So it's the 12th of July tomorrow. Will the North ever not be sectarian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,353 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Linfield are the biggest club in the Irish League of course, but then again they got a bit of help to achieve that record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

red ears wrote: »
    Did you not describe yourself as a loyalist a few posts back, there was never a more lowbrow scummy band of deviants like that anywhere on these islands.

I refer you to my post 487..... to answer the first part of your post.

Further to that please look up the acts of Irish republicans and in particular the modern IRA. If you are after lowbrow and deviant you will strike oil with them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

timthumbni wrote: »
    Celtic acting like wee chickens as usual. No change there I suppose.

Re Linfield they are the biggest club in The Irish league. When you say bigoted supporters is that Celtic you are referring to? If so I agree with you there.
    No that would be Linfield. Toxic support.

Celtic have some morons following them, like most big clubs do. Vast majority just love their team and go out to show it. Part of me is happy for them to show Linfield disrespect by not taking an allocation, they can afford the luxury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

Celtic acting like wee chickens as usual. No change there I suppose.

By that do you mean law abiding supporters who prefer a family friendly atmosphere to watch their football. They'd simply prefer to not have to deal with marauding gangs of chavs in rangers tops hurling abuse or worse at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Why can't we all be friends?

armaghlad wrote: »

Celtic have some morons following them, like most big clubs do. Vast majority just love their team and go out to show it. Part of me is happy for them to show Linfield disrespect by not taking an allocation, they can afford the luxury.

Don't take sides now Armaghlad. Do you really believe that the vast majority of Linfield fans aren't just out to love their team and go out to show it?

Celtic have a lot of morons following them and they are often more interested in rangers than Celtic if you ever follow their antics. Sure Celtic park was like a ghost town when rangers weren't in the same league as all their bigots couldn't be bothered to watch their so called beloved club.

Re Celtic not taking their tickets cowardice springs to mind. Even their fans weren't happy about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    Why can't we all be friends?

Because I think I'm better than you.

red ears wrote: »
    By that do you mean law abiding supporters who prefer a family friendly atmosphere to watch their football. They'd simply prefer to not have to deal with marauding gangs of chavs in rangers tops hurling abuse or worse at them.

They are playing Linfield actually. Rangers were hoofed out of the europa cup by a bunch of postmen.

Don't take sides now Armaghlad. Do you really believe that the vast majority of Linfield fans aren't just out to love their team and go out to show it?

Celtic have a lot of morons following them and they are often more interested in rangers than Celtic if you ever follow their antics. Sure Celtic park was like a ghost town when rangers weren't in the same league as all their bigots couldn't be bothered to watch their so called beloved club.

Re Celtic not taking their tickets cowardice springs to mind. Even their fans weren't happy about it.
    Well having sat in the family section at Windsor Park on more than one occasion, and listened to sectarian abuse directed at the opposition management by the home support surrounding me; or having witnessed their fans attack a Catholic owned pub in Portadown and also assault Armagh GAA fans (including an elderly gentleman) at the train station, I am quite happy to judge most Linfield fans as being scumbags. I know not all of them are, but in my experience most of them are.

Celtic are reknowned throughout Europe and beyond for their support. Obviously attendances are going to fall domestically when their biggest rivals are liquidated and playing under a different banner 3 divisions below

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Timthumbni, hopefully I don't come off as abrasive as Francie, and I think we've established myself and yourself have something in common.

Let me start by saying I'm in no way a fan of SF. I think a lot of their fiscal policies are untenable, and have a tendancy to attract less than desirable people, particularly at grass roots level.

HOWEVER.

Any time I hear of SF policies, it's clear that what they are trying to attain is for the benefit for the majority of people, regardless of creed. Any time I hear of DUP policies, it's clear that they primarily look after Unionists.

I won't cry over the money Foster got for the North, because honestly, it does need it. Northern Ireland gets less investment and less opportunities. This isn't to say we don't have problems in the Republic, we definitely do, however, we're not the ones in focus here. And the problems up North are way worse. I will wait and see how that money is designated to be used. And I expect it to be contentious. It always is.

