Tina Satchwell missing in Cork (or Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Did anyone find it odd where he claimed the gardai had keys to the house and could /would enter when he wasn't there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

I certainly found this quote strange in his Indo article today.
    “We had conversations of late so I said ‘right she’s gone down to a member of family for a while’ so I gave her a couple days and I left to visit my doctor on the Friday. When I found out that nobody had seen her, it was like everything fell away.”

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭fepper

He probably had to give them keys but not too happy and put complaint into Garda

I certainly found this quote strange in his Indo article today.

He's very laid back about it alrite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

fepper wrote: »
    He's very laid back about it alrite

Was that quote his way of saying they had a row and she went off somewhere to cool down?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I'd say leave the investigation to the Gardai. They are not stooopid really.

Ok to maybe have a bit of speculation (mods permitting) of course.

It certainly sounds odd. 16 or 17 weeks missing now. Thats over 4 months.

Surely someone knows something. Odd that phone and cards were not taken. Well they could be traced I suppose. Clever maybe.

Was that quote his way of saying they had a row and she went off somewhere to cool down?

If it happened on numerous occasions before and she goes off to the relatives on a whim and saunters back to him again after a couple of days its plausible as it wouldn't be out of character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

Youghal is a small place. If something suspect did happen. Someone will of seen or heard something.

The road on which she lives is one way street which will help the guards pick up more CCTV if footage of her or the husband (if it exists). I actually parked there by chance recently by the credit union.

Youghal is a small place. If something suspect did happen. Someone will of seen or heard something.

The road on which she lives is one way street which will help the guards pick up more CCTV if footage of her or the husband (if it exists). I actually parked there by chance recently by the credit union.

Nothing might have happened in youghal,she was at a market/car boot sale the day before in carrigtwohill, did she drive there and home again,was he there and driving her or collecting her later, youghal might be irrelevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Nothing might have happened in youghal,she was at a market/car boot sale the day before in carrigtwohill, did she drive there and home again,was he there and driving her, youghal might be irrelevant

No CCTV at a car boot sale I'd reckon. Don't like the sound of this. Something is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,118 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Nothing might have happened in youghal,she was at a market/car boot sale the day before in carrigtwohill, did she drive there and home again,was he there and driving her, youghal might be irrelevant
    No CCTV at a car boot sale I'd reckon. Don't like the sound of this. Something is wrong.

To the best of my knowledge he said he was in Castletownroche at the car boot sale on Crimecall but said he was at the Carrigtwohill one on Redfm. But I could be wrong. Either way theirs plenty of opportunity for CCTV along both routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭ja1986

One of the three-storey houses

02151c7cec.jpg

That's crazy sure that's the back of the shopping centre there so they'd have cctv,the credit union has it there on the wall and the Moby dicks pub is right at the end of that block. I think the guards have a good idea what happened.

Wonder is the tide strong there

The car boot sale in Carrigtwohill is surrounded by a school and businesses so that would have been picked up on CCTV.

Wouldn't have a clue about Carraigwohill but if they went to the one in Castletownroche they'd have being picked up going through Fermoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

I've said it before and I'll say it again, the speculation going on here is just wrong at this stage in the case. You've all painted this guy with full suspicion already without any indication from the Gardai that something foul has occurred here. If it was him missing instead of the wife I do wonder if the reaction would be the same?

Well it would depend on how she acted when he went missing, how long it took her to report him missing. Then people would focus on her interviews in the media. Does her story ring true, people would focus on the comments she's use describing her husband, people would still find having such a large amount of cash in the house as odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭tara73

Neyite wrote: »
    Gardai here are pretty good about keeping a lid on leaks in cases like this. I'm sure the lack of information from them is for good reason.

you can have faith in the guards. I have my doubts.

I just remind of the Trevor Deely case, very similar to the Tina Satchell case that a person just 'vanished from this world':

-it's known the relatives had to track down CCTV of their own days after Trevor disappeared. Isn't this the job of the guards? Why didn't they do it? Just unbelievable, should be one of the first things any proficient working criminalists should secure.

