressure but just not as firm as before

brakes spongey again and fluids gone a shade darker front and rear

have I bought ****e fluid or are my reservoirs not air tight or something?

by spongey I mean still really good pressure but just not as firm as before

Re bleed them, the fluid will always get darker because of exposure to air and sunlight . It sounds like the brake lines are full of crud tbh, how long since the calipers were last rebuilt?

brand new lines & calipers rebuilt fully only a few weeks ago and I did a proper job of it I'll just re bleed them today and see if they go dark again soon, if they don't then it could have been crud in the master cylinders which I didn't rebuilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

brand new lines & calipers rebuilt fully only a few weeks ago and I did a proper job of it I'll just re bleed them today and see if they go dark again soon, if they don't then it could have been crud in the master cylinders which I didn't rebuilt

Frozen, if I was you I would reverse bleed them, get a horse syringe out of a petshop and some tubing and bleed from the nipple backwards. Its works a treat....

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Frozen, if I was you I would reverse bleed them, get a horse syringe out of a petshop and some tubing and bleed from the nipple backwards. Its works a treat....

will get some horse tranquillisers while I'm at it
    would I still be able to reverse bleed like that on my own? I have tubes and a valve that can be closed which makes it grand to do with one set of hands the normal way. ill look it up on youtube now anyway reverse bleeding

would be nice to have a master cylinder which has a bleed nipple on it, hate cracking the bolt up there and just having paper towels catching the fluid that comes out

Got a chance to fit my oil cool mod today.
    The idea of this is to tap into the oil return hose and run a line into the stator cover so you get oil sprayed directly onto the stator to cool it down a bit.

Apparently the temperature of the stator before modding it gets to 170°.
    After mod it's 140°.
    And when I get my upgraded regulator it should be 115°.
    So big difference there.

Before
    IMG_20170726_125014.jpg

After
    IMG_20170726_142554_01.jpg

no pics but bled the brakes there

took about 5 minutes, then the tube popped off so I spent another 20 mins making sure no air had got in, it hadnt

kept bleeding and bleeding till the fluid was clear coming out of both calipers, pressure was good but not rock hard, went to bleeding the master cylinder and got probably some air out, pressure is back to exactly as it was this morning, but I suppose it could be back to nice and firm after the night with zip ties...

got a splash of fluid on one of my discs so now there's a nice squeaking noise, which a blast of brake cleaner didn't sort so I'll just have to deal with it until it wears off on its own, could have got on the back of one of the pads tho so might have to pop off the pads and clean and grease them to sort it in that case.. happened when the tube popped off.....

bled brakes 3 times since then I think

felt a brembo rcs 19 today, I'm sold on the idea of getting one now

very spendy yokes, one on ebay 237 euro but with 'or best offer' comes with double banjo and brake light switch but no reservoir.

reservoir kit is 50 euro from most places

genuine brembo smoked 35cc reservoir is 37 euro (some reason cheaper than the white plastic looking ones?), bit of hose of the right diameter couple of euro and reuse my current metal stem thing for mounting, would that work?

price of kit with reservoir is 280 odd euro but doesn't come with a double banjo (must check if my current double banjo is the right pitch.. then that wouldn't be an issue) and the 280 euro ones don't come with a switch for brake so that would cost extra again.

anyway I'm getting one eventually for my bike

Check all the bolts are the same than what came with the rebuild kit, if not you aren't bleeding them right. When you re build the calipers it takes alot if fluid to bleed them, I presume you've bled the master cylinder up top??

Not being thick but there's not much else it could be. Either there is a leak or somewhere that hasn't been bled.

I have good pressure just sponge feeling am still 1 finger braking

Think the gunk colour was from gunk in the master cylinder as it's clear now in between the bleeds I've done

Other people have squeezed lever and said it's grand its just it feels spongy for the initial squeeze then fine

Have been bleeding at the master cylinder too

But I've been riding the bike and brakes are 100% it's just down to feel now on the lever

Night and day difference when I squeezed the brembo rcs 19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

carpimoto link for a rcs19 kit (has banjos and microswitch) -
    http://www.carpimoto.it/en-IE/45435_RCS19PK-Radial-Brake-Master-Cylinder-Brembo-19RCS-Premium-Kit.htm

what bike is this going on?
    what bike did you feel the rcs19 on before?

