Tina Satchwell missing in Cork (or Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Always number 1

The guards on Crimecall said that none of the local taxis gave her a lift.

They also made a very pointed comment about the last definite sighting (outside of the husband's account) being at the car boot sale the day before she supposedly left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Phones and ATM transactions can be traced. She had neither when she left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Very strange comments from husband in this article.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/exclusive-i-have-nothing-to-hide-husband-of-missing-woman-45-says-gardai-treated-him-unfairly-as-a-suspect-35897101.html

"She loves posing. She’s spoilt rotten. She never wore an outfit twice," he said.

"I’ve bought her over €40,000 worth of jewellery. It’s a woman’s dream. She had no reason to leave," he said.

“Tina loved pets. She never wanted kids, but I did so I had to make that sacrifice. Our pets were like our kids.

Who makes comments like that about their missing wife?! Passive aggressively trying to get in digs at her, and make himself out to be great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Very strange comments from husband in this article.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/exclusive-i-have-nothing-to-hide-husband-of-missing-woman-45-says-gardai-treated-him-unfairly-as-a-suspect-35897101.html

"She loves posing. She’s spoilt rotten. She never wore an outfit twice," he said.

"I’ve bought her over €40,000 worth of jewellery. It’s a woman’s dream. She had no reason to leave," he said.

“Tina loved pets. She never wanted kids, but I did so I had to make that sacrifice. Our pets were like our kids.

Who makes comments like that about their missing wife?! Passive aggressively trying to get in digs at her, and make himself out to be great!

Well that one in particular is concerning. I mean, as long as you are showered with expensive jewellery it's a dream life, innit? 'cos that's all women care about. :rolleyes:

If she left of her own accord, then it was planned and not spontaneous - leaving the phone and cards so as to be untraceable. There is only his word that there was a large amount of cash in the house and that she took it.

I imagine that the Gardai have a fair idea what happened and will get to the bottom of it soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

His "campaign" or whatever the most appropriate word to use is very, very odd. Granted, he probably doesn't have anyone advising him what to say/what not to say, but bloody hell he's not doing a good job of it. If it was me out there with someone else or by myself and my wife/husband was making these types of comments to the national press, it would leave me less inclined to get in contact.

He sounds very angry with her, so perhaps he's convinced she's ran off with someone else or disappeared purposefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭fepper

Neyite wrote: »
    Well that one in particular is concerning. I mean, as long as you are showered with expensive jewellery it's a dream life, innit? 'cos that's all women care about. :rolleyes:

If she left of her own accord, then it was planned and not spontaneous - leaving the phone and cards so as to be untraceable. There is only his word that there was a large amount of cash in the house and that she took it.

I imagine that the Gardai have a fair idea what happened and will get to the bottom of it soon.
    And the suitcases missing are his word as well so no proof there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭tara73

fepper wrote: »

yes, and there's no mentioning of missing clothes and stuff of her which she must have put in the suitcases. or ist it just assumed as a fact? it must be very interesting and telling for the guards what she took with her in the suitcases, she won't have left with 2 empty ones..

this whole case is still so odd. why are the guards not releasing anything about what they found so far? did the husband not has to produce a list what is missing in the house..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Assuming she was the vain type he depicts? and her family seems to verify that too according to her sister, half sister was it? it looks like this to me,

She was wallowing in being pampered and he was her puppet.

He was obsessed with her and bowed to her every whim.

She got tired of her toy and decided to throw it out of the pram.

He's pretty pi$$ed off with her and is venting his anger via the media.

Whether she actually got away or not is still up for grabs.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

tara73 wrote: »
    yes, and there's no mentioning of missing clothes and stuff of her which she must have put in the suitcases. or ist it just assumed as a fact? it must be very interesting and telling for the guards what she took with her in the suitcases, she won't have left with 2 empty ones..

this whole case is still so odd. why are the guards not releasing anything about what they found so far? did the husband not has to produce a list what is missing in the house..

Gardai here are pretty good about keeping a lid on leaks in cases like this. I'm sure the lack of information from them is for good reason.

To be fair though, if I fcuked off with two full suitcases, I very much doubt that the OH would have a clue what might be missing from my wardrobe. I think we all would be like that to some extent. Maybe after writing a long list of what he can remember me wearing then ticking off what is no longer in the wardrobe he might come up with something for the Gardai to work with. It would be more obvious if make-up or toothbrushes or hair straighteners were there or missing that I'd packed.

Joe O'Reilly first raised suspicions with the Gardai when he helpfully pointed out to Gardai that some towels were missing from the house when they were examining the crime scene. I could dump half the towels in the house and the OH would not notice they were gone, except maybe one or two novelty ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

tara73 wrote: »

I hope we don't have another Trevor Deely type case in our hands here.

Really frustrating, a lack of communication.