-then the new footage of the night Trevor Deely disappeared going public in April this year. Why in gods name was that not released when it happened, but 17 years later? And yes, I know the explanation was that they used new techniques not available in 2002 to reexamine, or make the videos clearer?? sorry, not buying this, absolute bul****. What does this mean? They used CCTV cameras which were just showing..yes, what? nothing or just blurry lines? So why did companies install them when they were so useless?
    and the footage released now was very basic too, how did it look 17 years ago? yes, must have been nothing visible in there...

Sorry, but no trust in the guards with this background.
    Neyite wrote: »
    To be fair though, if I fcuked off with two full suitcases, I very much doubt that the OH would have a clue what might be missing from my wardrobe. I think we all would be like that to some extent. Maybe after writing a long list of what he can remember me wearing then ticking off what is no longer in the wardrobe he might come up with something for the Gardai to work with. It would be more obvious if make-up or toothbrushes or hair straighteners were there or missing that I'd packed.

Joe O'Reilly first raised suspicions with the Gardai when he helpfully pointed out to Gardai that some towels were missing from the house when they were examining the crime scene. I could dump half the towels in the house and the OH would not notice they were gone, except maybe one or two novelty ones.

I didn't mean he should have a remembrance like a pair of socks missing or this jumper from Dunne Store and that trouser from H&M:rolleyes:. But if a person packs two suitcases, in a way it should be possible to see she took clothes with her and if that's not possible because she has wardrobes or rooms full of clothes, I very much doubt she didn't take anything personal with her or there is not one thing he can see it's missing.

whatever, I doubt she's gone by herself anyway, so he can make up whatever he wants, nobody can really check if it's the truth or not.

She's missing over 3months and all the information is coming from him and posters are mostly commenting on this information

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Innocent until proven. But, he's putting himself out there in fairness. After the Joe O'Reilly case it's fairly obvious people are trying jump the gun and tell everyone "I KNEW IT!!" and will say "AND I TOLD YOU SO!" and that's human nature, and they could be right.

I did a quick search here on Joe O'Reilly and there's a thread from ten years ago where people here are lambasting the Herald for running a story on poor Joe O'Reilly getting a windfall when it's clear (retrospectively) that the newspaper knew well he'd done it.

Prenderville's a good interviewer in fairness. Milking him for every bit of info whilst maintaining a balance whilst feeding answers to the man. He's super smart. I'm a quarter way through the interview and Tina's husband is saying things he shouldn't say.

I just hope she's ok. But, it's not looking good.

tara73 wrote: »

-then the new footage of the night Trevor Deely disappeared going public in April this year. Why in gods name was that not released when it happened, but 17 years later? And yes, I know the explanation was that they used new techniques not available in 2002 to reexamine, or make the videos clearer?? sorry, not buying this, absolute bul****. What does this mean? They used CCTV cameras which were just showing..yes, what? nothing or just blurry lines? So why did companies install them when they were so useless?
    and the footage released now was very basic too, how did it look 17 years ago? yes, must have been nothing visible in there...

Their are always advance being made in DNA/improving technologies used in cases all around the world. Even today CCTV can be patchy especially at nighttime. Nighttime mode wasn't great back then for any business/premises to be honest. Cameras could have being installed as a deterrent or basically for daytime use. Yes, CCTV footage were awful back then and the footage would have nearly being good back then.

Well it would depend on how she acted when he went missing, how long it took her to report him missing. Then people would focus on her interviews in the media. Does her story ring true, people would focus on the comments she's use describing her husband, people would still find having such a large amount of cash in the house as odd.

I understand that but some people are not fit for public speaking. Doesn't mean they are guilty of or under suspicion of anything, they just come across awkward and shouldn't do it. He fits that category.

Secondly, we are really light on details on at the moment in regards the relationship. From what I have seen of Tina, and I'm sorry if this word offends anyone, she seems eccentric. He also seems to be of the same cut. Joe O Reilly sprang to mind for me too but I don't see it in this guy, he reminds me of a person I know who is socially awkward in the extreme but is the nicest most genuine person you could meet when you know him.

I just don't think its very fair at this point to see him as having a sinister hand in this. If in future he is proven to be, then so be it but I just don't think this is one of those cases.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Prenderville's a good interviewer in fairness. Milking him for every bit of info whilst maintaining a balance whilst feeding answers to the man. He's super smart. I'm a quarter way through the interview and Tina's husband is saying things he shouldn't

To be fair, he was doing the same in the newspaper article I read earlier. Saying bizarre and random things. I think it's just his way, might be nerves making him say these things.