Saying this is a thread about the 12th and people talking about effigies etc here's a wee pic of armaghlads beloved Celtic hanging (hands tied behind back- nice touch) 2 effigies of rangers supporters.

Of course it was all a bit of craic for the jolly craicsters at Celtic. Nothing to see here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

steddyeddy wrote: »
    In a developing economy this would be called a bribe.

Usually only if it ended up in a politicians back pocket.

Do you consider all deals between politicians that have cost implications bribes? That seems like a fairly broad definition.

Saying this is a thread about the 12th and people talking about effigies etc here's a wee pic of armaghlads beloved Celtic hanging (hands tied behind back- nice touch) 2 effigies of rangers supporters.

Of course it was all a bit of craic for the jolly craicsters at Celtic. Nothing to see here.
    The fans responsible were banned for life and rightfully so.

Is that all you got? Not the first time you mentioned it on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,107 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The same sex marriage issue is a red herring. Most people don't give a **** about it to be honest and hence why the dup didn't lose votes over it. I personally would be for it but I too don't give two ****s about it.

Civil partnership is practically the same thing anyway and for those calling NI a backwater on the issue then one has to remember that Frau merkel only a few weeks ago voted against it in Germany and Italy have no notion of allowing it. Sure the republic only passed it a short while ago too so I wouldn't be going around like you're the big balls just yet.

Arlene got 1.5 billion for the benefit of the whole of NI. Only a republican bigot would start crying over getting a extra whack of money for the country.

I love seeing Michelle and her sf cronies squirm on the issue. Re the executive collapsing the real reason was that sf had a crap election and weren't happy so they wanted a new one. They knew tha ex IRA leader mcguiness was about to fall off the perch and used the boiler nonsense as an excuse to collapse it. They then shot themselves in the foot (or maybe by the party involved I should say the knees) by trying to control who can be dup leader and other spurious arguments about the Irish languance. Now they are faced with direct rule again from the good old UK. Great result for SF...... or maybe not...

As is typical of religious fundamentalists and their supporters, when it comes to 'rights' the 'I'm alright principle' applies.
    Appalling answer if I may say so. But typical of the sit on the fence attitude to criticising unionism.

I didn't say anything negative about the money, I highlighted Arlene's hypocrisy in labeling fellow executive members as 'crocodiles' when she herself held her support to ransom.

SF had a crap election? :D:D I stopped reading after that in fairness.

Timthumbni, hopefully I don't come off as abrasive as Francie, and I think we've established myself and yourself have something in common.

Let me start by saying I'm in no way a fan of SF. I think a lot of their fiscal policies are untenable, and have a tendancy to attract less than desirable people, particularly at grass roots level.

HOWEVER.

Any time I hear of SF policies, it's clear that what they are trying to attain is for the benefit for the majority of people, regardless of creed. Any time I hear of DUP policies, it's clear that they primarily look after Unionists.

I won't cry over the money Foster got for the North, because honestly, it does need it. Northern Ireland gets less investment and less opportunities. This isn't to say we don't have problems in the Republic, we definitely do, however, we're not the ones in focus here. And the problems up North are way worse. I will wait and see how that money is designated to be used. And I expect it to be contentious. It always is.

What policies of the dup look after unionists out of interest? Would SFs Irish languance act for example tend to be more for unionists or nationalists?

I don't really care much for any politicians up here anyway. Perhaps a period of direct rule will do no harm.

Re the republic I'm sure it's a grand place to live. My point when I was slagging the Celtic tiger was more made to point out that I don't know anyone up here who is overly jealous of the republic in that aspect. You only need to look at the houses and cars people are in up here to see plenty are doing ok.

It's not as if we are third world and the republic is some economic utopia.

The fans responsible were banned for life and rightfully so.

Is that all you got? Not the first time you mentioned it on this thread

Well that's certainly not all I've got on bigoted Celtic supporters but that's a new topic and I would have to give up my work to post it all. Just wanted to add a bit of balance to your broad brush statement about Linfield fans. One would almost think you have some sort of agenda going on in the background there armaghlad.

