Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Floyd via DQ
    Conor's better when there's a back and forth between him and others. This was shít compared to some of conor's UFC pressers.

yea i agree,hopefully this gets better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Floyd via KO-TKO
    The tapping comment ruined conor there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Floyd via DQ
    Floyd got the better of Conor on the mic. In the last few fights Floyd appeared more reserved and low key. But this time the Money Mayweather persona was back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Floyd via DQ
    I expected Conor to be better at the press conferences but Floyd won that verbal duel.

That tap line was savage.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

No, he just got straight owned by a guy who is in a different league. UFC pressers are a joke compared to mega fight pressers.

I'm not some blind McGregor fanboy but that was shít. I'd like to see McGregor win the fight but I know that his chances are slim to say the least. I was expecting the pressers to be great but that one was shít. Those first few guys who started off. What the hell were they doing there? Some guys nobody cares about giving some boring, assed speech nobody gives a shít about. It was a snooze fest. I'm not a Dana fan but at least he had some energy. The individual speeches by Mayweather and McGregor was shít. If they had let them had an over and back like at UFC events, it would have been way more entertaining and really hyped the fight. This was just terrible though. I've never been this disappointed after a McGregor presser but I really wish I hadn't bothered watching this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ
    Both men are just enjoying it I'd say, Mayweather was prepared for McGregors tax man jokes which kinda stopped him, then Mr Tapout finished him basically.

It was Floyd's show, and ye may aswell get used to it.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

One of Conors trump cards he has is money, bragging non stop. He is worth chump change compared to mayweather so thats a huge trump card gone.

Then you have the fact this is a boxing match not an mma match, mcgregor doesnt even believe he is a better boxer than floyd and wont say anything about boxing ability,

I really dont know what he can say in these press conferences tbh. Hes going to be made to look a fool in every single one and then the fight aswell.
    I'm not some blind McGregor fanboy but that was shít. I'd like to see McGregor win the fight but I know that his chances are slim to say the least. I was expecting the pressers to be great but that one was shít. Those first few guys who started off. What the hell were they doing there? Some guys nobody cares about giving some boring, assed speech nobody gives a shít about. It was a snooze fest. I'm not a Dana fan but at least he had some energy. The individual speeches by Mayweather and McGregor was shít. If they had let them had an over and back like at UFC events, it would have been way more entertaining and really hyped the fight. This was just terrible though. I've never been this disappointed after a McGregor presser but I really wish I hadn't bothered watching this one.

Its not the ufc mate, its not aimed at 16-26 year olds. Its a developed business and this is how the pressers go. Do the MGM ever make speeches when the UFC is on? no cause they dont give a crap, boxing brings in a different world of money from ticket prices to ppv.
    Il get abuse for saying it but pressers in boxing are classier more developed affairs than ufc pressers so you arent going to get what your hoping for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Floyd via DQ
    Mayweather talking bs saying he'd wear 4oz gloves. Even if it wasn't against the rules there wouldn't be a hope he would.

Not that it means a whole lot, but for all those saying there's just a 1 inch height difference, not a hope of that either.

1499810255806_lc_galleryImage_image001_png.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Floyd via DQ
    Take away the fact Mayweather has a tiny head & McGregor has a massive one and they're the same height. I'd rather be aiming for the big target

well no doubt hes getting an inch or 2 out of a set of raised tom cruise style shoes anyway but theres defo another inch there if not 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Floyd via DQ
    One of Conors trump cards he has is money, bragging non stop. He is worth chump change compared to mayweather so thats a huge trump card gone.

Then you have the fact this is a boxing match not an mma match, mcgregor doesnt even believe he is a better boxer than floyd and wont say anything about boxing ability,

I really dont know what he can say in these press conferences tbh. Hes going to be made to look a fool in every single one and then the fight aswell.

His main card is probably his youth but it looked like Floyd was prepared for that with his "I'm an old man but I'm still able to beat you" bit (which I thought was actually very well done).

I think a lot of people, myself being one, thought McGregor's energy and charisma would leap off the stage the way it does at UFC conferences but he seemed very much out of his comfort zone - that speech was rambling and just felt very awkward - and he seemed to be exuding nervous energy more than anything else which surprised and disappointed me.

Hoping the next one is more free-flowing and interactive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Floyd via KO-TKO
    The speech was sprung on him anyways he wasnt expecting that I dont think.

Floyd via DQ
    Everybody else was expecting it so why wouldn't he be?

