Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Anyone else have a dairymaster tank, the blue seal in the wash cap doesn't last at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

Mooooo wrote: »
    Anyone else have a dairymaster tank, the blue seal in the wash cap doesn't last at all

Have one here the last 4 yrs now
    No problem with seal, I keep the clamps on cup tightened.
    Other niggle with it though.
    Pipes for detergent keep coming off either side of the pumps. Had to change all the little blacks clamps to jubile clips and it solved the problem.
    Can't understand why they didn't use propped clips at the start.

Wash cycles is a bit long on it also

dar31 wrote: »
    Have one here the last 4 yrs now
    No problem with seal, I keep the clamps on cup tightened.
    Other niggle with it though.
    Pipes for detergent keep coming off either side of the pumps. Had to change all the little blacks clamps to jubile clips and it solved the problem.
    Can't understand why they didn't use propped clips at the start.

Wash cycles is a bit long on it also

Agree re the black clamps and wash a bit long, been fine otherwise washing and cooling well. Lorry had been coming earlier and went down his morning was still going but a lot of water coming out the cap. I set the quick wash to use hot water in the middle rinse if i do get stuck to use it for whatever reason.

Dep vet was out to blood the reactors, they are going to blood all cows next week. Bit of a balls but at this stage if it helps get to the bottom of it I'd be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I know your in the middle of the mess ATM, but when it clears in a few months hopefully, it might be worth cross referencing the bulls of the positives. See is there a coorelation?

Will have a look alright although the vet said she thought they looked at that in the north but didn't continue as didn't come up with anything conclusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

Data exists in ICBF that points strongly to bulls that are more susceptible to TB, but the data will not be released to farmers for commercially sensitive reasons.

That's wrong...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Will have a look alright although the vet said she thought they looked at that in the north but didn't continue as didn't come up with anything conclusive.
    Did my 6 monthly test today and the vet was talking about all the lads 2 or 3 miles away from here that have gone down in the last few weeks, the fecker winding me up again:(.

I hope we will both be laughing on Thursday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

They were going on about that at the Moorpark open day on one of the stands.
    I was quizzing them on the stand whether they could say if one breed was more susceptible over another and he wouldn't commit or say that they were.
    All he could say was one Holstein bull was bringing 90% of progeny with TB.
    Now he didn't go into how far those progeny were spread in different herds and he admitted that they won't get TB unless exposed to the bacterium in the first place.

Nothing to do with yourself Mooo but unfortunately larger grazing herds in this country will be more at risk of contact with the bacterium due to covering a bigger grazing area and the risk of (whatever) 1 in 1000 cows getting it before but with 1000 cows spread over 10 herds perhaps and no contact between herds and now the 1000 cows in the 1 herd and the 999 other cows would have contact with the 1.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    They were going on about that at the Moorpark open day on one of the stands.
    I was quizzing them on the stand whether they could say if one breed was more susceptible over another and he wouldn't commit or say that they were.
    All he could say was one Holstein bull was bringing 90% of progeny with TB.
    Now he didn't go into how far those progeny were spread in different herds and he admitted that they won't get TB unless exposed to the bacterium in the first place.

Nothing to do with yourself Mooo but unfortunately larger grazing herds in this country will be more at risk of contact with the bacterium due to covering a bigger grazing area and the risk of (whatever) 1 in 1000 cows getting it before but with 1000 cows spread over 10 herds perhaps and no contact between herds and now the 1000 cows in the 1 herd and the 999 other cows would have contact with the 1.
    And there was a bull or two with zero reactors in the same herds as well.

That health part of the EBI is really going to soar in importance. No bull with a negative Health score being brought in for testing too, my AI man told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Flies I'd doubt it as done with eprinex ,parlour checked out ,I don't pre strip ,just quick blast of hose and cluster on ,i rely on conductivity filter sock (even when a cow gets mastitis no clots or very few)to pick up cases before a scc test comes weather be causing it im wondering hot muggy weather

did both vacum pumps come on for milking, mine tripped a few times during washing and didnt come on for milking, milked 90% of herd perfect but 10% not milked out fully and if not picked up could lead to your problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Dep vet was out to blood the reactors, they are going to blood all cows next week. Bit of a balls but at this stage if it helps get to the bottom of it I'd be happy

My reactor blood tested last Monday ,positive result Friday ,fookin cow still here despite agreement form for valueatuon going back last Wednesday .2 clear tests now required but 60 days don't start till day reactor goes .nobody bordering me on any of my blocks currently locked up .ainmal could still kill out with no legions and clear cultures .i think the whole process needs serious questions asked of it

All cows that went down out of different bulls, i reckon most herds would have used similar bulls around the country. I'd still be incline to check the badgers if they are there, perhaps some bulls have a higher resistance to tb but it only takes the one to go down. Possible maize pit could be an issue with badgers also. Have all big troughs around now. Dunno hard to call. Fella down the road had a breakdown near on 2 years ago and he used disinfect troughs every time stock left the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Mooooo wrote:

How many reactors did you have? Blood testing the herd scares the **** outta me because you can have false positives. I was locked up with 2 then clear for 2 tests then 1 on on after the 3 month probation and now I'm clear again. It's a bloody pain but I'm happy with the new testing regime only thing I hate is it takes nearly 3 weeks before the reactors are off your farm. It's should be coe tested positive, next day valuer next day knackery. ..no messing about.

