So it's the 12th of July tomorrow. Will the North ever not be sectarian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

His father was murdered by loyalist terrorists and yet now his son now stands for a party that were the political republican mouthpieces of other terrorists. Weird......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

The fact they have John Finucane's face up in their huge pile of hate tells you everything you need to know about the "culture" of this braindead trash. These people are a total f**king joke. The fact they use the aincent pagan symbol of a bonfire/fire festival, bonfire's being a aincent, pre-christian Pagan purification ceremony to ward off hateful and evil forces, while this shower use it to proclaim their loyalty and love to Protestantism of all f**king things, just shows how laughably pathetic they truly are

Bullet The Blue Shirts

buried wrote: »
    The fact they have John Finucane's face up in their huge pile of hate tells you everything you need to know about the "culture" of this braindead trash. These people are a total f**king joke. The fact they use the aincent pagan symbol of a bonfire/fire festival, bonfire's being a aincent, pre-christian Pagan purification ceremony to ward off hateful and evil forces, while this shower use it to proclaim their loyalty and love to Protestantism of all f**king things, just shows how laughably pathetic they truly are

Who are you referring to as "these people" exactly???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

timthumbni wrote: »
    His father was murdered by loyalist terrorists

So they weren't Unionists?

THE 12TH OF JULY BONFIRE TWITS

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I don't have a problem with them burning election posters, it lets the world see them for what they are without it turning into a themuns are worse than ussuns wankfest

So they weren't Unionists?

I'm sure they were. Just like the brave Irish republicans who singled out all the protestant workers at kingsmills and executed them.... were the ones who pulled the triggers then because their victims happened not to cross themselves not Irish republicans?.....

THE 12TH OF JULY BONFIRE TWITS

Indeed. Though I would say most of the ones at the 11th night bonfires are not religious at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I'm sure they were.

Good man, that's it settled then, they were 'bad' unionists massacring innocent people in pubs to protect the union, all while aided by collusion with the 'good' unionists in the security forces.
    Just like the brave Irish republicans who singled out all the protestant workers at kingsmills and executed them.... were the ones who pulled the triggers then because their victims happened not to cross themselves not Irish republicans?.....

Whataboutery aside, I consider that reprehensible act of mass murder a war crime, and yes, it was carried out by Irish Republicans with guns and a grudge.

I'd wholeheartedly welcome a neutral body investigating war crimes during the troubles and holding those who carried them out to account. I don't think the British Government would be too pleased about it.

Indeed. Though I would say most of the ones at the 11th night bonfires are not religious at all.

They worship King Billy though don't they?

You see its funny, and it really is funny because of this, in King Billy's time, in the actual time the glorious King Billy existed in - if you were out at night sitting about a fire looking at it, throwing offerings on top of it, worshipping it, the likes of King Billy and his aldermen would drag your arse into the nearest gaol that night and throw you on top of his fire the very next morning as a witch. You want to worship King Billy? Go to F**king Mass and be a good protestant christian. Worshipping fire? That's the Devils work. King Billy won't like that

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

If there was ever a national holiday from the dark ages it must be the 12th of July. Such blatant hatred masquerading as a 'family day out'. It's no surprise this place is an economic blackhole. Who in their right business mind would invest there save for a British govt who have no choice?

You see its funny, and it really is funny because of this, in King Billy's time, in the actual time the glorious King Billy existed in - if you were out at night sitting about a fire looking at it, throwing offerings on top of it, worshipping it, the likes of King Billy and his aldermen would drag your arse into the nearest gaol that night and throw you on top of his fire the very next morning as a witch. You want to worship King Billy? Go to F**king Mass and be a good protestant christian. Worshipping fire? That's the Devils work. King Billy won't like that

It was also rumoured billy was gay. Another interesting dilemna for orange lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Are you completely mad, the place is a black hole for UK Treasury money, it runs a deficit of GBP11/EUR13 BILLION each year, which Westminster has cut a cheque to cover, think we can afford that for starters?

Also there's the fact that over 60% of people in NI receive their primary income via the state, whether through welfare, or state employment in the bloated public service, or the 'community groups' set up after the Good Friday agreement to make work for idle terrorists, again all funded by her Majestys treasury.

