Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

awec wrote: »
    Cork were a more than 5 points better than Clare today. Scoreline flattering in the end.
    It seems that way but Clare hit the post and crossbar and a pen inches over. Cork deserved to win but could have been closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,414 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Glebee wrote: »
    Who gave John Mullane a job on the radio????

He was on again after the s$%t of the Wexford Kilkenny match I thought they would learn there lesson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

Was hoping that the Clare boys might do it but no way they would have deserved to win today - poor tactics and too one dimensional.

Hopefully Cork or Galway will go on now to win the McCarthy - not a fan at all of this system where beaten teams come back in.

Yeah because the alternative, where you have lads making incredible sacrifices, running themselves into the ground in training for months and months, only, if you had your way, to potentially have 1 game in June and be gone - rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

niallo27 wrote: »
    It seems that way but Clare hit the post and crossbar and a pen inches over. Cork deserved to win but could have been closer.

Was just about to mention that, twice Cathal Malone got the woodwork along with Kelly's penalty.

Cork still well-deserved winners but it can come down to fine margins in the end.

• Administrators Posts: 55,209 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Well I am no hurling expert and could best be described as a casual observer but the Clare backs seemed incapable of tackling without fouling, the corner backs got turned inside out by the Cork corner forwards and Clare resorted to long shots that went wide more often than not.

It just felt to me that Cork were well in control of that game, responded well to the Clare goal and were never really under any serious threat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Mokuba wrote: »
    Yeah because the alternative, where you have lads making incredible sacrifices, running themselves into the ground in training for months and months, only, if you had your way, to potentially have 1 game in June and be gone - rubbish.

No reason at all why there couldn't be a separate competition for counties knocked out in the first round.

Once you're out of a knock out competition, you should stay out.

Anyway, what about the league. Isn't that what that's for?

I fear for us if we draw tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

I fear for us if we draw tipp

But Tipp are gone !!! What way does that Qualifier draw go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Wexford/ Clare v Tipp/ Waterford, no restrictions on which two face who. Draw Monday I assume. I can see Tipp beating either team, hope I'm wrong

Where are they gone they won yesterday.

I'm not sure how to feel. Are Clare a poor team or a good team playing poor.

Wexford/ Clare v Tipp/ Waterford, no restrictions on which two face who. Draw Monday I assume. I can see Tipp beating either team, hope I'm wrong

Forgive me for being thick:D. But Tipp v Decies has been played and Tipp are out, having been beaten twice. And Clare have now to play Wexford. Is that correct???

Beaten finalists will be kept apart and no rematch will happen from previous rounds this season where possible

What do you mean Tipp are out. Kilkenny are out been beaten twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,324 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

That statement isn't even related to being correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Where are they gone they won yesterday.

Ah, My bad:o:o:o. Mixing up Tipp with the Cats. Apologies to all.

I'm not sure how to feel. Are Clare a poor team or a good team playing poor.

I do not think they are that poor but they were so scared on Lenhan(Hope I spelt it right) that they did not change the tactic for the short puck outs and paid the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

Have you ever seen anything like the behviour of Nash near the end of the game?* it'd make John Hanbury or Shane McGarth blush!

*Waterford hurlers 1998-2017 aside obviously

Ah, My bad:o:o:o. Mixing up Tipp with the Cats. Apologies to all.

Over Zealous Dublin man thought ye were the one's with the 5 goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,403 ✭✭✭C__MC

Have you ever seen anything like the behviour of Nash near the end of the game?* it'd make John Hanbury or Shane McGarth blush!

Shanahan last night doing that ridiculous fist pumping/crest kissing thing.

Over Zealous Dublin man thought ye were the one's with the 5 goals

wrong county:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If Nash was chocolate he'd ate himself

It's a cork thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,079 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Don't think Galway will be too concerned looking at that today, they will be far superior to Cork imo.

Strangely I think Waterford match up well to Galway and they could be the team to trouble them if they get that far.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Bambi wrote: »
    If Nash was chocolate he'd ate himself

It's a cork thing

God they are the worst fans in the world in fairness.

wrong county:D:D:D

Tipp man who really needs glasses!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wrong again:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭magentis

God they are the worst fans in the world in fairness.

No that's kk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Fair play to Cork, winning Munster is a great achievement given where they were 12 months ago. But I dont think they'r good enough to win the AI. Galway, Tipp and Waterford are ahead of them I feel, and it will be one of those 3 winning in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

What are you on? Tipp hammered Dublin yesterday. Its the qualifiers. If you win your match, you QUALIFY for another one.

magentis wrote: »
    No that's kk.

God no I know from personal experience I married into it. Cork gaa fans in a group. Sweet Jesus the sense of self entitlement