What policies of the dup look after unionists out of interest? Would SFs Irish languance act for example tend to be more for unionists or nationalists?

I don't really care much for any politicians up here anyway. Perhaps a period of direct rule will do no harm.

Re the republican I'm sure it's a grand place to live. My point when I was slagging the Celtic tiger was more made to point out that I don't know anyone up here who is overly jealous of the republic in that aspect. You only need to look at the houses and cars people are in up here to see plenty are doing ok.

It's not as if we are third world and the republic is some economic utopia.

From the DUP Policies website:

The DUP is committed to establishing the Institute of Ulster-Scots to drive forward a positive research and educational agenda for this vital strand of Northern Ireland’s identity.

As is typical of religious fundamentalists and their supporters, when it comes to 'rights' the 'I'm alright principle' applies.
    Appalling answer if I may say so. But typical of the sit on the fence attitude to criticising unionism.

I didn't say anything negative about the money, I highlighted Arlene's hypocrisy in labeling fellow executive members as 'crocodiles' when she herself held her support to ransom.

SF had a crap election? :D:D I stopped reading after that in fairness.

Well I am not religious and already stated I would be for same sex marriage. I was simply pointing out that the issue was not something that the majority of people cared about or based their vote on that issue.

and yes sf did have a poor assembly election in the one before the last one. By their standards anyway.

Well I am not religious and already stated I would be for same sex marriage. I was simply pointing out that the issue was not something that the majority of people cared about or based their vote on that issue.

and yes sf did have a poor assembly election in the one before the last one. By their standards anyway.

I don't really care what you are, like all other democrats I care about people who are being denied their rights by religious fundamentalists.

Do you believe in the separation of church and state?

*Try answering without the usual 'look over there' deflection please.

From the DUP Policies website:

The DUP is committed to establishing the Institute of Ulster-Scots to drive forward a positive research and educational agenda for this vital strand of Northern Ireland’s identity.

So I assume you agree that SFs Irish languance policy would be more to benefit nationalists then.

Both of which are nonsense by the way. If someone wants to learn Irish or Ulster Scots then they should get off their lazy arse and do it. It should not be a money issue. But of course SF smell money for their own kind and therefore have made a big issue out of it. The dup also now want their snouts in their trough.

It would seem fair that if Irish gets 10 million then Ulster Scots would also get 10 million would it not? Or better still neither of them get any money and it would go to something more deserving instead.

Well that's certainly not all I've got on bigoted Celtic supporters but that's a new topic and I would have to give up my work to post it all. Just wanted to add a bit of balance to your broad brush statement about Linfield fans. One would almost think you have some sort of agenda going on in the background there armaghlad.
    Linfield fans are by and large sectarian scumbags. A disproportionate amount of trouble follows them no matter where they go. One would think you're burying your head in the sand rather than address this fact. No other Irish League club comes close (okay maybe one or two) when it comes to Linfield and sectarianism.

http://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/linfield-fans-urged-to-boycott-glentoran-game-over-billy-boys-tune-legal-action-threat-35476080.html

Linfield fans are by and large sectarian scumbags. ]

I could say the same thing about Celtic fans but it would be an idiotic thing to say. Stop being such a wee drama queen...Celtic have a lot of sectarian scumbags as you put it as fans. But by and large the most of them are ok. Just like Linfield, rangers, cliftonville, Derry city, Chelsea, Man Utd etc etc.

All clubs have a minority of tube supporters. It's a working class game. What do you expect.?

So I assume you agree that SFs Irish languance policy would be more to benefit nationalists then.

Both of which are nonsense by the way. If someone wants to learn Irish or Ulster Scots then they should get off their lazy arse and do it. It should not be a money issue. But of course SF smell money for their own kind and therefore have made a big issue out of it. The dup also now want their snouts in their trough.

It would seem fair that if Irish gets 10 million then Ulster Scots would also get 10 million would it not? Or better still neither of them get any money and it would go to something more deserving instead.

Ulster Scots is not a language, it is a dialect.