And that's just for starters, before you consider the nightmare of trying to fund increased security post a hypothetical UI, the costs of trying to merge two completely different government systems/health systems/civil services.

not a problem, if the bombing was able to be stopped then these issues can be solved. will all be worth it for a ui and the benefits it will bring. a bit of pain for long term gain and the 32 county republic that is supposed to be and is meant to be. the republic which we were denied on the threat of violence by the british who simply wanted to keep belfast.

the bigots and extremists who claim to stand for unionism and loyalism but don't know the meaning of either. who are homophobic, islamaphobic, anti-semite, bigoted and racist, who hate everyone who aren't exactly like them.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

It was also rumoured billy was gay. Another interesting dilemna for orange lads.

Don't forget the popery! Sure didn't the Pope himself bless King Billy from atop a cloud just before the Boyne

The orange side are definitely the more conservative and less willing to compromise side.

These July 12th celebrations burning of tricolours. Uneducated Neanderthals springs to mind.

Don't forget the popery! Sure didn't the Pope himself bless King Billy from atop a cloud just before the Boyne

Of course this orange order also supported billy wright when he was disowned by the UVF. It's is a grouping of strange strange beings. Most civilised societies have national holidays which bring people together. Up north it's used to alienate and foster hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Smoke still rises from the nearby estate...they must have a full Isengard setup over there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Of course this orange order also supported billy wright when he was disowned by the UVF. It's is a grouping of strange strange beings. Most civilised societies have national holidays which bring people together. Up north it's used to alienate and foster hate.

It shouldn't be a national holiday for starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

king Billy also wouldn't like the DUP's opinion about gays. All the evidence points to him being gay himself.

NIMAN wrote: »
    It shouldn't be a national holiday for starters.

Yeah it's a day for Unionism to continue it's supremist attitude towards all things not orange. This so called display of culture is pathetic and archaic. The demographics up north are changing all the time.

Many years ago in Drumcree and other places it would have been inconceivable that these bigots would have been stopped walking down a road now it's a given where not wanted. Even the Unionist councillors are starting to curtail certain bonfires. Small steps but this Neanderthal celebration will eventually be akin to an a kkk rally in a secluded spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,076 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Yeah it's a day for Unionism to continue it's supremist attitude towards all things not orange. This so called display of culture is pathetic and archaic. The demographics up north are changing all the time.

Many years ago in Drumcree and other places it would have been inconceivable that these bigots would have been stopped walking down a road now it's a given where not wanted. Even the Unionist councillors are starting to curtail certain bonfires. Small steps but this Neanderthal celebration will eventually be akin to an a kkk rally in a secluded spot.

Proscribe the OO, as it is their religiously based supremacy that underpins all of this.
    Set up a new, organisation (like what was done with the RUC) that is devoid of bigotry and is chartered to be equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

Proscribe the OO, as it is their religiously based supremacy that underpins all of this.
    Set up a new, organisation (like what was done with the RUC) that is devoid of bigotry and is chartered to be equal.

Don't think you can do that, the whole idea of the OO is opposite to catholic, i.e Protestant.

6541 wrote: »
    Don't think you can do that, the whole idea of the OO is opposite to catholic, i.e Protestant.

There is a world of difference between an exclusive one religion organisation and an organisation that promotes bigotry against another religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

There is a world of difference between an exclusive one religion organisation and an organisation that promotes bigotry against another religion.

Well luckily for the OO bigotry does not meet the criteria required for an organisation to be proscribed. The OO dont have a monopoly on bigotry in NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Well luckily for the OO bigotry does not meet the criteria required for an organisation to be proscribed. The OO dont have a monopoly on bigotry in NI.

Dead right. There's also the UDA, UVF and a large percentage of unionist voters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I find it funny their banners all read 'LOL'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Dead right. There's also the UDA, UVF and a large percentage of unionist voters.

good job there is no bigotry on the republican side

Then the criteria needs to be changed to deal with ALL instances of bigotry.

The OO have a long history of engaging in these kinds of bigoted diatribes and still receive public funding and official respect. ANY organisation engaging in religiously bigoted activity needs to be heavily penalised (i.e. made to think again)
    Robert Saulters — Grand Master of the Orange Order — told the Orange Order, that British Prime Minister, Tony Blair, 'has already sold his birthright by marrying a Romanist. He would sell his soul to the devil himself. He is not loyal to his religion. He is a turncoat'

You cannot explain that away with 'celebration of culture' bull****ting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I look forward to your input on Banning the Muslim Brotherhood when the time arises.

Are they a publicly funded body? Then they should come under the same scrutiny and penalties.