Gardai here are pretty good about keeping a lid on leaks in cases like this. I'm sure the lack of information from them is for good reason.

To be fair though, if I fcuked off with two full suitcases, I very much doubt that the OH would have a clue what might be missing from my wardrobe. I think we all would be like that to some extent. Maybe after writing a long list of what he can remember me wearing then ticking off what is no longer in the wardrobe he might come up with something for the Gardai to work with. It would be more obvious if make-up or toothbrushes or hair straighteners were there or missing that I'd packed.

Joe O'Reilly first raised suspicions with the Gardai when he helpfully pointed out to Gardai that some towels were missing from the house when they were examining the crime scene. I could dump half the towels in the house and the OH would not notice they were gone, except maybe one or two novelty ones.

Its not so much what's in the suitcases but it gives the impression that she did leave voluntary to the outside world and its his word only on this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭tinpib

Regular viewers of The Sopranos might recall Adriana La Cerva packed a suitcase when she just took off and left Christopher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭chickendinner

No mention of 25k missing on crime line if I remember correctly.
    Now he says missing,
    I think he realized no bank card taken looks suspect, so he putting the idea she has money.

Its not so much what's in the suitcases.

Unless she's in them!

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Its not so much what's in the suitcases but it gives the impression that she did leave voluntary to the outside world and its his word only on this..

It's contradictory.

Her sister said she would never go off on her own. But that's the version the husband is giving.

The husband found her keys on the floor in the hall way, her phone, her favourite bag that she never went anywhere without, her dogs that she supposedly took everywhere in the house when he came back from the shopping trip.

But 2 suitcases and apparently 26K in untraceable cash are gone. Not the furbabies she adored though. I've yet to meet a dog lover who would abandon their dogs if they were moving forever.

He's given quite a few interviews it seems. Her family not so much. Even if they had their differences you'd put it aside to campaign for her safe return together surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

Assuming she was the vain type he depicts? and her family seems to verify that too according to her sister, half sister was it? it looks like this to me,

Where did you hear that? I haven't seen any comments from her family.

If I was a detective I'd be checking cctv and sales receipts in local hardware stores around the time she disappeared. Might be worth a try.
    I've seen lots of cases in American crime documentaries where possible suspects were spotted buying items useful in disposing of a body.
    Apologies for being morbid but the woman is missing. No point in pussy footing around. It's not looking good... 'Vain' my arse...ive never heard such a pile of sh1te.

Ann22 wrote: »
    Where did you hear that? I haven't seen any comments from her family.

Go back and listen to the podcast posted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭ja1986

I would be following the route the husband took with he's driving job and checking all cctv there. I wonder also have they looked if the car was moved from when she was supposed to be missing. I'd like to know where that house is situated. Youghal is tiny and everyone knows everyone.

Go back and listen to the podcast posted here.

I didn't spot it, thanks...I only listened to the radio interview with the husband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I've been half following the story since Tina went missing....tbh they both sound like odd types. Two rooms full of clothes and jewellery? On a truck driver's salary? She never worked in her life? How does one sustain that kind of expenditure?

ja1986 wrote: »
    I'd like to know where that house is situated. Youghal is tiny and everyone knows everyone.

One of the three-storey houses

02151c7cec.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

ja1986 wrote: »
    I'd like to know where that house is situated. Youghal is tiny and everyone knows everyone.

One of the 3 story houses

02151c7cec.jpg

There's a CCTV camera directly opposite their house, I'd imagine the Guards know well what happened this poor woman.

Unless of course the delay in notifying the Guards allowed for that CCTV system to overwrite that crucial time frame?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Look at the Phil Potts documentary, the body language and false tears with a hanky, it was the same type of body language on crime call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Degringola

I've been half following the story since Tina went missing....tbh they both sound like odd types. Two rooms full of clothes and jewellery? On a truck driver's salary? She never worked in her life? How does one sustain that kind of expenditure?
    She bought all her clothes/handbags etc from charity shops so wouldn't have paid anything near full price.
    Also, if iirc, he was unempoyed at the time of her disappearance and only got the truck driving job later.  Heard him say this on one of his interviews (can't remember which one.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,117 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Degringola wrote: »
    She bought all her clothes/handbags etc from charity shops so wouldn't have paid anything near full price.
    Also, if iirc, he was unempoyed at the time of her disappearance and only got the truck driving job later.  Heard him say this on one of his interviews (can't remember which one.)

She meant to have left the house with 26k and he had given her 40k worth of jewelry. I just find the whole thing odd. Anybody know why he was in trouble with the law/police in the UK? He might have said it somewhere but I might have missed it!

Social welfare claim that had to paid back I think but that was here in irl

Yep it happened here but he went to the UK for a year to earn money to pay it back I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,117 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Thanks, I just wasn't sure about it. I did suspect something involving social welfare. I wasn't sure about the UK tough.