Here's Alice in Wonderland translated into Ulster Scots:

The Caterpillar an Alice lukt at ither fur a quare while wi’oot taakin: finally the Caterpillar tuk the hookah oot o its mooth, an spoke tae hir in a languid, dozy voice.“Wha ir yae?” said the Caterpillar.This wusnae a perfu guid openin fur a yarn. Alice answer brev an baakwardly, “A—A harly know, Sir, jest at this minute—at least A know wha A wus this moarnin, but heth A hae bin changed a wheen o times since thin.”“What dae yae mean bae that?” said the Caterpillar sternly. “Explain yersel!”“A cannae explain maesel, A’m feert, Sir “ said Alice, “baecaas A’m naw maesel, yae see.”“A dinnae see,” said the Caterpillar.“A cannae mak it onie mair clear,” Alice answer, wile polite, “fur A cannae unnerstan it maesel tae stairt wi; an baein sae monie different sizes in yin dae haes turnt mae heid.”"

Here's Alice in Wonderland as Gaeilge:

“An bealach sin,” a dúirt an Cat agus é ag bagairt a lapa dheis, “tá cónaí ar Haitéir: agus an bealach sin,” agus é ag bagairt an lapa eile, “tá cónaí ar Ghiorria Márta. Tabhair cuairt ar cibé duine acu is mian leat: tá siad as a meabhair beirt.” “Ach nílim ag iarraidh dul i measc daoine atá as a meabhair,” a dúirt Eilís. “Níl leigheas agat air sin, arú,” a dúirt an Cat. “Táimid go léir as ár meabhair anseo. Tá mise as mo mheabhair. Tá tusa as do mheabhair.”
    “Conas atá a fhios agat go bhfuil mise as mo mheabhair?” a d’fhiafraigh Eilís.
    “Caithfidh go bhfuil tú as do mheabhair,” a dúirt an Cat, “nó ní thiocfá anseo sa chéad áit.”

Ulster Scots is not a language, it is a dialect.

Here's Alice in Wonderland translated into Ulster Scots:

The Caterpillar an Alice lukt at ither fur a quare while wi’oot taakin: finally the Caterpillar tuk the hookah oot o its mooth, an spoke tae hir in a languid, dozy voice.“Wha ir yae?” said the Caterpillar.This wusnae a perfu guid openin fur a yarn. Alice answer brev an baakwardly, “A—A harly know, Sir, jest at this minute—at least A know wha A wus this moarnin, but heth A hae bin changed a wheen o times since thin.”“What dae yae mean bae that?” said the Caterpillar sternly. “Explain yersel!”“A cannae explain maesel, A’m feert, Sir “ said Alice, “baecaas A’m naw maesel, yae see.”“A dinnae see,” said the Caterpillar.“A cannae mak it onie mair clear,” Alice answer, wile polite, “fur A cannae unnerstan it maesel tae stairt wi; an baein sae monie different sizes in yin dae haes turnt mae heid.”"

Here's Alice in Wonderland as Gaeilge:

“An bealach sin,” a dúirt an Cat agus é ag bagairt a lapa dheis, “tá cónaí ar Haitéir: agus an bealach sin,” agus é ag bagairt an lapa eile, “tá cónaí ar Ghiorria Márta. Tabhair cuairt ar cibé duine acu is mian leat: tá siad as a meabhair beirt.” “Ach nílim ag iarraidh dul i measc daoine atá as a meabhair,” a dúirt Eilís. “Níl leigheas agat air sin, arú,” a dúirt an Cat. “Táimid go léir as ár meabhair anseo. Tá mise as mo mheabhair. Tá tusa as do mheabhair.”
    “Conas atá a fhios agat go bhfuil mise as mo mheabhair?” a d’fhiafraigh Eilís.
    “Caithfidh go bhfuil tú as do mheabhair,” a dúirt an Cat, “nó ní thiocfá anseo sa chéad áit.”

I won't disagree. But the fact remains that in the interests of equality both could/should be given equal funding or better still none at all.

I could learn Irish for free by looking up stuff on the old tinternet. There's a vast vault of knowledge all sitting out there for free if one really wanted to get off their fat arse and actually do it. But I guess that wouldn't get cushy jobs for sf and their mates. I suppose there are only so many so called community worker non jobs positions available.

