Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,830 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

screw that link, it's on the OTB facebook page, interview with Donal Og Cusack

they've managed to bring up the Martin O'Neill comments from last year again.

who'd have thunk it!

Yep and it gets mentioned in the Indo. Result for the lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

screw that link, it's on the OTB facebook page, interview with Donal Og Cusack they've managed to bring up the Martin O'Neill comments from last year again.

They are such a bunch of cowards. If they were not prepared to address the issue with Martin O'Neill himself when he gave them an interview a while back, then they shouldn't be STILL using as a stick to beat him with.

As I said before... Around the time Martin O'Neill (a football coach) made those remarks, the head of the Islamic Cultural Centre (an influential religious leader) called being gay "a sin" while speaking to Ray D'Arcy .... This was not even mentioned on Newstalk. Yet they keep trying to beat Martin O'Neill over the head with this silly comment, for which he has already apologised, at every opportunity. It really is shameful.

And I finally worked out what that Off The Ball bag reminds me of. You might remember I said that it seemed like Ger Gilroy was allowed to read out bad stuff about other people but him (as the boss) never seemed to be the butt of any of the jokes or texts.

It reminds me of when we were in school, and one of the teachers used to think he was "one of the lads". So there'd be a bit of banter going back and forth. Then one of the lads would call him a name that he didn't like and he would think and give him 1000 lines... end of bants ... :D

Documentary about Roche on Radio One now... Wonder if they will cover the elephant in the room.

That documentary was on before, I'm not sure why I thought it was new. I heard it promo'd and thought it was new.

Whatever about the drugs allegations, I dont think Stephen gets the credit he deserves for roughing it out against Viscenti, when the whole world was against him. Because he's such a soft spoken guy, I think the unbelievable strength he had was lost.

And it's kind of sad that his achievement is shrouded in such suspicion at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

And I finally worked out what that Off The Ball bag reminds me of. You might remember I said that it seemed like Ger Gilroy was allowed to read out bad stuff about other people but him (as the boss) never seemed to be the butt of any of the jokes or texts.

It reminds me of when we were in school, and one of the teachers used to think he was "one of the lads". So there'd be a bit of banter going back and forth. Then one of the lads would call him a name that he didn't like and he would think and give him 1000 lines... end of bants ... :D

That will teach Mr O'Neill for having the temerity to question Gilroy's interview style and his meandering monologues :rolleyes:

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

First interview with Laura Corrigan Duryea about the Women's AFL, and Newstalk are already looking for an equality angle/issue to champion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

They had Kimmage on the show today so a big gold star to anyone who can guess where the conversation ultimately gravitated. He's truly obsessed. It was an entertaining show though. They expressed their outrage at the behaviour of Conor McGregor and Joe got mightily offended on behalf of the black race. Today, rather than get mad at their predictable, conservative views I chose to be entertained. Entertained by how much Kimmage and Cunningham come across as old men who are out of touch with modern life. Entertained at Joe's need to feel indignant on behalf of black people and women and the way he pontificates on the things we should, and should not, express in public. You learn about more than mere sport on this show. You learn about manners and politics and also about the way you should view the world and it's events, sports and non-sports related.

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Kimmage and Cunningham come across as old men who are out of touch with modern life.

I heard Kimmage on the radio first and then Cunningham butted in with something and I thought "f**k, is that David Walsh, how did they manage that". but alas no. Might have a listen back later.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I did giggle at joe getting offended at McGregor saying 'I'm black from the waist down'. I was hoping one of the lads would say why is that offensive Joe! Tripod came to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

David Brady was making a prediction today with Joe on the Kildare v Dublin game.
    Brady was adamant that he felt that Kildare would win.
    That Kilkenny would be overpowered by the Kildare midfield (big men), that the Dublin backs looked shaky on paper. They were there for the taking.
    There were plenty of Dublin fellas who did not have big game experience like Con O'Callaghan and Scully etc :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,001 ✭✭✭✭siblers

David Brady was making a prediction today with Joe on the Kildare v Dublin game.
    Brady was adamant that he felt that Kildare would win.
    That Kilkenny would be overpowered by the Kildare midfield (big men), that the Dublin backs looked shaky on paper. They were there for the taking.
    There were plenty of Dublin fellas who did not have big game experience like Con O'Callaghan and Scully etc :D

Never liked Brady, comes across very loud, arrogant and a know it all. Kinda reminds me of someone at school who'd randomly give you a dead arm and say it's only a bit of craic

Entertained at Joe's need to feel indignant on behalf of black people and women and the way he pontificates on the things we should, and should not, express in public.