going on my restricted k3 sv650s lol but with the idea that I'd bring it to whatever bike I move to next so will get many years out of it

felt it on a gsxr 1000 k2 yesterday at a bike meet up in adare didn't ride it literally just was asking the guy about it and was squeezing the lever

that's a decent price I think with all the bits and pieces still very expensive but if I get something like an r6 mc as an upgrade that's still over 100 euro and just wouldn't be as good or worth bringing to a next bike at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

ah yea, sorry just wondering if your current bike had radial calipers, which would benefit from radial master. Good that you checked the feel on an approximate situation as your own (retrofitted to presumably the k2's original 'normal' brakes), and not on a 1299 etc

edit, and yes, its one of the more transferable mods around. A definite plus..! You could spend the same on a power commander / rearsets etc and that'd be married to the bike. The rcs19 has adjustable ratios too, so makes it more compatible with diff caliper types afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

How are the brake hoses, original? they can deteriorate over time. just out or curiosity did your bike come with steel braided lines from the factory?

Wossack wrote: »
    ah yea, sorry just wondering if your current bike had radial calipers, which would benefit from radial master. Good that you checked the feel on an approximate situation as your own (retrofitted to presumably the k2's original 'normal' brakes), and not on a 1299 etc

edit, and yes, its one of the more transferable mods around. A definite plus..! You could spend the same on a power commander / rearsets etc and that'd be married to the bike. The rcs19 has adjustable ratios too, so makes it more compatible with diff caliper types afaik
    yeah the k2 was on stock brakes and braided lines like mine with the double banjo etc so I hope I could get the exact same feel, and as said it's the kind of thing I can bring to my next bike, no matter what it is it'll still be an rcs19
    How are the brake hoses, original? they can deteriorate over time. just out or curiosity did your bike come with steel braided lines from the factory?
    brake hoses are braided stainless steel as of a couple of weeks ago! Installed them myself at the same time as doing caliper seals; the feel is amazing compared to the previous hoses which were definitely worn but I think my limit at the moment is just my 15 year old cheapo master cylinder is in need of a rebuild or replacement and I figure instead of spending 50 euro on a rebuild kit for an already bad MC or getting a 150 ish euro upgrade as a stopgap I might as well get something really good that I can keep long term
    at least that's how I'm trying to explain to myself that spending another 300 quid on the bike.. :o

@ frozenfrozen I'd be trying out a good condition used brembo unit if I was you.

A mate of mine got one a while back for less than €100 and it was perfect.
    Any bike breaker near you?

blade1 wrote: »
    @ frozenfrozen I'd be trying out a good condition used brembo unit if I was you.

A mate of mine got one a while back for less than €100 and it was perfect.
    Any bike breaker near you?

from looking on donedeal / adverts / ebay they seemed to be the kind of thing people hang on to so didn't consider bike breakers

not sure who is close i'll have to look it up would be very happy to get one for 100 euro...

Jaysus Id love brembo calipers for my GSX1250......any caliper in fact that would upgrade the standard calipers. Its the only feature of the bike that lets it down the brakes.

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Jaysus Id love brembo calipers for my GSX1250......any caliper in fact that would upgrade the standard calipers. Its the only feature of the bike that lets it down the brakes.

Here ya go Wonda.
    Is there radials on the GSX?
    Look at this on eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/141991491251

I'm not getting brembo calipers just the master cylinder, the stock calipers are poor on the sv in the greater scheme of things but a reasonable match to the (lack of) power of the bike, tokiko 2 pot floating calipers.

some of the descriptions for the brembo rcs master cylinders say that the 19s aren't suitable for floating calipers and to use the rcs 15 but I can't see the reasoning for that, it might be just that they reckon for best feel to go with the smaller diameter because you're moving more mass (the entire face of the caliper, vs on radials where you're just moving the pistons.

or else I've got it totally arseways and they actually have a real reason not to use the rcs 19 on floating calipers...

blade1 wrote: »
    Here ya go Wonda.
    Is there radials on the GSX?
    Look at this on eBay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/141991491251

Cheers mate, price of them!

Hope santa is good to me this year.

the stock calipers are poor on the sv in the greater scheme of things but a reasonable match to the (lack of) power of the bike, tokiko 2 pot floating calipers.

Used to have the exact same setup on a CBR600F, a good bit more power and weight than an SV...

don't like the sound of that.. because when I'm saying the sv brakes are relatively matched to the power.. I'm talking about my 35kw bike :eek:

It was actually fine. Did lots of touring on it and some track days. You had to tug the lever a bit harder but the stopping power was there.

Any bike I've had since then with 4-pot calipers has better braking power IN THEORY but it's a pain in the ass keeping all the pistons clean and unseized, one finger braking when it's all working perfectly but so what. I never did anything to the CBR's brakes other than change pads and I had that bike for 100,000km.