mayo.mick wrote: » :D:Dhttps://twitter.com/D9BMayo/status/881600388918587392
seligehgit wrote: » Tricky assignment but if the lads can up their game and perform like we know they can I would be relatively confident of us getting out of Cusack Park alive.
naughto wrote: » If we put over half the number of pints we missed yesterday we should be grand. Glad we missed Donegal
Mountjoy Mugger wrote: » Trying to find B&B is Ennis is impossible,.
ureds wrote: » Wouldn't be surprised if the venue was changed as Ennis only holds approx 15k. Salthill maybe?
km79 wrote: » They would be daft to give up home advantage There was 10k at mchale park last weekend Will Clare bring 5k ? Possibly with it being mayo ? Either way it will be a cracking atmosphere
Shurimgreat wrote: » Unless we find a couple of players in the full back line who can cope with high balls and a couple of starting forwards who can score freely, it will be the same old story this year. Apologies for being pessimistic but I'm getting tired of seeing Mayo managers miss issues which are blatantly obvious to everyone else including opponents. You can't keep making the same selection mistakes and hope for a miracle.
PARlance wrote: » What would your FB line be? FB has been an issue for Rochford but I'm not seeing any obvious fixes. I don't think this managements can be accused of making the same selections. In his first year he introduced a sweeper to protect the FB line. He then went leftfield with Barry Moran when faced with an aerial threat against Tipp. This year he has thrown Caff back in, hasn't been great. I can see how persisting with him, in the hope that the rust goes, makes sense.
Shurimgreat wrote: » Given our historical difficulties under the high ball at full back, I'd put a midfielder in there who would dominate the area and put a sweeper on front of him to deal with everything else. That's what a good full back should do (Think Mick Lyons). They should dominate their area and instil fear into opposing forwards. Our current full back line doesn't do that. So I'd consider a midfielder such as Seamie O'Shea or Danny Kirby, someone to deal with the high ball. A sweeper could look after anything else. Its been a major Achilles heel for years now.
PARlance wrote: » Agreed that it has been a big problem but I don't think throwing a big lad in there is the fix myself. I think any FF worth his salt, be they 5ft nothing or 6 ft 5, would have a field day against O'Shea or Kirby... it's not an easy position to play. Probably requires more learning than any other position imo. Not trying to dismiss the problem but with the exception of Kerry, there aren't massive aerial threats out there. I would expect Rochford to do something similar to the Barry Moran move if we face them. I think our best hope is that Caff gets back on form.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Ennis is probably the biggest dump of a county ground in the whole country. But it will have a great buzz to it. A happy hunting ground for Cafferkey, Higgins, Seamus O' Shea, Barry Moran, Conor Loftus, Diarmuid O Connor in their youth. Have I left anyone out ?
finbarrk wrote: » Is it correct that Mayo have never won an away qualifier game?
Shurimgreat wrote: » We've seen what happens Cafferkey when you put a big man on him. He either gets pushed aside too easily (Donnaghy both games in 2014) or else he fouls and gives away frees. He's just an accident waiting to happen and half decent teams can see this. Derry got a goal and penalty from two high balls in there and that was towards the end of the game. Modern GAA teams are ruthless in spotting weak links like our full back line and exploiting them. They will stick a big man on Cafferkey and will reap benefits from that.
PARlance wrote: » Very harsh blaming the FB line for the goal imo. Long ball into the square, that is Clarke's responsibility all day long. He normally deals with them brilliantly but he was caught out on Sat. The peno was a stupid one to give away. We're probably going over an back but I don't think a midfielder is the answer myself. I also think that Rochford has proven himself to shake things up to suit opposition. I could see him bringing a midfielder back if we face Kerry or Tyrone. I don't think it's a massive problem against others though. Defensively I was more concerned with them running at us which they did at ease plenty of times. The whole sweeper situation would be my biggest concern defensively. Are we or aren't we playing one, who is it if we are, I think Boyle ruled himself out as a solution to that problem on Sat.
km79 wrote: » ureds wrote: » Wouldn't be surprised if the venue was changed as Ennis only holds approx 15k. Salthill maybe? They would be daft to give up home advantage There was 10k at mchale park last weekend Will Clare bring 5k ? Possibly with it being mayo ? Either way it will be a cracking atmosphere