Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

Howdy folks.. not sure I'm in the right place here, but keep in mind that whole 'no such thing as a stupid question' slogan :P

Many moons ago, a chap I know had some very unpleasant teenagers hanging around a back wall at his house. They were there constantly. Noisy, causing damage, drink and drugs were involved, the Gardai rarely showed up and when the chap approached them, he got abuse and some criminal damage for his efforts.

Apparently (stressing the use of the word apparently) he knew a farmer, who supplied him with a small amount of slurry. This slurry was then spread around the outside and top of the wall that the gang of scummers regularly attended. The smell, apparently, was disgusting, and lasted weeks (there may be some exaggeration in there, though, I'm sure). The scumbags couldn't bare it and left. Friend repeated this process of keeping the smell alive for a couple of weeks/months and eventually no one hung around at the back of his house anymore.

This was years ago, as i say. I don't really know the chap any more, I don't really know much truth there is in the story, and I don't know if i believe it or not.

However, I face a similar situation now myself, and this story sticks in my head. Would anyone here, involved in the farming community be able to tell me if this is a real thing that you can do, and if so, does anyone fancy selling me a little bucket o' slurry? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Howdy folks.. not sure I'm in the right place here, but keep in mind that whole 'no such thing as a stupid question' slogan :P

Many moons ago, a chap I know had some very unpleasant teenagers hanging around a back wall at his house. They were there constantly. Noisy, causing damage, drink and drugs were involved, the Gardai rarely showed up and when the chap approached them, he got abuse and some criminal damage for his efforts.

Apparently (stressing the use of the word apparently) he knew a farmer, who supplied him with a small amount of slurry. This slurry was then spread around the outside and top of the wall that the gang of scummers regularly attended. The smell, apparently, was disgusting, and lasted weeks (there may be some exaggeration in there, though, I'm sure). The scumbags couldn't bare it and left. Friend repeated this process of keeping the smell alive for a couple of weeks/months and eventually no one hung around at the back of his house anymore.

This was years ago, as i say. I don't really know the chap any more, I don't really know much truth there is in the story, and I don't know if i believe it or not.

However, I face a similar situation now myself, and this story sticks in my head. Would anyone here, involved in the farming community be able to tell me if this is a real thing that you can do, and if so, does anyone fancy selling me a little bucket o' slurry? :P
    Know any mushroom growers? Mushroom compost has a lovely whiff off it especially if you keep it churned up in hot weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Samson1980

Pig or hen slorry would do the job if u could put up with the smell yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Samson1980 wrote: »
    Well folks,Looking at putting in a new milking machine. 12 units with acr's auto washer etc. Would ye recommend putting in a dumpline in it? Is it worth the extra money? ..... long time reader, first post

Dumpline v handy but only for very short period of year still has to be maintained andcwashed outside of it .see if u can recycle lines from old parlour to save cost I've a stand alone line totally speedster with own clusters milk line vacuume line pump and receiver jar .dump buckets handy but no fun lugging them up and down and out of pit

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Is abberclyde more suited to silage than grazing then I wonder? I presume youll still be grazing this at the shoulders? Is this your first time putting red clover in mix?

Silage mix will only be cut 3/4 cuts and z grazed in March and October/November .used red clover before in conjunction with Italian ryegrass big n saver and better quality higher p silage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Buy eggs in the supermarket and leave them outside to go off/rotten.
    Then when you want said smell, smash the egg in the intended place.

There's nothing comparable to rotten eggs. Well maybe rotten fish.

This is a very strange request.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Well folks,Looking at putting in a new milking machine. 12 units with acr's auto washer etc. Would ye recommend putting in a dumpline in it? Is it worth the extra money? ..... long time reader, first post

From what I'm told is a good drafting system with space to keep the cows out of the tank separate in yard is better as the drafting will also be used year round. Depending on cost of dumpline if either save it and put it towards drafting or extra units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Mooooo wrote: »
    From what I'm told is a good drafting system with space to keep the cows out of the tank separate in yard is better as the drafting will also be used year round. Depending on cost of dumpline if either save it and put it towards drafting or extra units.