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Floyd via DQ
    McGregor fighting with Floyd Snr live now......

https://www.facebook.com/mmafighting/videos/vb.6176684478/10155598156854479/?type=3&theater

Edit: he just left after telling Conor he'd kick his ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭colly10

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Who said he should box defensively for three rounds? :P

TKO within three is the slim chance prediction......... some defensive boxing very early on.... let Floyd take the fight to McGregor.

Pressures on him. He's the boxer.

Floyd doesn't feel pressure to impress or come forward, even when the crowd are on his back. If he steps forward he'll be looking to keep Conor on the end of the jab with a fast counter of anything that comes at him and side stepping away.
    Mayweather is not going to rush Conor allow him to unleash some flurry for the KO. As Conor will remain at the correct range, conor stepping forward to let the shots go is going to see floyd out of range before the first can land.

You may entice a fast counter puncher to you but if they're better than you they'll usually stay out of range till they're throwing or counter something you throw and once they do they're gone back out of range

Floyd via DQ
    colly10 wrote: »
    Floyd doesn't feel pressure to impress or come forward, even when the crowd are on his back.

He never fought an "zero chance" MMA fighter before is the point.

Defensively "fighting" pro-boxers is one thing. Absolutely he will take the chance to go for the KO.

That's why he hit Ortiz when he wasn't ready. When a KO looks easy, he'll go for it.

Which is why I said Conor should hold off early doors and give him a false sense of security.......... then BOOM!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Conor via DQ
    Conor's got plenty of confidence for a lad who doesnt have a hope....Unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Floyd via DQ
    This thread is going to be some gas craic for the next few weeks. I expect to see logic and rational analysis twisted into forms never seen before.

Floyd via DQ

Which is why I said Conor should hold off early doors and give him a false sense of security.......... then BOOM!

Elaborate on the BoOM please :)

Floyd via DQ
    Augeo wrote: »
    Elaborate on the BoOM please :)

Well, seeing as it's 4oz gloves now.......... boom means Floyd's skull gets cracked open.

https://twitter.com/John_Kavanagh/status/884895895002775553

I'm joking before anyone starts lecturing me on the sweet science.

Floyd via DQ
    Sadly for Floyd 4oz gloves won't be sanctioned, nor will 8 at this weight, I'd say he's raging!

Gamebred wrote: »
    The speech was sprung on him anyways he wasnt expecting that I dont think.

It wasnt sprung on him, if he has watched de la hoya or pacquiao conferences he would have known whats expected, hes just out of his depth. I was surpirsed he wasnt better though.

Floyd via DQ
    RoryMac wrote: »
    Take away the fact Mayweather has a tiny head & McGregor has a massive one and they're the same height.

You might wanna pay a trip to specsavers as McGregor's shoulders are at the very least two inches above Floyd's.

They're the same height but for Floyd's Malteser head my arse :P

maymc2.jpg

Didn't see it myself but apparently Floyd was standing on his tippy toes for the closer together face off..... so take those shots with a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

You might wanna pay a trip to specsavers as McGregor's shoulders are at the very least two inches above Floyd's.

maymc2.jpg

Didn't see it myself but apparently Floyd was standing on his tippy toes for the closer together face off..... so take those shots with a pinch of salt.

Its obvious his suits have padded shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭colly10

Floyd via KO-TKO
    That's why he hit Ortiz when he wasn't ready. When a KO looks easy, he'll go for it.

Ortiz threw the head at him, floyd was distinterested in the second or third apology

I think Ortiz was only mad to apologise out of fear of annoying floyd, Ortiz has alot of quit in him and it wasn't going his way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Floyd via DQ

maymc2.jpg

Conors has his shoulders back, chest out, he's def bigger, but Flyod looks like he's just standing.
    That video posted where he's talking to senior is funny, senior is an ass but Conor going on about strangling flyod, going on about MMA, it's a boxing match, stay in the lane, you signed the contract your getting paid.

Floyd via DQ
    I find it amusing how much stock is placed in the height thing anyway, it won't matter a jot. It is also plainly obvious that without even getting into footwear, Conor is making himself as tall as he possibly can there, Floyd isn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Mayweather is terrible at speaking

No, he just got straight owned by a guy who is in a different league. UFC pressers are a joke compared to mega fight pressers.

Really because Mayweather was **** at speaking. Like he just repeated the same thing

Its not the ufc mate, its not aimed at 16-26 year olds. Its a developed business and this is how the pressers go. Do the MGM ever make speeches when the UFC is on? no cause they dont give a crap, boxing brings in a different world of money from ticket prices to ppv.
    Il get abuse for saying it but pressers in boxing are classier more developed affairs than ufc pressers so you arent going to get what your hoping for.
    This word cant be used when Mayweather is on stage.
    He is as low class as you can get