They were absolutely painful with Laura Corrigan yesterday, the Irish woman who played in the first season of the AFL in Australia. Nathan grilled her with questions like "Do you have the same conditions as the men, same pitches, same wages etc etc etc", just looking for a social justice angle where he could cry discrimination.

And Laura then explained to him that if she gets pregnant, then she will be released from her contract??... Wellllllll...... Nathan was just about to call a torch wielding group of SJWs, before Laura interjected and said "look, it's my own fault if I get pregnant, I obviously wont be able to play if I'm pregnant." What was ever wrong with that sort of common sense?

Entertained at Joe's need to feel indignant on behalf of black people and women and the way he pontificates on the things we should, and should not, express in public.

They were absolutely painful with Laura Corrigan yesterday, the Irish woman who played in the first season of the AFL in Australia. Nathan grilled her with questions like "Do you have the same conditions as the men, same pitches, same wages etc etc etc", just looking for a social justice angle where he could cry discrimination.

And Laura then explained to him that if she gets pregnant, then she will be released from her contract??... Wellllllll...... Nathan was just about to call a torch wielding group of SJWs, before Laura interjected and said "look, it's my own fault if I get pregnant, I obviously wont be able to play if I'm pregnant." What was ever wrong with that sort of common sense?

I deliberately avoided that interview. It would be more than I can stomach.

It's pretty good actually. Laura seems to have that Anna May McHugh no bull**** common sense. She acknowledged that it was their first season, that they were just starting off, and appreciated every bit of help they were given... she didn't indulge any of Nathan's nonsense. She was just happy to get the chance to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

They had Kimmage on the show today so a big gold star to anyone who can guess where the conversation ultimately gravitated. He's truly obsessed. It was an entertaining show though. They expressed their outrage at the behaviour of Conor McGregor and Joe got mightily offended on behalf of the black race. Today, rather than get mad at their predictable, conservative views I chose to be entertained. Entertained by how much Kimmage and Cunningham come across as old men who are out of touch with modern life. Entertained at Joe's need to feel indignant on behalf of black people and women and the way he pontificates on the things we should, and should not, express in public. You learn about more than mere sport on this show. You learn about manners and politics and also about the way you should view the world and it's events, sports and non-sports related.

Kimmage called it correctly. McGregor is pantomime and it puzzles me why so many people get their knickers in a twist about what he says. He's not much more of a step up than a wrestler.

What's correct is a matter of opinion - you'll find many to disagree with you. Anyway, my point wasn't about McGregor, it was about Kimmage, Cunningham and Joe. McGregor just happened to be the subject matter and boards has an MMA forum where they are likely discussing your very point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

What's correct is a matter of opinion - you'll find many to disagree with you. Anyway, my point wasn't about McGregor, it was about Kimmage, Cunningham and Joe. McGregor just happened to be the subject matter and boards has an MMA forum where they are likely discussing your very point.

What's correct is a matter of many things. MMA forum is about as relevant as the wrestling forum in terms of trying to find intelligent debate.

I'm not even sure why they bothered discussing it, as it's really more sports entertainment than a proper sport at this stage. Once again, it seemed to be another opportunity for Joe to be offended about something, so he jumped on it for that reason alone.

I thought it was very funny when Kimmage described the Irish golfers as all being great lads...... Joe didn't seem to feel it was appropriate to tell Kimmage about his interactions with Darren Clarke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Heard a bit of this yesterday. Joe going on and on about how black people should be outraged by those comments. To quote David Brent, if anything it's a compliment...

Oh god, the same sh1te again tonight. Tying themselves in knots trying to be politically correct about Mickey Harte's pre match prayer session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

Oh god, the same sh1te again tonight. Tying themselves in knots trying to be politically correct about Mickey Harte's pre match prayer session.

