Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

mayo.mick wrote: »

had me going too great post , must have had a skinfull like myself last night with my mans game comment , apologizes , it was an appalling incident by the derry player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Clare v Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Trying to find B&B is Ennis is impossible,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Not an ideal draw tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Tricky assignment but if the lads can up their game and perform like we know they can I would be relatively confident of us getting out of Cusack Park alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

seligehgit wrote: »
    Tricky assignment but if the lads can up their game and perform like we know they can I would be relatively confident of us getting out of Cusack Park alive.

If we put over half the number of pints we missed yesterday we should be grand. Glad we missed Donegal

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

naughto wrote: »
    If we put over half the number of pints we missed yesterday we should be grand. Glad we missed Donegal

We will be steamed..... :D:D :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Trying to find B&B is Ennis is impossible,.

Try air b and b, i just booked now, plenty available. I was trying hotels last night and everywhere was fully booked.

We'll definitely need to have a lot more accurate shooting and we'll probably have to look at the sweeper situation. Clare are a better team than Derry so any repeat of the nonsense we saw for 65 minutes on Saturday and it's curtains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

If we have any legitimate hopes on winning Sam, this is the sort of challenge we should relish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

Wouldn't be surprised if the venue was changed as Ennis only holds approx 15k.
    Salthill maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

ureds wrote: »
    Salthill maybe?

Clare have home advantage. If its not Ennis it will be Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭statto25

Salthill maybe?

I cannot see Clare giving up home advantage and if they do it won't be Galway. Maybe Limerick. We all love Limerick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,050 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Can't see Clare giving up home advantage at all and I think 15k should be plenty.

They only drew a crowd of under 6k for Kerry and 15k would have done us at home vs Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

Salthill maybe?

They would be daft to give up home advantage
    There was 10k at mchale park last weekend
    Will Clare bring 5k ?
    Possibly with it being mayo ?
    Either way it will be a cracking atmosphere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

km79 wrote: »
    Will Clare bring 5k ?

Ennis is probably the biggest dump of a county ground in the whole country.

But it will have a great buzz to it.

A happy hunting ground for Cafferkey, Higgins, Seamus O' Shea, Barry Moran, Conor Loftus, Diarmuid O Connor in their youth.

Have I left anyone out ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Unless we find a couple of players in the full back line who can cope with high balls and a couple of starting forwards who can score freely, it will be the same old story this year. Apologies for being pessimistic but I'm getting tired of seeing Mayo managers miss issues which are blatantly obvious to everyone else including opponents. You can't keep making the same selection mistakes and hope for a miracle.

What would your FB line be? FB has been an issue for Rochford but I'm not seeing any obvious fixes.

I don't think this managements can be accused of making the same selections. In his first year he introduced a sweeper to protect the FB line. He then went leftfield with Barry Moran when faced with an aerial threat against Tipp. This year he has thrown Caff back in, hasn't been great. I can see how persisting with him, in the hope that the rust goes, makes sense.

Also, for the love of God, can we please refrain from lashing out at opposition players? A game without another straight red would be great.

PARlance wrote: »
    What would your FB line be? FB has been an issue for Rochford but I'm not seeing any obvious fixes.

I don't think this managements can be accused of making the same selections. In his first year he introduced a sweeper to protect the FB line. He then went leftfield with Barry Moran when faced with an aerial threat against Tipp. This year he has thrown Caff back in, hasn't been great. I can see how persisting with him, in the hope that the rust goes, makes sense.

Given our historical difficulties under the high ball at full back, I'd put a midfielder in there who would dominate the area and put a sweeper on front of him to deal with everything else.

That's what a good full back should do (Think Mick Lyons). They should dominate their area and instil fear into opposing forwards. Our current full back line doesn't do that.

So I'd consider a midfielder such as Seamie O'Shea or Danny Kirby, someone to deal with the high ball. A sweeper could look after anything else. Its been a major Achilles heel for years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

We need challenges from here on in if we are to rise to the occasion in September, but still glad it wasn't donegal :)
    Looking forward to ennis.

Given our historical difficulties under the high ball at full back, I'd put a midfielder in there who would dominate the area and put a sweeper on front of him to deal with everything else.

That's what a good full back should do (Think Mick Lyons). They should dominate their area and instil fear into opposing forwards. Our current full back line doesn't do that.

So I'd consider a midfielder such as Seamie O'Shea or Danny Kirby, someone to deal with the high ball. A sweeper could look after anything else. Its been a major Achilles heel for years now.

Agreed that it has been a big problem but I don't think throwing a big lad in there is the fix myself. I think any FF worth his salt, be they 5ft nothing or 6 ft 5, would have a field day against O'Shea or Kirby... it's not an easy position to play. Probably requires more learning than any other position imo.

Not trying to dismiss the problem but with the exception of Kerry, there aren't massive aerial threats out there. I would expect Rochford to do something similar to the Barry Moran move if we face them.