Our simply switch to using 24 hr withhold dry cow tubes, once your co-op isn't fineing for coloustrum in the milk it's a no-brainer gives some peace of mind too and saves alot of time when your not having to worry about leaving cows out of the tank, your also elimanating waste milk/having to store excess when a lot of cows calve down at the sametime
    See theirs new tubes out this year with no withhold period after 28days of dry cow period, look the business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Our simply switch to using 24 hr withhold dry cow tubes, once your co-op isn't fineing for coloustrum in the milk it's a no-brainer gives some peace of mind too and saves alot of time when your not having to worry about leaving cows out of the tank, your also elimanating waste milk/having to store excess when a lot of cows calve down at the sametime
    See theirs new tubes out this year with no withhold period after 28days of dry cow period, look the business

What's the name of those tubes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Samson1980 wrote:

Dunno about the dumpline as I've never used one I just keep the antibiotic cows till last. I wouldn't be without acrs now that I have them and I'm in a 10 unit. Takes the stress off the shoulders when taking them off. Let's you leave the parlour if something comes up and if your slowed up pre spraying ir anything else cows aren't over milked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

What's the name of those tubes?

Cephaguard are the 24hr withhold ones, around 10 euro a cow but well worth it for peace of mind alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,812 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Make sure the parlour is big enough for future expansion, lad I know put in a brand new parlour 4 years ago and it's not big enough anymore. Teagasc man coming here this morning along with builder to work out plans for our new parlour and sheds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

I think 12 is too small as you could easliy manage 16, i made the mistake of putting in a parlour too small( grand at the time) will have to look at more investment now. In one man shows think anymore the 7 rows is too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

yewtree wrote: »
    I think 12 is too small as you could easliy manage 16, i made the mistake of putting in a parlour too small( grand at the time) will have to look at more investment now. In one man shows think anymore the 7 rows is too much
    It's doable for a while but there would have to be investment coming down the line again.

I put in 14 units but room for 20. Have 16 now with acrs(long term, I reckon they are essential to reduce wear and tear) but I will have to upgrade my vaccuum pumps as the recommended reserves have changed so much since I put the parlour in. I'm putting in a backing gate this Autumn and next in the list will be drafting in a few years before more units again.

Oh, and a meal bin, 6T is a bit small at this stage:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

yewtree wrote: »

14 here, hit the full 8rows now, 9 next yr prob. Got grant approval for another 10units, but at the stage where I've a decent few dependable chaps who can milk here, moving forward I'll be getting in spring time help, at least the evening milking then, and outside of the spring aim to only milk 10times a week myself, or say get in a milker 4times a week, that will do more for taking out the hardship of Milking than reducing the number of rows from say 10 back to 7 but still stuck in the parlour 14times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Went to 14 two years ago, up to 10 rows now. Targeting new parlour in new part of yard in 10 years

Just a few questions to the lads who are expanding mad in cow numbers.
    1. Are you upgrading your calving and calf facilities too?
    2.what is your herd average? (Could you invest a bit more in feeding and get more profit per cow ?)
    3. Do you rent alot of land to fund expansion?

Only asking because I'm currently spending my money on labour saving stuff like calf pens and new silage covering systems and trying to reduce my work load so I can go up in numbers if I choose with no extra work.

Pig or hen slorry would do the job if u could put up with the smell yourself!

Where would a joe soap like myself get it though. I unfortunately don't know any farmers, and not sure how one would react to me showing up looking for such stuff..? Or would they care?

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Buy eggs in the supermarket and leave them outside to go off/rotten.
    Then when you want said smell, smash the egg in the intended place.

There's nothing comparable to rotten eggs. Well maybe rotten fish.

This is a very strange request.:p

Problem is I don't think that smell would last longer than maybe a couple of hours if you were lucky. A bit of rain and you're back to square one. Apparently the slurry just sits there and smells the place up for days on end (how true that is, I don't know though).

A strange request, alright, but it's something I need to address unfortunately, before they get into a habit of hanging around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Where would a joe soap like myself get it though. I unfortunately don't know any farmers, and not sure how one would react to me showing up looking for such stuff..? Or would they care?

Problem is I don't think that smell would last longer than maybe a couple of hours if you were lucky. A bit of rain and you're back to square one. Apparently the slurry just sits there and smells the place up for days on end (how true that is, I don't know though).

A strange request, alright, but it's something I need to address unfortunately, before they get into a habit of hanging around here.

You seem genuine enough so to answer your question I don't think slurry will do it?

To get a longer lasting odour like you requested you'll be looking at something like a fresh compost that was previously mentioned here.

I think the gardening section of boards will have more experience of this and better advice of what garden or household waste to use for your benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,914 ✭✭✭White Clover

What you need is some sludge that is left over from cheese making. Absolutely vile smell from it!

blackdog1 wrote: »
    2.what is your herd average? (Could you invest a bit more in feeding and get more profit per cow ?)

Only asking because I'm currently spending my money on labour saving stuff like calf pens and new silage covering systems and trying to reduce my work load so I can go up in numbers if I choose with no extra work.