I gave the show a miss tonight, sounds like that would be worth a listen back? I know Ger's stance on Catholicism i.e would like to wipe it off the face of the planet, I'm sure Joe sings from the same hymn sheet (pardon the pun) , I'm sure because it's Mickey Harte and GAA they went easy on the story, but I'll bet my bottom dollar if it was any other sport in any other country with a pre match routine like the Tyrone team, they would tear those involved to shreds. Come to think of it they probably wouldn't because of all the pc bull. I gather the took it easy on Tyrone, and I wouldn't have a problem with that, if it wasn't for the fact that every other chance they get they hammer Catholicism . So here was a perfect opportunity for them to have a right go at religion as it was a sports related topic, but I think not as they want to keep Mickey and the Tyrone boys on side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

yeah 2 days in a row, Joe finds it hard to think that there could be 32 young fellas who have some level of faith on one panel.
    i wonder has he seriously ever been in northern ireland, or does he know a whole lot about the importance that religion is held in there? like it or not, there's a whole other level of community spirit derived from it up north, whether you kick with this foot or the other, so it's quite believable that they could all be willingly participating in it.

for a sports presenter, not knowing the amount of sports people that believe in one god or another, he's not that well clued in. is he going to take a pop at jonny walters the next time he blesses himself after he scores, or even stand in the tunnel in the Camp Nou and tut at any player that goes into the little chapel before a game. according to the tour guide there at the time, Ronaldinho never left the tunnel without going in to say a prayer before a game.

Joe is being a bollox lately. would love to see someone from team 33 get a go at off the ball soon.

I'm convinced these clowns get away with their pomposity because they are on radio as opposed to an alternative format like podcasts. I find it ironic that we here talk as much about non-sporting issues as we do sporting issues because of what can be heard on that show. I say "can be heard" because it's no longer a must-listen show for me. I'll download an interesting sounding episode if I have nothing else to listen to and I do enjoy the paper review for the most part. It's amazing that these guys, in an effort to come across as open-minded and modern as possible, actually often achieve the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,001 ✭✭✭✭siblers

As bad as Joe was during the Sunday paper review and I rolled my eyes when he said McGregor's comments were "grim, very grim" but I found your man Kieran Cunningham came across much worse, I don't think he really understands the mindset of McGregor nor how he is completely different to any other major Irish sports star. He was trying to compare him to Robbie Keane which is beyond daft.

What these old boys don't understand is that the fight game is culturally different and the winning of a fight, as the great Muhammad Ali said, is often achieved well before the actual physical confrontation itself. I prefer to look at McGregor as someone who is breaking the mould of what we in Ireland see ourselves as: self-deprecating and brave but ultimately inferior to those operating on a world stage. We are always framing ourselves as the good guys who play by the rules but who ultimately always lose. The rugby team decided to step out of this mindset about two decades ago and here we have a fighter doing things differently and showing that Irish athletes (yes Joe - athletes) can be superior. What's great is that like the rugby team (and high profile GAA guys), this guy is relatively accessible. He lives near us, he loves Ireland, is proud to be Irish and still trains here. He can be seen in our streets. Our soccer players are cooped up in some exclusive player compound in the UK and even if they do speak in an Irish accent (about a 60% chance) they are not "one of us". McGregor is and that's why the people who love him love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭Raoul

What these old boys don't understand is that the fight game is culturally different and the winning of a fight, as the great Muhammad Ali said, is often achieved well before the actual physical confrontation itself. I prefer to look at McGregor as someone who is breaking the mould of what we in Ireland see ourselves as: self-deprecating and brave but ultimately inferior to those operating on a world stage. We are always framing ourselves as the good guys who play by the rules but who ultimately always lose. The rugby team decided to step out of this mindset about two decades ago and here we have a fighter doing things differently and showing that Irish athletes (yes Joe - athletes) can be superior. What's great is that like the rugby team (and high profile GAA guys), this guy is relatively accessible. He lives near us, he loves Ireland, is proud to be Irish and still trains here. He can be seen in our streets. Our soccer players are cooped up in some exclusive player compound in the UK and even if they do speak in an Irish accent (about a 60% chance) they are not "one of us". McGregor is and that's why the people who love him love him.

What a load of sh1te. :pac:

A lot of our soccer players are accessible and are extremely proud to be Irish. Just because they live in the UK as that is where they earn their money, that isn't a stick to beat them with.

The jibe about the accent is totally unfair. Look at Kevin Kilbane, he is an extremely proud Irish man and he doesn't have an Irish accent.

I think your comment about "one of us" is completely wrong too. How do you come to that conclusion? Any interview I hear with the current batch of Irish footballers, I always think how down to earth they are. Seamus Coleman in particular, I think he is one of the best representatives of Ireland we have at the moment. Model professional, confident in his talent and he is an absolute saint with all the charity work he does.