I think our best hope is that Caff gets back on form.

Agreed that it has been a big problem but I don't think throwing a big lad in there is the fix myself. I think any FF worth his salt, be they 5ft nothing or 6 ft 5, would have a field day against O'Shea or Kirby... it's not an easy position to play. Probably requires more learning than any other position imo.

Not trying to dismiss the problem but with the exception of Kerry, there aren't massive aerial threats out there. I would expect Rochford to do something similar to the Barry Moran move if we face them.

I think our best hope is that Caff gets back on form.

We've seen what happens Cafferkey when you put a big man on him. He either gets pushed aside too easily (Donnaghy both games in 2014) or else he fouls and gives away frees. He's just an accident waiting to happen and half decent teams can see this. Derry got a goal and penalty from two high balls in there and that was towards the end of the game. Modern GAA teams are ruthless in spotting weak links like our full back line and exploiting them. They will stick a big man on Cafferkey and will reap benefits from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Ennis is probably the biggest dump of a county ground in the whole country.

But it will have a great buzz to it.

A happy hunting ground for Cafferkey, Higgins, Seamus O' Shea, Barry Moran, Conor Loftus, Diarmuid O Connor in their youth.

Have I left anyone out ?

Is it correct that Mayo have never won an away qualifier game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

finbarrk wrote: »
    Is it correct that Mayo have never won an away qualifier game?

Not sure

They won at least three games in 2002, not sure if they were home or away.

They have won on neutral grounds, v Cavan in Roscommon in 2005 and v Westmeath in CP in 2016.

Edit - your right.
    Wins in 2002 where home v Roscommon, in Roscommon v Limerick and in Ennis v Tipp.

We've seen what happens Cafferkey when you put a big man on him. He either gets pushed aside too easily (Donnaghy both games in 2014) or else he fouls and gives away frees. He's just an accident waiting to happen and half decent teams can see this. Derry got a goal and penalty from two high balls in there and that was towards the end of the game. Modern GAA teams are ruthless in spotting weak links like our full back line and exploiting them. They will stick a big man on Cafferkey and will reap benefits from that.

Very harsh blaming the FB line for the goal imo. Long ball into the square, that is Clarke's responsibility all day long. He normally deals with them brilliantly but he was caught out on Sat. The peno was a stupid one to give away.

We're probably going over an back but I don't think a midfielder is the answer myself. I also think that Rochford has proven himself to shake things up to suit opposition. I could see him bringing a midfielder back if we face Kerry or Tyrone. I don't think it's a massive problem against others though.

Defensively I was more concerned with them running at us which they did at ease plenty of times. The whole sweeper situation would be my biggest concern defensively. Are we or aren't we playing one, who is it if we are, I think Boyle ruled himself out as a solution to that problem on Sat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Very harsh blaming the FB line for the goal imo. Long ball into the square, that is Clarke's responsibility all day long. He normally deals with them brilliantly but he was caught out on Sat. The peno was a stupid one to give away.

We're probably going over an back but I don't think a midfielder is the answer myself. I also think that Rochford has proven himself to shake things up to suit opposition. I could see him bringing a midfielder back if we face Kerry or Tyrone. I don't think it's a massive problem against others though.

Defensively I was more concerned with them running at us which they did at ease plenty of times. The whole sweeper situation would be my biggest concern defensively. Are we or aren't we playing one, who is it if we are, I think Boyle ruled himself out as a solution to that problem on Sat.

mayo-v-derry-1st-july-2017-037.jpg

Its so obvious how to beat mayo, especially while cafferkey is in there. Stick in a big forward or midfielder, lump a few high balls in and you are guaranteed a goal or two. Kerry did it for fun in 2014. I hope Rochford has learned from that.

I don't rate Cafferkey, he's a weak link and you can get away with a weak link most places on the field but not at full back because it will lead to goals.

As for you saying that only Kerry or Tyrone will have a big man at FF, Dublin have O'Gara, Galway have Damien Comer who also ran riot against Cafferkey, Donegal can stick in Michael Murphy and so on. Virtually every county has the big man for the direct route tactic and it nearly always works against Mayo.

Its obvious to anyone with a clue about football he's a weak link. Nice fellow I'm sure but he doesn't justify his selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

km79 wrote: »
    Salthill maybe?

Will Clare bring 5k ?

Clare county board have just spent a pretty penny in developing the stand, and more recently put in a nice new statue of Michael Cusack himself.

They are not going to say the stadium they heavily invested in is not even suitable for a qualifier game.

So no possibility of it being switched out of Ennis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,077 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Anyone reckon this might sell out?

I'm living in Limerick but won't know until the weekend if I'll be able to go or not.

I still probably have PTSD after Croke Park last year, but like the Mob, every time you try to leave, they suck you right back in :D