I could say the same thing about Celtic fans but it would be an idiotic thing to say. Stop being such a wee drama queen...Celtic have a lot of sectarian scumbags as you put it as fans. But by and large the most of them are ok. Just like Linfield, rangers, cliftonville, Derry city, Chelsea, Man Utd etc etc.

All clubs have a minority of tube supporters. It's a working class game. What do you expect.?
    I know they do. I know all the clubs you mentioned do.

Linfield however are in a league of their own. You just can't bring yourself to admit it and instead divert. I know players past and present and they'll tell you as much. Hands down the worst team in the Irish league when it comes to supporters.

I won't disagree. But the fact remains that in the interests of equality both could/should be given equal funding or better still none at all.

I could learn Irish for free by looking up stuff on the old tinternet. There's a vast vault of knowledge all sitting out there for free if one really wanted to get off their fat arse and actually do it. But I guess that wouldn't get cushy jobs for sf and their mates. I suppose there are only so many so called community worker non jobs positions available.

It really has nothing to do with what you 'specifically' think of these rights issues and culture issues.

These equalities were agreed and have not been delivered. Why?
    Because ONE religiously fundamentalist and culturally bigoted party refuse point blank to enact them.

No, they shouldn't be given equal funding. One is an ancient European language, the other is a dialect. One should be preserved, the other is irrelevant.

Your point about jobs arising from the act is valid but that doesn't invalidate the legitimate demand for an Irish Language Act.

I know they do. I know all the clubs you mentioned do.

Linfield however are in a league of their own. You just can't bring yourself to admit it and instead divert. I know players past and present and they'll tell you as much. Hands down the worst team in the Irish league when it comes to supporters.

We will have to agree to disagree then. I'm not even a Linfield supporter but I'm not a big enough drama queen to suggest that one clubs bigots and/or hooligans are better or worse than anothers.

I was reading recently that Paul mcareevy from republican west Belfast says he never has to buy a pint on the shankill from his time playing for the blues. Said he was nervous when he went but ended up loving his time there. Linfield must have gotten under your skin for whatever reason.

We will have to agree to disagree then. I'm not even a Linfield supporter but I'm not a big enough drama queen to suggest that one clubs bigots and/or hooligans are better or worse than anothers.

I was reading recently that Paul mcareevy from republican west Belfast says he never has to buy a pint on the shankill from his time playing for the blues. Said he was nervous when he went but ended up loving his time there. Linfield must have gotten under your skin for whatever reason.
    Aye and I'm sure Paul McAreavey spends countless hours drinking up the Shankill...

You don't even understand my argument - scumbags are scumbags no matter what club. Linfield have them in abundance - disproportionately. Pointing out their supporters' scumbag tendencies is not being a drama queen.

http://www.portadowntimes.co.uk/news/linfield-fans-blamed-for-attack-on-mckeever-s-bar-1-6710519

http://armaghi.com/news/investigation-underway-into-reports-of-rival-fan-clashes-at-train-station/17418

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/linfield-fans-target-rivals-in-pub-attack

http://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/fury-after-linfield-fans-go-on-rampage-attacking-houses-and-stewards-28728505.html

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/uk/2008/mar/30/scotland.northernireland

http://belfastmediagroup.com/cliftonville-fans-attacked-after-weekend-win-at-windsor-park/

http://www.goqradio.com/belfast/news/q-radio-local-news/supporters-attacked-before-ballymena-linfield-game/

Aye and I'm sure Paul McAreavey spends countless hours drinking up the Shankill...

]

Well I assumed he was referring to when he would be up there at supporters club dos as lots of ex players attend on behest of Linfield. If you are so knowledgable about the Irish league I thought you would have worked this out.

The rest of your post is just random googled incidents going back as far as 2008. Feel free to google celtic fans hooigans/fights etc and post half a dozen of them for the craic sure too.

You hate Linfield for whatever reason. I get it. It's pretty irrelevant to the 12th of July though.