The more media he's doing makes me think there's a chance he didn't do anything. People will point at Joe O Reilly but I'm not so sure.

Until the guards release more information there is going to be a lot of speculation on this thread which is unfair to the husband if innocent.

I understand that but some people are not fit for public speaking. Doesn't mean they are guilty of or under suspicion of anything, they just come across awkward and shouldn't do it. He fits that category.

Secondly, we are really light on details on at the moment in regards the relationship. From what I have seen of Tina, and I'm sorry if this word offends anyone, she seems eccentric. He also seems to be of the same cut. Joe O Reilly sprang to mind for me too but I don't see it in this guy, he reminds me of a person I know who is socially awkward in the extreme but is the nicest most genuine person you could meet when you know him.

I just don't think its very fair at this point to see him as having a sinister hand in this. If in future he is proven to be, then so be it but I just don't think this is one of those cases.

Your also speculating about the guy comparing him to a guy you know.Your also speculating about Tina.
    The main reason for the speculation is the 26k and why it took him so long to report her missing. His story describing Tina also changed between Monday and Thursday!

She's missing over 3months and all the information is coming from him and posters are mostly commenting on this information

that's exactly what I think. The husband can blurr out his horrible stuff and there's nothing but silence from the investigators? what are they doing?
    And if they found nothing they can still inform the public about it, I think there are many people who worry about this case.
    And if some people don't worry it's also good to remind them from time to time about the missing person, it could always trigger some important memory in somebody.
    why don't they say they checked all CCTV, nothing found, they checked her home, nothing suspicoius found yet. after 3 month I think it should be possible to have checked the house from attic to basement.
    just weird.

tara73 wrote: »
    that's exactly what I think. The husband can blurr out his horrible stuff and there's nothing but silence from the investigators? what are they doing?
    And if they found nothing they can still inform the public about it, I think there are many people who worry about this case.
    And if some people don't worry it's also good to remind them from time to time about the missing person, it could always trigger some important memory in somebody.
    why don't they say they checked all CCTV, nothing found, they checked her home, nothing suspicoius found yet. after 3 month I think it should be possible to have checked the house from attic to basement.
    just weird.

Just out of interest, why do you discount her having a conscious wish to disappear without trace for whatever reason, personal or domestic?

and where did I say that?

He said that he gave her tea and toast that morning,went to aldi and she's not been seen since,nothing to do with public speaking nerves,he said this is what happened and no sightings so I don't believe he's tripping himself up here by not being media savvy,if anything I feel he's more explaining to do based on that information...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Very strange case

My question to ye all how long would 26,000 euro last a person who can't go near a bank / cu for fear of being identified as missing ? Not very long I'd say

26,000 wouldn't last too many months in an expensive Ireland

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Very strange case

My question to ye all how long would 26,000 euro last a person who can't go near a bank / cu for fear of being identified as missing ? Not very long I'd say

26,000 wouldn't last too many months in an expensive Ireland
    It would last me a year if I was careful with it, but that assumes living at home cooking my own meals and paying rent.

It would run out a lot faster if I were 'on the run' and paying for B&Bs whilst unable to cook my own meals. Easily be gone in 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

To be fair, he was doing the same in the newspaper article I read earlier. Saying bizarre and random things. I think it's just his way, might be nerves making him say these things.

The more media he's doing makes me think there's a chance he didn't do anything. People will point at Joe O Reilly but I'm not so sure.

Until the guards release more information there is going to be a lot of speculation on this thread which is unfair to the husband if innocent.

He's inarticulate and phrasing things incorrectly that could be taken out of context. He's delving in to family issues too. Basically hanging their very personal bi-familial laundry out in public. But he's rattled. Innocent or not, he's rattled and understandably so, he's lost his life partner. I'd be rattled if my wife vanished. I'd also be rattled if I made her vanish. He can say nothing to help stave off speculation.

Either way. I'd imagine the Gardai know what's happened at this stage. They'll release nothing to the public until after they make a case to the DPP.