Interesting questions anyway my answer
    1 calving pens //sheds upgraded in early spring 16.calf sheds are sort of ok as is but spread beteween 3 sheds.looking at extending biggest shed to hold 60 calves (6 pens 10).just / sheds then

2 herd average over 7200 Ltrs last year 560 kg solids target is 8 k and over 600 ms sold .be very close this year 1.5 t concentrate feed .no tmr just grass and quality silage and a bit of z geazing .grass is king tho aim to grow and utilise as much as possible .to do that soil fertility is crucial and lime n p and k will be well used

3 small bits land rented ,can't ever see any bits around parlour comming up.anyway I aim to keep my show to myself ,relief Milker and spring help with lot machinery work contracted out .a Sr of 3.8'will see circa 120 cows milked here and that's that I would need to jump to 200 after that to even consider further expansion as full time labour unit then required on top of extra cubicles ,slurry storage parlour etc

I emailed a local cheese maker to see if they will let me run off with some of their waste.

I'm assuming I'll get a 'lol no' kinda reply. Don't suppose anyone on here would be a farmer with some bad odours they could lend a hand, anywhere near me? (I'm in Drogheda, but can get to louth/meath etc. handy enough, and have no issue travelling a bit to try this approach out. If it works it'll be well worth it in just eroding the stress of scumbags galore hanging around the whole time).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

mahoney_j wrote:
    Interesting questions anyway my answer 1 calving pens //sheds upgraded in early spring 16.calf sheds are sort of ok as is but spread beteween 3 sheds.looking at extending biggest shed to hold 60 calves (6 pens 10).just / sheds then

mahoney_j wrote:
    2 herd average over 7200 Ltrs last year 560 kg solids target is 8 k and over 600 ms sold .be very close this year 1.5 t concentrate feed .no tmr just grass and quality silage and a bit of z geazing .grass is king tho aim to grow and utilise as much as possible .to do that soil fertility is crucial and lime n p and k will be well used

mahoney_j wrote:
    3 small bits land rented ,can't ever see any bits around parlour comming up.anyway I aim to keep my show to myself ,relief Milker and spring help with lot machinery work contracted out .a Sr of 3.8'will see circa 120 cows milked here and that's that I would need to jump to 200 after that to even consider further expansion as full time labour unit then required on top of extra cubicles ,slurry storage parlour etc

I'm kinda in the same boat. Have 7500 litre average on 1.2 tonne . Upgraded calf shed 2 years ago to hold 80 also have an older pen that I converted to calving facilities but can still hold another 20 calves if stuck. I'm at the 100 cows might push to 120 but not until u reduce work load a bit. Planning on getting auto washer in parlour and automatic calf feeder in the next 5 years and also feed to yield after that I might go up to 120 bit that's it for me.

I am expanding to make more money. I have suffered during a few of those years with less than ideal facilities but money had to be prioritised into cows and grassland
    I agree as herds become estblished money can be spend to make life easier. There is realitively low return on investment on putting in auto wash/ feed to yield versus investments in breeding and grassland
    expansion here would have been through both increased ms/cow and increased numbers

I'm not knocking people just wondering are guys not afraid they'll get burnt out if they go too big too quickly. I'm at a stage where my parents are winding down and I need to make it a 1 man operation because labour is very scarce in my area. Auto washer saves 30 minutes each day easy. to me that's time spent elsewhere. Also feed to yield would be time saving and increase fertility of the herd as the big milkers would get the right amount and not lose condition. .I'm a winter herd so have spring and autumn calving which is a nightmare to feed properly. I agree with you on breeding and grass management.

In singing of same hymne sheet as u ,100% agree on spending on grassland and breeding id also add roadways and water to that .all the talk now seems to be more cows add a second unit etc etc .theres only so many hours in a day ,there's only so many cows and workload one person can manage .lads can. Say they'll suck it up short term put up with long hours ,sub standard facilities but this could go on for years and life moves pretty quick

I think you can make a sound case for a lot of technologies, its more the order in which those investments take place i was getting at. Expansion is cash hungry so you need a good return on where money is spent.

Teagasc man was here today, he kept saying knock the autumn calvers on the head and go all spring. My arguement was I dont have the labour for all spring. I have no plans to go all spring for a few years yet, if ever. What do you think of the future of the autumn calving herd?

mahoney_j wrote: »
    In singing of same hymne sheet as u ,100% agree on spending on grassland and breeding id also add roadways and water to that .all the talk now seems to be more cows add a second unit etc etc .theres only so many hours in a day ,there's only so many cows and workload one person can manage .lads can. Say they'll suck it up short term put up with long hours ,sub standard facilities but this could go on for years and life moves pretty quick
    What about their kids /family time? You'll never get those days back when they are older