Ran into a slight complication while draining.

XwFWsgK.jpg

Rock a few inches down and getting shallower so we moved 20 feet from the pic above and started again. Halfway across now and rock about 1 foot down so shallow drains it is. We can get 18 inches with the bucket but would need a rock breaker to go deeper.

blackdog1 wrote: »
    How many reactors did you have? Blood testing the herd scares the **** outta me because you can have false positives. I was locked up with 2 then clear for 2 tests then 1 on on after the 3 month probation and now I'm clear again. It's a bloody pain but I'm happy with the new testing regime only thing I hate is it takes nearly 3 weeks before the reactors are off your farm. It's should be coe tested positive, next day valuer next day knackery. ..no messing about.

3 reactors and 3 inconclusive upgraded then which happens on system automatically once over 2 reactors I think. My own vet was telling me of a lad who had 9 reactors and rest of cows blooded and 12 more went but has been clear since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Ran into a slight complication while draining.

XwFWsgK.jpg

Rock a few inches down and getting shallower so we moved 20 feet from the pic above and started again. Halfway across now and rock about 1 foot down so shallow drains it is. We can get 18 inches with the bucket but would need a rock breaker to go deeper.

And let me guess.
    The wet spot is behind the rock and the rock is holding back the water from getting to the open drain??

Is your wet spot higher than the drains across that rock?
    Cos water don't flow uphill.

3 month probation after 2 clear tests ????exolain please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭blackdog1

mahoney_j wrote:
    3 month probation after 2 clear tests ????exolain please

You can sell all animals for 3 months after 2 clear tests...calves under 6 weeks for 6 months then you have to have another test...I took the option of having another after 3 months.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    And let me guess.
    The wet spot is behind the rock and the rock is holding back the water from getting to the open drain??

Is your wet spot higher than the drains across that rock?
    Cos water don't flow uphill.
    Yeah, got it in one.

We've changed the plan a bit now. They seem to have made it across the field without rock to the wettest part at the top of the field so we may run a branch line over to the ditch at the left of that abandoned drain and pick up the wettest part on the branch.

I'll run down after milking tomorrow morning for a better look.

You can sell all animals for 3 months after 2 clear tests...calves under 6 weeks for 6 months then you have to have another test...I took the option of having another after 3 months.

Christ that sounds mad ,presume John farmer still only pays for one test per year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Anyone putting in grass seed these times and what are ye going for? Abergain and Aberchoice still top performers? Anyone any trial of Aberchlyde yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Seems very little grass seeding this year, I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

What are people giving their calves for minerals and dose?
    Last year gave copper, selium and cobalt minerals and dosed all with Albex 10%.
    Seemed to work well enough and calves done well and will probably do the same again, just wondering what others give and products used? Thanks

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Anyone putting in grass seed these times and what are ye going for? Abergain and Aberchoice still top performers? Anyone any trial of Aberchlyde yet?

13 acres burnt off last Wednesday,5 acres of silage mix 5 kg abbergain 5 kg abberclyde 5 kg dunluce and 3 kg red clover
    8 acre grazing mix 7 kg abbergain .6 kg abberchoice 1 kg white clover

Sillycave wrote: »
    What are people giving their calves for minerals and dose?
    Last year gave copper, selium and cobalt minerals and dosed all with Albex 10%.
    Seemed to work well enough and calves done well and will probably do the same again, just wondering what others give and products used? Thanks

Calves got pour on for worms 2 weeks ago
    And a mineral bolus in mid may they will all get cydectin for worms in 2 weeks time and no more dosing till housing all calves will get 1 kg meal plus best of grass for rest of summer ,took em off meal for a while last summer and wasn't happy how they went

Calves got pour on for worms 2 weeks ago
    And a mineral bolus in mid may they will all get cydectin for worms in 2 weeks time and no more dosing till housing all calves will get 1 kg meal plus best of grass for rest of summer ,took em off meal for a while last summer and wasn't happy how they went

You are probably aware but vets are recommending not to overuse ivermectins in calves as it is the only product you can use in milking cows and you don't want the worms to build up a resistance to it, but if calves are away from handling facilities you might have no choice.
    I prefer to dose with a white drench alternating between albex and levacide. I try to wait till I hear one or two coughing to let them build up some level of immunity. It helps to get them use to handling too. Gave a mineral bonus last week for the first time as a trial but too early to tell if it will put a shine on them yet.

13 acres burnt off last Wednesday,5 acres of silage mix 5 kg abbergain 5 kg abberclyde 5 kg dunluce and 3 kg red clover
    8 acre grazing mix 7 kg abbergain .6 kg abberchoice 1 kg white clover

Is abberclyde more suited to silage than grazing then I wonder? I presume youll still be grazing this at the shoulders? Is this your first time putting red clover in mix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Samson1980

Well folks,Looking at putting in a new milking machine. 12 units with acr's auto washer etc. Would ye recommend putting in a dumpline in it? Is it worth the extra money? ..... long time reader, first post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

Samson1980 wrote: »
    Well folks,Looking at putting in a new milking machine. 12 units with acr's auto washer etc. Would ye recommend putting in a dumpline in it? Is it worth the extra money? ..... long time reader, first post

If you watch the farmers journal videos about milking parlour yer man questions acr's on a sixteen unit.

Lads seem to use two dump buckets and find it just as handy. I'd love the auto wash.
    All boils down to money really.