McGregor is a complete arsehole. He is absolutely classless and ignorant. You would find it difficult to find another Irish sportsman who would pick up the Irish flag and throw it at another person. Totally disrespectful but of course McGregor wouldn't know this. His comment about dancing monkeys was inexcusable and he is getting a free pass due to him being "ignorant" moreso than racist. This is probably true but still it shouldn't be ok. Then tries to use the "I'm not a racist" claim by using a stereotype.

As for McGregor being "one of us"....I'm not sure how we can relate to a guy who drives around in Bentleys, wears ridiculous fur coats, constantly flaunts his riches and in general his demeanour is awful.

I get that a lot of it is for show but the WWE isn't as bad for the trash talk that has gone on.

Give me a Seamus Coleman who just wants to go about his business quietly and eventually go back to Killibegs to play GAA for his local team over the embarrassment that McGregor is.

I am a fan of MMA btw and I do hope that McGregor wins but I don't think we should be lauding him as some sort of poster boy for being "one of us".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

In an attempt to steer the conversation away from this McGregor circus, I must say that the decline in OTB has become really noticeable lately - to the extent that I now listen to Game On for that hour when I'm travelling in the evening. OTB has become a victim of political correctness gone mad. At least when Wooly was on the show, there was a dissenting voice, some variety of opinion. Joe/Richie/Kilbane/Ger/Adrian/Nathan aren't bad presenters per se, but are all so similar that you can easily mistake one for the other (a case of "insert generic presenter here"). The show has become bland and stale as a result. To be fair, the live GAA converage and analysis at the weekends used to be excellent, but now they don't even have that. I just think they badly need to freshen things up - maybe revamp the format (which has been the same since Second Captains team), and get some new presenters who aren't part of the current mould

Raoul wrote: »

What a load of sh1te. :pac:

A lot of our soccer players are accessible and are extremely proud to be Irish. Just because they live in the UK as that is where they earn their money, that isn't a stick to beat them with.

The jibe about the accent is totally unfair. Look at Kevin Kilbane, he is an extremely proud Irish man and he doesn't have an Irish accent.

I think your comment about "one of us" is completely wrong too. How do you come to that conclusion? Any interview I hear with the current batch of Irish footballers, I always think how down to earth they are. Seamus Coleman in particular, I think he is one of the best representatives of Ireland we have at the moment. Model professional, confident in his talent and he is an absolute saint with all the charity work he does.

McGregor is a complete arsehole. He is absolutely classless and ignorant. You would find it difficult to find another Irish sportsman who would pick up the Irish flag and throw it at another person. Totally disrespectful but of course McGregor wouldn't know this. His comment about dancing monkeys was inexcusable and he is getting a free pass due to him being "ignorant" moreso than racist. This is probably true but still it shouldn't be ok. Then tries to use the "I'm not a racist" claim by using a stereotype.

As for McGregor being "one of us"....I'm not sure how we can relate to a guy who drives around in Bentleys, wears ridiculous fur coats, constantly flaunts his riches and in general his demeanour is awful.

I get that a lot of it is for show but the WWE isn't as bad for the trash talk that has gone on.

Give me a Seamus Coleman who just wants to go about his business quietly and eventually go back to Killibegs to play GAA for his local team over the embarrassment that McGregor is.

I am a fan of MMA btw and I do hope that McGregor wins but I don't think we should be lauding him as some sort of poster boy for being "one of us".
    I agree with some of what you said there but we can never agree because what I love about McGregor is exactly what you hate and what I dislike about the likes of Seamus Coleman (who I didn't pick out) is exactly what you love. I don't like racism or materialism either but I like McGregor for breaking the mould and showing that you can make it to the top with an approach that is appropriate to the field you are in - if you have the talent. He is in the sports entertainment business and he is taking the correct approach to be successful. The wheels will probably come off at some stage but you have to laugh at his winding up of the American fighters who take him so bloody seriously and can't see the act for the ironic thing that it is. In a way, the joke is also on the likes of Joe, Kimmage etc. who are eating this up hook, line and sinker. McGregor doesn't give a fook if they are talking positively or negatively about him - he's above caring. All he cares about is whether they are talking so really if they want to hurt him, they will ignore everything he does and stop running OTB segments with Ariel Helwani et al. and put a ban on all talk of McGregor. For a guy they despise, they don't half talk about him a lot.